Yvonne Molgat

Yvonne Molgat*

BSc, MDCM, FRCSC

Québec, Québec
Ophthalmology

Area 6, Division B
(QUÉBEC)

The CMPA does not edit or make changes to photos or to information provided by candidates in the submission form or candidate statement. Candidates are responsible for the spelling and accuracy of the information provided in writing and for their photo composition, format, and resolution.

Candidate statement

I am an ophthalmologist, member of the CMPA for more than 20 years, in active practice at the CHU de Québec-université Laval and a full clinical professor in this field. I have held several roles over the years, including department head and director of the residency program. I have personal experience with the challenges of practicing medicine today, regardless of location, and the enormous pressure on physicians to be productive, efficient, empathetic and always live up to expectations. I am inspired by those colleagues who surround me on a daily basis and who demonstrate professional courage and empathy for their patients and peers.

As I write this, a pandemic is changing the world order: our medical community has been thrust into a new reality that requires us to be united, resilient and creative in order to continue to provide care to the public. I firmly believe that the CMPA has a critical role to play within the Canadian health care system in defending the integrity of physicians and their unwavering commitment to providing the best possible care despite the enormous challenges that lie ahead of us today. I value respectful dialogue and fair treatment of all members of our Canadian medical community and the removal of barriers to inclusiveness in our society. I don't have all the answers, but I offer you my availability, commitment and values as a member of Council.

Relevant skills and experience

Practice Appointments

Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec-université Laval

Active member
1993-

Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) de Québec-université Laval

Chief of the ophthalmology department
2013-2018

Ophthalmology section, department of ophthalmology and ENT-HNS, université Laval

Program director
2002-2009

Concordia General Hospital

Emergency physician
1985-1987

Professional Appointments

Canadian Society of Oculoplastic Surgery

President
2018-2019

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Member, Ophthalmology Specialty Committee (Region 4)
2012-2016
Member, Ophthalmology Examination Committee
1999-2005

Canadian Ophthalmological Society

Member, Maintenance of competencies committee
2012-2015
Chair, Ophthalmic care committee
2006-2010
Member, Steering committee for the development of clinical practice guidelines
2005-2007

Collège des médecins du Québec

Chair of the examination board in ophthalmology (RCPSC-CMQ joint examination)
1999-2005

CMPA Appointments

Executive Committee
2019-
Council
2018-
Case Review Committee (Chair 2020 - )
2018-
CEO Selection Committee
2019-2020
Safe Medical Care Committee
2018-2019



Election contact information

Email: yvonne.molgat.med@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

*Proposed through the Nominating Committee

Yvonne Molgat

Yvonne Molgat*

BSc, MDCM, FRCSC

Québec (Québec)
Ophtalmologie

Région 6, Division B
(QUÉBEC)

L’ACPM ne corrige pas et ne modifie ni l’information fournie par les candidates et les candidats dans le formulaire de présentation de candidature et la déclaration de candidature, ni leurs photographies. Les candidates et les candidats sont responsables de l’orthographe et de l’exactitude de l’information fournie, ainsi que de la composition, du format et de la résolution de leur photographie.

Déclaration de candidature

Je suis ophtalmologue, membre de l’ACPM depuis plus de 20 ans, en pratique active au CHU de Québec-université Laval et professeure titulaire de clinique dans ce domaine. J’ai occupé diverses fonctions au fil des ans, dont celles de chef de département et de directrice du programme de résidence. J’ai une expérience personnelle des défis que pose l’exercice de la médecine aujourd’hui, quel que soit le lieu, et de l’énorme pression qui s’exerce sur les médecins pour qu’ils soient productifs, efficaces, empathiques et toujours à la hauteur des attentes. Ces collègues qui m’entourent au quotidien, faisant preuve de courage professionnel et d’empathie pour leurs patients et leurs pairs, m’inspirent.

Au moment où j’écris ces lignes, une pandémie est en train de changer l’ordre mondial : notre communauté médicale a été poussée dans une nouvelle réalité qui exige que nous soyons unis, résilients et créatifs pour pouvoir continuer à prodiguer des soins à la population. Je crois fermement que l’ACPM a un rôle essentiel à jouer dans le système de santé canadien pour défendre l’intégrité des médecins et leur engagement inébranlable à prodiguer les meilleurs soins possible malgré les énormes défis qui nous attendent aujourd’hui. J’apprécie le dialogue respectueux, le traitement équitable de tous les membres de la communauté médicale canadienne et la suppression des obstacles à l’inclusion dans notre société. Sans prétendre détenir toutes les réponses, je vous offre ma disponibilité, mon engagement et mes valeurs en tant que membre du Conseil.

Compétences et expérience pertinentes

Fonctions

Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec-université Laval

Membre actif
1993-

Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) de Québec-université Laval

Chef du département d'ophtalmologie
2013-2018

Section d'ophtalmologie, département d'ophtalmologie et d'ORL-CCF, université Laval

Directrice de programme
2002-2009

Concordia General Hospital

Médecin d'urgence
1985-1987

Engagements professionnels

Canadian Society of Oculoplastic Surgery

Présidente
2018-2019

Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada

Membre, Comité de spécialité en ophtalmologie (Région 4)
2012-2016
Membre, Comité de l'examen en ophtalmologie
1999-2005

Société canadienne d'ophtalmologie

Membre, Comité du maintien des compétences
2012-2015
Présidente, Comité sur les soins ophtalmologiques
2006-2010
Membre, Comité directeur pour l'élaboration de lignes directrices sur la pratique clinique
2005-2007

Collège des médecins du Québec

Présidente du jury d'examen en ophtalmologie (examen conjoint CRMCC-CMQ)
1999-2005

Fonctions à l'ACPM

Comité directeur
2019-
Conseil
2018-
Comité de révision des dossiers (présidente 2020- )
2018-
Comité de sélection du DG
2019-2020
Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires
2018-2019



Coordonnées aux fins des élections

Courriel : yvonne.molgat.med@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

*Candidature proposée par le Comité des candidatures