Toye Oyelese

MBBS, CCFP, FCFP

Olutoyese Oyelese

Kelowna, British Columbia
Family medicine

Area 1, Division A
(BRITISH COLUMBIA AND YUKON)

Key skills and experience

Governance
Leadership
World of medicine

Dr. Toye Oyelese is a family physician practising in Kelowna, British Columbia. Currently chief executive officer and part owner of a multi-physician practice, and a clinical assistant professor with the University of British Columbia medical faculty, he has over 30 years’ experience in a variety of healthcare systems including the military, occupational, Workers’ Compensation Board (WCB), complementary and cosmetic medicine.

Dr. Oyelese is active in medical leadership and governance having sat on the Board of BC Family Doctors for the past four years, and is the current president of the organization. He is also a graduate of the Leadership and Management Development Program from the Beedie School of Business at Simon Fraser University.

Born in Montréal, Dr. Oyelese grew up in Nigeria and graduated medical school from the University of Ibadan before moving back to Canada. As an international medical graduate, he worked in a factory while studying and taking exams to enter into a medical training program.

The CMPA Nominating Committee values Dr. Oyelese’s healthcare system and governance experience, and leadership roles. He would bring a unique and diverse perspective based on his medical and lived experiences, as well as regional diversity.

Relevant experience

Practice Appointments

Kelowna General Hospital

Associate Medical Staff
2009-

Professional Appointments

BC Family Doctors

President
2021-

Toye Oyelese

MBBS, CCFP, FCFP

Olutoyese Oyelese

Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique)
Médecine familiale

Région 1, Division A
(COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE, YUKON)

Compétences et expérience déterminantes

Gouvernance
Leadership
Monde de la médecine

Le Dr Toye Oyelese est médecin de famille à Kelowna, en Colombie-Britannique. Actuellement directeur général et copropriétaire d’une pratique offrant les services de multiples médecins, ainsi que professeur adjoint de clinique à la faculté de médecine de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, il cumule plus de 30 ans d’expérience au sein de divers systèmes de santé (Forces armées, santé et sécurité au travail, commission d’indemnisation des victimes d’accidents du travail, médecine complémentaire et médecine esthétique, entre autres).

Le Dr Oyelese joue un rôle actif en matière de gouvernance et de leadership médical puisqu’il siège au conseil de BC Family Doctors depuis quatre ans; il occupe présentement le poste de président de cette organisation. Il a aussi obtenu un diplôme du programme de perfectionnement des cadres et du leadership de la Beedie School of Business de l’Université Simon Fraser.

Né à Montréal, le Dr Oyelese a grandi au Nigéria et obtenu son diplôme de médecine de l’Université d’Ibadan avant de revenir au Canada. En tant que médecin diplômé à l’étranger, il a travaillé dans une usine pendant qu’il étudiait et effectuait ses examens d’admission à un programme de formation médicale.

Le Comité des candidatures de l'ACPM tient en estime l’expérience du Dr Oyelese au sein du système de santé, son expérience en gouvernance, ainsi que les rôles de leader qu’il a occupés. Il amènerait au Conseil un point de vue inégalé et diversifié, tributaire de son expérience en médecine et de son vécu, en plus d’accroître la diversité régionale.

Expérience pertinente

Fonctions

Hôpital général de Kelowna

Membre associé du personnel médical
2009-

Engagements professionnels

BC Family Doctors

Président
2021-