2018 CMPA Annual Report: A year of innovation and collaboration

Published August 2019

The CMPA’s 2018 Annual Report is a wide-ranging retrospective of a year in which the CMPA worked to empower better healthcare by assisting physicians, contributing to safe medical care, and supporting the medical-liability system.  Throughout 2018, the Association continued to deliver the education, advice and assistance that is valued by our 100,000 members, and adapt our services with the evolving needs of Canadian physicians.

As members of CMPA Council, Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi and Dr. Claude Mercier have helped guide many of the innovative initiatives described in the 2018 Annual Report.

Photo of Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi

Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi
Medicine Hat, Alberta

Dr. Rinaldi, a family physician in Medicine Hat, Alberta, and council member since 2008 notes, “When I look at the Annual Report, one of the things that strikes me is how the CMPA is changing to better support our members. The Member Support Program (MSP), for example, channels resources where they’re needed most, through individualized education plans and compassionate support for members who are experiencing increasing or reoccurring medical-legal difficulties. The program allows us to understand member needs and find supportive solutions. Combined with the CMPA’s education programs and the services offered by our subsidiary Saegis, the MSP is an impactful way to really help members who are encountering difficulties with their pattern of practice.”

Additionally, the CMPA has successfully expanded the reach of its safe medical care education, delivering more than 300 practice improvement sessions to over 18,000 physicians and other healthcare professionals in 2018. Early-career physicians are seeing more benefits of CMPA membership through the Resident Symposium program, which offers these physicians the opportunity to gain valuable risk reduction knowledge that will benefit them and their patients for years to come.

Photo of Dr. Claude Mercier

Dr. Claude Mercier
Montréal, Québec

Dr. Mercier, a pediatric neurosurgeon in Montréal, Québec, and council member for the past five years, has been influential in providing strategic guidance to the CMPA’s work in healthcare safety. Having been on the Safe Medical Care Committee of council for several years, he is excited by the CMPA’s increasing engagement with trainees. “By 2020, the CMPA’s Resident Symposium will be a staple in every residency program in the country, ensuring that all residents understand and can address key medical-legal considerations from the start of their careers,” he says.

Partnership and collaboration have also been a hallmark of the CMPA’s activities throughout 2018. The CMPA’s subsidiary, Saegis, partnered with Surgical Safety Technologies (SST) to launch the SafeOR™ program. Bringing together the technology of the Operating Room Black Box® with solutions-oriented risk management assistance, this collaboration strives to improve safety in surgical operating rooms across Canada.

As Dr. Mercier sums up, “The Annual Report highlights how the CMPA is to be involved at all levels of the system to improve the environment in which our members practise and our patients are cared for.”

“From launching the SafeOR™ program to partnering with the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) and the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) in Salus Global to support safer obstetrical care, I am proud of everything we accomplished in 2018,” adds Dr. Rinaldi.

Interested in learning more? Read the 2018 CMPA Annual Report here.

Learn how CMPA is empowering better healthcare

Rapport annuel 2018 de l’ACPM : Une année d’innovation et de collaboration

Publié en août 2019

Le Rapport annuel 2018 de l’ACPM se veut une grande rétrospective d’une année au cours de laquelle l’ACPM a fait la promotion de l’avancement des soins de santé en offrant une assistance aux médecins, en contribuant aux soins médicaux sécuritaires et en soutenant le système de responsabilité médicale. Tout au long de l’année 2018, l’Association a continué d’offrir la formation, les conseils et l’assistance que ses 100 000 membres apprécient, et d’adapter ses services aux besoins en constante évolution des médecins canadiens.

À titre de membres du Conseil de l’ACPM, la Dre Fredrykka Rinaldi et le Dr Claude Mercier ont contribué à guider plusieurs des initiatives décrites dans le Rapport annuel 2018.

Photo of Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi

Dre Fredrykka Rinaldi
Medicine Hat (Alberta)

La Dre Rinaldi, une médecin de famille de Medicine Hat en Alberta et membre du Conseil depuis 2008, fait cette remarque : « Quand je lis le Rapport annuel, ce qui me saute aux yeux, c’est la façon dont l’ACPM change pour mieux soutenir ses membres. Le Programme de soutien aux membres (PSM), par exemple, dirige les ressources là où elles sont le plus en demande, en ayant recours à des plans d’éducation personnalisés et en offrant un soutien concret aux membres qui font face à des problèmes médico-légaux croissants ou récurrents. Ce programme nous permet aussi de mieux comprendre les besoins des membres et de trouver des solutions axées sur le soutien. De concert avec les programmes éducatifs de l’ACPM et les services offerts par notre filiale Saegis, le PSM constitue une ressource efficace pour vraiment aider les membres aux prises avec des problèmes dans leur pratique. »

En 2018, l’ACPM a aussi réussi à élargir la portée de son programme éducatif en soins médicaux sécuritaires en offrant plus de 300 séances d’amélioration de la pratique à plus de 18 000 médecins et autres professionnels de la santé. Dès le début de leur carrière, les médecins constatent les avantages de l’adhésion à l’ACPM quand ils assistent au Symposium des résidents; cet événement leur donne l’occasion d’acquérir des connaissances utiles en matière de réduction des risques qui seront profitables, autant aux médecins qu’aux patients, pendant de nombreuses années.

Photo of Dr. Claude Mercier

Dr Claude Mercier
Montréal, Québec

Le Dr Mercier, un neurochirurgien pédiatrique de Montréal au Québec et membre du Conseil depuis cinq ans, a joué un rôle déterminant en ce qui a trait à l’orientation stratégique du travail de l’ACPM en matière de sécurité dans les soins de santé. Ayant siégé au Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires du Conseil pendant plusieurs années, il est très enthousiaste de l’engagement accru de l’ACPM auprès des résidents. « D’ici 2020, le Symposium de l’ACPM pour les résidents occupera une place importante dans chacun des programmes de résidence au pays pour s’assurer que tous les résidents comprennent les considérations médico-légales clés, et en tiennent compte, dès le début de leur carrière », commente le Dr Mercier.

C’est également sous le trait des partenariats et de la collaboration que se sont déroulées les activités de l’ACPM en 2018. La filiale de l’ACPM, Saegis, s’est associée à la société Surgical Safety Technologies pour lancer le programme Salle d’op sécuritaire. En conjuguant la technologie et les fonctions d’analyse de la boîte noire en salle d’opération (Operating Room Black Box®) avec une assistance axée sur les solutions en matière de gestion des risques, cette collaboration a pour but d’améliorer la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Comme le résume le Dr Mercier, « le Rapport annuel souligne la façon dont l’ACPM participe à tous les échelons du système pour améliorer le contexte dans lequel les membres exercent et la façon dont sont traités les patients. »

« Je suis fière de tout ce que nous avons accompli en 2018, que ce soit le lancement du programme Salle d’op sécuritaire ou le partenariat avec la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) et la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC) dans Salus Global pour soutenir les soins obstétricaux », ajoute la Dre Rinaldi.

Vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage? Consultez le Rapport annuel 2018 de l’ACPM.

Apprenez-en plus sur ce que fait l’ACPM pour l’avancement des soins de santé