Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Natural justice - an obligation for "fair play"

An article for physicians by CMPA General Counsel
Originally published Winter 1994 / Revised April 2008
IL9420-1-E

Abstract

When involved in administrative proceedings (e.g. College proceedings, hospital proceedngs etc.), an individual is entitled to fairness. The principles of "natural justice" are explained, and a hospital proceeding is used as a case example.

Of interest to all physicians

A physician was  invited to attend a meeting with the Chief of Staff, the Chief of Surgery and the Administrator of his hospital. The letter indicated that the meeting could affect his privileges. Upon attending the meeting the physician was told that a critical audit report had been obtained touching on some of his cases. He was invited to resign immediately or his privileges would be suspended. Understandably upset, the physician refused to resign.

In fairly quick succession the Executive Committee, which included the Chief of Staff and the Administrator, decided to formally recommend to the Board that the surgeon's privileges be revoked. Written reasons for this decision were promised to the physician. The Medical Advisory Committee met to hear the Chief of Staff summarize the conclusions of the audit report, all in the absence of the physician. A subsequent telephone poll of individual members resulted in the Medical Advisory Committee supporting the recommendations of the Executive Committee.

The physician and his legal counsel were invited to attend a meeting of the Board of the hospital. A copy of the audit report was made available prior to the meeting although the written reasons of the Executive Committee never materialized. At the meeting the physician attempted to discuss a number of charts identified in the audit report. He was interrupted by a member of the Board who made it clear that this was a waste of time as the Board was not in a position to understand the medical points he was trying to make. After excusing the physician and his legal counsel the Board then heard from the Chief of Surgery who discussed the audit report and other background information. The Board voted in favour of the revocation of the physician's privileges, with all members of the Executive Committee who had previously taken part in the process voting in favour of the resolution.

Upon receiving notice from the Board that his privileges had been revoked, the physician immediately brought an application for judicial review. It was argued that there had been a denial of natural justice in the procedure and methods used by the hospital in revoking his privileges.

Principles of natural justice

The principles of natural justice and fair process can be reduced to the following central issue:

Did the decision-making body, on the facts of the particular case, act fairly to the person whose conduct or rights were under consideration?

The common law requires tribunals to provide a certain minimum of procedural fairness, which includes the right to be heard,  to have one's case decided by persons free of bias, and to receive reasons for decisions made.

  1. The Right to be Heard

    The right to be heard necessarily encompasses the right of a party to receive notice of the allegations against him/her. The notice must be sufficiently precise and timely to ensure that the right to present a response is meaningful.

    The right to an opportunity to be heard does not necessarily imply that there must be a formal hearing. In some instances the ability to make written submissions and rebuttals has been considered sufficient. More often, however, the individual is given the opportunity to attend with legal counsel before the tribunal to present his or her arguments.

  2. Adjudicators Free from Bias

    It is not simply sufficient that members of the decision-making body be free from bias. It is also important that there be no reasonable apprehension that bias might exist.

    The appearance of bias might arise, for example, where some of the same people participate in each phase of the investigation, hearing and decision-making process. It is important to note however that the law does not go so far as to say every type of prior connection between the decision-maker and the parties will justify a finding of reasonable apprehension of bias. Indeed, decision-makers are often chosen expressly because of their expertise and experience with respect to the matters upon which they will be called to adjudicate.

  3. Reasons

    The right to a fair hearing has been expanded  to include the right to receive reasons for the decision resulting from the hearing. Such reasons must be sufficiently detailed and adequate so as to enable the individual concerned to not only know the facts that have been relied upon but also the reasoning which underlies the decision which has been reached.

Application for judicial review

The duty of the Court on a judicial review application is to determine whether the suspension or revocation of the physician's privileges was made fairly and in accordance with the rules of natural justice.

In the case which has been outlined the Court found that the physician had not been treated fairly for the following reasons:

  • The physician was not given the opportunity to be heard or even attend before the Medical Advisory Committee.
  • The Medical Advisory Committee had limited and selective information on which to base a recommendation.
  • The members of the Medical Advisory Committee did not have the benefit of discussion with each other when asked to vote.
  • Members of the Executive Committee and the Medical Advisory Committee who were involved in the initial investigation should not have participated in the decision-making process of the Board.
  • The procedure before the hospital Board was not a proper hearing. It was one-sided and arbitrary in nature.

The application for judicial review was therefore granted. The revocation of the physician's privileges was quashed and his privileges were ordered to be reinstated.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

La justice naturelle ou l’obligation de jouer franc-jeu

Un article pour les médecins par le Service du contentieux
Publié initialement à l'hiver 1994 / révisé en avril 2008
IL9420-1-F

Résumé

Toute personne impliquée dans une instance administrative (p. ex. instance devant le Collège, instance hospitalière, etc.) a droit à un traitement équitable. Les principes de justice naturelle sont expliqués et une instance hospitalière est présentée à titre d'exemple.

Un article d'intéret pour tous les médecins

Un médecin est convoqué dans son hôpital à une rencontre avec le médecin-chef, le chef du service de chirurgie et le directeur général. La lettre de convocation indique au médecin que ses privilèges dans l'établissement pourraient être affectés par cette rencontre. À celle-ci, on informe le médecin que certains de ses dossiers ont fait l'objet d'un examen critique et on lui demande de donner immédiatement sa démission. On ajoute qu'en cas de refus, ses privilèges dans l'établissement seront révoqués. Abasourdi — on le serait à moins — le médecin refuse de démissionner.

Dans les jours suivants, le comité directeur du conseil des médecins, où siègent le médecin-chef et le directeur général, décide de recommander formellement au conseil d'administration la révocation des privilèges du médecin dans l'hôpital et promet au praticien de lui donner par écrit les raisons de sa décision. Le comité médical consultatif se réunit sur les entrefaites pour entendre le médecin-chef résumer les conclusions du rapport de vérification, ceci en l'absence du médecin incriminé. Un vote par téléphone des différents membres de ce comité montrera par après que ceux-ci appuient les recommandations du comité directeur du comité médical consultatif.

Le médecin mis en cause et son avocat sont alors invités à assister à une réunion du conseil d'administration de l'hôpital. On leur remet avant la réunion une copie du rapport de vérification, mais l'exposé écrit des raisons ayant motivé la décision du comité directeur ne sera jamais produit. À cette réunion, le médecin essaie de donner son point de vue sur certains des dossiers considérés comme déficients, mais il est interrompu par un membre du conseil d'administration, qui lui dit que cela serait une perte de temps puisque le conseil n'est pas compétent pour comprendre les questions médicales en jeu. Après avoir demandé au médecin et à son conseiller juridique de se retirer, le conseil d'administration écoute le chef du service de chirurgie donner son point de vue sur le rapport de vérification et sur certaines autres questions connexes. Le conseil d'administration se prononce alors pour la révocation des privilèges du médecin dans l'établissement, tous les membres du comité directeur déjà impliqués dans l'affaire votant en faveur de la résolution.

Sur réception de la lettre lui annonçant que ses privilèges dans l'hôpital sont révoqués, le médecin demande immédiatement que cette décision soit confirmée ou infirmée par une instance judiciaire. Il estime que la façon de procéder des autorités hospitalières dans son cas constitue une atteinte à la justice naturelle.

Principes de justice naturelle

Les principes de justice naturelle et de processus impartial peuvent se ramener à la question suivante :

L'instance décisionnelle, en se fondant sur les faits dans ce cas particulier, a-t-elle agi d'une façon loyale envers la personne dont la conduite ou les droits sont en cause?

La common law impose aux tribunaux de procéder avec un minimum de droiture dans leur façon d'agir, notamment en ce qui concerne le droit d'être entendu, de voir sa cause jugée par des personnes dépourvues d'idées préconçues et de connaître les raisons des décisions prises.

  1. Droit d'être entendu

    Le droit d'être entendu comprend nécessairement le droit pour l'intimé d'être informé des allégations formulées contre lui. Le texte à cet effet doit être suffisamment précis et produit suffisamment longtemps d'avance pour que le droit de réponse ait un certain sens.

    Le droit d'être entendu ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'une audition formelle doit avoir lieu. Dans certains cas, la possibilité de présenter une argumentation écrite et de réfuter des assertions a été considérée comme suffisante. Plus souvent, toutefois, l'intimé a la possibilité d'assister à la séance du tribunal avec son conseiller juridique et de présenter ses arguments.

  2. Arbitres dépourvus d'idées préconçues

    Il ne suffit pas que les membres de l'instance décisionnelle soient indemnes d'idées préconçues. Il est également important que l'on ne puisse pas raisonnablement soupçonner qu'il pourrait y en avoir eu.

    Il pourrait y avoir, par exemple, apparence de préjugé si les mêmes personnes participent à chacune des phases de l'enquête, de l'audition et du processus de décision. Il est important toutefois de noter que la loi ne va pas jusqu'à dire que tout type de rapport entre l'instance décisionnelle et les parties justifie un soupçon raisonnable d'idées préconçues. De fait, les décideurs sont souvent choisis expressément pour leur compétence et leur expérience dans les questions sur lesquelles ils sont appelés à se prononcer.

  3. Raisons

    Le droit d'être entendu de façon satisfaisante a été étendu pour comprendre le droit de connaître les raisons d'une décision découlant de l'audition. L'exposé des raisons doit être suffisamment détaillé et précis pour que l'intimé connaisse non seulement les faits sur lesquels la décision a été fondée, mais également le raisonnement qui a présidé à l'élaboration de la décision.

Demande de révision judiciaire

Dans le cas d'une demande de révision judiciaire, le tribunal doit déterminer si la suspension ou la révocation des privilèges du médecin dans l'hôpital a été faite loyalement et conformément aux règles du droit naturel.

Dans le cas qui nous occupe, le tribunal a estimé que le médecin n'avait pas été traité loyalement et ce, pour les raisons suivantes :

  • On n'a pas donné au médecin la possibilité de se faire entendre ni même d'assister à la réunion du comité médical consultatif.
  • Le comité médical consultatif n'avait que des données limitées et sélectionnées pour fonder sa recommandation.
  • Les membres du comité médical consultatif n'ont pas eu la possibilité de discuter les uns avec les autres quand on leur a demandé de voter.
  • Les membres du comité directeur et du comité médical consultatif qui avaient participé à l'enquête à l'origine n'auraient pas dû prendre part à la décision du conseil d'administration.
  • La procédure suivie par le conseil d'administration ne correspond pas à celle d'une audition acceptable. Elle était unilatérale et arbitraire dans sa nature même.

Le tribunal a donc acquiescé à la demande de révision judiciaire et il a annulé la révocation des privilèges du médecin dans l'hôpital. Il a par conséquent ordonné que le médecin bénéficie de nouveau de ses privilèges.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.