Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Aminoglycosides — A fine balance

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published June 2008
IS0883-E

Abstract

Appropriate use of aminoglycosides requires awareness of the potential side effects and their symptoms.

Of interest to all physicians

Aminoglycosides are effective antiinfective agents that have been extensively used in clinical practice for the past 50 years. Their efficacy in gram negative infections is indisputable. The toxicities of these agents, although rare, may have significant clinical consequences. It is important that both physicians and their patients have an awareness of this issue.

Each year the CMPA is called upon to assist members in response to allegations of negligence arising from adverse outcomes related to the administration of antibiotics. The following two cases illustrate common problem areas with respect to both inpatient and outpatient antibiotic usage.

Case 1

A 57-year-old female with a past history of non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia presented to the emergency department of a teaching hospital with a painful right foot after podiatric treatment of a callus. On examination she was noted to be febrile and tachycardic with a pustular lesion of the right fourth toe and extensive cellulitis of the right foot and calf. An X-ray was consistent with early osteomyelitis. Laboratory results were remarkable for a leukocytosis and a normal creatinine. An initial culture showed 3+ commensal flora including both gram positive and gram negative organisms. The internal medicine service admitted the patient and initiated broad spectrum antibiotic treatment with cefazolin, gentamicin, and metronidazole. Surgical debridement of the lesion was performed on the day after admission. Culture obtained at this time was positive for only B hemolytic streptococci sensitive to penicillin. A subsequent bone scan confirmed the diagnosis of osteomyelitis.

The antibiotics initiated at the time of admission were continued throughout her 15-day hospitalization. Peak and trough gentamicin levels obtained every three days were within therapeutic range and repeated creatinine determinations were normal. Her clinical condition improved and she was discharged on day 16 with arrangements made for a six-week course of outpatient intravenous gentamicin and clindamycin to be monitored by her family physician. Weekly determinations of her creatinine and gentamicin levels were performed. At three weeks post discharge, a slight elevation was noted in both the creatinine and the trough gentamicin level. Simultaneously, the patient reported intermittent vertigo and was noted to have an ataxic gait. A decision was made to discontinue the gentamicin. These symptoms and signs persisted prompting an extensive evaluation that was consistent with aminoglycoside vestibular toxicity.

The patient initiated a legal action.

Legal outcome

The plaintiff (patient) obtained an expert report from an internist. Although supportive of the initial choice of broad spectrum antibiotics, the expert was critical of the long-term use of gentamicin in the absence of a clear microbiological indication. Expert support was sought for both the attending internist and the family physician, but could only be obtained for the latter. On this basis, the CMPA made a settlement to the patient on behalf of the member internist.


Case 2

A 45-year-old female with a history of recurrent lower urinary tract infections presented to her family physician with recurrent symptoms. A urine culture showed Citrobacter sensitive to sulfa, cephalosporins, quinolones, and aminoglycosides. Serum creatinine was normal. The patient had a history of glucose 6 phosphate dehydrogenase (G6PD) deficiency which precluded the use of sulfa antibiotics. Additionally, gastrointestinal intolerance to cephalosporins and quinolones had been previously documented. After referral to a urologist, a decision was made to initiate once daily outpatient intravenous gentamicin therapy for 10 days.

The home IV antibiotic program had only recently been established and neither the urologist nor the home care agency had previous experience with once daily aminoglycoside dosing in an outpatient environment. Arrangements were made to have the drug administered once daily by the home care nurses, and blood levels were to be done by a mobile laboratory service. The urologist left for a vacation the next day and delegated the care of the patient to her family physician who was not familiar with the medication. No conversation occurred between the two physicians.

Three days after the initiation of the antibiotic, the patient began to experience intermittent dizziness and nausea which she reported to the home care nurses. A gentamicin level drawn four days after the initiation of therapy was slightly elevated. At 2230 hours on a Friday evening prior to a long weekend, the laboratory attempted to contact the family physician, who did not happen to be on call that evening. No attempt was made to contact the urologist, the family physician on call, or the home care agency. Over the next three days the patient continued to receive the same dose of gentamicin despite persistent vertigo and nausea which she reported to the home care nurses. On returning to the office the following Tuesday the family physician became aware of the elevated drug level and called the patient advising her to discontinue the medication. Three days later the patient was admitted to the hospital with vertigo and dehydration. Subsequent investigations were consistent with aminoglycoside vestibular dysfunction. Her symptoms did not improve.

The family initiated a legal action against the physicians, the home care nurses, and the laboratory service alleging negligence in the care provided, including absence of informed consent.

Legal outcome

Experts retained by the plaintiff were critical of:

  1. the home care nurses for failing to report the patient's symptoms,
  2. the laboratory for failing to make greater efforts to report the toxic level at the time of its discovery,
  3. the lack of communication between the physicians,
  4. the absence of a consent discussion prior to the initiation of treatment.

Experts retained by the defence were supportive of the indications for the medication, but not supportive of the outpatient monitoring and the absence of a documented consent discussion. The CMPA therefore made a settlement to the patient on behalf of the member urologist. Contributions were also made by the home care agency and the laboratory service.


The bottom line

When prescribing these medications for both inpatients and outpatients, have you considered the following:

  • Has there been a consent discussion with the patient advising them of the potential risks and benefits?
  • Has a most responsible physician, familiar with these agents, been identified? In his/her absence, has responsibility been appropriately transferred?
  • Have the patient and other health care professionals been alerted to early recognition and reporting of symptoms and signs suggesting possible toxicity?
  • Are there protocols in place for the safe administration of these agents?
  • Are other effective choices available?

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les aminosides — un équilibre précaire

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en juin 2008
IS0883-F

Résumé

L'usage approprié des aminosides exige une connaissance des effets secondaires possibles ainsi que des symptômes.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Les aminosides sont des agents anti-infectieux efficaces, couramment utilisés dans la pratique médicale depuis 50 ans, dont l'efficacité contre les bactéries à Gram négatif est incontestable. La toxicité de ces agents, bien que rare, peut toutefois avoir des conséquences graves. Il est donc important que les médecins et leurs patients soient conscients de ce problème.

L'ACPM est appelée chaque année à prêter assistance à des membres faisant face à des allégations de faute professionnelle découlant de résultats défavorables liés à l'administration d'antibiotiques. Les deux cas suivants servent à illustrer des problèmes courants de l'utilisation d'antibiotiques, tant en milieu hospitalier qu'en milieu communautaire.

Cas 1

Une femme de 57 ans, ayant des antécédents de diabète de type II, d'hypertension et d'hypercholestérolémie, se présente à l'urgence d'un hôpital universitaire pour une douleur au pied droit apparue à la suite du traitement podiatrique d'un durillon. À l'examen, la patiente est pyrétique et tachycarde. Il y a une lésion pustulaire au quatrième orteil du pied droit, ainsi qu'une cellulite importante de la cheville et du pied droits. Les résultats de la radiographie sont compatibles avec une ostéomyélite en phase précoce. Quant aux résultats de laboratoire, ils révèlent une leucocytose et un taux normal de créatinine. La culture initiale démontre une flore commensale gradée à 3+, incluant des bactéries à Gram positif et Gram négatif. La patiente est alors admise au service de médecine interne et on entreprend une antibiothérapie à large spectre avec de la céfazoline, de la gentamicine et du métronidazole. Le débridement chirurgical de la lésion est pratiqué le lendemain de l'admission, et la culture obtenue à ce moment-là est positive uniquement pour le streptocoque bêta-hémolytique sensible à la pénicilline. Une tomodensitométrie osseuse confirme le diagnostic d'ostéomyélite.

L'antibiothérapie commencée au moment de l'admission se poursuit pendant toute la durée du séjour de la patiente à l'hôpital, soit pendant 15 jours. Les concentrations sériques de pointe et les concentrations minimales spécifiques de la gentamicine sont obtenues tous les trois jours et se situent dans la marge thérapeutique. Par ailleurs, l'analyse à répétition des taux de créatinine sérique donne des résultats normaux. L'état clinique de la patiente s'améliore et elle reçoit son congé le 16e jour. Des dispositions sont prises pour qu'elle reçoive un traitement de six semaines à la gentamicine et à la clindamycine, en externe, sous la surveillance de son médecin de famille. Des analyses hebdomadaires du taux de créatinine et de gentamicine sont effectuées. À la troisième semaine après son congé, une légère élévation est notée dans le taux sérique de la créatinine et de la concentration minimale spécifique. La patiente indique à ce moment-là qu'elle ressent des vertiges intermittents et le médecin note une démarche ataxique. Il décide alors d'arrêter la gentamicine. Comme ces signes et symptômes persistent, une évaluation plus poussée est effectuée, dont les résultats sont compatibles avec une toxicité vestibulaire aux aminosides.

La patiente a intenté une action en justice.

Issue judiciaire

La demanderesse (patiente) a obtenu d'un interniste un rapport d'expert. Bien que ce dernier ait appuyé le choix initial d'antibiotiques à large spectre, il a critiqué l'emploi à long terme de gentamicine en l'absence d'une indication microbiologique claire. L'ACPM a cherché à obtenir un appui pour l'interniste traitant et pour le médecin de famille, appui qui n'a pu être obtenu que pour le médecin de famille. Pour cette raison, l'ACPM a dû régler cette cause hors cour avec la patiente pour le compte de l'interniste.


Cas 2

Une femme de 45 ans ayant des antécédents d'infections récurrentes des voies urinaires inférieures se présente chez son médecin de famille pour une récidive de ses symptômes. Une culture d'urine révèle la présence de Citrobacter sensibles aux sulfamides, céphalosporines, quinolones et aminosides. Le taux de créatinine sérique est normal. La patiente a un déficit en glucose-6-phosphate déshydrogénase (G6PD), ce qui élimine la possibilité du recours à des sulfamides. Par ailleurs, une intolérance gastrointestinale aux céphalosporines et aux quinolones a déjà été documentée. Après l'avoir dirigée vers un urologue, il est décidé d'entreprendre une antibiothérapie intraveineuse à la gentamicine une fois par jour pendant 10 jours.

Le programme d'antibiothérapie intraveineuse à domicile n'a été mis sur pied que tout récemment et ni l'urologue, ni l'agence de soins à domicile n'ont d'expérience dans la posologie de l'aminoside administrée une fois par jour en milieu communautaire. Des dispositions sont prises pour que le médicament soit administré à la patiente une fois par jour par les infirmières des soins à domicile, et pour que les taux sériques soient évalués par un service de laboratoire mobile. L'urologue part en vacances le lendemain et délègue les soins de la patiente au médecin de famille, qui n'a pas une bonne connaissance du médicament en question. Aucune conversation n'a lieu entre les deux médecins.

Trois jours après avoir commencé l'antibiotique, la patiente a des épisodes intermittents d'étourdissements et de nausées qu'elle signale aux infirmières de soins à domicile. Les prélèvements pour déterminer les taux sériques de gentamicine sont effectués quatre jours après le début de la thérapie et reviennent légèrement élevés. À 22 h 30, un vendredi soir avant une longue fin de semaine, le laboratoire tente de contacter le médecin de famille, qui n'est pas de garde ce soir-là. Personne ne cherche à contacter l'urologue, le médecin de famille de garde, ou l'agence de soins à domicile. Au cours des trois jours suivants, la patiente continue de recevoir la même dose de gentamicine, malgré les nausées et les vertiges persistants qu'elle a signalés aux infirmières. De retour à son cabinet le mardi suivant, le médecin de famille est informé du taux sérique élevé. Il téléphone à la patiente pour l'aviser d'arrêter l'antibiotique. Trois jours plus tard, la patiente est admise à l'hôpital pour des vertiges et une déshydratation. Les résultats des investigations subséquentes sont compatibles avec une dysfonction vestibulaire causée par les aminosides. Ses symptômes ne s'améliorent pas.

La famille intente une action en justice contre les médecins, les infirmières de soins à domicile et le service de laboratoire, alléguant une faute professionnelle dans les soins prodigués, y compris l'absence d'un consentement éclairé.

Issue judiciaire

Les experts retenus par la demanderesse ont critiqué :

  1. les infirmières des soins à domicile pour ne pas avoir signalé les symptômes de la patiente;
  2. le laboratoire pour ne pas avoir déployé plus d'efforts pour signaler le niveau toxique au moment de sa découverte;
  3. l'absence de communication entre les médecins;
  4. l'absence d'une discussion visant à obtenir le consentement avant le début du traitement.

Les experts retenus par la défense étaient d'accord avec le fait que l'antibiotique en question était indiqué dans ce cas, mais ils n'ont pas entériné la surveillance en milieu communautaire, ni l'absence d'une discussion documentée sur le consentement. Par conséquent, l'ACPM a réglé cette cause hors cour avec la patiente pour le compte de l'urologue. L'agence de soins à domicile et le service de laboratoire ont également contribué au règlement.


En bref

Lorsqu'ils prescrivent ces antibiotiques à des patients hospitalisés et à des patients en suivi externe, les médecins devraient se poser les questions suivantes :

  • Y a-t-il eu avec le patient une discussion entourant le consentement pour l'informer des risques et des avantages possibles?
  • A-t-on identifié un médecin connaissant bien ces antibiotiques qui sera reconnu comme répondant responsable? En son absence, la responsabilité a-t-elle été transférée de façon appropriée?
  • Le patient et les autres professionnels de la santé ont-ils été alertés quant aux signes et symptômes précoces suggérant la possibilité d'une toxicité qu'ils doivent pouvoir reconnaître et signaler?
  • Y a-t-il des protocoles établis pour assurer l'administration sécuritaire de ces antibiotiques?
  • Existe-t-il d'autres choix efficaces disponibles?

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.