Continuity of purpose during the CMPA’s transition of CEO

Published December 2019

Following a highly successful 7-year mandate, Dr. Hartley Stern will be ending his tenure as the CMPA’s Chief Executive Officer in September 2020.

As the CMPA’s chief executive, Dr. Stern has led the Association with a clear vision of how the CMPA can best support Canada’s 100,000+ physicians. As Canada’s largest physician organization, the CMPA is an essential element of the Canadian healthcare system, and its role in assisting physicians to deliver safe care has never been more important.

Maintaining the CMPA’s vision—now and into the future

Photo of Dr. Michael Cohen

Dr. Michael Cohen
Grand Falls-Windsor,
Newfoundland

Like the healthcare system itself, the CMPA continues to evolve and the transition from one CEO to another will be another important milestone in the Association’s 118-year history. The CMPA has a long track record of providing effective and efficient medical liability protection and focused risk management to physicians, and members can be confident that this commitment to members will not change during the transition.

“In my nearly 20 years serving on CMPA Council, I’ve seen the organization strengthen its position as an essential component of the healthcare system,” says Dr. Michael Cohen, a family physician in Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland. “We are a trusted source of support for physician members across the country, and we can all be proud of what we have accomplished during Dr. Stern’s tenure. Thanks in large part to his efforts, I’m certain we have all the ingredients in place to continue advancing safe medical care for Canadians while providing the advice and assistance physicians need today and in the future.”

Photo of Dr. Yvonne Molgat

Dr. Yvonne Molgat
Québec, Québec

Dr. Yvonne Molgat, an ophthalmologist in Québec City and CMPA Council member, agrees. “The CMPA’s strategic plan effectively positions the Association to further enhance its support to members and contributions to healthcare,” says Dr. Molgat. “Council is dedicated to ensuring that the selection and onboarding of a new CEO occurs seamlessly and we can do so with the confidence that Dr. Stern will continue to lead the Association in an exemplary manner until the transition. Guided by the strategic plan and with the oversight of council, the CMPA has a clear pathway to continued success.”

A rare opportunity to make a difference

CMPA Council has established a selection committee that will identify the next CEO and has engaged an executive search firm (Boyden) to conduct the search. This vital role offers healthcare leaders an opportunity to make a real difference in the lives of physicians and the system in which they work, and to guide the CMPA into the future.

To learn more about this opportunity, view the CEO profile.

Learn how CMPA is empowering better healthcare

Garder le cap pendant la transition à la direction générale de l’ACPM

Publié en décembre 2019

Après un mandat de sept ans couronné de succès, le Dr Hartley Stern quittera le poste de directeur général de l’ACPM en septembre 2020.

Pendant son mandat, le Dr Stern a dirigé l’Association tout en ayant une vision claire de la façon dont l’ACPM pouvait offrir le meilleur soutien possible à ses plus de 100 000 membres au Canada. En tant que la plus grande organisation de médecins au pays, l’ACPM constitue un élément essentiel du système de santé du Canada, et son rôle dans le soutien aux membres pour assurer la prestation de soins sécuritaires est plus important que jamais.

Poursuivre la vision de l’ACPM – à court et à long terme

Photo of Dr Michael Cohen

Dr Michael Cohen
Grand Falls-Windsor,
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Tout comme le système de santé, l’ACPM continue d’évoluer et le passage à une autre  personne à la direction générale constituera un jalon important de plus dans les 118 ans d’histoire de l’Association. Cette histoire se démarque par l’excellence des services offerts aux membres : une protection efficace et efficiente en matière de responsabilité médicale et une gestion ciblée des risques. Les membres peuvent être assurés que l’engagement de l’Association envers eux ne sera modifié en rien au cours de cette transition.

« Au cours de mes presque 20 ans de service au Conseil de l’ACPM, j’ai vu l’organisation renforcer sa position à titre de composante essentielle du système de santé », affirme le Dr Michael Cohen, un médecin de famille de Grand Falls-Windsor, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. « Nous sommes une source fiable de soutien pour les médecins membres de partout au pays, et nous pouvons tous être fiers de ce que nous avons accompli pendant le mandat du Dr Stern. En grande partie grâce à ses efforts, je suis sûr que nous disposons de tous les éléments nécessaires pour continuer à favoriser des soins médicaux sécuritaires pour les Canadiens tout en offrant les conseils et l’assistance dont les médecins ont besoin maintenant et à l’avenir. »

Photo of Dre Yvonne Molgat

Dre Yvonne Molgat
Québec, Québec

La Dre Yvonne Molgat, une ophtalmologiste de la ville de Québec siégeant au Conseil de l’ACPM, appuie les propos du Dr Cohen. « Le plan stratégique de l’ACPM permettra en effet à l’Association de continuer à améliorer le soutien qu’elle offre à ses membres et son apport au système de santé », affirme la Dre Molgat. « Le Conseil s’engage à assurer que la sélection et l’entrée en poste de la prochaine personne qui assumera la direction générale se dérouleront sans heurts, car nous sommes certains que le Dr Stern continuera de diriger l’Association de façon exemplaire jusqu’à la transition. Guidée par le plan stratégique et la supervision du Conseil, l’ACPM est assurée de pouvoir continuer à accumuler les réussites. »

Une occasion en or de changer les choses

Le Conseil de l’ACPM a mis sur pied un comité de sélection qui identifiera la prochaine personne qui prendra la relève à la direction générale et a retenu les services d’un cabinet de recherche de cadres (Boyden) pour y parvenir. Ce rôle crucial offre aux chefs de file de la santé une occasion sans pareille de véritablement changer les choses pour les médecins et le système au sein duquel ils évoluent, et de guider l’avenir de l’ACPM.

Pour en apprendre plus sur cette occasion, consultez le profil du DG.

Découvrez ce que fait l’ACPM pour l’avancement des soins de santé