Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medical records: Advice about maintaining their integrity and providing them to lawyers

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published Fall 1999 / Revised May 2008
IL9930-3-E

Abstract

CMPA answers your questions about documentation.

Of interest to all physicians

The CMPA receives many types of questions from members. Some are frequently asked; some are unexpected and require consultation with legal counsel. Most generate information that other members may find useful. Here, we share some of the learning from your questions.

The CMPA has been asked for advice about incorporating information from original laboratory records into a separate flow sheet that is then kept on the patient's chart as a quick overview of the patient's lab results. The question has been raised whether it is necessary to keep the original lab reports once the information is transferred to the flow sheets. The CMPA recommends that all original copies of lab results be maintained on the chart, even if the information is transferred to a secondary document. Indeed, some regulatory authorities (Colleges) explicitly require that the original report be retained.

About providing medical records to lawyers


Q: Should I send a patient's record when it is requested by a lawyer?

A: Legally you must only provide the requested records if written and dated authorization from the patient, or the patient's legal representative, accompanies the request. The authorization should specify the records that the patient consents to releasing and to whom they can be released. In that situation you must provide a copy. If there is no authorization, you should advise the lawyer that you have received the request but can't provide the record until you have the proper authorization in hand.


Q: Should I send the original or a photocopy?

A: Send a copy. Your original records belong to you and should only be released after consultation with your legal counsel and after ensuring you have kept an original copy of the complete record.


Q: Does this request mean I'll be involved in a legal action?

A: It may, but not necessarily. The lawyer is likely seeking general information about the patient's care. A legal action may follow and you may or may not be named if there is a legal action.


Q: What should I copy?

A: Clinical notes, investigation reports or results, and consultation reports. If you're in doubt—for example, about releasing copies of reports prepared for third parties such as insurance companies—members are advised to contact the CMPA prior to releasing the record.


Q: Can I charge the lawyer for photocopying?

A: Yes. You can recover reasonable photocopying and administrative expenses. Some provincial and territorial medical associations and regulatory bodies (Colleges) have guidelines you may wish to consider in determining a reasonable charge.

If the lawyer subsequently requests more information, or if you later receive any legal document, members should contact the CMPA promptly for assistance.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les dossiers médicaux : des conseils concernant le maintien de leur intégrité et leur remise à des avocats

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement à l'automne 1999 / révisé en mai 2008
IL9930-3-F

Résumé

<p "=""> L'ACPM répond à vos questions en matière de documentation.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

L'ACPM reçoit toutes sortes de questions de la part de ses membres. Certaines reviennent fréquemment, tandis que d'autres sortent de l'ordinaire et exigent des consultations avec un conseiller juridique. La majorité d'entre elles font ressortir des renseignements susceptibles d'intéresser les autres membres. Nous partageons ici avec vous certains des enseignements que nous avons appris en répondant à vos questions.

L'ACPM s'est fait demander conseil sur le report sur un tableau synoptique de renseignements tirés des rapports originaux de laboratoire. Ce tableau est conservé dans le dossier pour permettre la consultation rapide de tous les résultats des épreuves de laboratoire subies par les patients. La question soulevée consistait à savoir si on devait garder les rapports originaux une fois que l'information est consignée sur le tableau. L'ACPM recommande de conserver toutes les copies originales des résultats de laboratoire dans le dossier, même si les renseignements sont reportés sur un autre document. En effet, certains organismes de réglementation (Collèges) exigent explicitement la conservation des rapports originaux.

La remise de dossiers médicaux à un avocat

Q : Lorsqu'un avocat en fait la demande, me faut-il lui envoyer le dossier d'un patient?

R : Légalement, vous devez fournir une copie de ce dossier seulement si la demande est accompagnée d'une autorisation écrite portant la date et la signature du patient ou de son représentant légal. Cette autorisation doit mentionner les dossiers que le patient a consenti à diffuser et les personnes à qui les dossiers peuvent être remis. À défaut d'avoir cette autorisation, vous devriez accuser réception de la demande et informer l'avocat que vous ne pourrez y accéder que lorsque vous aurez en main l'autorisation appropriée.

Q : Faut-il envoyer l'original ou une copie?

R : Il faut envoyer une copie. L'original des dossiers vous appartient et ne devrait être remis qu'après consultation avec votre avocat et après en avoir conservé une copie originale intégrale.

Q : Une telle demande signifie-t-elle que je serai impliqué dans une action en justice?

R : C'est une possibilité, mais ce n'est pas nécessairement le cas. L'avocat cherche probablement des renseignements généraux concernant les soins au patient. Il peut s'ensuivre une poursuite en justice et, le cas échéant, il est possible que vous soyez ou non impliqué.

Q : Que faut-il photocopier?

R : Les observations cliniques, les rapports ou les résultats des investigations et les rapports des consultations. Dans le doute—par exemple sur la pertinence d'envoyer les rapports préparés pour une tierce partie comme une compagnie d'assurance—l'ACPM conseille aux membres de communiquer avec elle pour demander conseil avant d'envoyer le dossier.

Q : Puis-je envoyer une facture à l'avocat pour les frais de photocopie?

R : Oui. Vous pouvez vous faire rembourser tous les frais raisonnables d'administration et de photocopie. Certaines associations médicales provinciales et territoriales et certains organismes de réglementation (Collèges) ont des directives que vous pourriez  prendre en considération pour déterminer un montant raisonnable à réclamer.

Par la suite, si l'avocat demande plus de renseignements ou un document légal est envoyé, les membres devraient consulter sans délai l'ACPM pour obtenir son assistance.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.