Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Failure to make the diagnosis of colorectal cancer: A window of opportunity missed

Originally published September 2008
RI0813-E

Of interest to all physicians

In Canada, colorectal cancer is a common form of cancer and the second leading cause of death from cancer1. Screening of asymptomatic patients to remove polyps, a precursor of cancer, and early diagnosis of symptomatic patients are considered important in decreasing the risk of death from colorectal cancer.

This medico-legal case review looks at patients who were both asymptomatic and symptomatic of the disease, although the focus is on the diagnosis of patients with symptoms on initial assessment.

The review identifies six areas associated with potential delays in the diagnosis of colorectal cancer:
1) history and physical examination, including digital rectal examination
2) ordering of appropriate investigations
3) follow up of planned investigations
4) interpretation of test results
5) referral processes
6) communications between physicians and with patients.

The following three cases of symptomatic patients highlight these areas of risk.

1Canadian Cancer Society/National Cancer Institute of Canada: Canadian Cancer Statistics 2008. Toronto, Canada, April 2008, ISSN 0835-2976. www.cancer.ca/statistics. Last accessed August 2008.

Case #1: Failure to adequately examine a symptomatic patient

A 64-year-old woman was seen by her family physician complaining of a recent change in bowel habit— bouts of diarrhea, with no associated rectal bleeding, abdominal pain, or weight loss. Examination of her abdomen revealed no masses or tenderness. A digital rectal examination was not done. A barium enema was requested to rule out diverticular disease or malignancy.

At the time of the barium enema, the radiology technician had difficulty introducing the cannula and explained to the patient, who was quite uncomfortable, that this was likely because of the presence of prominent hemorrhoids. One week later, the patient was told the barium enema was normal. The patient informed her physician that the technician had difficulty introducing the cannula, and this was again attributed to the hemorrhoids. She clearly informed her family physician of her continuous rectal pain and now intermittent ano-rectal bleeding. On a presumptive basis, without a digital rectal examination, she was prescribed suppositories and sitz baths.

One month later she revisited her family physician with the same symptoms. Her therapy was not changed. A follow up was scheduled for a month from that visit.

One month later, her symptoms were worsening and a digital rectal examination revealed an abnormal fullness. She was immediately referred to a general surgeon. The surgeon who saw her in consultation two days later reported a large ulcerating tumour within easy reach of the examining finger. Malignancy was confirmed and she had appropriate oncology treatment including chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

The patient initiated a complaint to the regulatory authority (College) alleging a delay in the diagnosis of cancer. Although she subsequently withdrew her complaint, the College completed its assessment of the care. The family physician was asked to attend the College to be cautioned. The College stated the physician, when faced with continuing complaints of this sort, should have performed a digital rectal examination.


Case #2: Delay in the investigation of a symptomatic patient

A 75-year-old woman on non-steroidal antiinflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) for osteoarthritis presented to her family physician with anorexia, fatigue and intermittent diarrhea. Blood work showed a haemoglobin (Hgb) of 98 gm/L, mean cell volume (MCV) 82 and ferritin 5 ng/ml. The family physician attributed the results to poor nutritional intake, and therefore prescribed iron supplements.

During the ensuing months, the patient was seen frequently for other problems. A repeat hemoglobin five months after her initial visit improved to 124 gm/L, but her ferritin remained low at 7 ng/ml. The cause of her iron deficiency was not investigated.

Blood work at nine months revealed a Hgb of 108 gm/L. A barium enema was subsequently ordered revealing a caecal mass lesion, later confirmed by biopsy to be adenocarcinoma. There was no record of performing a digital rectal examination and checking for fecal occult blood.

The family initiated a complaint to the College alleging a delay in diagnosis. The College concluded "the possibility of chronic blood loss as a result of a malignancy was not ruled out" and was critical of the care.


Case #3: The limits of investigations, communication issues and delay in followup

A family physician referred a 52-year-old male to an endoscopist for investigation of an iron deficiency anemia and occult blood in the stools. A colonoscopy was performed. Visualization was only achieved to the level of the mid-transverse colon and the procedure was terminated due to patient discomfort. The patient was advised to see the endoscopist in follow up, but no appointment was given to the patient.

Three weeks later, the endoscopist dictated a note stating his intention to arrange a barium enema to ensure there is no bleeding from the right side of the colon.

The patient did not attend for a follow up as he had not received the appointment for the barium enema and he believed the endoscopist wanted the test done prior to seeing him. The endoscopist presumed the patient had opted to follow up with the family physician and made no further enquiries.

During an unrelated visit with his family physician six weeks later, the patient mentioned that no date had been set for a follow up with the consultant endoscopist. The family physician recorded the inadequacy of the colonoscopy and the recommendation for a barium enema, but assumed ordering it would be the responsibility of the consultant.

Seven months after the colonoscopy, the patient returned to his family doctor complaining of cramping abdominal pain and was referred to a general surgeon. A repeat colonoscopy revealed an obstructing and bleeding mass of the right colon, and biopsy confirmed adenocarcinoma. The patient underwent a right hemicolectomy for a locally invasive cancer. After a course of chemotherapy, the patient developed a major depression requiring psychiatric care. He started a legal action alleging the seven-month delay in the diagnosis allowed the cancer to progress and metastasize to lymph nodes.

Experts were not supportive of the care given by either the family physician or the endoscopist:

  • Endoscopist expert – "…with the referral and subsequent to the incomplete colonoscopy, the onus of responsibility specific to investigations, including the barium enema, was the primary and direct responsibility of the consultant."
  • Family physician expert – "…the (FP) owed a duty of responsibility, given the time frame of the test not being done, to ensure that this test had been requisitioned or to direct the patient to contact the consultant. Failure to pursue either option falls below the standard of care."

Lacking expert support, a settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of both member physicians.


CMPA data

A review of the Association's closed cases from 1997 to 2006 related to a delay in diagnosis of colorectal cancer revealed 90 complaints to the Colleges and 68 legal actions, and some were both. Figure 1 provides the distribution of specialties of physicians involved.

Figure 1: The distribution of specialties of physicians found responsible for delays in

It is important to recognize that the physicians determined to be responsible for a delay in the diagnosis of colorectal cancer had various specialties.

Case outcomes

Figure 2: Outcome of College complaint cases

The Colleges expressed concerns relating to a delay in diagnosis in nearly half the cases.

Figure 3: Outcome of legal cases

In 47 per cent of the legal cases, the patient received compensation from the CMPA on behalf of the member physician. This percentage is higher than the overall CMPA experience (Figure 4).

Figure 4: The medico-legal outcomes of closed legal colorectal cancer cases compared

Patient characteristics

Presenting symptoms:
The average age of the patients involved in the legal cases was 55 years; notably, one third of them had not yet reached the age of 50.

Of the 159 patients only 10 were asymptomatic (6%). In four of these 10, a suspicious physical finding was identified during routine physical examination but was not pursued. Of the remaining six patients, all had identifiable personal or familial risks, but, in the opinion of experts, were inadequately investigated.

At the time of the initial presentation, 149 (94%) patients were symptomatic. The most frequent presentations in order of frequency were:

  • abdominal or anorectal pain
  • anorectal bleeding
  • change in bowel habit
  • anemia

Patient clinical outcome:
Analysis of expert opinions obtained in these College and legal cases suggests that multiple breakdowns in the evaluative process affected the patients' clinical outcomes. In some cases, this resulted in additional complex investigations and therapeutic procedures with associated morbidity and mortality.

Fifty-three patients had distant metastases when the diagnosis of colorectal cancer was ultimately made. At the time litigation initiated, 55 (37%) of the symptomatic patients had already died from their cancer (average age of 60 years), and family members brought the legal action.

Although the date of death is known for only 22 of these 55 symptomatic patients, the five-year mortality was 95 per cent in that group. The average interval between diagnosis and death was 1.5 years.

Presumptive diagnoses:
In this review of closed cases, the most frequent misdiagnosis was hemorrhoids, especially when the patient presented with symptoms of rectal bleeding. For those patients who presented with symptoms of abdominal pain the presumptive diagnoses included gastroenteritis, constipation or irritable bowel syndrome.

Identify the risks

Based on a review of the expert opinions obtained in these closed medico-legal cases the following risk management considerations have been identified:

  1. Have you considered the diagnosis of colorectal cancer in patients presenting with suggestive symptomatology regardless of their age?
  2. Should a digital rectal examination be performed?
  3. If the diagnosis of colorectal cancer is being considered, have the appropriate investigations been ordered, or a referral to an appropriate consultant made?
  4. Has there been adequate follow up of any investigative plan including a clear understanding of who will be the most responsible physician for the ongoing management of the patient?
  5. Is the follow up plan clear to the patient and both referring and consulting physicians?
  6. Have the history, including colorectal cancer risks, relevant physical findings, investigations, treatment plan and communications been documented in the clinical record?

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Diagnostic du cancer colorectal : Le délai d'intervention indu

Publié initialement en septembre 2008
RI0813-F

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Au Canada, le cancer colorectal est une forme courante de cancer et, dans l'ensemble, la deuxième cause de mortalité par cancer1. Le dépistage chez les patients asymptomatiques dans le but d'exciser les polypes, un précurseur du cancer, et un diagnostic précoce des patients symptomatiques sont considérés importants pour diminuer le risque de décès causé par le cancer colorectal.

Cette étude de cas médico-légaux a visé autant les patients symptomatiques que les patients asymptomatiques bien que l'intérêt ait été dirigé principalement vers le diagnostic des patients symptomatiques à l'évaluation initiale.

L'étude de cas a déterminé six secteurs associés avec des délais possibles dans le diagnostic d'un cancer colorectal :
1) L'anamnèse et l'examen physique, y compris le toucher rectal
2) L'ordonnance d'examens appropriés
3) Le suivi des examens planifiés
4) L'interprétation des résultats d'examens
5) Les demandes de consultations
6) Les communications entre médecins et patients

Les trois cas suivants de patients symptomatiques illustrent ces secteurs de risques.

1Société canadienne du cancer et Institut national du cancer du Canada, Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2008. Toronto, Canada, avril 2008, ISSN 0835-2976. Accès: http://www.cancer.ca/statistiques [Réf. d'août 2008].

Cas no 1 : Examen inadéquat d'un patient symptomatique

Une femme de 64 ans consulte son médecin de famille pour des épisodes récents de diarrhée non associée à des saignements rectaux, à des douleurs abdominales ou à une perte de poids. L'examen de l'abdomen ne révèle ni masse ni sensibilité à la palpation.

Un toucher rectal n'est pas pratiqué. Un lavement baryté est demandé pour éliminer la possibilité de maladie diverticulaire ou de malignité.

Lors du lavement baryté, le technicien en radiologie éprouve de la difficulté à insérer la canule. Il explique à la patiente, qui ressent beaucoup d'inconfort, que cela est probablement causé par la présence d'hémorroïdes proéminentes. Une semaine plus tard, la patiente est avisée que le résultat du lavement baryté est normal. Toutefois, celle-ci signale à son médecin que le technicien a eu de la difficulté à insérer la canule; de nouveau, cette gêne est attribuée à la présence d'hémorroïdes. Elle informe explicitement son médecin de famille de la persistance des douleurs rectales et de l'apparition de saignements anorectaux intermittents. Sur de simples présomptions, et sans effectuer de toucher rectal, le médecin prescrit des suppositoires et des bains de siège.

La patiente revoit son médecin de famille un mois plus tard et elle présente toujours les mêmes symptômes. Le plan de traitement n'est pas modifié. Un rendez-vous de suivi est prévu dans un mois.

Un mois plus tard, les symptômes se sont aggravés. Un toucher rectal révèle une sensation de plénitude anormale. Elle est immédiatement dirigée en consultation auprès d'un chirurgien. Le chirurgien qui l'examine deux jours plus tard, lors du toucher rectal, palpe une importante tumeur ulcérée. La malignité est confirmée, et elle reçoit des traitements oncologiques appropriés incluant la chimiothérapie ainsi que la radiothérapie.

La patiente dépose une plainte auprès de l'organisme de réglementation (Collège) alléguant un délai dans le diagnostic de cancer. Bien qu'elle ait retiré sa plainte, le Collège poursuit l'évaluation des soins. Le Collège convoque le médecin de famille pour lui remettre une mise en garde. Le Collège a déclaré que le médecin, devant de telles plaintes répétées, aurait dû pratiquer un toucher rectal.


Cas no 2 : Délai dans l'investigation d'une patiente symptomatique

Une femme de 75 ans consulte son médecin de famille; elle présente de l'anorexie, de la fatigue et une diarrhée intermittente. Elle prend des anti-inflammatoires non-stéroïdiens (AINS) pour de l'arthrose. Le résultat de l'hémogramme révèle un taux d'hémoglobine (Hb) à 98 g/L et un volume globulaire moyen (VGM) de 82, et le taux de ferritine est à 5 ng/mL. Le médecin de famille attribue ces résultats à un pauvre apport nutritionnel et lui prescrit des suppléments de fer.

Au cours des mois qui suivent, la patiente consulte à de nombreuses reprises pour des problèmes divers. Une nouvelle évaluation du taux d'hémoglobine, effectuée cinq mois après la visite initiale, révèle une amélioration des résultats, soit 124 g/L, mais le taux de ferritine demeure à 7 ng/mL. La cause de la déficience en fer n'est jamais recherchée.

Un nouvel hémogramme, fait neuf mois après la visite initiale, donne un résultat d'Hb à 108 g/L. Un lavement baryté est prescrit subséquemment et révèle une masse au cæcum dont la biopsie confirme être un adénocarcinome. Il n'y a aucune note au dossier concernant l'exécution d'un toucher rectal ni la recherche de sang occulte.

La famille dépose une plainte au Collège alléguant un délai de diagnostic. Le Collège a conclu que « la possibilité d'une perte sanguine chronique résultant d'une malignité n'avait pas été éliminée » et il a critiqué les soins prodigués.


Cas no 3 : Les limites de l'investigation, les problèmes de communication et le délai dans le suivi

Un médecin de famille demande une investigation endoscopique pour un patient de 52 ans qui présente une anémie ferriprive et du sang occulte dans les selles. Une coloscopie ne permet de visualiser que la moitié du côlon transverse et l'examen est interrompu en raison de l'inconfort du patient. Le patient est avisé de revoir l'endoscopiste pour le suivi, mais aucun rendez-vous n'est donné au patient.

Trois semaines plus tard, l'endoscopiste dicte une note faisant état de son intention de planifier un lavement baryté pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a aucune source de saignement du côté droit du côlon.

Le patient ne se présente pas à un rendez-vous de suivi puisqu'aucun rendez-vous pour un lavement baryté ne lui a été donné, et il croit que l'endoscopiste veut que cet examen soit fait avant de le revoir. L'endoscopiste présume que le patient a choisi de revoir son médecin de famille et ne donne pas suite aux démarches.

Six semaines plus tard, alors que le patient consulte son médecin de famille pour un autre problème, le patient mentionne que le rendezvous de suivi avec l'endoscopiste n'est pas encore établi. Le médecin de famille consigne que la coloscopie est incomplète et qu'une recommandation a été faite par l'endoscopiste pour un lavement baryté, mais il assume que la demande pour l'examen revient au consultant.

Sept mois après la coloscopie incomplète, le patient consulte de nouveau son médecin de famille se plaignant de crampes abdominales; il est alors dirigé vers un chirurgien. Une nouvelle coloscopie révèle une lésion hémorragique qui obstrue le côlon droit. La biopsie confirme le diagnostic d'adénocarcinome. Le patient subit une hémicolectomie droite pour un cancer invasif circonscrit. Après une série de traitements de chimiothérapie, le patient souffre d'une dépression majeure nécessitant des soins psychiatriques. Il dépose une action en justice alléguant que le délai de sept mois pour l'établissement du diagnostic a causé la progression du cancer et des métastases aux ganglions lymphatiques.

Les experts n'ont pas appuyé les soins prodigués par le médecin de famille et par l'endoscopiste :

  • L'endoscopiste expert – «…avec la prise en charge de la consultation, et à la suite de l'exécution d'une coloscopie incomplète, la responsabilité primaire et directe de l'investigation, y compris le lavement baryté, incombait au consultant. »
  • Le médecin de famille expert – « ...le médecin de famille se devait d'exercer un devoir de diligence, étant donné le délai dans l'exécution de l'examen, pour s'assurer que cet examen avait bien été demandé ou pour informer le patient de communiquer avec le spécialiste. Le manquement de poursuivre l'une des deux démarches ne rencontre pas la norme de diligence. »

En raison d'un manque d'appui des experts, un règlement hors cour est convenu et une compensation est versée au patient par l'ACPM au nom des deux membres.


Les données de l'ACPM

L'analyse des dossiers de l'Association conclus entre les années 1997 et 2006 et ayant un lien avec un délai de diagnostic de cancer colorectal a révélé 90 plaintes auprès des Collèges, 68 actions en justice, et parfois les deux. L'illustration 1 donne un aperçu de la répartition de la spécialité médicale impliquée.

Illustration 1 : La répartition des spécialités médicales responsables

Il est important de préciser que les médecins jugés responsables pour un délai dans l'établissement d'un diagnostic de cancer colorectal provenaient de spécialités variées.

Résultats de l'analyse des dossiers

Illustration 2 : Résultats des plaintes auprès des Collèges

Les Collèges ont admonesté les médecins en ce qui a trait au délai de diagnostic dans près de la moitié des cas.

Illustration 3 : Résultats des actions en justice

Dans 47 pour cent des actions en justice, le patient a reçu une compensation versée par l'ACPM au nom de ses membres. Ce pourcentage est plus élevé que dans l'ensemble des cas de l'ACPM (voir l'illustration 4).

Illustration 4 : Les résultats médico-légaux des cas de cancer colorectal conclus comparés

Caractéristiques des patients

Symptômes lors de l'examen initial :
L'âge moyen des patients impliqués dans une action en justice était de 55 ans, et fait à noter, le tiers de ceux-ci n'avait pas atteint l'âge de 50 ans.

Parmi les 159 patients, seulement 10 d'entre eux étaient asymptomatiques (6 pour cent). Chez 4 de ces 10 patients, un élément douteux avait été identifié lors de l'examen de routine, mais aucun suivi n'avait été effectué. Chez les 6 autres patients, tous présentaient des risques familiaux ou personnels, mais selon l'opinion des experts, ceux-ci n'avaient pas fait l'objet d'une investigation adéquate.

Au moment de l'examen initial, 149 patients (94 pour cent) présentaient des symptômes. Selon l'ordre de fréquence, les plaintes les plus fréquentes étaient :

  • douleur abdominale ou anorectale
  • saignement anorectal
  • modification des habitudes de défécation
  • anémie

Résultats cliniques pour les patients :
L'analyse des opinions des experts obtenus des Collèges et l'étude des actions en justice suggèrent que de multiples failles dans la démarche d'évaluation ont affecté le résultat clinique des patients. Dans certains cas, on a eu recours à des investigations additionnelles complexes et à des procédés thérapeutiques qui ont accru la morbidité et la mortalité.

Lorsque le diagnostic de cancer colorectal est enfin posé, 53 pour cent des patients présentaient des métastases à distance. Au moment où le procès est amorcé, 55 des patients symptomatiques (37 pour cent) étaient décédés de leur cancer (âge moyen de 60 ans), et ce sont les membres de leurs familles qui ont intenté les actions en justice.

Bien que la date du décès ne soit connue que pour seulement 22 des 55 patients symptomatiques, le taux de mortalité après cinq ans était de 95 pour cent pour ce groupe. L'intervalle moyen entre le diagnostic et le décès était de 1,5 an.

Diagnostics provisoires :
Lors de l'analyse des cas conclus, le mauvais diagnostic le plus fréquent était les hémorroïdes, surtout lorsque les patients présentaient de la rectorragie. Quant aux patients qui présentaient des symptômes de douleurs abdominales, les diagnostics provisoires incluaient : gastroentérite, constipation ou syndrome du côlon irritable.

Identifiez vos risques

Selon la revue des opinions des experts provenant des cas médico-légaux conclus en matière de gestion des risques, les médecins devraient se poser les questions suivantes :

  1. Ai-je pris en compte le diagnostic de cancer colorectal chez des patients présentant une symptomatologie suggestive, peu importe leur âge?
  2. Un toucher rectal devrait-il être pratiqué?
  3. Si le diagnostic de cancer colorectal est envisagé, les investigations appropriées ont-elles été prescrites ou une demande de consultation auprès du spécialiste approprié a-t-elle été effectuée?
  4. Y a-t-il eu un suivi adéquat de tout plan d'investigation y compris la détermination du médecin qui sera le responsable du suivi continu du patient?
  5. Le plan de suivi est-il clair pour le patient, le médecin qui le dirige vers un spécialiste et le médecin qui reçoit la consultation?
  6. Avez-vous consigné au dossier clinique l'anamnèse, y compris les risques de cancer colorectal, l'examen physique pertinent, les investigations, le plan de traitement et les communications?

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.