Comités

Une grande partie du travail du Conseil de l'ACPM est effectuée par divers comités. De plus, des sous-comités ou des groupes de travail peuvent parfois être créés pour traiter de sujets d'intérêt particulier.

Le Règlement exige la mise en place des quatre comités suivants :

  • Comité d'audit
  • Comité directeur
  • Comité de révision des dossiers
  • Comité des candidatures

Le Règlement autorise le Conseil à constituer et à supprimer d'autres comités au besoin.

Le modèle de gouvernance actuelle de l'ACPM est illustré ci-dessous. Il est révisé au besoin, principalement pour ce qui a trait au nombre et au genre de groupes de travail.

Le modèle ne reflète pas les groupes de travail constitués par le Conseil pour des mandats d'une durée relativement courte (p. ex., moins de 12 mois).

Le modèle de gouvernance actuelle de l'ACPM

Composition des comités

Chaque année, le Conseil détermine la composition des comités. Chaque comité est régi par un mandat qui précise ses attributions, sa composition, ses obligations et responsabilités, sa responsabilisation, ses processus, ses réunions et ses activités.

Les membres du Conseil et les membres consultants siègent aux comités suivants : Comité d'audit; Comité des placements, Comité des candidatures et Comité des régimes de retraite. Les consultants sont choisis en fonction de leur expertise et de leurs connaissances relatives au mandat précis du comité auquel ils siègent.

Dans le cadre de saines pratiques de gouvernance, le Conseil effectue une évaluation de la structure et de l'efficacité des comités sur une base biennale.

Comités 2016-2017

Le mandat de chacun des comités et le nom des membres qui en font partie figurent ci-dessous.

Comité directeur

Mandat – Il agit au nom du Conseil entre ses réunions. Le Conseil peut déléguer ses pouvoirs ou une partie de ceux-ci au Comité directeur, sauf celui de nommer des conseillers et le directeur général, et de constituer des comités. Il étudie et détermine les questions de stratégie, de politique, de gouvernance en matière de risque et toute autre question exigeant une action du Conseil dans l'intervalle entre ses réunions. Le Comité directeur se réunit généralement entre neuf et onze fois par année.

Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (Président)
Dre Boyce, Debra
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dre Chafe, Susan
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dr Crawford, Gordon
Dr Farnan, Paul
Dre Hayton, Susan
Dr Sabbah, Robert
Dr Wallace, Christopher
 

 

Comité d'audit

Mandat – Il assiste le Conseil dans sa responsabilité de surveillance de la gestion financière et des systèmes de contrôle de l'ACPM. Son rôle s'étend à toutes les questions financières (politiques, procédures et risques) au sein de l'organisation, y compris celles qui pourraient être du ressort d'une autre entité de gouvernance. Le Comité de vérification se réunit généralement au moins quatre fois par année.

Dr Naysmith, David (Président)
Dre Boyce, Debra
Dr Craigen, Gerard
Dr Johnson, Darcy
Dre Rinaldi, Fredrykka
Mme Hume, Doreen (consultante)
Professeur Moore, John (consultant)
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d’office)
 

 

Comité de révision des dossiers

Mandat – Il examine la conduite à adopter ou la réponse à la demande dans les dossiers ou procédures découlant d'une action en justice ou d'une plainte déposée contre des membres actifs, d'anciens membres et des membres décédés. Il a également l'autorité de déterminer la nature et l'étendue de l'assistance pouvant être accordée à un membre. Le comité assure également la surveillance et la gouvernance du système de gestion des dossiers médico-légaux, y compris la prestation de services juridiques. Le Comité de révision des dossiers se réunit généralement au moins deux fois par mois.

Dre Boyce, Debra (Présidente)
Dr Barron, Alexander
Dr Bergin, Patrick
Dr Craigen, Gerard
Dr Crosby, Edward
Dre Jorgensen, Sally
Dr Mercier, Claude
Dr Wallace, Christopher
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité sur l'étendue des services d'assistance

Mandat – Il examine les questions ayant trait aux demandes d'assistance des membres de l'ACPM et élabore le fondement théorique et des principes directeurs à l'intention du Conseil pour l'aider à déterminer comment l'ACPM doit exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière d'assistance. Fournit une orientation en matière d'initiatives stratégiques ayant une incidence sur les membres, les services aux membres et les programmes de l'ACPM en ce qui a trait aux obligations des membres qui découlent du caractère mutuel de la protection. Détermine et envisage les risques organisationnels liés à la protection des membres. Le Comité sur l'étendue des services d'assistance se réunit généralement deux à trois fois par année.

Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (Président)
Dr Bergin, Patrick
Dr Farnan, Paul
Dre Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr Halparin, Elliot
Dr Lafrenière, Michel
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité de gouvernance

Mandat – Il renforce et améliore le rendement de l'Association en matière de gouvernance en assurant la surveillance et la promotion de pratiques et de principes rigoureux et efficaces en matière de gouvernance organisationnelle, conçus de façon à favoriser le succès à long terme et l'intégrité de la gouvernance de l'Association et de son Conseil. Il surveille et gère les projets et les activités spécifiques à la gouvernance approuvés par le Conseil. Le Comité de gouvernance se réunit généralement de trois à cinq fois par année.

Dr Cohen, Michael (Président)
Dr Cooper, Robert
Dr Lafrenière, Michel
Dre Rinaldi, Fredrykka
Dr Singh, Birinder
Dr Vroom, Robbert
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération

Mandat – Il fournit une orientation stratégique et une surveillance de la gouvernance en ce qui a trait aux fonctions des ressources humaines de l'ACPM. Le Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dr Singh, Birinder (Président)
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dr Dorion, Dominique
Dre Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr Johnson, Darcy
Dre Kane, Barbara
Dre Leduc, Yolande
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité des placements

Mandat – Il détermine les principes de placement de l'ACPM et compare les résultats obtenus à ceux visés par une stratégie de placement approuvée. Il établit la stratégie d'affectation des actifs destinée à obtenir les rendements requis des placements dans le cadre du budget de risque approuvé par le Conseil. Il recommande au Conseil les rendements attendus à long terme de son portefeuille de placements. Le Comité des placements se réunit au moins une fois par trimestre.

Dr Crosby, Edward (Président)
Dr Barron, Alexander
Dre Boyce, Debra
Dr Cohen Michael
Dr Crawford, Gordon
Dr Naysmith, David
Mme Brodkin, Wendy (consultante)
M. Cotsman, Stephen (consultant)
M. Murray, John (consultant)
M. Thiessen, Gordon (consultant)
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph – (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires

Mandat – Il fournit une orientation stratégique et une surveillance aux communications et aux activités d'engagement des partenaires, y compris en ce qui a trait à la compréhension et à la gestion des enjeux pertinents et nouveaux du milieu externe. Le Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dre Kane, Barbara (Présidente)
Dre Boyce, Debra
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dr Edworthy, Steven
Dr Sabbah, Robert
Dr Sullivan, Michael
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d'office)
 

 

Comité des candidatures

Mandat – Il recommande aux membres les candidats qu'il a sélectionnés pour pourvoir des postes au sein du Conseil, pour veiller à ce que la gouvernance de l'Association soit du plus haut calibre possible et qu'elle soit représentative des membres de l'ACPM. Le Comité des candidatures se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (Président)
Dr Cooper, Robert
Dr Halparin, Elliot
Dre Hayton, Susuan
Dr Vroom, Robbert
Dr Groves, Lawrence (consultant)
Dr Lawrence, Michael (consultant)
 

 

Comité des régimes de retraite

Mandat – Il assure la surveillance des enjeux influant sur la politique et l’administration du régime de retraite des employés de l’ACPM ainsi que du régime de retraite de la haute direction de l’ACPM, et examine la politique et assure la surveillance des affaires touchant l’administration du régime de retraite complémentaire des employés. Le Comité protège les actifs des régimes, surveille les placements des fonds, veille à ce que les régimes soient conformes à la législation et à la réglementation applicables tout en agissant dans l’intérêt des bénéficiaires des régimes. Le Comité des régimes de retraite se réunit généralement au moins une fois par trimestre.

Dr Singh, Birinder (Président)
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dr Dorion, Dominique
Dre Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr Johnson, Darcy
Dre Kane, Barbara
Dre Leduc, Yolande
M. Cotsman, Stephen (consultant)
Mme Hume, Doreen (consultante)
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d’office)
 

Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires

Mandat – Il offre une orientation stratégique et appuie les efforts de l'ACPM en matière de soins médicaux sécuritaires, y compris en ce qui a trait à la recherche et à l'analytique, à la collaboration avec des partenaires en soins médicaux sécuritaires et à l'amélioration de la pratique et à la gestion des risques. Le Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires se réunit généralement jusqu'à trois fois par année.

Dr Dorion, Dominique (Président)
Dre Chafe, Susan
Dr Edworthy, Steven
Dre Jorgensen, Sally
Dre Leduc, Yolande
Dr Mercier, Claude
Dr Sullivan, Michael
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (membre d’office)
 

 

Comité de protection contre la faute professionnelle médicale

Dr Wallace, Christopher
 

 

Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins

Dr Brossard, Jean-Hughes
 

 

Secrétaire délégué du Président pour le Québec

Non requis
 

 

Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients

Représentant avec droit de vote
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph
 

 

Association médicale canadienne

Représentant
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph

Committees

Much of the CMPA Council's work is delegated to the various committees. In addition, sub-committees or working groups are sometimes created to deal with issues of concern.

The Bylaw requires the following four committees:

  • Audit Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Case Review Committee
  • Nominating Committee

The Bylaw authorizes council to constitute and dissolve additional committees as required.

The current CMPA governance model is depicted below. Revisions to this model, primarily associated with the number and type of working groups, occur as required.

The model does not reflect working groups constituted by council for assignments of relatively short duration (e.g. less than 12 months).

Committee structure

Composition of committees

Council establishes the membership of committees annually. Each committee is governed by terms of reference that outline its mandate, composition, duties and responsibilities, accountability, procedures, meetings, and activities.

Members of council and external members both serve on the following committees: Audit Committee; Investment Committee; Nominating Committee; and Pension Committee. External members are selected for their expertise and knowledge relevant to the specific mandate of the committee on which they serve.

As part of its sound governance practices, the council conducts a committee structure and effectiveness review on a biennial basis.

Committees 2016 – 2017

The mandate and membership of each of the existing committees are described below.

Members may wish to contact the CMPA President to discuss governance issues. Inquiries regarding operational or case-specific matters should be directed to 1-800-267-6522.

 

Executive Committee

Mandate — Acts for council between its meetings. Council may delegate to the Executive Committee all or part of its powers, except the power to appoint councillors, committees, and the executive director. Considers and determines issues of strategy, policy, risk governance and other matters requiring action between Council meetings. The Executive Committee generally meets nine to eleven times per year.

Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (Chair)
Dr. Boyce, Debra
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Chafe, Susan
Dr. Cohen, Michael
Dr. Crawford, Gordon
Dr. Farnan, Paul
Dr. Hayton, Susan
Dr. Sabbah, Robert
Dr. Wallace, Christopher
 

 

Audit Committee

Mandate — Assists council in fulfilling its oversight role with respect to financial management and controls across the CMPA. The committee’s financial oversight role extends to all financial matters (policies, procedures, and risks) across the organization, including those that might also be under the purview of other governance bodies. The Audit Committee generally meets at least four times each year.

Dr. Naysmith, David (Chair)
Dr. Boyce, Debra
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Johnson, Darcy
Dr. Rinaldi, Fredrykka
Mrs. Hume, Doreen (external)
Prof. Moore, John (external)
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Case Review Committee

Mandate — Considers the conduct or defence of matters or proceedings, by action or complaint, against active, former, and deceased members. This includes the authority to determine the nature and extent of assistance to a member. The committee also provides strategic guidance to, and governance oversight of, the CMPA’s medical-legal case management control system, including the provision of legal services.   The Case Review Committee generally meets at least twice a month.

Dr. Boyce, Debra (Chair)
Dr. Barron, Alexander
Dr. Bergin, Patrick
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Crosby, Edward
Dr. Jorgensen, Sally
Dr. Mercier, Claude
Dr. Wallace Christopher
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Extent of Assistance Committee

Mandate — Reviews the issues surrounding requests for assistance by CMPA members and develops the philosophy and principles to guide the CMPA’s discretion for consideration by council. Provides guidance on strategic initiatives impacting members, member service and CMPA programs related to the mutuality obligations of members. Identifies and considers organizational risks related to the protection of members. The Extent of Assistance Committee generally meets two to three times each year.

Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues (Chair)
Dr. Bergin, Patrick
Dr. Farnan, Paul
Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr. Halparin, Elliot
Dr. Lafrenière, Michel
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Governance Committee

Mandate — Strengthens and enhances the Association’s governance performance by overseeing and advancing sound and effective corporate governance principles and practices designed to aid the long-term success and governance integrity of the Association and its council. Provides oversight of and directs specific governance projects and activities approved by council. The Governance Committee generally meets three to five times each year.

Dr. Cohen, Michael (Chair)
Dr. Cooper, Robert
Dr. Lafrenière, Michel
Dr. Rinaldi, Fredrykka
Dr. Singh, Birinder
Dr. Vroom, Robbert
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Human Resources and Compensation Committee

Mandate — Provides strategic guidance to, and governance oversight of, the CMPA’s human resource functions. The Human Resources and Compensation Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Singh, Birinder (Chair)
Dr. Cohen, Michael
Dr. Dorion, Dominique
Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer

Dr. Johnson, Darcy
Dr. Kane, Barbara
Dr. Leduc, Yolande
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Investment Committee

Mandate — Establishes the CMPA’s investment policy, and reviews the results in comparison to the approved investment strategy. Establishes the strategic asset allocation strategy intended to deliver the required investment returns within the risk budget approved by council. Advises council as to the long-term expected return on the CMPA’s investment portfolio. The Investment Committee generally meets at least once in each calendar quarter.

Dr. Crosby, Edward (Chair)
Dr. Barron, Alexander
Dr. Boyce, Debra
Dr. Cohen, Michael
Dr. Crawford, Gordon
Dr. Naysmith, David
Ms. Brodkin, Wendy (external)
Mr. Cotsman, Stephen (external)
Mr. Murray, John (external)
Mr. Thiessen, Gordon (external)
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee

Mandate — Provides strategic guidance to, and oversight of, the CMPA’s communications and stakeholder engagement activities, including the understanding and managing of relevant and emerging issues in the external environment. The Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Kane, Barbara (Chair)
Dr. Boyce, Debra
Dr. Cohen, Michael
Dr. Edworthy, Steven
Dr. Sabbah, Robert
Dr. Sullivan, Michael
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Nominating Committee

Mandate – Identifies and proposes to the membership council candidates who will ensure that the governance of the Association is of the highest caliber and reflective of the Association’s membership. The Nominating Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (Chair)
Dr. Cooper, Robert
Dr. Halparin, Elliot
Dr. Hayton, Susan
Dr. Vroom, Robbert
Dr. Groves, Lawrence (external)
Dr. Lawrence, Michael (external)
 

 

Pension Committee

Mandate — Provides oversight on matters affecting the policy and administration of the CMPA Pension Plan for staff and the CMPA Pension Plan for senior staff, for consideration of policy and for monitoring and oversight of matters affecting the administration of the Supplemental Employee Retirement Plan (SERP). The committee safeguards the plan’s assets, monitors the investment of the pension funds, ensures the plans remain compliant with applicable legislation and regulation, and acts in accordance with the best interests of the plan beneficiaries. The Pension Committee generally meets quarterly.

Dr. Singh, Birinder (Chair)
Dr. Cohen, Michael
Dr. Dorion, Dominique
Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr. Johnson, Darcy
Dr. Kane, Barbara
Dr. Leduc, Yolande
Mr. Cotsman, Stephen (external)
Mrs. Hume, Doreen (external)
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Safe Medical Care Committee

Mandate — Supports and provides strategic guidance to the CMPA’s efforts in safe medical care, including research and analytics, safe medical care stakeholder collaboration, and practice improvement and risk management. The Committee generally meets up to three times per year.

Dr. Dorion, Dominique (Chair)
Dr. Chafe, Susan
Dr. Edworthy, Steven
Dr. Jorgensen, Sally
Dr. Leduc, Yolande
Dr. Mercier, Claude
Dr. Sullivan, Michael
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (ex officio)
 

 

Medical Professional Liability Committee

Dr. Wallace, Christopher
 

 

Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins

Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
 

 

Secrétaire délégué pour le Québec

Not required.
 

 

Canadian Patient Safety Institute

Voting representative
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph
 

 

Canadian Medical Association

Representative
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph