Supporting physician wellness: an essential part of CMPA’s assistance

Published March 2020

CMPA Physician Advisors are available to provide support throughout the pandemic and can be reached at 1-800-267-6522 Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET or through the CMPA member portal.

Dealing with the complexities of medical practice, including ones like receiving notice of a legal action or a College or hospital complaint, can leave physicians with a range of emotions. Confusion, disappointment, and self-doubt can accompany guilt and shame. The anxiety and stress may result in difficulties at work, affecting a physician’s overall health and well-being and potentially impacting the ability to deliver safe medical care.

Faced with such a situation, physicians in Canada turn to the Canadian Medical Protective Association for assistance and support. We assist our members with the many concerns that affect the delivery of care, but that’s only the beginning. Our support extends to helping members cope with the stress associated with medical-legal difficulties and, if needed, guiding them to resources to help them get better.

Physicians supporting physicians

Dr. Paul Farnan
West Vancouver, BC

When you as a member contact the CMPA, you will be connected with one of our physician advisors—an experienced physician who has likely dealt with similar matters, either personally while in practice or through advising other members.

In a series of new videos, now available on the CMPA’s redesigned Physician wellness web page, our physician advisors and CMPA-appointed legal counsel describe how they help CMPA members with the emotional challenges arising from medical-legal difficulties.

“Whether or not you have used the CMPA’s services before, you can sleep better at night knowing that an experienced physician colleague who understands the current challenges of front-line practice is just a phone call or email away,” says Dr. Paul Farnan, CMPA Council member and occupational and addiction medicine consultant in Vancouver. Dr. Farnan is a past Chair of the Canadian Physician Health Network and remains an advocate for physician health in Canada.

No question is too small

“Members sometimes don’t know whether a particular issue that has arisen is something they should worry about, and when they should reach out to the CMPA. We say no question or concern is too small. The physician advisor’s role is to first listen and then help the member work through the steps toward a resolution. Having a frank discussion and being able to open up about feelings of anxiety and uncertainty is an important part of the resolution process,” says Dr. Farnan.

The CMPA’s physician-to-physician approach ensures no member feels alone in dealing with the angst of an unexpected turn in their professional practice. Most physicians can expect a medical-legal difficulty at some point in their career, and our physician advisors understand the many challenges of practising medicine in today’s healthcare system. The CMPA’s aim is to help resolve medical-legal matters fairly and expeditiously, and provide members with the assistance and strategies they need to provide safe and effective care.

Caring and empathetic support

Dr. Susan Chafe
Edmonton, Alberta

Some issues may also require the expertise of legal counsel. CMPA-appointed lawyers in each province and territory support members through the legal or regulatory process. “Just like with our physician advisors, members can expect caring and empathetic support from CMPA-appointed lawyers,” says Dr. Susan Chafe, CMPA Council member and radiation oncologist in Edmonton. “It’s important for our members to know they are not alone. Both our physician advisors and appointed lawyers are trained to recognize the signs of emotional distress, and they have access to a wide network of professionals who can help members take the steps needed to improve wellness,” adds Dr. Chafe.

Watch the videos for a revealing glimpse into the CMPA and how we help restore physicians’ confidence and well-being during medical-legal difficulties. Contacting us as soon as possible after an unexpected event allows us to serve you better; our physician advisors are ready to help.

Soutenir le bien-être des médecins : une composante essentielle de l’assistance de l’ACPM

Publié initialement en mars 2020

Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM sont là pour vous offrir du soutien tout au long de cette pandémie; vous pouvez les joindre au 1-800-267-6522 du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 HE, ou encore par l’intermédiaire du portail des membres de l’ACPM.

Gérer la complexité de l’exercice de la médecine, y compris la signification d’un avis d’action en justice, d’une plainte au Collège ou d’une plainte intrahospitalière, risque de faire vivre aux médecins toute une gamme d’émotions. La confusion, la déception et le doute de soi peuvent s’accompagner d’un sentiment de culpabilité et de honte. L’anxiété et le stress entraînent souvent des problèmes au travail, ce qui a parfois des répercussions sur la santé globale du médecin, son bien-être et même sa capacité à prodiguer des soins sécuritaires.

Devant une telle situation, les médecins du Canada se tournent vers l’Association canadienne de protection médicale pour obtenir une assistance. Nous soutenons les membres aux prises avec diverses préoccupations qui influent sur la prestation des soins, mais ce n’est là qu’un début. Nous les aidons aussi à surmonter le stress associé aux problèmes médico-légaux et, au besoin, les guidons vers des ressources qui leur permettront de mieux se rétablir.

Des médecins qui soutiennent les médecins

Image du Dr Paul Farnan

Dr Paul Farnan
West Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique)

Quand un membre communique avec l’ACPM, il est dirigé vers l’un de ses médecins-conseils ‒ un médecin expérimenté qui a probablement déjà géré des situations semblables, soit personnellement au cours de sa pratique ou dans la prestation de conseils à de nombreux membres.

Dans une série de nouvelles vidéos, maintenant accessibles sur la page web repensée sur Le bien-être des médecins, nos médecins-conseils et les avocats retenus par l’ACPM décrivent comment ils aident les membres à surmonter les défis émotionnels découlant de problèmes médico-légaux.

« Que vous ayez déjà utilisé ou non les services offerts par l’Association, vous pouvez mieux dormir la nuit sachant qu’un médecin expérimenté, un collègue qui comprend les défis courants d’une pratique de première ligne, est facilement joignable au téléphone ou par courriel à l’ACPM », explique le Dr Paul Farnan, conseiller de l’ACPM et consultant en médecine du travail et traitement de la toxicomanie à Vancouver. Le Dr Farnan est un ancien président du Réseau canadien de la santé des médecins et demeure un défenseur de la santé des médecins au Canada.

Il n’y a pas de mauvaises questions

« Parfois, les membres ne savent pas s’ils doivent s’inquiéter si un problème particulier survient; ils se demandent aussi quand communiquer avec l’ACPM. Nous leur répondons qu’il n’y a pas de mauvaises questions. Le rôle du médecin-conseil est d’abord d’écouter, puis d’aider le membre tout au long de la démarche de résolution. Le fait d’avoir une discussion franche et d’être capable d’exprimer ses sentiments d’anxiété et d’incertitude constitue une étape importante de cette démarche », explique le Dr Farnan.

L’approche de médecin à médecin de l’ACPM veille à ce qu’aucun membre ne se sente seul pour faire face à l’angoisse d’une tournure inattendue dans leur pratique professionnelle. La plupart des médecins peuvent s’attendre à vivre des problèmes médico-légaux à un moment ou un autre de leur carrière et nos médecins-conseils comprennent les divers défis que représente l’exercice de la médecine dans le cadre du système de santé d’aujourd’hui. L’ACPM a pour objectif d’aider à résoudre les problèmes médico-légaux de manière équitable et rapide, et d’offrir aux membres une assistance et des stratégies qui leur permettront de prodiguer des soins sécuritaires et efficaces.

Soutien empreint de compassion et d’empathie

Image du Dre Susan Chafe

Dre Susan Chafe
Edmonton (Alberta)

Certaines situations exigent parfois l’expertise d’un conseiller juridique. L’ACPM a retenu les services d’avocats dans chaque province et territoire pour soutenir les membres, que ce soit dans le cadre d’une action en justice ou d’une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation. « Tout comme avec nos médecins-conseils, les membres peuvent s’attendre à un soutien empreint de compassion et d’empathie de la part des avocats retenus par l’ACPM », affirme la Dre Susan Chafe, membre du Conseil de l’ACPM et radio-oncologue à Edmonton.
« Il est important que nos membres sachent qu’ils ne sont pas seuls. Nos médecins-conseils ainsi que les avocats retenus par l’ACPM sont formés pour reconnaître les signes de détresse émotionnelle et ils ont accès à un grand réseau de professionnels formés pour aider les membres à prendre les mesures nécessaires afin d’améliorer leur bien-être », ajoute la Dre Chafe.

Visionnez les vidéos pour découvrir ce que fait l’ACPM et comment nous contribuons à restaurer la confiance et le bien-être chez les médecins aux prises avec des problèmes médico-légaux. Si vous communiquez avec nous dès que possible après un événement inattendu, cela nous permettra de mieux vous assister; nos médecins-conseils sont prêts à vous aider.