Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Follow up for "orphaned patients"

An article for physicians by CMPA General Counsel
Originally published September 2008
IS0886-E

Abstract

Physicians discharging patients in need of follow up care may have certain responsibilities.

Of interest to all medical trainees and their supervising physicians

Patients without a regular family physician, otherwise known as "orphan patients," are a reality of the modern health care system. Orphan patients often create a dilemma for physicians, particularly those managing patients in hospital, emergency departments or walk-in clinics, when it comes to arranging follow up care after discharge. In the normal course, patients discharged from hospital or a walk-in clinic, for example, may be instructed to follow up with their family physician. But what happens when the patient does not have a family physician?

As a treating physician, if you are about to discharge a patient who you know is in need of follow up care but does not have a family physician, you may be under an obligation to take reasonable steps to ensure that the patient has access to appropriate follow up care. This is typically limited to care related to the condition for which the physician was treating the patient. Despite the lack of a family physician, there may be steps you can take to assist orphan patients in these circumstances.

Ongoing duty of care

Whether a physician in an inpatient or an outpatient setting has an ongoing responsibility to provide care to a patient will be determined based on the circumstances of each case. Amongst the factors that may be considered in this regard is whether a doctor-patient relationship has been established. There may be other circumstances (such as an emergency or contractual obligation) where the physician may also be required to provide care.

The degree to which you have assumed responsibility for a patient's care to date is often one of the factors used to determine whether a continuing relationship has been created. The Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics states that a physician who accepts professional responsibility for the overall care of a patient may be under an ethical and/or professional obligation to continue to provide medical care until no longer required or wanted, another suitable physician has assumed responsibility for the patient or the patient has been given adequate notice that the relationship will be terminated.

With limited exceptions, care provided in an emergency department or a walk-in clinic has generally been held not to create an ongoing duty of care on the physician once the patient has been discharged. The exceptions in which a treating physician may continue to owe a duty of care to the patient include following up on tests or investigations ordered during the encounter.

In discharging a patient, you are generally responsible for ensuring that the patient is properly discharged. In some cases, this may include appropriate instructions to the patient and a suitable follow up plan. Where you are aware that the patient does not have access to a family physician for the necessary follow up care, you may have certain responsibilities to make reasonable efforts to ensure that he/she has access to the necessary care for that condition. What will be deemed reasonable will depend largely on the circumstances of each case, including the patient's condition and the resources available in the community.

Informed discharge

Generally speaking, you are encouraged to document in the patient's medical record relevant discussions or actions taken in the course of treating and discharging a patient.

Where appropriate, consideration may be given to informing patients at the outset of care that the clinic or emergency department is intended solely to provide "one-off" or emergency care. Where follow up care is required, you may consider emphasizing to the patient of the need to make appropriate arrangements for continuing medical care. In addition to providing patients with sufficient information concerning their condition, treatment and potential foreseeable complications, you may consider providing orphan patients with a report or letter that could be used by a subsequent treating physician.

When treating a known orphan patient, you should make reasonable efforts in the circumstances to discuss with that patient the available options for alternative primary care. This may include referring the patient to a search feature on a medical association or regulatory authority (College) website (for example, the "Doctor Search" feature on the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario website), or advising them of physicians or clinics in the community accepting new patients. In any event, the patient should be reminded to return to the emergency or walk-in clinic for emergent care.

Follow up for orphan patients

The reality is that physicians in emergency departments or walk-in clinics cannot reasonably be expected to continue to treat all orphan patients after discharge where the condition is non-emergent. Nevertheless there are steps you may consider to assist a patient in these circumstances.

Where appropriate, you may consider referring the patient to a walk-in clinic or a specialist for follow up. Prior to making the referral, you should ensure that the specialist is willing to accept the patient and able to provide the necessary care. In this regard, advance communication to the specialist may be helpful.

If this is a recurring problem, you may also consider discussing this situation with your hospital or clinic administration, preferably in writing. In some cases, there may be an opportunity to collaborate on a protocol for assisting patients who no longer require inpatient care but require follow up and do not have a family doctor. Arrangements that might be considered include identifying as early as possible during the admission those patients likely to require follow up care who do not have a family physician, keeping an up-to-date list at the hospital of local family physicians accepting new patients, and even providing assistance from a social worker or patient representative in arranging the first follow up appointment.

You may also consider canvassing potential solutions with your professional association as well as your respective provincial/territorial ministry of health and/or College.

College commentary

Colleges across the country have addressed the issue of follow up care for orphan patients in a variety of ways. Generally, however, they would expect that if you have treated a patient who you know is in need of follow up care, but does not have a family physician, you will take reasonable steps to ensure the patient has access to appropriate follow up care.

At least two Colleges to date have explicitly commented on the issue of follow up care for orphan patients. In Québec, article 32 of the Code of ethics states that "A physician who has undertaken an examination, investigation or treatment of a patient must provide the medical follow up required by the patient's condition, following his intervention, unless he has ensured that a colleague or other competent professional can do so in his place." The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador has stated that in some circumstances, the failure to provide ongoing outpatient management for orphan patients might give rise to an allegation of misconduct. The College emphasized that a physician's responsibility for a patient "may not be simply deemed to terminate on discharge from hospital." Rather, the physician might, in certain circumstances, continue to owe a duty to a patient where it is known that he/she does not have a family physician and yet requires ongoing outpatient management. Even if the patient acknowledges that the care in the emergency department or walk-in clinic is not intended to include follow up care, the College warns that consideration would still have to be given to whether the patient was truly informed and voluntarily consented.

It has been suggested that recurrent visits to a walk-in clinic may create an ongoing duty of care. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia most recently passed a new policy that states, in part, "Patients who attend the same clinic on three or more occasions for a similar or related complaint, particularly if they do not have an identified family physician, are assumed to be receiving all their care from that clinic." The B.C. College also states that in these circumstances, the "attending physician(s) must accept responsibility for chronic disease management..., for health maintenance..., and for other aspects generally included in traditional primary care."

The bottom line

  • Whether an ongoing duty of care exists will be determined on the circumstances of each case.
  • A physician discharging a known orphan patient who is in need of follow up care may have certain responsibilities to take reasonable steps to assist that patient in accessing the required care.
  • Consideration may be given to referring such patients to a walk-in clinic or an available and appropriate specialist for follow up care.
  • The patient should be properly informed of the limited nature of the care being provided so that he/she can take the necessary steps to seek the required follow up care.
  • Members are encouraged to discuss the issue and possible solutions with hospital administration and/or to contact the CMPA for advice in specific circumstances.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Suivi des « patients orphelins »

Un article pour les médecins par le Service du contentieux
Publié initialement en septembre 2008
IS0886-F

Résumé

Les médecins pourraient avoir certaines responsabilités lorsqu'ils accordent des congés à des patients nécessitant un suivi.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Les « patients orphelins », c'est-à-dire les patients qui n'ont pas de médecin de famille, représentent une réalité du système actuel de soins de santé. Ces patients posent souvent un dilemme pour les médecins, surtout en milieu hospitalier, à l'urgence ou dans les cliniques sans rendez-vous, lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre des dispositions en vue d'un suivi médical une fois que ces patients ont reçu leur congé. Normalement, les médecins conseillent aux patients quittant l'hôpital ou une clinique sans rendez-vous de voir leur médecin de famille pour faire un suivi. Mais qu'arrive-t-il lorsqu'un patient n'a pas de médecin de famille?

Un médecin traitant, qui est sur le point d'accorder le congé à un patient qui aura besoin d'un suivi, et qui sait que ce dernier n'a pas de médecin de famille, peut se trouver dans l'obligation de prendre des mesures raisonnables pour veiller à ce que le patient ait accès à un suivi médical approprié. Ce suivi se limite généralement à la condition pour laquelle le médecin traitait le patient. Même en l'absence d'un médecin de famille, certaines mesures peuvent aider les patients orphelins dans ces circonstances.

Devoir de diligence continu

La responsabilité continue pour un médecin, en milieu hospitalier ou communautaire, d'assurer des soins à un patient sera déterminée selon les circonstances de chaque cas. Entre autres facteurs pouvant être considérés à cet égard, il faudra déterminer s'il existe une relation médecin-patient. Il peut y avoir d'autres circonstances (par exemple une urgence ou une obligation contractuelle) où le médecin peut également être tenu d'assurer des soins.

Le degré de responsabilité assumé par un médecin dans les soins au patient jusqu'à la date en cause est souvent l'un des facteurs servant à déterminer s'il existe une relation continue. Le Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne indique qu'un médecin qui accepte la responsabilité professionnelle de l'ensemble des soins d'un patient peut avoir l'obligation déontologique et/ou professionnelle de continuer de fournir des services jusqu'à ce qu'ils ne soient plus nécessaires, qu'un autre médecin approprié ait pris le patient en charge ou après avoir avisé le patient de son intention de mettre fin à la relation, dans un délai raisonnable.

Bien qu'il puisse y avoir certaines exceptions, les soins prodigués à l'urgence ou dans une clinique sans rendez-vous ne sont généralement pas considérés comme des soins qui créent un devoir de diligence continu de la part du médecin une fois que le patient a reçu son congé. Les exceptions dans lesquelles un médecin traitant peut avoir un devoir de diligence continu envers un patient comprennent le suivi des examens ou des investigations demandés lors de la consultation.

En accordant son congé à un patient, le médecin est responsable de veiller à ce que le patient quitte avec les renseignements nécessaires. Dans certains cas, cela peut signifier des instructions appropriées et un plan acceptable de suivi. Si un médecin sait pertinemment que le patient n'a pas accès à un médecin de famille pour obtenir un suivi médical nécessaire, il peut être tenu de faire des efforts raisonnables pour veiller à ce que le patient ait accès aux soins exigés par son état de santé. Ce qui sera jugé raisonnable dépend en grande partie des circonstances de chaque cas, y compris de l'état du patient et des ressources disponibles dans la communauté.

Congé éclairé

Généralement, les médecins sont encouragés à documenter dans le dossier du patient toute discussion pertinente ou action prise dans le cadre du traitement et du congé accordé à un patient.

Lorsque cela est justifié, il peut être nécessaire d'informer les patients dès le début des soins que la clinique ou l'urgence n'a pour mandat que de prodiguer des soins d'urgence ou des consultations ponctuelles. Lorsque des soins ultérieurs sont requis, il faut prévoir de souligner au patient qu'il devra prendre des mesures pour obtenir un suivi médical. En plus de fournir au patient des renseignements suffisants concernant sa santé, son traitement et les complications prévisibles possibles, le médecin devrait entrevoir de fournir aux patients orphelins un rapport ou une lettre qui pourra ultérieurement servir à un médecin traitant.

Lorsqu'un médecin sait qu'il traite un patient orphelin, il doit faire des efforts raisonnables dans les circonstances pour discuter avec ce patient des options disponibles qui lui permettront d'obtenir d'autres soins de première ligne. Il peut à cette fin suggérer au patient d'avoir recours à un moteur de recherche sur le siteWeb d'une association médicale ou d'un organisme de réglementation (Collège) (par exemple le moteur de recherche « Doctor Search » [Recherche de médecin] sur le site du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario), ou informer le patient des médecins ou des cliniques communautaires qui acceptent de nouveaux patients. Quoi qu'il en soit, le patient doit être informé de revenir à l'urgence ou à la clinique pour obtenir des soins d'urgence.

Suivi des patients orphelins

La réalité veut que l'on ne puisse pas raisonnablement s'attendre à ce que les médecins des services d'urgence ou des cliniques sans rendez-vous continuent de traiter tous les patients orphelins ayant reçu leur congé lorsque ces derniers n'ont plus besoin de soins d'urgence. Néanmoins, le médecin devrait songer à prendre certaines mesures pour aider un patient dans de telles circonstances.

Lorsque la situation le justifie, le médecin peut diriger le patient vers une clinique sans rendez-vous ou vers un spécialiste pour qu'il obtienne des soins ultérieurs. Avant de le diriger, le médecin devrait s'assurer que le spécialiste est disposé à accepter le patient et en mesure de prodiguer les soins nécessaires. À cet égard, une communication préalable avec le spécialiste peut s'avérer utile.

S'il s'agit d'un problème susceptible de se répéter, le médecin pourrait informer l'administration de l'hôpital ou de la clinique de la situation, de préférence par écrit. Dans certains cas, il pourrait être possible de collaborer à un protocole d'assistance aux patients n'ayant plus besoin de soins hospitaliers, mais d'un suivi, et n'ayant pas de médecin de famille. Entre autres dispositions à envisager, il peut être utile d'identifier, dès que possible après l'admission, les patients qui auront probablement besoin d'un suivi et qui n'ont pas de médecin de famille. Une liste hospitalière à jour des médecins de famille de la région qui acceptent de nouveaux patients peut aussi être utilisée, de même que l'assistance d'un travailleur social ou d'un représentant des patients pour prendre le premier rendez-vous de suivi.

Les membres peuvent aussi solliciter des solutions auprès de leur association professionnellle ainsi que du ministère provincial de la Santé et/ou du Collège.

Commentaires des Collèges

Dans l'ensemble du pays, les Collèges ont abordé la question du suivi des patients orphelins de diverses façons. En général, il s'attendent toutefois à ce qu'un médecin qui a traité un patient orphelin tout en sachant que celui-ci avait besoin d'un suivi prenne des mesures raisonnables pour veiller à ce que le patient ait accès à un suivi approprié.

Jusqu'à ce jour, au moins deux Collèges se sont prononcés explicitement sur la question du suivi médical des patients orphelins. Au Québec, l'article 32 du Code de déontologie précise que « Le médecin qui a examiné, investigué ou traité un patient est responsable d'assurer le suivi médical requis par l'état du patient, à la suite de son intervention, à moins de s'être assuré qu'un confrère ou un autre professionnel puisse le faire à sa place ». Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a indiqué que, dans certaines circonstances, le défaut d'assurer aux patients orphelins un traitement continu en milieu communautaire risque d'entraîner des allégations d'inconduite. Le Collège a souligné que la responsabilité d'un médecin envers un patient « peut ne pas simplement prendre fin au moment du congé de l'hôpital ». En effet, le médecin peut, dans certaines circonstances, continuer d'avoir un devoir envers le patient lorsqu'il sait que celui-ci n'a pas de médecin de famille et nécessite un traitement continu en milieu communautaire. Même si le patient reconnaît que les soins offerts par l'urgence ou la clinique communautaire ne sont pas destinés à inclure des soins ultérieurs, le Collège émet une mise en garde à l'égard du fait qu'une considération devrait tout de même être accordée pour déterminer si le patient a été véritablement informé et s'il a accordé son consentement de son propre gré.

Il a été suggéré que des visites récurrentes dans une clinique sans rendez-vous peuvent entraîner un devoir de diligence continu. Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique a récemment adopté une nouvelle politique qui stipule, en partie, que « il est assumé que les patients qui se présentent à la même clinique à trois occasions ou plus pour un problème semblable ou relié, en particulier s'ils n'ont pas de médecin de famille identifié, reçoivent tous leurs soins de cette clinique ». Le Collège de la Colombie-Britannique indique également que, dans ces circonstances, « les médecins traitants doivent accepter la responsabilité du traitement de maladies chroniques…., du maintien en santé…., et d'autres aspects généralement inclus dans les soins de première ligne traditionnels ».

En bref

  • L'existence d'un devoir de diligence continu sera déterminée selon les circonstances entourant chaque cas.
  • Un médecin accordant congé à un patient reconnu comme orphelin et qui a besoin de soins ultérieurs peut avoir certaines responsabilités l'obligeant à prendre des mesures raisonnables pour aider ce patient à obtenir accès aux soins requis.
  • Un médecin peut envisager de diriger de tels patients vers une clinique sans rendezvous ou vers un spécialiste approprié et disponible pour le suivi.
  • Le patient devrait être bien informé de la nature limitée des soins prodigués afin qu'il puisse prendre les mesures nécessaires pour obtenir des soins ultérieurs.
  • Les membres sont encouragés à discuter de ce sujet et des solutions possibles avec l'administration hospitalière et/ou à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir conseil dans des circonstances particulières.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.