Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Spinal epidural abscess: a rare, insidious and potentially catastrophic infection

Originally published March 2008
RI0811-E

This article summarizes information from the Association's database to help members reduce their exposure to risk.

Spinal epidural abscess is a rare suppurating infection of the epidural space surrounding the spinal cord. Cord damage develops as a result of direct compression, inflammatory injury or vascular compromise.

The early clinical features of spinal epidural abscess are variable, most often non-specific, and may be attributed to more common clinical reasons for back pain. Eventually, symptoms and signs progress to include some combination of fever, back/neck pain and neurologic abnormalities. The presence of neurologic dysfunction indicates advanced disease, and signals the need for urgent surgical intervention to lessen the risk of further spinal cord injury.

A case study from CMPA files

A 40-year-old insulin dependent diabetic female presented to her family physician with new complaints of mid-thoracic back pain, which had onset gradually following participation in a new exercise program. The patient was referred for physiotherapy and prescribed a muscle relaxant, but the pain intensified over the next week. Her family physician then prescribed narcotic analgesia and referred her to a family physician colleague with a special interest in back disorders who diagnosed T5-6 radiculitis. Local injection of trigger points and gentle spinal manipulation were carried out with temporary symptomatic relief.

Ten days after the onset of symptoms (see Figure 1 for timeline), the patient presented to the emergency department with unrelenting mid-thoracic pain, sweats and constipation. No neurologic symptoms were reported. The temperature was recorded at 37.4 C; the white blood cell count was 11.6 with 86 per cent neutrophils, and the ESR 54. Plain X-rays of the thoracic spine were unremarkable. The emergency physician admitted the patient to hospital for further investigation and management of a possible "infectious disc."

The patient's family physician reassessed her later on the morning of admission and consulted an internist who then referred her to an orthopaedic surgeon. The internist and orthopaedic surgeon suspected muscle strain and the orthopaedic surgeon further concluded an infectious process was unlikely.

A bone scan was ordered which was later confirmed as normal.

During the second day in hospital the patient remained fully ambulatory. However, on the evening of the third day, she fell three times. She reported being unable to stand for more than brief periods.

On the morning of the fourth hospital day, the patient reported weakness of her arms and legs and numbness of the soles of her feet. She experienced a loss of bladder control. She was again assessed by her family physician, who confirmed objective weakness of the left upper extremity. At approximately 10:30, her family physician ordered a consultation with a neurologist and re-consultation with the internist. However, her family physician made no personal contact with either consultant to convey the seriousness and urgency of the situation.

The patient was eventually assessed by the neurologist at approximately 17:00.Additional information available at that time included a white blood cell count of 22.4 X 109/L recorded at 12:30 that day. The patient's temperature was 37.3 C. The neurologist noted definite weakness and loss of tendon reflexes in the left upper extremity, but no definite weakness or sensory abnormalities in the lower extremities. The possibility of a spinal cord lesion was considered, but investigation was limited to ordering plain X-rays of the C-spine and shoulders.At 22:45, the internist reassessed the patient at which time her temperature had risen to 39.7 C. There was now objective evidence of lower limb weakness as well as neck stiffness. The internist contacted the neurologist who attended immediately and carried out a lumbar puncture which showed turbid fluid.

At 02:00 on the fifth hospital day, the neurologist contacted a neurosurgeon who immediately suspected a spinal epidural abscess. The patient was transferred to a tertiary centre where an MRI scan revealed aposterior epidural mass extending from C1-2 to C7 causing moderately severe compression and anterior displacement of the cervical cord. At surgery, an extremely large epidural pus collection was identified.

Post-operatively, the patient was left paraplegic with complete motor paralysis of the lower extremities and associated bowel and bladder dysfunction. The left upper extremity weakness eventually resolved completely.

A legal action was commenced naming all the physicians involved in her care as defendants. Peer experts were unsupportive of the family physician and the neurologist. A settlement was paid by the CMPA on behalf of these two member physicians.

What the experts said

  • There was no criticism of the medical management prior to the fourth hospital day. The slight increase in white blood cell count and elevation of the ESR on presentation were considered non-specific. Appropriate referrals were made in a timely fashion.
  • Experts maintained that the family physician should have communicated personally with the neurologist on the morning of day four to convey the seriousness of the patient's clinical circumstances.
  • Experts also felt that the neurologist should have recognized that the history of repeated falls beginning in the evening of day three and the associated neurologic abnormalities, including bladder dysfunction, suggested a cord lesion that required urgent attention.

CMPA data

A review of the Association's closed files from 1996 to 2006 related to spinal epidural abscess revealed a total of 33 cases. There were 30 civil legal actions (29 actual and one threatened) and three regulatory authority (College) cases.

Legal outcomes

Sixteen of the 30 legal cases resulted in the patient receiving a financial settlement paid by the CMPA on behalf of members (i.e., in favour of the plaintiff) and 13 were dismissed. In the single case that went to trial, the judgment was in favour of the physician.

In eight of the 16 cases that were concluded in favour of the plaintiff there was a documented misdiagnosis (e.g., sprain/strain of back/neck, neuralgia, drug withdrawal syndrome) that contributed to delay in identifying the correct diagnosis and treatment. In 10 of these 16 cases, there was a delay in performing appropriate diagnostic tests (e.g., general physical exam, neurological exam, blood work, CT or MRI scan).

The most common location for the cases concluded in favour of the plaintiff was the emergency department (eight of the 16 cases).

Associated conditions

Review of our cases and opinions obtained from clinical experts have identified the following conditions as predisposing to spinal epidural abscess:

  • Immunodeficiency (e.g., diabetes mellitus, AIDS, malignancy, alcoholism, intravenous drug abuse)
  • Spinal procedures or surgery
  • Spinal trauma

Of the 33 cases in this CMPA review, 11 developed in association with a spinal procedure. Seven of those 11 involved epidural or spinal anaesthesia. Six cases were associated with some form of recent trauma involving back neck or shoulders. Intravenous drug abuse was identified in five cases, diabetes mellitus in two and alcohol addiction in one.

Patient physical disability

Death occurred in three of the 33 cases. Quadriplegia was documented in five cases and paraplegia in four. Three other cases involved lesser degrees of neurologic deficit involving the legs, bladder and bowel.

Identify your risks

Based on a review of expert opinions obtained in the course of legal actions involving spinal epidural abscess, the CMPA has identified the following risk management considerations:

  1. Have you considered the diagnosis of spinal epidural abscess in patients presenting with back pain and unexplained fever?
  2. Are you familiar with conditions associated with spinal epidural abscess? Medical experts have identified IV drug users attending in the emergency department as a particularly high risk patient group.
  3. When the diagnosis of spinal epidural abscess is suspected, have you acted in a timely fashion to confirm or rule out the diagnosis with appropriate consultation and/or imaging studies (e.g., MRI or CT scanning)?
  4. When spinal epidural abscess is confirmed, have you arranged urgent neurosurgical or orthopaedic consultation?

Epidural abscess in perspective

The symptoms of back pain, and back pain with fever, are common reasons for patients to seek medical care. The early symptoms of epidural abscess often mimic less serious conditions and there is a varied rate of progression of the disease. Epidural abscess is rare. Many physicians will never see a patient with this condition. This article is provided to heighten awareness of epidural abscess, recognizing its early identification may challenge the skills of even the best clinicians. It is not meant to suggest most patients with back pain require investigation for epidural abscess.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L'abcès épidural : une infection rare, insidieuse et potentiellement catastrophique

Publié initialement en mars 2008
RI0811-F

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Cet article présente des informations provenant de la base de données de l'Association pour aider les membres à réduire leur exposition aux risques.

L'abcès épidural est une infection purulente de l'espace épidural entourant le rachis qui survient rarement. Avec cette affection, des dommages médullaires apparaissent à la suite de la compression directe, de l'inflammation ou de l'atteinte vasculaire.

Les caractéristiques cliniques précoces de l'abcès épidural sont variables, le plus souvent non spécifiques, et peuvent être attribuées à des causes plus courantes de lombalgie. Éventuellement, il y a une progression des signes et symptômes vers une présence conjugée de fièvre, de lombalgie ou de cervicalgie et d'atteinte neurologique.

La présence d'une atteinte neurologique révèle un stade avancé de la maladie, et signale le besoin d'une intervention chirurgicale urgente pour minimiser le risque d'une atteinte sévère de la moelle épinière.

Un cas provenant des dossiers de l'ACPM

Une femme de 40 ans, souffrant de diabète insulinodépendant, consulte son médecin de famille. Elle se plaint de douleurs au milieu du dos qui ont augmenté graduellement depuis qu'elle adhère à un nouveau programme d'exercices. La patiente est dirigée en physiothérapie, et malgré une ordonnance de relaxant musculaire, la douleur augmente d'intensité au cours de la semaine suivante. Son médecin de famille lui prescrit alors des analgésiques narcotiques et la dirige vers un collègue en médecine familiale ayant un intérêt particulier pour les lombalgies. Ce dernier diagnostique une radiculite au niveau D5-6. Des infiltrations locales au niveau des points gâchettes (trigger points) et des manipulations vertébrales douces sont pratiquées, et procurent un soulagement temporaire des symptômes.

Dix jours après l'apparition des symptômes (voir Figure 1), la patiente se présente à l'urgence en raison de douleur mi-dorsale continue, de diaphorèse et de constipation. Aucun symptôme neurologique n'est mis en évidence; la température est à 37,4 °C avec une numération leucocytaire à 11,6 avec 86 % de neutrophiles et une VS à 54. Des radiographies simples de la colonne dorsale ne révèlent aucune anomalie. L'urgentologue l'hospitalise pour effectuer une investigation plus poussée et le traitement d'une « infection discale » possible.

Le médecin de famille réévalue la patiente plus tard le matin de l'admission et consulte un interniste qui, à son tour, demande une consultation avec un chirurgien orthopédique. L'interniste et le chirurgien orthopédique soupçonnent un claquage, et ce dernier conclut finalement qu'un processus infectieux est peu probable. Une scintigraphie osseuse est prescrite, et celle-ci s'avère normale.

Au cours du deuxième jour d'hospitalisation, la patiente demeure active et circule. Toutefois, au cours de la soirée du troisième jour, la patiente chute à trois reprises. Elle dit être incapable de se tenir debout, sauf pour de courtes périodes.

Le matin de la quatrième journée d'hospitalisation, la patiente signale une faiblesse des bras et des jambes, une perte de sensibilité au niveau de la plante des pieds ainsi qu'une perte du contrôle vésical. Elle est de nouveau évaluée par son médecin de famille qui confirme de façon objective la faiblesse de l'extrémité supérieure gauche. Vers 10 h 30, le médecin de famille demande une consultation avec un neurologue et une autre consultation avec l'interniste. Cependant, le médecin de famille ne parle pas directement avec les deux consultants pour communiquer la gravité et l'urgence de la situation.

Puis vers 17 h, la patiente est évaluée par le neurologue. À ce moment, les autres données incluent entre autres : une numération leucocytaire à 22,4 x 109/L consignée au dossier à 12 h 30 cette même journée et une température à 37,3 °C. Le neurologue note une faiblesse franche et la perte des réflexes tendineux à l'extrémité supérieure gauche, mais aucune faiblesse franche ou anomalie sensitive aux extrémités inférieures. La possibilité d'une lésion du rachis est envisagée, mais les investigations sont limitées à prescrire des radiographies simples de la colonne et des épaules. À 22 h 45, l'interniste réévalue la patiente alors que la température est grimpée à 39,7 °C. Il y a maintenant une évidence objective de faiblesse des membres inférieurs de même que la présence d'une raideur de la nuque. L'interniste communique avec le neurologue. Ce dernier se rend immédiatement au chevet de la patiente et effectue une ponction lombaire qui ramène un liquide trouble.

À 02 h la cinquième journée d'hospitalisation, le neurologue communique avec le neurochirurgien; ce dernier soupçonne immédiatement un abcès épidural. La patiente est transférée dans un centre de soins tertiaires pour une IRM. Cet examen révèle une masse épidurale postérieure qui s'étend de C1-2 à C7 causant une compression modérée à sévère et un déplacement antérieur de la moelle épinière cervicale. Lors de l'intervention chirurgicale, on observe une énorme collection épidurale purulente.

En période postopératoire, la patiente présente une paraplégie avec une paralysie motrice complète des extrémités inférieures associée à des dysfonctions intestinale et vésicale. La faiblesse au niveau de l'extrémité supérieure gauche a éventuellement complètement disparu.

Une action en justice est déposée nommant tous les médecins ayant participés aux soins comme défendeurs. L'opinion des experts n'appuyait ni les soins du médecin de famille ni ceux du neurologue; par conséquent, l'ACPM a compensé la patiente au nom des deux médecins.

Ce qu'ont dit les experts

  • Aucun reproche ne vise le suivi médical avant la quatrième journée d'hospitalisation. Une légère augmentation de la numération leucocytaire et la hausse de la VS à l'arrivée de la patiente ont été considérées comme non spécifiques. Les demandes de consultations ont été faites en temps opportun.
  • Les experts ont maintenu que le médecin de famille aurait dû communiquer personnellement avec le neurologue le matin de la quatrième journée pour lui faire part du sérieux des manifestations cliniques de la patiente.
  • Les experts partagent également l'opinion que le neurologue aurait dû reconnaître que l'histoire de chutes répétées apparues dans la soirée de la troisième journée avec les anomalies neurologiques associées, y compris la dysfonction vésicale, suggéraient une lésion du rachis exigeant une attention urgente.

Les données de l'ACPM

L'ACPM a effectué une analyse de ses dossiers portant sur la période de 1996 à 2006 en lien avec des abcès épiduraux; cette analyse a révélé 33 cas. Il y a eu 30 cas de poursuites (29 matérialisées et 1 menace), et 3 cas ont concerné les organismes de réglementation (Collège).

Résultats des actions en justice

Seize des 30 poursuites ont résulté en un règlement hors cour en faveur du patient et une compensation a été versée par l'ACPM au nom de ses membres (c.-à-d., en faveur du demandeur) et 13 cas ont été rejetés. Dans l'unique cas où il y a eu procès, le jugement a été en faveur du médecin.

Dans 8 des 16 cas de règlement hors cour (en faveur du demandeur), il y a eu des erreurs de diagnostic documentées (p. ex., entorse/ torsion dorsale ou cervicale, névralgie, syndrome de sevrage de drogue) qui ont contribué à retarder l'établissement du diagnostic et du traitement appropriés. Dans 10 de ces 16 cas, il y a eu un délai dans l'exécution des examens diagnostiques appropriés (p. ex., examen physique général, examen neurologique, bilan sanguin, CT ou IRM).

Le service des urgences a été identifié comme le lieu le plus courant dans les règlements hors cour conclus en faveur des demandeurs.

Conditions associées

L'analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM et les opinions obtenues des experts identifient souvent les conditions suivantes comme des facteurs prédisposants aux abcès épiduraux :

  • Immunodéficience (p. ex., diabète mellitus, sida, cancer, alcoolisme, abus de drogues intraveineuses)
  • Chirurgie ou procédures sur le rachis
  • Traumatisme du rachis.

Des 33 cas de l'étude des dossiers de l'ACPM, 11 sont survenus à la suite de procédures sur le rachis. Sept des 11 cas ont eu un lien avec une anesthésie épidurale ou rachidienne. Six cas ont été associés avec une forme quelconque de traumatisme récent impliquant le dos, le cou et les épaules. L'abus de drogues intraveineuses a été cité dans 5 cas, le diabète mellitus dans 5 cas et l'alcoolisme dans 1 cas.

Incapacité physique du patient

Un décès est survenu dans 3 des 33 cas. La quadriplégie a été documentée dans 5 cas et la paraplégie dans 4 cas. Trois autres cas ont fait état d'un degré moindre de déficit neurologique des membres inférieurs, de la vessie et de l'intestin.

Déterminer vos risques

Selon la revue des opinions des experts obtenues lors d'actions en justice relativement aux abcès épiduraux, l'ACPM a identifié les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques :

  1. Avez-vous soulevé le diagnostic d'abcès épidural chez les patients qui présentent des douleurs lombaires et une fièvre inexpliquée?
  2. Êtes-vous familier avec les conditions associées à l'abcès épidural? Les experts ont identifié que les usagers de drogues I.V. qui se présentent au service des urgences représentent un groupe de patients à risque élevé.
  3. Lorsqu'un diagnostic d'abcès épidural a été soupçonné, avez-vous agi de façon opportune pour confirmer ou éliminer ce diagnostic avec les examens d'imagerie appropriés (p. ex., IRM ou tomodensitométrie)?
  4. Lorsqu'un abcès épidural a été confirmé, avez-vous procédé à une consultation neurologique urgente?

L'abcès épidural en perspective

Les symptômes de lombalgie et de lombalgie accompagnée de fièvre sont des raisons courantes pour lesquelles un patient recherche des soins médicaux. Les symptômes précoces de l'abcès épidural laissent souvent croire à un état moins sérieux et il existe une évolution très variable de la maladie. L'abcès épidural est rare et de nombreux médecins ne verront jamais de patients qui présentent cette pathologie. Ce document d'Identification des risques vise à sensibiliser les membres sur l'abcès épidural pour leur permettre de reconnaître les manifestations précoces de cet état qui posent un défi, même aux meilleurs cliniciens. Cet article ne veut aucunement prétendre que tous les patients atteints de lombalgies requièrent une investigation pour déceler un abcès épidural.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.