Robert Joseph Fisher

BSc, MD, CCFP, FCFP

Robert Joseph Fisher

Quispamsis, New Brunswick
Family / General practice

Area 7, Division A — Generalists
(NEW BRUNSWICK)

Candidate statement

Throughout my twenty-two years in practice, I have worked in various models of health care delivery including group, solo and collaborative practices. Presently, I provide healthcare in both the hospital and the community setting on a daily basis where I interact with my colleagues. I believe my experiences have helped me understand the potential risks to physicians providing health care across a wide spectrum of locations. I have also seen tremendous change in terms of the treatments we can offer and the implementation of information technology in the day to day care of our patients. I believe the CMPA plays a key role in assisting physicians in providing safe, high quality health care to our patients in these times of ongoing change: both in terms of the technology we use and the continual evolution of models of care delivery.

Currently I have teaching appointments at both Dalhousie and Memorial Universities. In addition to this, throughout my career I have been actively involved in many aspects of the medical community at both a local, provincial and national level. I feel my committee and board experience would be very beneficial for someone seeking to serve on the CMPA Council. Having recently completed a nine-year term with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of NB, I believe I have gained valuable insight into the many areas of potential medical-legal difficulties for physicians.

The CMPA currently provides several resources to assist with risk management, including various publications and eLearning modules. Personally, I have found the “in person” workshops to be a valuable learning experience when they have been offered in New Brunswick. I believe that ongoing physician education is essential to avoid medical-legal complications and to keep our patients safe. If I am elected to CMPA council, I would consider it a priority to ensure that these sessions are offered more frequently in our province in convenient locations. Additionally, in my role as Faculty Development Coordinator for our teaching program I have been exposed to many innovative ways of delivering updated information to our teaching faculty and I am eager to transfer this experience to working with the CMPA.

Overall, I believe it is essential that the CMPA continues to assist physicians in reducing their medical liability risk while keeping membership fees reasonable. With your support I will work diligently to represent the physicians of New Brunswick on the CMPA Council.

Practice Appointments

Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation, Saint John NB

Member of the Executive of the Hospitalist Prgm
2002-2008
Member of the Executive of the Dept of Family Practice
2000-2003
Active Staff Dept of Family Medicine
1998-

All Saint's Hosptal, Springhill NS

Active Staff Dept of Family Medicine
1996-1998
Chief of Staff (Aug 1997-Dec 1997)
1997-1997

Dalhousie and Memorial Universities

Assistant Professor Dept of Family Medicine
2008-

Dalhousie University, Family Medicine Saint John NB

Member of the Executive and Faculty Development Coordinator
2003-

Northern Regional Health Board, Nova Scotia

Member of the Regional Medical Advisory Committee
1997-1998

Dalhousie University, Saint John Site

Lecturer in the Dept of Family Medicine
1999-2008

Shannex Nursing Home, Quispamsis

Medical Director
2018-

Professional Appointments

College of Physicians and Surgeons of NB

Member of Council
2009-2018
Member of Executive, President 2015-2016
2014-2017
Chair of the Complaints Committee
2017-2018

NB Provincial e-Health Steering Committee

Member
2006-2009

Canada Health Infoway

Physician Advisor
2006-2008

New Brunswick Medical Society

Chair of the Infomation Technology Committee
2004-2009
Member of the Committee on Medical Assistance in Dying
2015-2016

Canadian Medical Association

Member or the Health Information and Techology Committee
2003-2009
Member of the Committee of e-standards (NeCST)
2003-2005

Saint John Medical Society

Member of the Executive and Board alternate NBMS
2002-2003

Canadian College of Family Practice

Member (Fellowship 2010)
1996-

Atlantic Provinces Medical Peer Review

Member on the Assessment Review Committee
2016-
Physician Assessor for Practice Assessments
2013-




Election contact information

Email: drbobfisher@bellaliant.net
Phone: 506-847-9455

Robert Joseph Fisher

BSc, MD, CCFP, FCFP

Robert Joseph Fisher

Quispamsis, Nouveau-Brunswick
Médecine familiale / générale

Région 7, Division A — Généralistes
(NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK)

Déclaration

Tout au long de mes vingt-deux années de pratique, j’ai travaillé dans divers modèles de prestation de soins de santé, y compris des pratiques collectives, individuelles et collaboratives. À l’heure actuelle, je prodigue des soins de santé en milieu hospitalier et communautaire tous les jours, où j’interagis avec mes collègues. Je crois que mes expériences m’ont aidé à comprendre les risques pour les médecins qui prodiguent des soins de santé dans divers sites. J’ai également constaté des changements énormes dans les traitements que nous pouvons proposer et l’application de la technologie de l’information dans les soins quotidiens aux patients. Je crois que l’ACPM joue un rôle clé en aidant les médecins à prodiguer des soins de santé sécuritaires et de grande qualité à nos patients en cette période de changement continu, tant sur le plan de la technologie que nous utilisons que de l’évolution continue des modèles de prestation des soins.

Actuellement, j’enseigne aux universités Dalhousie et Memorial. En outre, tout au long de ma carrière, j’ai participé activement à de nombreux aspects de la communauté médicale aux niveaux local, provincial et national. J’estime que mon expérience de travail en comités et conseils d’administration serait très utile pour quelqu’un qui cherche à siéger au Conseil de l’ACPM. Ayant récemment terminé un mandat de neuf ans au Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du NB, je crois avoir acquis une connaissance précieuse des nombreux domaines où les médecins pourraient rencontrer des problèmes médico-légaux.

L’ACPM propose actuellement plusieurs ressources sur la gestion des risques, y compris diverses publications et des modules d’apprentissage en ligne. Personnellement, j’ai trouvé que les ateliers « en présentiel » étaient une expérience d’apprentissage précieuse lorsqu’ils étaient offerts au Nouveau-Brunswick. Je crois que la formation continue des médecins est essentielle pour éviter les complications médico-légales et assurer la sécurité de nos patients. Si je suis élu au Conseil de l’ACPM, je considérerais comme une priorité de veiller à ce que ces séances soient offertes plus fréquemment dans notre province, à des endroits pratiques. En outre, à titre de coordonnateur du perfectionnement du corps professoral pour notre programme d’enseignement, j’ai été exposé à de nombreuses façons novatrices de fournir de l’information à jour à nos professeurs et je me réjouis à la perspective de transmettre cette expérience en travaillant avec l’ACPM.

Dans l’ensemble, je crois qu’il est essentiel que l’ACPM continue d’aider les médecins à réduire leurs risques de responsabilité médicale tout en maintenant des cotisations raisonnables. Avec votre appui, je travaillerai avec diligence pour représenter les médecins du Nouveau-Brunswick au Conseil de l’ACPM.

Fonctions

Northern Regional Health Board (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Membre du Comité consultatif médical régional
1997-1998

Corporation des sciences de la santé de l'Atlantique, Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Membre de l’exécutif du Prog de médecins hospitaliers
2002-2008
Membre de l’exécutif du Dépt de médecine familiale
2000-2003
Membre du personnel actif, Dépt de médecine familiale
1998-

Universités Dalhousie et Memorial

Professeur adjoint, Département de médecine familiale
2008-

Université Dalhousie, Médecine familiale Saint John NB

Membre de l’exécutif et coordonnateur de la formation du corps professoral
2003-

All Saints Hospital, Springhill NS

Directeur des services professionnels (août 1997-déc 1997)
1997-1997
Membre du personnel actif, Dépt de médecine familiale
1996-1998

Université Dalhousie, campus Saint John

Chargé de cours, Dépt de médecine familiale
1999-2008

Maison de soins infirmiers Shannex, Quismpamsis

Directeur médical
2018-

Engagements professionnels

Comité directeur provincial de la cybersanté (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Membre
2006-2009

Collège des médecins de famille du Canada

Membre (Associé 2010)
1996-

Inforoute Santé du Canada

Médecin-conseil
2006-2008

Association médicale canadienne

Membre du Comité des renseignements sur la santé et de la techologie
2003-2009
Membre du Comité des normes électroniques (NeCST)
2003-2005

Société médicale de Saint John

Membre de l’exécutif et membre suppléant du Conseil SMNB
2002-2003

Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du NB

Membre du Conseil
2009-2018
Membre de l’exécutif, président 2015-2016
2014-2017
Président du Comité d’examen des plaintes
2017-2018

Société médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick

Président du Comité sur les technologies de l’information
2004-2009
Membre du Comité sur l’aide médicale à mourir
2015-2016

Évaluation collégiale des médecins des provinces de l'Atlantique

Membre du Comité d’évaluation
2016-
Médecin inspecteur, évaluations de la pratique
2013-




Coordonnées aux fins des élections

Courriel : drbobfisher@bellaliant.net
Téléphone : 506 847-9455