Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Legal liability of physician for medical certificates

An article for physicians by CMPA General Counsel
Originally published Winter 1994 / Revised October 2008
IL9410-3-E

Abstract

Medical certificates may be relied on by an employer or its insurer when making a determination concerning a patient's benefits.

Of interest to physicians dealing directly with patients

Physicians are frequently asked to provide medical certificates for a patient's employer. These certificates are often needed to meet requirements of the employer or the employer's disability insurer.

The following information may be asked for:

  • Has the employee been under the physician's care throughout the period of the employee's absence from work?
  • Was the employee unfit to perform his or her regular job during the period of absence?
  • Was the employee fit to perform other suitable available employment during the absence?
  • When will the employee be fit to return to his or her regular job or to other suitable employment?
  • Are there restrictions on the type of work which the employee can perform?
  • Will the employee's medical condition be likely to cause any absenteeism in the future?

A physician may be pressured by the employee to provide information to the employer which meets the employee's objectives. However, physicians must recognize that employers and their insurers will be relying on the information provided to them by the physician in making a number of decisions concerning questions such as those raised above. A physician may be required to testify in proceedings involving a dispute between an employer and an employee. These proceedings could be before courts, boards of arbitration under collective agreements, boards of inquiry in human rights disputes, or workers compensation boards. In such proceedings, the physician may be subpoenaed as a witness, required to produce clinical notes and examined and cross-examined under oath about the information already provided by the physician to the employer or the employer's insurer.

Employers and insurers do indeed rely on representations made by physicians concerning the matters referred to above and, in so doing, they may incur financial liability for sick leave or disability pay. Physicians should recognize that if they provide misinformation or erroneous or unfounded opinions concerning such matters, employers and insurers who have relied on such representations may have grounds for a claim for damages against the physician. Physicians may also find themselves the subject of a regulatory authority (College) complaint.

The following suggestions may be helpful to physicians:

  • Statements you make should be, to the best of your knowledge, accurate and based upon current clinical information about the employee. For example, you should not certify that an employee has been unfit to work simply because the employee tells you so.
  • Before giving an opinion on an employee's fitness to work, a physician should be satisfied he/she has sufficient accurate information about the requirements of the employee's job.
  • The physician should not state that the employee has been under the physician's care for any time during which the employee was not in fact the physician's patient.
  • Physicians should only provide information to the employer or its insurer with the employee's consent.
  • Physicians should take care not to disclose more information than is covered by the employee's consent or is required by the employer's request. For example, diagnosis and treatment information is not normally required to questions concerning fitness to work or prognosis for future attendance at work.

While reference in this article has been to forms required by a patient's employer or that employer's insurer, the suggestions offered have just as ready application to the other sorts of forms which patients ask physicians to complete in order that patients can avail themselves of the benefits to which they may be entitled. No physician is immune from requests to complete forms, and all physicians know how repetitive, tedious and time-consuming this activity can be. The point is, however, that carelessness in the completion of forms can cause serious medico-legal difficulty for a physician.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Certificat médical et responsabilité juridique du médecin

Un article pour les médecins par le service de contentieux
Publié initialement en hiver 1994 / révisé en octobre 2008
IL9410-3-F

Résumé

L'employeur ou leurs assureurs peuvent se fier aux certificats médicaux pour déterminer les indemnités du patient.

Un article d'intérêt pour les médecins ayant des contacts directs avec les patients

L'employeur d'un patient demande fréquemment aux médecins de celui-ci des certificats médicaux. Ces certificats sont souvent destinés à satisfaire aux exigences de l'employeur ou à celles de l'assureur qui protège le travailleur en cas d'invalidité.

Les formulaires peuvent demander les renseignements suivants :

  • Le travailleur a-t-il été sous les soins du médecin durant toute la période de son absence du travail?
  • Le travailleur a-t-il été inapte à son travail habituel durant son absence?
  • Le travailleur a-t-il été apte à un autre travail durant son absence?
  • Quand le travailleur sera-t-il apte à reprendre son travail habituel ou un autre travail approprié?
  • Y a-t-il des restrictions au genre de travail que le travailleur peut exécuter?
  • L'affection dont souffre le travailleur pourrait-elle amener celui-ci à s'absenter du travail dans l'avenir?

Il se peut que le travailleur exerce des pressions sur le médecin pour que celui-ci réponde aux questions dans le sens de ses intérêts. Le médecin doit se rappeler toutefois que les employeurs et leurs assureurs vont s'appuyer sur les renseignements qu'il fournit pour prendre un certain nombre de décisions se rapportant aux questions posées et qu'il peut être obligé de témoigner en cas de conflit entre l'employeur et le travailleur. Ce témoignage peut être sollicité par un tribunal, un conseil d'arbitrage en vertu d'une convention collective, une commission d'enquête en matière de droits de la personne ou une commission d'indemnisation des accidents du travail. Dans ces cas, le médecin peut être assigné comme témoin, interrogé et contre-interrogé sous serment à propos des renseignements qu'il a fournis, et on peut lui demander de produire les notes qu'il a prises.

Les employeurs et leurs assureurs se fondent sur les déclarations des médecins pour décider des questions évoquées précédemment et assumer leurs responsabilités financières envers le travailleur en cas de maladie ou d'invalidité. Les médecins doivent par conséquent savoir que, s'ils donnent de faux renseignements ou formulent des opinions erronées ou non fondées, les employeurs ou leurs assureurs peuvent avoir un motif de leur réclamer des dommages-intérêts. Les médecins peuvent aussi faire l'objet d'une plainte auprès d'un organisme de réglementation (Collège).

Les suggestions suivantes peuvent s'avérer utiles pour les médecins :

  • Les déclarations que vous faites doivent, pour autant que vous le savez, correspondre à la vérité et aux données cliniques dont vous disposez. Par exemple, vous ne devez pas certifier qu'un travailleur est inapte au travail simplement parce qu'il vous dit qu'il l'est ou l'a été.
  • Avant de donner une opinion sur l'aptitude au travail d'un travailleur, le médecin doit s'assurer d'avoir suffisamment d'information sur les exigences de la tâche de ce travailleur.
  • Un médecin ne doit pas déclarer que le travailleur a été son malade à un moment où celui-ci ne l'était pas de fait.
  • Le médecin doit uniquement fournir des renseignements à l'employeur ou à l'assureur de ce dernier, avec le consentement du travailleur.
  • Le médecin doit éviter de donner plus de renseignements que ne le permet le formulaire de consentement signé par le travailleur ou que ne le demande l'employeur. Par exemple, il n'a pas normalement à révéler le diagnostic et le traitement en réponse à des questions portant sur l'aptitude au travail dans l'avenir ou sur le pronostic d'absentéisme.

Même s'il a été question ici des formulaires utilisés par les employeurs ou leurs assureurs, il est certain que les suggestions formulées ci-dessus s'appliquent à toutes les sortes de formulaires que les patients demandent aux médecins de remplir et grâce auxquels ils peuvent bénéficier d'avantages auxquels ils ont droit. Aucun médecin n'est à l'abri des formulaires à remplir, et la plupart des praticiens savent à quel point cette tâche peut être ennuyeuse et répétitive en plus de prendre du temps. Ce sur quoi nous avons voulu insister, c'est sur le fait que le manque d'attention ou de soin dans la rédaction de formulaires peut être à l'origine de difficultés juridiques sérieuses.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.