Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Safety and the practice of medicine

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published Fall 1998 / Revised May 2008
IS9802-E

Abstract

Steps to create a safe working environment.

Of interest to all physicians

Physicians have always maintained that prevention is the best medicine. When it comes to safety in medical professional life whether it is the safety of their patients or prevention of violence against themselves or their staff, physicians should take the necessary steps to improve safety in their practice environment. The best way to do this is to take stock of risks and dangers that may surround one's work. Here are some of these considerations:

1. Personal safety

Physicians should review their kind of practice to see if and how the patients for whom they care could be a threat to their safety. The issues of transference, threats of violence, history of violence and above all, a physician's instinct should alert them to take extra personal safety measures.

Physicians should take a common sense approach to personal safety, e.g. park the car in a lighted place, avoid being alone in the office, employ home security measures. If the situation warrants, when a physician/patient relationship has deteriorated or there is a threat of violence, the physician/patient relationship should be terminated in accordance with the provincial/territorial regulatory authority's (College's) guidelines.

Checklist

  • Are you dealing with difficult patients, e.g. patients with transference who are violent or potentially violent, angry or dissatisfied?
  • Does your schedule of calls, house calls or routine at the office increase the threat to your personal safety?
  • Do you screen your house calls, park your car in a well-lighted place, avoid being alone in the office? Do you have adequate locks and security for your office?

2. Safety of the staff

A physician's office should be a safe environment to work in.

Checklist

  • Is the space and physical set-up such that risk of injury is minimized?
  • Is help available if a situation arises where the staff members need help dealing with violence or injury?
  • Are garbage and sharps disposals safe for both staff and patients?
  • If you are working with hazardous material, what safeguards are in place? Are you complying with legislation and regulations regarding use, storage and disposal of such products? Are you prepared to deal with a hazardous spill?
  • Does the location and type of practice increase the risk of violence? If so, what measures are in place to minimize the risk?

3. Safety of the medical records

Physicians are required to ensure that the clinical records of their patients are safe and secure and that the information in them is kept confidential.

Checklist

  • Is the physical set-up for record keeping safe from fire, theft, water damage or, in case of electronic records, a malfunction, e.g. back-up records?
  • Is your computer system compliant with relevant federal and/or provincial laws?
  • Is the access to medical information in the records secure?
  • Is confidentiality of medical information protected, i.e. is information released only when patients authorize it or when required by law?
  • Do you know who handles the records and who has access to your records?

4. Safety of the patients

The physician's office environment should be safe for patients and the risk of injury should be at a minimum.

Checklist

  • Does the physical set-up of the examination rooms and office minimize the risk of injury? Does it allow for privacy for patients to dress and undress?
  • Is your office child-proof?
  • Are instruments and equipment appropriately maintained and sterilized?
  • If drugs are kept in your office, are measures in place so that only authorized persons access them? Are records kept of the drugs and to whom they are dispensed? Are prescription pads secure?

5. Safety of others

From time-to-time, a situation may arise in which information regarding a patient or the information received from a patient may have to be released in order to safeguard others. For example, mandatory reporting to the public health authorities and the driver licensing authorities are two of many examples of legislated requirements intended to provide for public safety. However, sometimes the issue is that information received from a patient may raise the concern that there is an identifiable third person at risk of violence. In such a situation, there may be a duty to warn that person at risk even though the information was gained in the context of a patient-physician relationship. If faced with a situation where a patient reveals information which raises concern about the safety of another person, you should obtain legal advice promptly. CMPA members should contact their Association.

These are only some of the safety issues for the medical profession. Depending on your type of practice there may be other hazards or risk factors. Physicians should evaluate their own practices and identify potential risks and assess what course of action should be taken to minimize these risks.

Many situations are unique. Medical and ethical obligations to patients may conflict with societal or personal expectations or beliefs. If you find yourself in this dilemma, seek assistance. The Canadian Medical Protective Association provides its members with advice in circumstances such as this. Members should contact the Association and speak to one of our dedicated and knowledgeable physicians.

Physicians must take the initiative in caring for their own personal safety so that when they are doing their professional work, they can feel safe and secure.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La sécurité et l'exercice de la médecine

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement à l'automne 1998 / révisé en mai 2008
IS9802-F

Résumé

Étapes à suivre pour créer un environnement de travail sécuritaire.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Les médecins ont toujours soutenu qu'il valait mieux prévenir que guérir. Pour ce qui est de la sécurité dans la vie médicale professionnelle, qu'il s'agisse d'assurer la sécurité de leurs patients ou de prévenir la violence contre eux ou leur personnel, les médecins devraient prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer la sécurité dans leur milieu de pratique. La meilleure façon de ce faire, c'est de repérer les risques et les dangers que peut comporter son travail. Voici certaines indications à ce sujet :

1. Sécurité personnelle

Les médecins devraient examiner leur pratique pour déterminer si les patients qu'ils traitent pourraient menacer leur sécurité et si oui, de quelle façon. Le transfert, les menaces de violence, les antécédents de violence et, surtout, l'instinct du médecin sont autant de facteurs qui l'inciteront à prendre des mesures supplémentaires pour assurer sa sécurité.

Les médecins devraient faire preuve de bon sens en abordant leur sécurité personnelle, par exemple en garant leur voiture dans un lieu éclairé, en évitant de demeurer seul au bureau et en prenant des mesures de sécurité au foyer. Si la situation le justifie, par exemple lorsque la relation entre le médecin et le patient s'est détériorée ou qu'il y a menace de violence, l'on mettra un terme à la relation conformément aux lignes directrices des organismes de réglementation provinciaux ou territoriaux (Collèges).

Liste de contrôle

  • Avez-vous à traiter des patients difficiles, par exemple des cas de transfert impliquant des patients violents ou potentiellement violents, en colère ou insatisfaits?
  • Votre horaire de rendez-vous, de visites à domicile ou de travail au bureau accroît-il les menaces à votre sécurité personnelle?
  • Filtrez-vous les appels à la maison, garez-vous votre voiture dans un endroit bien éclairé, et évitez-vous de demeurer seul au bureau? Votre bureau est-il muni de serrures et de dispositifs de sécurité adéquats?

2. Sécurité du personnel

Le cabinet du médecin devrait être un lieu de travail sûr.

Liste de contrôle

  • Le bureau est-il meublé et aménagé de façon à minimiser le risque de blessures?
  • A-t-on accès à de l'aide pour un membre du personnel victime de violence ou de blessures?
  • Élimine-t-on les déchets et les objets coupants de façon sécuritaire tant pour le personnel que pour les patients?
  • Travaillez-vous avec des substances dangereuses et, le cas échéant, quelles mesures de sécurité avez-vous adoptées? Vous conformez-vous aux lois et aux règlements concernant l'utilisation, l'entreposage et l'élimination de tels produits? Êtes-vous prêt à faire face à un déversement de produits dangereux?
  • Le type de pratique et le lieu où elle s'exerce augmentent-ils le risque de violence? Si oui, quelles sont les mesures en place pour minimiser les risques?

3. Sécurité des dossiers médicaux

Les médecins sont tenus de veiller à ce que les dossiers cliniques de leurs patients soient conservés en lieu sûr et que les renseignements qu'ils contiennent soient tenus confidentiels.

Liste de contrôle

  • Les espaces de rangement des dossiers sont-ils à l'épreuve du feu, du vol, de l'eau ou, dans le cas des fichiers électroniques, d'une panne (p. ex. des copies de sécurité des fichiers)?
  • Votre système informatique est-il conforme aux lois fédérales et/ou provinciales pertinentes?
  • L'accès aux renseignements médicaux contenus dans les dossiers est-il sécurisé?
  • Protège-t-on le caractère confidentiel des renseignements médicaux; c.-à-d. l'information n'est-elle divulguée qu'avec l'autorisation des patients ou lorsque la loi le prescrit?
  • Savez-vous qui traite les dossiers et qui y a accès?

4. Sécurité des patients

Le cabinet du médecin devrait être un endroit sûr pour les patients et le risque de blessures devrait être minime.

Liste de contrôle

  • L'aménagement des salles d'examen et du cabinet permet-il de minimiser le risque de blessures? Les patients peuvent-ils s'habiller et se déshabiller en toute intimité?
  • Votre cabinet est-il sûr pour les enfants?
  • Veille-t-on à l'entretien des instruments et du matériel, et utilise-t-on les méthodes de stérilisation indiquées?
  • Si vous gardez des médicaments dans votre cabinet, avez-vous pris les mesures nécessaires pour que seules les personnes autorisées y aient accès? Tient-on des dossiers sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les personnes qui en reçoivent? Les blocs d'ordonnances sont-ils gardés en lieu sûr?  

5. Sécurité des tiers

De temps à autre, il peut arriver que des renseignements concernant un patient ou communiqués par celui-ci doivent être divulgués afin de protéger des tiers. Les déclarations obligatoires aux autorités de la santé publique et des permis de conduire sont deux exemples parmi tant d'autres d'exigences prescrites par la loi afin d'assurer la sécurité du public. Toutefois, il arrive que la divulgation de renseignements communiqués par un patient font craindre pour la sécurité d'une tierce personne identifiable. Le cas échéant, le médecin peut être tenu d'avertir cette personne même si les renseignements ont été obtenus dans le contexte de la relation entre le médecin et son patient. Si vous vous retrouvez dans une situation où un patient vous révèle des renseignements qui soulèvent des inquiétudes au sujet de la sécurité d'une tierce personne, sollicitez sans tarder les conseils d'un avocat. Les membres de l'ACPM devraient communiquer avec l'Association.

Voilà seulement quelques-unes des questions de sécurité avec lesquelles doit composer la profession médicale. Selon votre type de pratique, il peut exister d'autres dangers ou facteurs de risque. Les médecins devraient évaluer leurs propres pratiques et repérer les risques éventuels afin de déterminer quelles mesures prendre pour les minimiser.

De nombreuses situations sont uniques. Il peut arriver que les obligations médicales et éthiques envers les patients ne concordent pas avec les attentes ou les conventions sociales ou personnelles. Si vous êtes aux prises avec un tel dilemme, demandez de l'aide. L'Association canadienne de protection médicale prodigue des conseils à ses membres dans de telles circonstances. Ceux-ci devraient s'adresser à l'Association et parler à l'un de nos médecins dévoués et bien informés.

Les médecins doivent prendre l'initiative lorsque vient le temps de veiller à leur propre sécurité de sorte que lorsqu'ils accomplissent leurs tâches professionnelles, ils puissent se sentir en sûreté et en sécurité.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.