About council elections

The primary purpose of Council is to foster, through sound governance, the long-term success of the Association consistent with its Strategic Plan and responsibilities to the members. It is the Association’s objective to achieve a Council that reflects a balance of family physicians and specialists, a range of medical specialties, appropriate diversity including but not limited to gender, ethnicity and race, and geographical balance within provinces.

Each year, approximately one-third of the positions on the CMPA Council are scheduled for nomination and election. All CMPA members have the opportunity to seek nomination and election to council on the basis of their province/territory of work and their type of practice*. Councillors serve a three-year term. Current members of council may also choose to seek nomination and re-election for an additional three year term. To fulfill the role of councillor, a member must follow the Terms of reference for CMPA council and councillors [PDF].

Council representation

The council is composed of member physicians from 10 geographical areas across Canada (British Columbia and Yukon; Alberta; Saskatchewan, Northwest Territories and Nunavut; Manitoba; Ontario; Québec; New Brunswick; Nova Scotia; Prince Edward Island; and Newfoundland and Labrador).

*To ensure the representation of the different specialties in the fields of medicine and surgery and of general practice, the Association’s By-law requires that individuals interested in seeking election to council be considered to practice in two Divisions, as follows:

  • Division A - Certification from CFPC, or CMQ (Specialists in Family Medicine), or physicians without CFPC or RCPSC certification
  • Division B - Specialist certification from RCPSC or CMQ, not including Specialists in Family Medicine

The number of Division A and Division B council representatives has been specified by geographical area; in some instances a council position within a geographical area may be Division A or B.

Nominations Process

Candidates are nominated in two ways:

  • by the Nominating Committee
  • by members-at-large in their geographical area

Candidates proposed by the Nominating Committee

Following deliberations on interested nominees, which may include current councillors, the Nominating Committee identifies and recommends to membership, through its annual Report of the Nominating Committee, names of candidates who will ensure that the governance of the Association is of the highest calibre and reflects the Association's membership. The criteria for nomination include:

Nominations from CMPA members

In addition to nominees proposed through the Report of the Nominating Committee, any CMPA member in an area and division in which there is a council position scheduled for nomination and election may be nominated as a candidate provided:

  • The nomination is accompanied by the names and signatures of 10 supporting members who reside in the same geographical area as the member they are nominating.
  • The member's practice is located in the geographical area of the council position that is being contested.
  • The member's type of practice* (Division A or B) is appropriate to the position.

In considering a member nomination, interested and supporting members are asked to consider how the member’s experience in the following areas may contribute to the governance of the CMPA:

  • Medical, clinical and safe medical care experience
  • Leadership in the medical profession
  • Influence beyond the medical community
  • Medical education or research experience
  • Governance, business or legal experience
  • Financial or investment literacy

As well, the following are identified as core competencies for a CMPA Councillor:

  • Strategic orientation
  • Judgment
  • Communication
  • Business and financial acumen
  • Governance knowledge
  • Teamwork/collegiality

If eligible nominations are received from the membership, online elections are held for any contested council positions. Based on the geographical area of the election, members vote within a specified time period. The election results are announced during the CMPA Annual Meeting of Members. Nominees who are unopposed are acclaimed to their positions without the requirement for an election.

Return to the CMPA Council elections page.

À propos des élections au Conseil

La principale responsabilité du Conseil est de favoriser, grâce à une saine gouvernance, la réussite à long terme de l’Association conformément à son Plan stratégique et aux responsabilités envers les membres. Par ailleurs, l’objectif de l’Association est de réunir un Conseil qui reflète un équilibre entre les médecins de famille et les spécialistes, une gamme de spécialités médicales, une diversité appropriée, notamment sur le plan du sexe, de l’ethnicité et de la race, ainsi qu’une représentation géographique équilibrée au sein des provinces et des territoires.

Chaque année, des mises en candidature et des élections au Conseil de l’ACPM peuvent survenir pour environ le tiers des postes. Tout membre de l'ACPM peut se porter candidat à un poste au sein du Conseil selon sa province ou son territoire de travail et son type de pratique*. Le mandat d’un conseiller est de trois ans. Les membres du Conseil dont le mandat se termine peuvent également se porter candidat pour un nouveau mandat de trois ans. Pour accomplir son rôle, un conseiller doit satisfaire aux exigences décrites dans le document Mandat du Conseil - Mandat des conseillers [PDF].

Composition du Conseil

Le Conseil se compose de médecins membres des 10 régions géographiques du Canada : Colombie-Britannique et Yukon; Alberta; Saskatchewan, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut; Manitoba; Ontario; Québec; Nouveau-Brunswick; Nouvelle-Écosse; Île-du-Prince-Édouard; Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

*Pour s’assurer d'avoir la représentation des diverses spécialités de la médecine et de la chirurgie, ainsi que de la pratique générale, le Règlement de l’ACPM requiert que les candidats intéressés à un poste au Conseil soient répartis selon les deux divisions suivantes :

  • Division A – Certification du CMFC ou du CMQ (Spécialistes en médecine de famille), ou médecins n’ayant pas de certification du CMFC ou du CRMCC
  • Division B – Certification de spécialiste du CRMCC ou du CMQ, sauf les spécialistes en médecine de famille.

Le nombre de postes de conseillers à pourvoir dans la Division A ou dans la Division B est déterminé en fonction de la région géographique. Dans certains cas, un poste de conseiller peut être dans la Division A ou B.

Processus de mise en candidature

Les candidats sont proposés de deux façons :

  • par le Comité des candidatures;
  • par les membres de leur région géographique.

Candidats proposés par le Comité des candidatures

À la suite de ses délibérations portant sur les candidats intéressés, lesquels peuvent inclure des conseillers en poste, le Comité des candidatures identifie et propose annuellement à l’ensemble des membres, dans son Rapport du Comité des candidatures, les noms des candidats qui veilleront à ce que la gouvernance de l’Association soit du plus haut calibre et qu’elle soit représentative des membres de l’Association. Selon les critères de mise en candidature :

Candidatures proposées par les membres de l’ACPM

En plus des candidats proposés dans le Rapport du Comité des candidatures, tout membre de l’ACPM dans une région et une division où des mises en candidature sont prévues à un poste au Conseil peut être recommandé comme candidat, pourvu que :

  • la mise en candidature soit accompagnée du nom et de la signature de 10 membres de l’ACPM qui appuient le candidat et qui résident dans la même région géographique que lui;
  • le membre exerce dans la région géographique où le poste est à pourvoir;
  • le type de pratique du membre* (Division A ou B) correspond à celui du poste à pourvoir.

Lors de l’étude de la candidature d’un membre, les membres intéressés et ceux qui appuient la candidature doivent évaluer dans quelle mesure l’expérience du membre dans les domaines suivants pourraient contribuer à la gouvernance de l’ACPM :

  • expérience en soins médicaux, en soins cliniques et en soins médicaux sécuritaires
  • leadership au sein de la profession médicale
  • influence au-delà de la communauté médicale
  • expérience en matière d’enseignement médical ou de recherche
  • expérience en matière de gouvernance, des affaires ou du domaine juridique
  • littératie en matière de finances ou de placements.

Un conseiller de l’ACPM doit également posséder les compétences-clés suivantes :

  • orientation stratégique
  • jugement
  • communication
  • expérience des affaires et connaissances financières
  • connaissances relatives à la gouvernance
  • travail en équipe/esprit de collaboration.

Si des membres soumettent des candidatures admissibles, une élection en ligne sera organisée pour tout poste disputé au Conseil. Les membres votent dans un délai précisé selon la région géographique de l’élection. Les résultats des élections sont annoncés lors de l’assemblée annuelle des membres de l’ACPM. S’il n’y a aucun autre candidat, le candidat proposé est élu sans opposition.

Retourner à la page Élection du Conseil.