Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Aminoglycoside therapy: Balancing risk versus benefit

Originally published December 2008
RI0814-E

During the five-year period from 2002 – 2006, 423 legal actions involving medication administration were commenced against Canadian physicians. Of these, 116 (27%) involved antibiotic administration. Aminoglycosides were cited in 16 of the 116 antibiotic cases (14%).

The following is a review of CMPA cases relating to aminoglycoside toxicity. The purpose of this review is to encourage their continued safe use by apprising clinicians of the medico-legal risks associated with these agents.

Case 1

A 69-year-old male was admitted by his family physician to a rural hospital with recurrent epididymorchitis unresponsive to outpatient treatment with an oral antibiotic. Serum creatinine at the time of admission was within normal limits. Treatment with gentamicin 80 mg IV q8h was initiated and continued through the ensuing 10-day hospitalization. Gentamicin levels on day two and eight were within the therapeutic range. On day 10, the patient was transferred to the care of an urologist at a larger regional centre because of slower-than-expected improvement.

At the time of arrival at the regional center a creatinine level was elevated at 244 µmol/L. The gentamicin was continued for a further five days. It was discontinued on day 15 and a different oral antibiotic was prescribed. No gentamicin levels were performed during the admission to the regional centre.

On day 20 the patient was discharged from the regional centre and care was again assumed by his family physician. Five days later (day 25) he developed weakness, vomiting, dizziness and ataxia prompting readmission to the rural hospital where investigations showed a creatinine of 205 µmol/L and a urinalysis suggestive of mild infection. Gentamicin was restarted at a dose of 80 mg IM q8h. Over the ensuing five days two trough gentamicin levels were reported as within the therapeutic range. A neurologist, consulted five days after his readmission, suggested that the gentamicin should be discontinued. This was done, but the patient's dizziness and ataxia persisted. Electronystagmography (ENG) findings were consistent with severe bilateral vestibular dysfunction. Renal function returned to normal.

The family initiated a legal action alleging negligence in the care provided by the family physician with specific reference to the duration of therapy and the absence of consent. The plaintiff's experts were critical of:

  1. The total duration of the therapy (20 days), even though there was a six-day hiatus in treatment. The experts considered this was beyond the accepted duration of recommended therapy.
  2. The decision to restart the gentamicin on readmission to the rural hospital when both the creatinine and the creatinine clearance were known to be abnormal, and the patient had clinical and biochemical evidence of both vestibular and renal toxicity.
  3. The failure to appreciate that toxicity may still develop even when levels, either peak or trough, are within the therapeutic range.
  4. The absence of informed consent, particularly for the second course of gentamicin.

At trial the judge made the following statements:

  1. "On the balance of probabilities . . . the defendant was negligent in prescribing and continuing to administer gentamicin during the second admission."
  2. "At the time of readmission, the defendant breached his duty to inform the plaintiff of the risk; and if the plaintiff had been so informed, a reasonable person in the plaintiff's circumstances would not have accepted the risk."

As a result of this judgment, an award was paid to the plaintiff by the CMPA on behalf of the defendant physician.


Case 2

A 62-year-old female with a past history of recurrent right otitis media with tympanic perforations and a previous right tympanoplasty presented to an ENT consultant with complaints of right ear discomfort and hearing loss. Examination of the ear revealed a small perforation of the tympanic membrane but no otorrhea. An audiogram demonstrated 40 per cent loss of hearing bilaterally. Sofracort® drops (framycetin [a derivative of the aminoglycoside neomycin], gramicidin, and dexamethasone) were prescribed. During the ensuing five months the patient was seen six times. At each visit a persistent small perforation was noted with otorrhea being documented on only one visit. Continued treatment with Sofracort® drops was advised. Seven months after the initial visit the patient was seen by another ENT consultant. An audiogram done at that time showed a near total hearing loss in the right ear and persistence of the 40 per cent loss in the left.

A legal action was commenced by the patient alleging hearing loss secondary to the prolonged administration of the medication. Plaintiff experts were critical of:

  1. The use of the aminoglycoside drops in the presence of a perforated tympanic membrane.
  2. The six-month duration of treatment.
  3. The continuation of the therapy in the absence of otorrhea.
  4. The absence of consent for a prolonged course of therapy.

Expert support was sought for the ENT consultant, but could not be obtained. On this basis the CMPA made a settlement to the patient on behalf of the attending physician.


The data

Search criteria

The following search parameters were employed:

  • Files opened during the time period 1984 – 2006
  • File types: legal action, college complaint, legal threat, and inquest. Both open and closed files were used to derive clinical data. Only closed cases were used when determining legal outcomes.
  • Drug class: aminoglycosides, any route of administration
  • Drug toxicity: any
  • Type of work category: any
  • Exclusions: patients less than 18 years old


The following is a summary based on CMPA experience for the time period 1984 – 2006 inclusive for medico-legal problems resulting from alleged aminoglycoside toxicity.

Number of cases (Figures 1 –3)

During the study period 65 cases were identified, generating 73 medico-legal problems (in eight cases one clinical incident generated both a regulatory authority (College) complaint and a legal action), of which 62 (85%) were legal actions (Figure 1). As can be seen in Figure 2 there has been a variation in the frequency of these actions over the past 10 years. Members' involvement by their type of work category is shown in Figure 3.

 

Figure 1: Distribution of medico-legal problems (N=73)
Figure 1: Distribution of medico-legal problems (N=73)

 

Figure 2: Legal actions opened per five-year periods (N=62)
Figure 2: Legal actions opened per five-year periods (N=62)

Figure 3: Type of work
Figure 3: Type of work

Legal and College outcomes (Figures 1, 4)

Of the 62 legal actions, 56 are now closed and six remain open at the time of writing. The outcomes of these actions are shown in Figure 1. The high proportion of settled cases is in contrast with the overall CMPA experience (Figure 4). Consent was identified as an issue in the statement of claim in 92 per cent of the legal actions.

Figure 4: Aminoglycoside vs. overall CMPA cases 1984 – 2006
Figure 4: Aminoglycoside vs. overall CMPA cases 1984 – 2006

Clinical characteristics (Figures 5, 6)

Of the 65 clinical incidents, 56 involved the parenteral administration of an aminoglycoside and nine involved a nonparenteral administration (either topical, intratympanic as a treatment for Meniere's disease, or oral.) These two groups will be considered separately.

Parenteral administration of aminoglycosides

Patient characteristics

The average patient age was 54. Thirty-two of the patients (57%) were male. A history of diabetes was documented in 17 (30%). A creatinine level obtained prior to the initiation of therapy was above the upper limit of normal used by the reference laboratory in 13 patients (23%).

Conditions being treated and pathogens

Clinical conditions being treated in order of decreasing frequency were (Figure 5):

  • diabetic foot ulcers with osteomyelitis,
  • intra-abdominal sepsis,
  • urinary tract infections,
  • cellulitis,
  • endocarditis,
  • pelvic infections,
  • pneumonia, and
  • sinusitis.

Figure 5: Clinical conditions being treated
Figure 5: Clinical conditions being treated

In 33 cases an organism was cultured. These included Pseudomonas, Staphylococcus aureus, Streptococcus, Escherichia coli, Enterococcus, Citrobacter, and Klebsiella. Only four of the microbiological isolates showed sensitivity only to an aminoglycoside, in the remaining 29 the organism was sensitive to at least one other commonly used antibiotic.

Drug Administration

Gentamicin was the antibiotic used in 53 cases (95%), tobramycin in two and netilmicin in one. In addition:

  • The aminoglycoside was given intravenously in 53 cases (95%) and intramuscularly in the remaining three. In 34 cases (61%) the drug was administered once daily in a dose of 5 – 7 mg/kg, in the remaining 22 cases either bid or tid dosage regimes were utilized.
  • Co-administration of loop diuretics, vancomycin, or non-steroidal anti-inflammatories was documented in eight cases (14%).
  • The average duration of therapy was 25 days (range 4 – 56 days)
  • Frequent monitoring (arbitrarily defined as greater than or equal to once weekly determinations of aminoglycoside levels and/or creatinine) was performed in 26 cases (46%). In the remaining 30 cases determinations were infrequent or absent. Once-daily gentamicin administration was utilized in 23 of those 30 cases.
  • Treatment was administered as an inpatient in 30 (54%), as an outpatient in 12 (21%) or both in the remaining 14.
  • Home care was involved in 12 of the 26 outpatient cases and was a co-defendant in eight cases.
  • The existence of a pharmacy protocol was noted in 19 (63%) of the 30 inpatient cases.
  • In 12 (40%) of the settled cases drug levels were performed frequently and were within recognized therapeutic ranges. Expert opinion in these cases identified either consent issues or the decision to continue the drug despite the appearance of symptoms and signs suggestive of toxicity as problematic.
  • Delay in receiving levels of either drug or creatinine was noted in only two cases.

Toxicity (Figure 6)

Common toxicities related to aminoglycoside use are either otic (vestibular or cochlear) or renal. The average duration of time between the onset of therapy and the first appearance of symptoms or signs suggestive of toxicity was 24 days (range 3 – 42 days). In 24 cases (43%) the drug was continued for more than 72 hours after the onset of clinical signs or symptoms of toxicity. In 10 patients, symptoms of toxicity occurred more than seven days after the drug was discontinued. Vestibular toxicity was confirmed with electronystagmography in 46 patients and was unconfirmed in two. In the remaining eight patients the toxicity was either cochlear (4) or renal (4). Figure 6 demonstrates that 93 per cent of patients who initiated medico-legal complaints or actions developed ototoxicity.

Figure 6: Type of toxicity
Figure 6: Type of toxicity

Non-parenteral Administration of aminoglycosides (topical, intratympanic, oral)

During the study period nine legal actions were identified related to the use of nonparenteral aminoglycosides. Six involved topical treatment for otorrhea, two related to intratympanic administration of gentamicin for Meniere's disease, and one case involved a patient with hepatic encephalopathy treated with a prolonged (240 day) course of oral neomycin resulting in cochlear toxicity. In all six otorrhea cases the tympanic membrane was not intact, either due to a perforation or myringotomy tube. Notably, all instances of medico-legal actions involving topical aminoglycosides were in the presence of a non-intact tympanic membrane. The average duration of therapy was 86 days. Framycetin (Sofracort®) was the drug involved in one case, in the remaining five, gentamicin drops were used. Vestibular toxicity was documented in four of these cases and cochlear toxicity was present in the remaining two. Of the topical cases three were settled and three dismissed. One of the two intratympanic cases was settled on an issue of consent and one dismissed. The neomycin case was settled.

The bottom line

Identifying risks when choosing a parenteral aminoglycoside

Based on the data presented and expert opinion from the files the following questions may need to be answered prior to the initiation of therapy with an aminoglycoside:

  1. Has baseline renal function been assessed and, if abnormal, considered?
  2. When available, have culture and sensitivity reports been reviewed? Are other safe and effective choices available?
  3. Are other medications being administered that may potentiate toxicity?
  4. In high-risk patients or those undergoing prolonged therapy, has a consent discussion occurred advising the patient or substitute decision maker of potential risks and benefits?
  5. Are there credible and reliable protocols in place for the safe administration of these agents both in and out of hospital?
  6. Is the duration of therapy appropriate? Are there mechanisms in place to alert a clinician when therapy is prolonged?
  7. Has a most responsible physician, familiar with these agents and their toxicities, been identified? In his/her absence has responsibility been appropriately transferred?
  8. Has the patient been alerted to early recognition and reporting of symptoms and signs suggestive of either vestibular or cochlear dysfunction and, if these occur, the necessity of immediate cessation of therapy?

Identifying risks with topical aminoglycosides

In the topical cases, review of expert opinion suggested the following questions should be explored:

  1. Is the duration of therapy appropriate and being monitored on an ongoing basis?
  2. When considering the use of a topical aminoglycoside otic preparation, is the tympanic membrane thought to be intact?
  3. Are you aware of current recommendations with respect to topical aminoglycosides?

Aminoglycosides are effective antimicrobial agents with indisputable efficacy in gram negative infections. Increased awareness of the issues raised here may offer patients both improved and safer clinical care.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Antibiothérapie aux aminosides : évaluer les risques par rapport aux avantages

Publié initialement en décembre 2008
RI0814-F

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Au cours de la période quinquennale 2002-2006, 423 actions en justice portant sur l'administration de médicaments ont été intentées contre des médecins canadiens. De ce nombre, 116 (27 %) mettaient en cause l'administration d'antibiotiques. Les aminosides ont été identifiés dans 16 des 116 cas liés à la prise d'antibiotiques (14 %).

Cet article présente une analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM portant sur la toxicité des aminosides et a pour objet d'encourager les médecins à continuer de les utiliser de façon sécuritaire en les informant des risques médico-légaux associés à ces agents.

Cas no 1

Un homme de 69 ans est admis par son médecin de famille dans un hôpital rural pour une orchiépididymite récurrente qui ne répond pas à l'antibiothérapie instaurée en consultation externe. Au moment de son admission, le taux de créatinine sérique se situe dans les limites normales. Un traitement à la gentamicine 80 mg IV q 8 h est entrepris et se poursuit pendant toute la durée de son séjour à l'hôpital, soit pendant 10 jours. Les concentrations sériques de gentamicine obtenues au 2e jour et au 8e jour se situent dans la marge thérapeutique. Le 10e jour, le patient est transféré aux soins d'un urologue dans un hôpital régional, car son rétablissement est plus long que prévu.

Au moment de son arrivée à l'hôpital régional, le taux de créatinine est rendu à 244 µmol/L. La gentamicine est continuée pendant encore cinq jours, puis est cessée le 15e jour et un autre antibiotique, à prendre par voie orale, lui est prescrit. Aucune concentration sérique de la gentamicine n'est obtenue pendant le séjour à l'hôpital régional.

Le 20e jour, le patient reçoit son congé de l'hôpital régional et ses soins sont de nouveau assumés par le médecin de famille. Cinq jours plus tard (le 25e jour), le patient présente de la faiblesse, des vomissements, des étourdissements et de l'ataxie nécessitant une réadmission à l'hôpital rural. Les investigations effectuées indiquent un taux de créatinine de 205 µmol/L et une analyse d'urine suggère une légère infection. Le traitement à la gentamicine est repris à une dose de 80 mg IM q 8 h. Au cours des cinq jours suivants, les résultats de deux concentrations minimales de gentamicine se situent dans la marge thérapeutique. Un neurologue, consulté cinq jours après la réadmission du patient, suggère de cesser la gentamicine. Ses recommandations sont suivies, mais le patient présente toujours des étourdissements et de l'ataxie. Les résultats d'une électronystagmographie (ENG) sont compatibles avec une dysfonction vestibulaire bilatérale sévère. La fonction rénale revient à la normale.

La famille a intenté une action en justice, alléguant que le médecin de famille avait fait preuve de négligence ou de faute médicale dans les soins qu'il avait prodigués, tout particulièrement en ce qui avait trait à la durée du traitement et à l'absence de consentement. Les experts pour le demandeur ont critiqué :

  1. la durée totale du traitement (20 jours), même si l'administration du médicament a été interrompue pendant six jours. Les experts ont considéré que cette durée allait au-delà des recommandations normalement acceptées pour ce traitement;
  2. la décision de recommencer la gentamicine au moment de la réadmission du patient à l'hôpital rural, alors que les médecins savaient que les taux de créatinine et de clairance de la créatinine étaient anormaux et que le patient avait des signes cliniques et biochimiques de toxicité vestibulaire et rénale;
  3. l'absence de considération accordée à la possibilité d'une toxicité, malgré des concentrations sériques de pointe et les concentrations minimales se trouvant dans la marge thérapeutique;
  4. l'absence de consentement éclairé, en particulier pour la deuxième série de traitements à la gentamicine.

Lors du procès, le juge a fait les déclarations suivantes :

  1. « Selon la prépondérance des probabilités… le défendeur a commis une faute en prescrivant la gentamicine et en continuant de l'administrer lors de la réadmission. »
  2. « Au moment de la réhospitalisation, le défendeur a manqué à son obligation d'informer le demandeur du risque; si le demandeur en avait été informé, une personne raisonnable se trouvant dans les mêmes circonstances que le demandeur n'aurait pas accepté de prendre un tel risque. »

À la suite de ce jugement, l'ACPM a versé une compensation au demandeur au nom du médecin défendeur.


Cas no 2

Une femme de 62 ans ayant des antécédents d'otite moyenne droite récurrente, avec perforations tympaniques et tympanoplastie droite antérieure, se présente chez un ORL en se plaignant d'un inconfort à l'oreille droite et d'une perte d'audition. L'examen de l'oreille révèle une petite perforation de la membrane tympanique mais aucune otorrhée. Un audiogramme permet de déceler une perte d'audition bilatérale de 40 pour cent. Du Sofracort® en gouttes (sulfate de framycétine [un dérivé de l'aminoside néomycine], gramicidine et dexaméthasone) lui est prescrit. La patiente est vue six fois au cours des cinq mois qui suivent. À chacune de ses visites, une petite perforation persistante est notée et une otorrhée est documentée lors d'une de ces six visites. Un traitement continu aux gouttes de Sofracort® lui est conseillé. Sept mois après la visite initiale, la patiente est vue par un autre ORL. Un audiogramme effectué à ce moment-là révèle une perte d'audition quasi-totale à droite et à 40 pour cent à gauche.

La patiente a intenté une action en justice, alléguant que la perte d'audition était secondaire à l'administration prolongée du médicament. Les experts pour la demanderesse ont critiqué :

  1. le recours à des gouttes d'aminoside en présence d'une perforation de la membrane tympanique;
  2. la durée de traitement de six mois;
  3. la poursuite du traitement en l'absence d'otorrhée;
  4. l'absence de consentement à un traitement prolongé.

L'appui d'experts pour l'ORL a été recherché, mais n'a pu être obtenu. Pour cette raison, dans le cadre d'un règlement hors cour, l'ACPM a versé une compensation à la patiente pour le compte du médecin traitant.


Les données

Critères de recherche

Les paramètres de recherche suivants ont été utilisés :

  • Dossiers ouverts entre 1984 et 2006
  • Types de dossiers : action en justice, plainte au Collège, menace d'action, enquête du coroner. Les dossiers ouverts ou conclus ont servi à extraire les données cliniques. Seuls les dossiers conclus ont été utilisés pour déterminer les résultats des actions en justice.
  • Classe de médicaments : aminosides, toutes les voies d'administration
  • Toxicité du médicament : toutes les catégories
  • Genre de travail : toutes les catégories
  • Exclusions : patients âgés de moins de 18 ans


Les renseignements qui suivent constituent un résumé fondé sur les données de l'ACPM pour la période de 1984 à 2006 inclusivement pour les problèmes médico-légaux découlant d'une toxicité alléguée aux aminosides.

Nombre de cas (Graphiques 1-3)

Au cours de la période sur laquelle a porté l'étude, 65 cas ont été identifiés, qui ont donné lieu à 73 problèmes médico-légaux dont 62 (85 %) étaient des actions en justice (Graphique 1) (dans huit cas, un incident clinique a donné lieu à une plainte déposée auprès de l'organisme de réglementation (Collège) et à une action en justice). Comme l'indique le Graphique 2, il y a un écart dans la fréquence de ces actions au cours des 10 dernières années. Les genres de travail effectués par les membres impliqués sont indiqués au Graphique 3.

Graphique 1 : Répartition des problèmes médico-légaux (N=73)
Graphique 1 : Répartition des problèmes médico-légaux (N=73)

Graphique 2 : Actions en justice intentées par période quinquennale (N=62)
Graphique 2 : Actions en justice intentées par période quinquennale (N=62)

Graphique 3 : Genre de travail
Graphique 3 : Genre de travail

Résultats des actions en justice et des plaintes aux Collèges (Graphiques 1, 4)

Des 62 actions en justice, 56 sont maintenant conclues, et 6 étaient encore en évolution au moment d'aller sous presse. Les résultats de ces actions sont indiqués au Graphique 1. La grande proportion de règlements contraste avec l'expérience de l'ACPM dans l'ensemble de ses dossiers (Graphique 4).

Des problèmes relatifs au consentement ont été cités dans la demande introductive d'instance dans 92 pour cent des actions en justice.

Graphique 4 : Dossiers mettant en cause des aminosides par rapport à l'ensemble des dossiers de l'ACPM entre 1984 et 2006
Graphique 4 : Dossiers mettant en cause des aminosides par rapport à l'ensemble

Caractéristiques cliniques (Graphiques 5, 6)

Sur les 65 incidents cliniques, 56 d'entre eux mettaient en cause l'administration parentérale d'un aminoside et 9 concernaient une administration non parentérale (soit topique, intratympanique dans le traitement de la maladie de Ménière, ou par voie orale). Ces deux groupes seront examinés séparément.

Administration parentérale d'aminosides

Caractéristiques des patients

L'âge moyen des patients était de 54 ans. Trente-deux de ces patients (57 %) étaient des hommes. Des antécédents de diabète ont été documentés chez 17 des patients (30 %). Chez 13 patients (23 %), un taux de créatinine obtenu avant le début du traitement se situait à une valeur au-dessus de la limite supérieure normale utilisée par le laboratoire de référence.

Problèmes traités et pathogènes en cause

Les problèmes cliniques traités, en ordre décroissant de fréquence, étaient (Graphique 5) :

  • ulcère du pied diabétique avec ostéomyélite,
  • infection intra-abdominale,
  • infection des voies urinaires,
  • cellulite,
  • endocardite,
  • infection pelvienne,
  • pneumonie, et
  • sinusite.

Graphique 5 : Problèmes cliniques traités
Graphique 5 : Probl?mes cliniques trait?s

Dans 33 cas, il y a eu culture des organismes suivants : pseudomonas, staphylocoque doré, streptocoque, Escherichia coli, entérocoque, Citrobacter, et Klebsiella. Seuls quatre des isolats microbiologiques ont révélé une sensibilité uniquement à un aminoside; dans les 29 autres cas, l'organisme était sensible au moins à un autre antiobiotique couramment utilisé.

Administration de médicaments

La gentamicine était l'antibiotique employé dans 53 des cas (95 %), la tobramycine dans deux cas et la nétilmicine dans un cas. Par ailleurs :

  • L'aminoside a été administré par voie intraveineuse dans 53 cas (95 %) et par voie intramusculaire dans les trois autres cas. Dans 34 cas, (61 %), le médicament a été administré une fois par jour à une dose de 5 à 7 mg/kg, et dans les 22 autres cas, soit deux ou trois fois par jour.
  • La coadministration de diurétiques de l'anse, de vancomycine ou d'anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens a été documentée dans huit cas (14 %).
  • La durée moyenne du traitement était de 25 jours (variant de 4 à 56 jours).
  • Une surveillance fréquente (arbitrairement définie comme étant une surveillance d'au moins une fois par semaine des taux sériques d'aminosides et/ou des taux de créatinine) a été effectuée dans 26 cas (46 %). Dans les 30 autres cas, la surveillance était peu fréquente ou absente. Une administration de gentamicine une fois par jour a été effectuée dans 23 de ces 30 cas.
  • Le traitement a été administré en milieu hospitalier dans 30 des cas (54 %), en milieu communautaire dans 12 cas (21 %) ou dans les deux milieux dans les 14 autres cas.
  • Les soins à domicile ont participé à 12 des 26 cas en milieu communautaire et ont été codéfendeurs dans huit cas.
  • L'existence d'un protocole pharmacologique a été notée dans 19 (63 %) des 30 cas en milieu hospitalier.
  • Dans 12 (40 %) des causes conclues, les taux sériques du médicament étaient obtenus fréquemment, et se trouvaient dans les marges thérapeutiques. Les opinions des experts obtenues dans ces cas ont indiqué qu'il y avait un problème entourant le consentement ou la décision de poursuivre le traitement malgré l'apparition de signes et symptômes suggérant un problème de toxicité.
  • Un retard dans l'obtention des taux sériques du médicament ou du taux de créatinine n'a été noté que dans deux cas.

Toxicité (Graphique 6)

Les toxicités courantes liées à l'emploi d'aminosides sont otiques (vestibulaires ou cochléaires) ou rénales. En moyenne, l'intervalle entre le début du traitement et la première apparition de signes ou de symptômes suggérant une toxicité était de 24 jours (variant de 3 à 42 jours). Dans 24 cas (43 %), l'administration du médicament s'est poursuivie pendant plus de 72 heures après l'apparition des signes et symptômes cliniques de toxicité. Chez 10 patients, les symptômes de toxicité sont apparus plus de sept jours après l'arrêt du médicament. Une toxicité vestibulaire a été confirmée par électronystagmographie chez 46 patients, et n'a pu être confirmée chez deux autres. Chez les huit autres patients, la toxicité était cochléaire (4) ou rénale (4). Le Graphique 6 indique que 93 pour cent des patients ayant déposé une plainte médico-légale ou intenté une action en justice avaient acquis une ototoxicité.

Graphique 6 : Type de toxicité
Graphique 6 : Type de toxicit?

Administration non parentérale d'aminosides (topique, intratympanique, orale)

Au cours de la période ciblée par l'étude des dossiers, neuf actions en justice ont porté sur l'administration non parentérale d'aminosides. Six d'entre elles mettaient en cause un traitement topique pour une otorrhée, deux étaient liées à l'administration intratympanique de gentamicine pour la maladie de Ménière, et une autre portait sur un patient dont le traitement prolongé (240 jours) d'une encéphalopathie hépatique à la néomycine par voie orale a entraîné une toxicité cochléaire. Dans les six cas d'otorrhée, la membrane tympanique n'était pas intacte, soit en raison de la présence d'une perforation, soit de celle d'un tube de myringotomie. Il est intéressant de noter la présence d'une membrane tympanique non intacte dans toutes les actions médico-légales mettant en cause l'administration topique d'aminosides. La durée moyenne du traitement était de 86 jours. De la framycétine (Sofracort®) était en cause dans un cas, et des gouttes de gentamicine ont été utilisées dans les cinq autres cas. Une toxicité vestibulaire a été documentée dans quatre de ces cas, et une toxicité cochléaire était présente dans les deux autres. Sur les cas mettant en cause une administration topique, trois ont donné lieu à un règlement et trois ont été rejetés. Un des deux cas d'administration intratympanique a mené à un règlement sur une question du consentement et un autre a été rejeté. Le cas mettant en cause la néomycine a été réglé hors cour.

En bref

Identifiez vos risques lors du choix d'un aminoside administré par voie parentérale

D'après les données présentées et les opinions d'experts obtenues des dossiers, les médecins devraient pouvoir répondre aux questions suivantes avant d'entreprendre tout traitement à base d'aminoside :

  1. Les valeurs de base de la fonction rénale ont-elles été obtenues et, si elles sont anormales, ont-elles été prises en compte?
  2. Les rapports des cultures et des antibiogrammes, si disponibles, ont-ils été lus? Existe-t-il d'autres choix sécuritaires et efficaces qui pourraient être offerts?
  3. Le patient prend-il d'autres médicaments qui pourraient potentialiser une toxicité?
  4. Une discussion entourant le consentement a-t-elle été tenue avec le patient à risque élevé et celui qui suit un traitement prolongé, ou avec leur mandataire, pour les informer des risques et des avantages possibles?
  5. Existe-t-il des protocoles établis crédibles et fiables pour l'administration sécuritaire de ces agents, tant en milieu hospitalier qu'en milieu communautaire?
  6. La durée du traitement est-elle appropriée? Existe-t-il des mécanismes permettant d'alerter un médecin lorsqu'un traitement est prolongé?
  7. Est-ce que le médecin le plus responsable, connaissant bien ces agents et leur toxicité, a été identifié? En son absence, la responsabilité des soins a-t-elle bien été transférée?
  8. Le patient a-t-il été informé de l'importance de reconnaître et de signaler au plus tôt les signes et symptômes suggérant une dysfonction vestibulaire ou cochléaire et, en pareille occurrence, de la nécessité de cesser immédiatement le traitement?

Identifiez vos risques lors de l'administration topique d'aminoside

Dans les cas d'administration topique, la recension des opinions des experts suggère que les médecins devraient se poser les questions suivantes :

  1. La durée du traitement est-elle appropriée et fait-elle l'objet d'une surveillance continue?
  2. En envisageant l'usage d'aminoside topique en préparation otique, est-ce que la membrane tympanique semble intacte à l'évaluation?
  3. Est-ce que je connais les recommandations en vigueur sur l'administration topique d'aminoside?

Les aminosides sont des agents antiinfectieux efficaces dont l'action contre les bactéries à Gram négatif est incontestable. Une meilleure sensibilisation aux points soulevés dans cet article peut permettre aux médecins d'offrir de meilleurs soins, plus sécuritaires, à leurs patients.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.