Our history

In September 1896 a young lad fell out of a tree, breaking a bone in his forearm. Luckily, a neighbour in Smiths Falls, Ont., a town near Ottawa, was a doctor who set the arm in padded splints and was able to check his work frequently. But the boy and his parents did not follow the doctor's instructions and complications resulted in the boy losing the use of his thumb.

The boy's father sued the doctor for negligence.

The court decided in favour of the doctor but the decision was twice appealed – on points of law, not medicine. The doctor won each time but could not claim expenses from the plaintiff because he was, in the vernacular of the day, "worthless." In the end the doctor's legal bills would have been his financial ruin had not the doctor's colleagues taken up a collection to assist him.

And so, the movement to create a new association of physicians — the Canadian Medical Protective Association — was born.

Negligence or error?

What constitutes negligence on the part of a physician? That age-old question pits doctor against patient in a court of law, in a situation both would prefer to avoid. Doctors, being human, may err; patients are the victims of such misfortune. When this happens it is only fair that patients receive compensation. That has been the position of the CMPA since it was founded more than 110 years ago. Most bad medical outcomes do not result from negligence or lack of skill. In these cases the CMPA has always taken the position that the doctor's professional integrity should be defended.

In 1896 a doctor faced financial and professional ruin when a patient was dissatisfied. Today doctors have protection.

The story of the CMPA

The story of the CMPA is one of doctors assisting each other when their professional integrity is threatened. It is also the story of new technologies, techniques, drugs and treatments, of changing legal attitudes and precedents, and of shifting societal values affecting a doctor's practice.

It is the story of compensating patients when errors have occurred. The story describes the CMPA's profound influence on the practice of medicine – informing and teaching physicians about the risks of medical procedures and of practice in general, and ways to mitigate those risks to provide safer patient care.

Mainly it's a story about the people in a caring profession striving to share the best possible medical care with Canadians. It's a story told with pride in past achievements and anticipation of continuing support to physicians that will ultimately benefit their patients.

To commemorate the CMPA's centennial anniversary in 2001, a retrospective of the Association's beginnings and a century of evolution was published. A physician's foresight, a profession's pride is available on request from the CMPA.

Notre histoire

Au mois de septembre 1896, un jeune garçon de Smith Falls, dans les environs d'Ottawa, tombe d'un arbre et se fracture l'avant-bras. Un voisin, qui est médecin, place immédiatement le bras dans une gouttière rembourrée et suit son jeune patient de près. Cependant, le non respect des directives du médecin par l'enfant et ses parents entraîne des complications qui conduisent à la perte de l'usage du pouce.

Le père décide d'intenter une poursuite contre le médecin pour négligence.

Le tribunal rend un jugement en faveur du médecin, mais le demandeur en appelle deux fois de la décision. Les appels portent sur des questions de droit et non de médecine. Le médecin gagne la cause à chaque fois, mais n'obtient pas le remboursement des frais parce que le demandeur est « sans le sou ». Sans l'aide financière de ses collègues, le médecin aurait croulé sous le poids des frais d'avocat.

C'est ainsi qu'est né le mouvement visant à créer une nouvelle association de médecins — l'Association canadienne de protection médicale.

Négligence ou faute professionnelle?

À quel moment un médecin fait-il preuve de négligence? Cette question séculaire oppose patients et médecins devant les tribunaux, situation que tous préféreraient éviter.

L'erreur étant humaine, un patient peut être victime d'une erreur commise par un médecin. En pareil cas, il est juste que le patient soit compensé. C'est la position que défend l'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) depuis sa fondation il y a plus de 110 ans. Comme la plupart des problèmes découlant de soins médicaux ne résulte pas de la négligence ou du manque de compétence, l'ACPM s'est toujours employée à défendre l'intégrité professionnelle des médecins.

En 1896, un patient insatisfait pouvait acculer un médecin à la faillite financière et professionnelle. De nos jours, les médecins bénéficient d'une protection à cet égard.

L'histoire de l'ACPM

L'histoire de l'Association n'est autre que celle de médecins qui s'entraident pour défendre leur intégrité professionnelle. C'est une histoire marquée par l'arrivée de nouvelles technologies et techniques, de nouveaux médicaments et traitements, ainsi que par l'évolution des attitudes et précédents légaux et par un changement de valeurs sociales ayant une incidence sur la pratique médicale.

Cette histoire est aussi celle des patients victimes d'erreurs médicales qui devaient être compensés. Elle décrit la profonde influence que l'ACPM a exercée sur la pratique de la médecine en renseignant et en éduquant les médecins sur les risques associés aux actes médicaux et à l'exercice de la médecine en général.

L'histoire de l'ACPM est surtout celle de médecins dévoués, désireux d'offrir aux Canadiens les meilleurs soins médicaux possibles. C'est aussi l'histoire de grandes réalisations et d'une collaboration soutenue qui, espérons-le, continuera de se perpétuer dans l'intérêt des patients.

Pour commémorer le centenaire de l'ACPM en 2001, l'Association a publié une rétrospective de ses débuts et de son évolution au cours du siècle qui a suivi. Il est possible d'obtenir un exemplaire de La vision d'un médecin, la fierté d'une profession en présentant une demande auprès de l'ACPM.