Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Well-limb compartment syndrome

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published September 2005 / Revised September 2008
IS0553-E

Abstract

Although most physicians are aware of the possibility of compartment syndrome following trauma to a limb, it may occur in other situations.

Of interest to physicians doing surgeries

The diagnosis of acute compartment syndrome is often a challenge for health care professionals and can elude even the most astute clinicians. This is despite the fact that the majority of physicians involved in treating lower extremity injuries are aware of the possibility of this serious clinical entity in obvious trauma situations.

A recent review of the CMPA's closed legal files reveals a less-recognized area of concern known as well-limb compartment syndrome. Well-limb compartment syndrome secondary to surgical positioning associated with the lithotomy or semi-lithotomy position, although known and recognized in the literature, is also an area of litigation for CMPA members. This syndrome can develop as a result of positioning the patient for gynaecological, general, plastic, orthopaedic and other surgical procedures that require support for the lower extremities (e.g., leg holders and various types of stirrups).

Case report

A 50-year-old menopausal, obese woman with complaints of incontinence, dysuria and episodes of enuresis was referred to a gynaecologist. A physical examination of the woman demonstrated a Grade III cystocele and a Grade III uterine and posterior vaginal wall prolapse with a left ovarian mass which was confirmed by a pelvic ultrasound. The gynaecologist recommended surgical excision to rule out malignancy.

The procedure was performed with the patient positioned in the lithotomy position (hyperflexion of the hips) with stirrups, and TED stockings on both lower extremities. A total abdominal hysterectomy, bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy, followed by a Burch suspension, was performed. Right-sided pelvic bleeding was encountered. Venous clips were applied and the bleeding was controlled. The procedure lasted more than six hours and the patient required intraoperative blood transfusions.

After the procedure, the patient was transferred to the intensive care unit (ICU) for monitoring. She complained of abdominal and pelvic pain. The epidural infusion rate was increased. She complained of bilateral leg pain through the night. Early the following morning she was assessed again; she was complaining of pain in the calf area and of generalized abdominal pain.

Later, on the first postoperative day, the pain in her legs became severe. The ICU physician assessed her; her calves were tense with decreased sensation on the dorsum of the left foot. An orthopaedic surgeon then assessed the patient urgently and confirmed a diagnosis of bilateral compartment syndrome. The patient was taken to the operating room and had fasciotomies of both legs. The wounds were closed four days later. She was left with a foot drop on the left side and limitations in mobility.

The bottom line

  • Well-limb compartment syndrome has been associated with prolonged surgical procedures with non-anatomical positioning of the lower extremities.
  • The syndrome is a potential cause of injury to patients.
  • To manage the risk, consider:
  • Is this patient at higher risk of this complication for any reason?
  • Is positioning appropriate?
  • Is padding adequate?
  • Are there any particular post-operative management issues?

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le syndrome du compartiment d'un membre sain

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en Septembre 2005 / révisé en février 2008
IS0553-F

Résumé

Bien que la plupart des médecins sachent qu'un syndrome du compartiment peut survenir à la suite d'un traumatisme à un membre, il faut aussi savoir qu'il peut se produire dans d'autres situations.

Un article d'intérêt pour les médecins qui font des chirurgies

Le diagnostic de syndrome du compartiment aigu constitue souvent un défi pour les professionnels de la santé et peut même échapper aux cliniciens les plus avisés. Cela peut se produire malgré le fait que la majorité des médecins appelés à gérer des traumatismes aux membres inférieurs connaissent les risques que pose cet état clinique dans les situations de traumatisme évident.

Un examen récent des dossiers juridiques conclus de l'ACPM révèle toutefois l'existence d'une source de préoccupation moins connue, soit le syndrome du compartiment d'un membre sain. Bien que les ouvrages médicaux mentionnent et reconnaissent le syndrome du compartiment d'un membre sain secondaire à une position de lithotomie ou d'hémilithotomie, ce syndrome représente un risque médico-légal pour les membres de l'ACPM. Ce syndrome peut survenir à la suite du positionnement de patients en vue d'interventions chirurgicales gynécologiques, générales, plastiques, orthopédiques ou autres nécessitant le soutien des membres inférieurs (p.ex., à l'aide d'appuie-jambes et de divers types d'étriers).

Exposé de cas

Une patiente de 50 ans, ménopausée et obèse, se plaignant d'incontinence, de dysurie et d'épisodes d'énurésie, se rend en consultation chez un gynécologue. L'examen physique révèle une cystocèle de grade III, un prolapsus utérin et une rectocèle de grade III, ainsi qu'une masse sur l'ovaire gauche, qui sera confirmée par échographie pelvienne. Le gynécologue recommande l'excision chirurgicale pour écarter toute possibilité de malignité.

Lors de l'opération, la patiente est en position de lithotomie (hyperflexion des hanches). Ses pieds ont été placés dans les étriers et des bas de compression gradués ont été enfilés aux membres inférieurs. Une hystérectomie totale avec salpingo-ovariectomie est pratiquée par voie abdominale, suivie d'une suspension de l'urètre par laparoscopie (technique de Burch). Un saignement veineux au côté droit de la région pelvienne est contrôlé par la mise en place de clips. La patiente a dû recevoir des transfusions sanguines au cours de l'intervention, qui a duré plus de six heures.

Après la chirurgie, la patiente est transférée aux soins intensifs afin d'y être surveillée. Elle se plaint de douleurs abdominopelviennes. Le taux de perfusion de l'épidurale est augmenté. La patiente se plaint d'une douleur bilatérale aux jambes pendant la nuit. Son état est réévalué tôt le matin, alors qu'elle se plaint d'une douleur aux mollets et d'une douleur abdominale généralisée.

Plus tard, au cours de la première journée postopératoire, la douleur aux jambes devient sévère. Le médecin de l'unité des soins intensifs examine la patiente et constate une tension aux mollets ainsi qu'une diminution de la sensation sur la face dorsale du pied gauche. Un chirurgien orthopédique l'évalue ensuite d'urgence et confirme le diagnostic d'un syndrome du compartiment bilatéral. La patiente est amenée en salle d'opération, où elle subit une fasciotomie aux deux jambes. Les plaies sont refermées quatre jours plus tard. La patiente reste avec un pied tombant du côté gauche et une mobilité réduite.

En bref

  • Le syndrome du compartiment d'un membre sain a été associé aux interventions chirurgicales prolongées pendant lesquelles les membres inférieurs sont placés en position non anatomique.
  • Le syndrome est une cause possible de traumatisme chez les patients.
  • Pour gérer les risques, les médecins devraient prendre en considération les questions suivantes :
  • Pour une raison ou une autre, le risque que cette complication survienne est-il élevé pour le patient?
  • Le positionnement du patient est-il approprié?
  • Les coussins sont-ils utilisés de façon appropriée?
  • Y a-t-il des questions particulières dont il faut tenir compte lors de la prise en charge postopératoire?

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.