Jean-Hugues Brossard

Jean-Hugues Brossard*

MD, CSPQ, FRCPC

Montréal, Québec
Endocrinology

Area 6, Division B
(QUÉBEC)

The CMPA does not edit or make changes to photos or to information provided by candidates in the submission form or candidate statement. Candidates are responsible for the spelling and accuracy of the information provided in writing and for their photo composition, format, and resolution.

Candidate statement

Dear colleagues, I am seeking, one last time, your support for the next council election of the Canadian medical protective association. If elected, this will be my last term in office, during which I hope to retain the confidence of the council while aiming for its presidency in 2022. This election is therefore of great importance to me. During my entire professional career, I have worked to one way or another defend and promote the medical profession, as association president (endocrinology), federation president (FMRQ), head of division and hospital manager (CHUM), clinic director, medical expert, professor, and above all, clinical physician. The CMPA has stood out on the road to pursuing this goal.

The CMPA is an important organization for Canadian physicians. Yet, in recent years, many similar associations elsewhere in the world have disappeared, as the medical-legal world has been evolving at an accelerated pace. We are fortunate to have managed to maintain a financially sound, non-profit, mutual defense organization in Canada. We should not take this for granted. The potential risks and challenges we must be prepared to face are numerous: maintaining a relevant service offering, difficult financing, unpredictable financial markets, increased medical accountability, imperfect justice system, and the list goes on. Who would have thought we would add a pandemic and the ensuing social and economic crisis to it all!

One of the CMPA's strengths is the high level of professionalism and expertise of its staff, which makes it one of the most respected medical organizations in Canada. Another of its strong qualities is its governance. It is essential that each member of council, sharing their own perspective and ideas, provide constructive input to discussions pertaining to the vision, strategic planning and choices that will ensure the sustainability of our organization.

I hold nearly two decades of experience on the council, experience I am willing to share with it once more. I have a good knowledge of major strategic issues, and most importantly, an independence of thought aimed towards the defense of Canadian physicians. Anyone of us could face medical-legal challenges during our career, and it’s up to us to make sure that the CMPA remains our most assured protection: for doctors, by doctors.

Relevant skills and experience

Practice Appointments

Clinique d'endocrinologie de Montréal

Director
2005-
Associate physician
1994-

Université de Montréal

Associate clinical professor
2005-
Assistant clinical professor
1994-2004

Centre hospitalier de l'université de Montréal (CHUM)

Medical staff member (medicine-endocrinology)
1994-

CISSS Abitibi

Associate member of medical staff (endocrinology)
1994-2020

Professional Appointments

CHUM

Chief of endocrinology service
2010-2016
Medical manager of metabolic medicine
2006-2016

Association des médecins endocrinologues du Québec (AMEQ)

President
1997-2006

Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec

President
1987-1992

CMPA Appointments


1st Vice-President
2020-
Culture Sub-committee
2020-
Case Review Committee
2019-
Human Resources and Compensation Committee
2018-
Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee
2018-
Pension Committee
2018-
Investment Committee (Chair 2019 - )
2017-
CRPM - Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins
2011-
Executive Committee
2010-
Council
2003-
CEO Selection Committee
2019-2020
2nd Vice-President
2018-2020
Nominating Committee
2018-2019
Extent of Assistance Committee (Chair 2012 - 2017)
2012-2017
Regional Affairs Advisory Group
2010-2015
Nominating Committee
2013-2014
Human Resources and Compensation Committee
2003-2013
Strategy Task Group
2009-2010
Legal Services Committee
2007-2010
Extent of Assistance Committee
2006-2009
Nominating Committee
2006-2008
Communications Advisory Committee
2004-2005
Nominating Committee
2004-2005



Election contact information

Email: jh.brossard@sympatico.ca
Phone: 514-402-2521

*Proposed through the Nominating Committee

Jean-Hugues Brossard

Jean-Hugues Brossard*

MD, CSPQ, FRCPC

Montréal (Québec)
Endocrinologie

Région 6, Division B
(QUÉBEC)

L’ACPM ne corrige pas et ne modifie ni l’information fournie par les candidates et les candidats dans le formulaire de présentation de candidature et la déclaration de candidature, ni leurs photographies. Les candidates et les candidats sont responsables de l’orthographe et de l’exactitude de l’information fournie, ainsi que de la composition, du format et de la résolution de leur photographie.

Déclaration de candidature

Cher(e) collègue, pour la dernière fois, je viens solliciter votre appui pour m’élire au conseil de l’association canadienne de protection médicale. Si je suis élu, ce sera mon dernier mandat au cours duquel j’espère conserver la confiance du conseil et en briguer en 2022 la présidence. Cette élection revêt donc pour moi une importance toute particulière. Toute ma vie professionnelle j’ai œuvré d’une manière ou d’une autre à la défense et à la promotion de la profession médicale en tant que président d’association (endocrinologie), président de fédération (FMRQ), chef de service et gestionnaire hospitalier (CHUM), directeur de clinique, expert médical, professeur, et surtout, médecin clinicien. L’ACPM a été une façon différente de poursuivre cet objectif.

L’ACPM est une organisation importante pour les médecins québécois et canadiens. Pourtant, au cours des dernières années, un grand nombre d’associations similaires ailleurs dans le monde a disparu emporté par l’évolution accélérée du monde médico-légal. Nous avons la chance d’avoir su préserver au Canada une organisation de défense mutuelle sans but lucratif en bonne santé financière. Il ne faut pas la prendre pour acquis. La liste des risques et des enjeux potentiels que nous devons nous préparer à affronter est longue : maintien d’une offre de service pertinente, financement difficile, marchés financiers imprévisibles, accroissement de l’imputabilité médicale, imperfection du système de justice, etc. Qui aurait pensé ajouter à tout cela une pandémie et la crise socio-économique qui en découle !

Une des forces de l’ACPM est le grand professionnalisme et la grande expertise de son personnel qui en font une des organisations médicales les plus respectées au Canada. Une autre de ses grandes forces est sa gouvernance. Il est essentiel que chaque membre du conseil, avec sa perspective propre, fournisse un apport constructif aux discussions pour décider de la vision, de la planification stratégique et des choix qui assureront la pérennité de notre organisation.

Je peux offrir près de deux décennies d’expérience au conseil, une bonne connaissance des grands enjeux stratégiques, et surtout, une indépendance de pensée au service de la défense des médecins québécois et canadiens. Tous nous pouvons avoir à affronter des difficultés médico-légales, assurons-nous ensemble que l’ACPM demeure notre meilleure protection, au service de la profession médicale, par la profession médicale.

Compétences et expérience pertinentes

Fonctions

Clinique d'endocrinologie de Montréal

Directeur
2005-
Médecin partenaire
1994-

Université de Montréal

Professeur agrégé de clinique
2005-
Professeur adjoint de clinique
1994-2004

Centre hospitalier de l'université de Montréal (CHUM)

Membre du personnel médical (médecine-endocrinologie)
1994-

CISSS Abitibi

Membre associé du personnel médical (endocrinologie)
1994-2020

Engagements professionnels

CHUM

Chef du service d'endocrinologie
2010-2016
Gestionnaire médical de médecine métabolique
2006-2016

Association des médecins endocrinologues du Québec (AMEQ)

Président
1997-2006

Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec

Président
1987-1992

Fonctions à l'ACPM


1er vice-président
2020-
Sous-comité de la culture
2020-
Comité de révision des dossiers
2019-
Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération
2018-
Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires
2018-
Comité de retraite
2018-
Comité des placements (président 2019- )
2017-
CRPM – Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins
2011-
Comité directeur
2010-
Conseil
2003-
Comité de sélection du DG
2019-2020
2e vice-président
2018-2020
Comité des candidatures
2018-2019
Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance (président 2012-2017)
2012-2017
Groupe consultatif sur les affaires régionales
2010-2015
Comité des candidatures
2013-2014
Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération
2003-2013
Groupe d’action sur la planification stratégique
2009-2010
Comité des services juridiques
2007-2010
Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance
2006-2009
Comité des candidatures
2006-2008
Comité consultatif des communications
2004-2005
Comité des candidatures
2004-2005



Coordonnées aux fins des élections

Courriel : jh.brossard@sympatico.ca
Numéro de téléphone : 514-402-2521

*Candidature proposée par le Comité des candidatures