Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Hyponatremia in children

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published December 2008
IL0840-1-E

Abstract

Hyponatremia may occur during rehydration or with maintenance fluids, and can have serious adverse effects, including neurologic impairment and death.

Of interest to all physicians caring for children

Over the past several years, there have been an increasing number of reports published which recognize that excess or inappropriate rehydration fluids may result in a complication of hyponatremia, particularly in the paediatric population. The intent of this article is to heighten awareness of hyponatremia, a condition that can occur in a variety of clinical settings and for which the warning signs are often non-specific and easily missed by even the most experienced health providers.

Some of the issues are illustrated in the following case.

Case study

A two-year-old child with a one-day history of multiple episodes of vomiting and diarrhea was admitted to the paediatric unit of a general hospital with a provisional diagnosis of gastroenteritis. Blood work drawn on arrival in the emergency department (ED) was normal including a serum sodium level of 140 mmol/L. The child was unable to tolerate oral rehydration fluids, so an intravenous (IV) of normal saline was initiated at 100 ml/hr in the ED.

The on-call paediatrician assessed the child and found him to be reasonably hydrated with a moist tongue, slightly sunken eyes and a fever of 38.4°C tympanic. She confirmed the diagnosis of gastroenteritis, probably viral. The child had already received 400 ml of IV normal saline up to this point. Based on the child's weight and estimated dehydration, she changed the IV solution to dextrose 3.3 per cent in sodium chloride 0.3 per cent (2/3-1/3) at 70 ml/hr with maintenance potassium chloride (KCl) 10 mmol per 500 ml after the child's first void.

The paediatrician reassessed the child the following morning. Although irritable, he was afebrile, had normal vital signs and had recently voided a large amount. The physician did not document this visit in the child's health record nor did she order a repeat of the serum electrolytes. Although the child had tolerated sips of fluids overnight, the paediatrician was advised that he continued to vomit intermittently throughout the day. His urine output appeared to be adequate; however, the nursing staff did not document the precise fluid balance.

In the mid-afternoon, the nursing staff notified the paediatrician that the child had become increasingly lethargic and less responsive over the previous two hours, although his vital signs had remained stable. Five minutes after this call, the child had a focal seizure. Further seizure activity was noted 40 minutes later. The paediatrician promptly attended the child, who appeared to be unconscious but reacted to painful stimuli, and an anticonvulsant was administered intravenously. The paediatrician queried an electrolyte imbalance or viral encephalitis at that time and ordered stat blood chemistry, a CT scan of the head and an EEG.

While in the diagnostic imaging suite, the child suffered a respiratory arrest, requiring endotracheal intubation. Electrolytes drawn at the time of the second seizure revealed a serum sodium of 124 mmol/L. Following resuscitative measures, the child was transferred to a tertiary care centre in a comatose state for further management. His condition deteriorated and life support was withdrawn the following day. The autopsy showed evidence of severe cerebral edema with bilateral uncal herniation.

The family initiated a legal action alleging the paediatrician failed to properly assess the child the day following admission and failed to order the appropriate diagnostic investigations and treatments. They also alleged the hospital nurses failed to adequately monitor the child's clinical status and delayed advising the paediatrician of the child's worsening condition.


Experts' opinions for this case

Paediatric experts expressed the view that the paediatrician fell below the standard of care by not performing a more thorough reassessment of the child the morning following his admission and by failing to document this visit. According to the experts, if the physician had performed the appropriate blood tests, the hyponatremia would have been discovered and corrective measures could have been taken.

Without expert support, the CMPA, on behalf of the paediatrician, and the hospital, on behalf of the nurses, contributed to a shared settlement to the plaintiff.

Review of medico-legal cases

The CMPA undertook a review of all medico-legal cases closed between 1998 and 2007 involving paediatric hyponatremia. This case review revealed that medico-legal difficulties associated with paediatric hyponatremia are infrequent at the CMPA. However, the patient clinical outcomes associated with hyponatremia can be extremely serious.

Eight cases were identified. Three children died as a consequence of cerebral edema resulting from hospital-acquired hyponatremia. Two of these three patients had presented with viral enteritis on admission to hospital, and one was a patient who had successfully undergone surgery but developed hyponatremia related to fluid management in the post-operative period. Three other children suffered serious permanent neurologic impairments, although comorbid conditions and other complications also played a role in their clinical outcomes. The remaining two children recovered with no known sequelae. In the majority of these cases, the physician had prescribed a hypotonic IV solution to treat the clinical condition.

In the medico-legal cases reviewed, the following allegations related to the diagnosis and management of hyponatremia were noted:

  • delay or failure to reasonably perform or monitor serum sodium levels or respond to abnormal results;
  • delay or failure to prescribe an appropriate IV solution;
  • delay in recognizing or not appreciating the significance of early warning signs and symptoms of hyponatremia in the child who has received rehydration fluids, either orally or intravenously;
  • ineffective communication of the treatment plan between physicians or between a physician and another health care professional; and
  • lack of documentation of clinical assessment and treatment plans.

Risk management considerations

Based on a review of expert opinions obtained from all of the medico-legal cases involving paediatric hyponatremia, consider the following risk management strategies:

  1. Are you familiar with current clinical guidelines for maintenance and replacement fluid therapy, particularly in paediatric patients?
  2. Are baseline and appropriate ongoing monitoring of serum electrolytes indicated?
  3. Are you aware of the early warning signs and symptoms of hyponatremia?
  4. Have you considered why there is a failure of the child to improve clinically?
  5. Have you considered the parents' concerns about their child's condition?
  6. Does the documentation reflect your clinical impressions at the time of assessment and the rationale for your treatment?
  7. Have you communicated the treatment plan effectively to other physicians or health care professionals involved in the child's care?

The symptoms and signs of hyponatremia are frequently non-specific initially. The diagnosis may elude even knowledgeable and experienced physicians. This article is provided to heighten the awareness of the profession to the condition of hyponatremia, particularly in children receiving fluid therapy.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L'hyponatrémie chez l'enfant

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en décembre 2008
IL0840-1-F

Résumé

L'hyponatrémie peut survenir lors d'une réhydratation ou d'une thérapie liquidienne de maintien, et peut entraîner de graves effets indésirables, dont une atteinte neurologique et même le décès.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins traitant les enfants

Depuis quelques années, un nombre croissant de rapports publiés reconnaissent que l'administration de solutions de réhydratation contre-indiquée, ou excessive, risque d'entraîner des complications d'hyponatrémie, en particulier dans la clientèle pédiatrique. Cet article a pour but de sensibiliser les médecins aux complications de l'hyponatrémie, qui peuvent survenir dans diverses situations cliniques, et dont les signes avant-coureurs sont souvent non spécifiques, pouvant confondre même les professionnels de la santé les plus expérimentés.

Certains des problèmes en cause sont illustrés dans le cas suivant.

Étude de cas

Un enfant de deux ans ayant eu plusieurs épisodes de vomissements et de diarrhée depuis une journée est admis à l'unité pédiatrique d'un hôpital général avec un diagnostic provisoire de gastroentérite. Les analyses de sang effectuées à son arrivée à l'urgence sont normales, y compris un taux de sodium sérique de 140 mmol/L. L'enfant ne pouvant tolérer les solutions de réhydratation orale, une perfusion de soluté physiologique est commencée à 100 ml/h à l'urgence.

La pédiatre de garde évalue l'enfant et le trouve raisonnablement hydraté, sa langue étant humide, ses yeux légèrement enfoncés et sa température tympanique de 38,4 °C. Elle confirme le diagnostic de gastroentérite, probablement virale. L'enfant a déjà reçu 400 ml de soluté physiologique. D'après le poids de l'enfant et son taux estimé de déshydratation, la pédiatre change la perfusion intraveineuse pour un soluté de glucose 3,3 % dans du NaCl 0,3 % (2/3-1/3) à 70 ml/h avec une dose de maintien de chlorure de potassium (KCl) de 10 mmol par 500 ml après la première miction de l'enfant.

La pédiatre réévalue l'enfant le lendemain matin. Bien qu'étant irritable, il ne fait pas de fièvre, ses signes vitaux sont normaux et il vient d'uriner abondamment. Le médecin ne documente pas cette visite dans le dossier de l'enfant, et ne prescrit pas de nouvelle analyse des électrolytes sériques. Bien que l'enfant ait toléré de petites gorgées de liquides au cours de la nuit, la pédiatre est informée qu'il a continué de vomir de façon intermittente tout au long de la journée. La diurèse semble adéquate; toutefois, le personnel infirmier n'a pas documenté le bilan hydrique.

Au milieu de l'après-midi, le personnel infirmier informe la pédiatre que l'enfant est de plus en plus léthargique et qu'il réagit moins aux stimulis depuis les deux dernières heures, bien que ses signes vitaux soient stables. Cinq minutes plus tard, l'enfant fait une crise convulsive focalisée. Une autre convulsion est notée 40 minutes plus tard. La pédiatre se présente rapidement au chevet de l'enfant, qui semble inconscient, mais qui réagit toutefois à un stimuli douloureux. Un anticonvulsivant lui est administré par voie intraveineuse. La pédiatre cherche à déterminer la présence d'une encéphalite virale ou d'un déséquilibre électrolyte et demande un bilan sanguin stat, une tomodensitométrie (CT scan) cérébrale ainsi qu'un EEG.

Alors qu'il se trouve dans la salle d'imagerie diagnostique, l'enfant fait un arrêt respiratoire et une intubation endotrachéale est pratiquée. L'analyse des électrolytes effectuée au moment de la deuxième crise révèle un taux de sodium sérique de 124 mmol/L. Après la réanimation, l'enfant, en état comateux, est transféré dans un centre de soins tertiaires pour y recevoir des soins subséquents. Son état se détériore et le maintien de ses fonctions vitales est cessé le lendemain. L'autopsie révèle la présence d'un oedème cérébral sévère avec hernie bilatérale de l'uncus.

La famille a intenté une action en justice, alléguant que la pédiatre n'avait pas correctement évalué l'enfant le lendemain de son admission et n'avait pas demandé les investigations diagnostiques et prescrit les traitements appropriés. Ils ont également allégué que le personnel infirmier de l'hôpital n'avait pas adéquatement surveillé l'état clinique de l'enfant et avait tardé à informer la pédiatre de la détérioration de son état.


Opinions des experts dans ce cas

Les experts en pédiatrie étaient d'avis que la pédiatre avait manqué au respect de la norme de diligence en omettant d'effectuer une réévaluation plus complète de l'enfant le lendemain de son admission et en omettant de documenter sa visite. Selon les experts, si le médecin avait demandé les analyses sanguines appropriées, l'hyponatrémie aurait été découverte et des mesures correctives auraient pu être mises en place.

En l'absence de l'appui des experts, l'ACPM et l'hôpital ont dû respectivement contribuer, pour le compte de la pédiatre et des infirmières, à une compensation versée au demandeur dans le cadre d'un règlement hors cour.

Examen des dossiers médico-légaux

L'ACPM a effectué une analyse de tous les dossiers médico-légaux conclus entre 1998 et 2007 qui portaient sur l'hyponatrémie chez l'enfant. Cette analyse des dossiers a révélé que les problèmes médico-légaux associés à l'hyponatrémie chez l'enfant ne sont pas fréquents à l'ACPM. Toutefois, les conséquences cliniques pour les patients atteints d'hyponatrémie peuvent être extrêmement graves.

Huit cas ont été identifiés. Trois enfants sont décédés à la suite d'un oedème cérébral découlant d'une hyponatrémie iatrogénique. Deux de ces trois patients présentaient une entérite virale à l'admission, et l'autre avait subi une intervention chirurgicale réussie, mais avait développé une hyponatrémie secondaire au manque de suivi du bilan hydroélectrolytique en période postopératoire. Trois autres enfants sont demeurés avec une invalidité neurologique permanente et grave, bien qu'une comorbidité et que d'autres complications aient également joué un rôle dans les séquelles permanentes. Les deux autres enfants se sont rétablis sans séquelles connues. Dans la majorité de ces cas, le médecin avait prescrit une perfusion hypotonique pour traiter l'état clinique de l'enfant.

Dans les dossiers médico-légaux analysés, les allégations suivantes liées au diagnostic et au traitement de l'hyponatrémie ont été soulevées :

  • retard ou manquement dans l'obtention ou la surveillance du taux de sodium sérique ou dans la réponse aux résultats anormaux;
  • retard dans la prescription d'un soluté approprié ou omission de prescrire un tel soluté;
  • retard dans la reconnaissance de la gravité des signes et symptômes précoces d'hyponatrémie chez un enfant ayant reçu des solutions de réhydratation, par voie orale ou intraveineuse ou absence de reconnaissance de la gravité;
  • communication déficiente du plan de traitement entre les médecins ou entre un médecin et un autre professionnel de la santé; et
  • absence de documentation de l'évaluation de l'état clinique et du plan de traitement.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Il ressort de l'analyse des opinions d'experts obtenues de tous les dossiers médico-légaux portant sur l'hyponatrémie chez l'enfant que les médecins devraient s'interroger sur les stratégies suivantes en matière de gestion des risques :

  1. Est-ce que je connais les lignes directrices en vigueur sur la thérapie liquidienne d'entretien et de remplacement, surtout en pédiatrie?
  2. Est-ce qu'une surveillance de base et une surveillance continue appropriée des électrolytes sériques sont indiquées?
  3. Est-ce que je sais reconnaître les signes et symptômes avertisseurs de l'hyponatrémie?
  4. Ai-je tenu compte des raisons pour lesquelles l'enfant ne s'améliore pas sur le plan clinique?
  5. Ai-je tenu compte des préoccupations des parents au sujet de l'état de leur enfant?
  6. Est-ce que mes notes au dossier reflètent mes impressions cliniques au moment de l'évaluation, ainsi que ma justification du traitement?
  7. Ai-je communiqué efficacement le plan de traitement aux autres médecins ou aux professionnels de la santé qui participent aux soins de l'enfant?

Les signes et symptômes d'hyponatrémie sont souvent non spécifiques au début. Le diagnostic peut donc confondre même les médecins les plus avertis et les plus chevronnés. Cet article est présenté dans le but de sensibiliser les membres de la profession au problème de l'hyponatrémie, en particulier chez les enfants qui reçoivent une thérapie liquidienne.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.