Lemmie Tan

Lemmie Odell Tan

BSc (Hons), MD

Hamilton, Ontario
Psychiatry resident

Area 5, Division A
(ONTARIO)

The CMPA does not edit or make changes to photos or to information provided by candidates in the submission form or candidate statement. Candidates are responsible for the spelling and accuracy of the information provided in writing and for their photo composition, format, and resolution.

Candidate statement

Dr. Lemmie Odell Tan is a Psychiatry resident at McMaster University. Born and raised in Saskatchewan, he completed a Bachelor of Science (Honours) degree at the University of Regina before receiving his medical degree from the University of Saskatchewan.

Throughout his medical education, Dr. Tan has developed a passion for learner advocacy and leadership. He gained valuable experience in these areas serving the Student Medical Society of Saskatchewan first as Vice President External and subsequently as Clerkship Class Representative and completed two terms on the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS) Board of Directors. He has often provided the sole learner perspective on numerous academic and non-academic committees at the University of Saskatchewan and at McMaster University and has effectuated meaningful change for his peers: experiences that would greatly benefit the CMPA Council.

Dr. Tan would also bring a wealth of knowledge regarding not-for-profit finances and governance. As CFMS Vice President of Finance, he initiated and led the organization’s first zero-based budgeting process and created its first Finance Portfolio Strategic Plan. He was also a member of the CFMS Governance Committee and led the rewriting of the organization's By-laws leading to the standardization of the By-laws to be gender-neutral and the implementation of a new governance structure (dyad leadership model). His understanding of governance was furthered through his role as the inaugural CFMS Board Vice-Chair as he contributed to the orientation process for new CFMS volunteers. Dr. Tan continues to develop his financial acumen as a current member of the Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) Finance and Audit Committee and his governance proficiency as a member of the CaRMS Board of Directors.

Dr. Tan fosters a deep interest in the medical-legal interface and is committed to peer professional development to ensure that all physicians, both residents and attendings, have the knowledge and tools needed to comfortably and efficiently provide safe patient care.

Relevant skills and experience

Practice Appointments

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences, McMaster University

Psychiatry Resident
2020-

Professional Appointments

Canadian Resident Matching Service

Member, Finance and Audit Committee
2020-
Board Director
2019-

Canadian Federation of Medical Students

Vice President of Finance, Board of Directors
2018-2019
Vice-Chair, Board of Directors
2018-2019
Member, Finance, Audit, and Human Resources Committee
2017-2019
Western Regional Representative, Board of Directors
2017-2018
Member, Governance Committee
2017-2018




Election contact information

Email: lemmie.tan@medportal.ca

Lemmie Tan

Lemmie Odell Tan

BSc (Hons), MD

Hamilton (Ontario)
Résident en psychiatrie

Région 5, Division A
(ONTARIO)

L’ACPM ne corrige pas et ne modifie ni l’information fournie par les candidates et les candidats dans le formulaire de présentation de candidature et la déclaration de candidature, ni leurs photographies. Les candidates et les candidats sont responsables de l’orthographe et de l’exactitude de l’information fournie, ainsi que de la composition, du format et de la résolution de leur photographie.

Déclaration de candidature

Le Dr Lemmie Odell Tan est un résident en psychiatrie à l’Université McMaster. Originaire de la Saskatchewan, il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences (spécialisé) à l’Université de Regina avant d’être diplômé en médecine à l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

Tout au long de sa formation en médecine, le Dr Tan a vu s’épanouir sa passion pour la défense des intérêts et le leadership des apprenants. Il a acquis une précieuse expérience dans ces domaines en siégeant à la Student Medical Society of Saskatchewan, d’abord à titre de vice-président externe, puis en tant que représentant des stagiaires, et a assuré deux mandats au conseil d’administration de la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC). Il a souvent représenté à lui seul le point de vue des apprenants au sein de nombreux comités universitaires et non universitaires à l’Université de la Saskatchewan et à l’Université McMaster, et a concrétisé d’importants changements pour ses pairs : des expériences dont le Conseil de l’ACPM pourrait tirer grandement parti.

Le Dr Tan apporterait également de vastes connaissances dans les domaines de la gouvernance et des finances des sociétés sans but lucratif. À titre de vice-président, Finances, à la FEMC, il a mis sur pied et mené le premier processus de budget base zéro de l’organisation, en plus de créer le premier plan stratégique du portefeuille des Finances de celle-ci. Il a également siégé au comité de gouvernance de la FEMC et a dirigé la refonte des Règlements de l’organisation, ce qui a mené à la normalisation épicène de ceux-ci et à la mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle structure de gouvernance (modèle de leadership dyadique). Il a approfondi sa compréhension de la gouvernance en étant le tout premier vice-président du conseil à la FEMC, où il a contribué au processus d’orientation des nouveaux bénévoles de la Fédération. Le Dr Tan continue présentement d’enrichir ses compétences financières à titre de membre du comité des finances et de vérification du Service canadien de jumelage des résidents (CaRMS), ainsi que d’aiguiser ses compétences en gouvernance à titre de membre du conseil d’administration de cette dernière.

Le Dr Tan s’intéresse grandement à l’interface médico-légale et s’est engagé envers le développement professionnel entre pairs pour faire en sorte que tous les médecins, tant les résidents que les médecins traitants, disposent des connaissances et des outils requis pour prodiguer, avec aisance et efficience, des soins sécuritaires aux patients.

Compétences et expérience pertinentes

Fonctions

Département de psychiatrie et des sciences neurologiques comportementales, Université McMaster

Résident en psychiatrie
2020-

Engagements professionnels

Service canadien de jumelage des résidents

Membre, Comité des finances et de vérification
2020-
Membre, Conseil d’administration
2019-

Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada

Vice-président, Conseil d'administration
2018-2019
Vice-président, Finances, Conseil d'administration
2018-2019
Membre, Comité des finances, de l’audit et des ressources humaines
2017-2019
Membre, Comité de gouvernance
2017-2018
Représentant de la région de l’Ouest, Conseil d’administration
2017-2018




Coordonnées aux fins des élections

Courriel : lemmie.tan@medportal.ca