Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Acting as an expert in medico-legal proceedings

An article for physicians by CMPA General Counsel
Published October 2009 IS0998-E

Abstract

Key issues for physicians to consider when deciding to provide medical expertise in medico-legal proceedings.

Of interest to all physicians

You may be asked during your career to act as an expert in some form of medico-legal proceeding, including before a court, a regulatory authority (College) or another form of administrative tribunal (e.g., workplace safety and insurance board). If asked to act as an expert, you may have questions about what is involved and whether you should agree to the request. The following is a general discussion of the questions the CMPA typically receives from members considering acting as an expert.

Role of experts

Expert witnesses play an important role in most medical cases. They assist those involved in the judicial process to understand and/or decide issues based on often complex medical evidence. Experts are typically requested to interpret and/or provide their opinion on clinical, scientific or technical issues that typically lie outside the knowledge and experience of the average lawyer, judge, tribunal panelist or jury member. Above all else, experts must be impartial and balanced in offering their opinion.

Experts in legal proceedings most often play one of two roles. The first is to act as a consultant to a lawyer, often early in a case. In this role they impart knowledge about the medicine to help assess the merits of the case. In some instances, this expert will not be asked to author a report or to testify. The other role commonly played by experts is to review the evidence, specifically for the purpose of authoring an expert report and/or giving opinion evidence under oath. The expert's testimony is intended to assist the judge or jury to understand the medical issues necessary to decide the case.

You may be asked to provide expert evidence in a variety of legal proceedings. For example, experts are frequently retained in medico-legal litigation cases, criminal trials, College proceedings and workers' compensation hearings. The expert's role in each one of these cases may be different depending on the purpose for which the expert is being retained. For example, in medico-legal litigation, you may be asked to provide your opinion on a specific issue in the case, such as whether the defendant physician met the standard of care, what was the cause of the plaintiff's injuries or what the plaintiff's prognosis is for the purposes of calculating damages. In other proceedings, such as in a workers' compensation hearing, the tribunal or board may ask an expert physician to assess the individual for the purpose of commenting on his/her injury or mental state.

In some cases, an expert may be jointly retained by more than one party to the proceeding. Irrespective of who retains the expert, it does not change the fact that an expert's overriding duty is owed to the court or the tribunal.

Duty of experts

Many physicians feel an ethical obligation to act as an expert. Physicians are generally encouraged to consider acting as an expert in whatever capacity they feel comfortable when they are qualified and available to do so, and when no conflict of interest exists. The CMPA endorses the statement by the Canadian Medical Association in its Code of Ethics that physicians should "recognize the profession's responsibility to society in matters relating to … the need for testimony at judicial proceedings."

Regardless of the nature of the retainer or who pays the account, experts have a duty to provide their opinion in an objective, professional and fair manner. Experts should not act as advocates for the party who retained them. In fact, some provinces, including Ontario and British Columbia, will soon require experts to certify that they understand that their duty is owed to the court and not to any particular party.

Judges have been critical in past medico-legal litigation cases of partisan approaches adopted by some expert witnesses. This invariably results in their evidence being rejected, given reduced weight or the witness's integrity being called into question.

Some issues to consider before agreeing to act as an expert

Before agreeing to act as an expert, there are several issues to consider. Although the relevant issues will vary depending on the circumstances of the case, the following are some preliminary questions you may wish to consider before accepting an expert retainer.

Am I qualified to provide an opinion in this area of medicine?

Consider whether the specific opinion being sought is within your area of practice or expertise. Depending on the opinion you are being asked to give, you may be required to have specific knowledge of the medical practice. For example, if asked to comment on the standard of care at a particular time, consider whether you are sufficiently familiar with the relevant clinical practice guidelines and prevailing view of the medical profession at the time in question.

It is also possible that you might be asked to provide an opinion on issues that do not necessarily relate to the standard of practice. For example, experts may be retained to comment on such issues as the cause of the alleged injury or the extent of the damages being claimed. In these cases, consider whether you have sufficient expertise concerning the subject matter to offer an expert opinion. The evidence of an expert who testifies without the requisite knowledge and/or experience is often discounted or disqualified in favour of another qualified expert.

Am I sufficiently impartial to provide an opinion in this case?

Verify that you do not have an actual or perceived conflict of interest before accepting an expert retainer. There are many different circumstances in which a conflict may arise, including where the physician acted as the opposing party's treating physician or where the physicians had previously discussed the case with another party. Personal relationships with any of the parties involved, beyond merely being colleagues, or with any of the lawyers involved may also give rise to a perceived conflict of interest. If you feel you may have a conflict, raise your concerns as soon as possible with the lawyer or party retaining you.

Do I have the necessary time to complete the task required?

Both the expert and his/her lawyer should ensure that they each have a clear understanding of the relationship and their respective expectations. For example, the parameters of the opinion requested should be understood, as should the time commitment required to complete the opinion, any relevant deadlines and any remuneration issues.

The obligation on a treating physician to provide a report for a patient for the purpose of a medico-legal proceeding does not extend to experts. Unlike a treating physician, experts are not obliged to accept a request to provide a report or to otherwise act as an expert in a legal proceeding. The prospective expert should, however, politely decline the request in a timely fashion so as to facilitate the continued search for an alternative expert.

Knowing what Is expected

Communication between an expert and the lawyer retaining him/her is crucial. Just as the lawyer retaining an expert has an obligation to communicate to the expert in a timely manner the necessary information to enable an informed and educated opinion, the expert also has the responsibility to be forthright and judicious in his/her communication with the lawyer.

The documentation required to provide an informed opinion will depend on the circumstances of each case. The expert should communicate to the lawyer his/her expectations regarding the documentation needed to provide an opinion. This may include the relevant medical records, pleadings and transcripts from examinations for discovery.

Some Colleges and medical organizations (e.g., Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada, Collège des médecins du Québec) have published guidelines for members acting as experts. These may be of general assistance to physicians considering acting as an expert for the first time.

Expert work requires protection

Whether working as an expert for the CMPA or the plaintiff, physicians should maintain their CMPA membership for the length of time they are actively involved in a case.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Le travail d’expert dans les causes médico-légales

Un article pour les médecins par le Service du contentieux
Publié en octobre 2009
IS0998-F

Résumé

Questions clés dont les médecins doivent tenir compte lorsqu'ils décident de fournir une expertise médicale dans le cadre de poursuites médico-légales.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Tout médecin peut être invité au cours de sa carrière à agir à titre d'expert dans une cause médico-légale, que ce soit devant un tribunal, un organisme de réglementation (Collège) ou un autre tribunal administratif (p. ex., Commission des lésions professionnelles). En recevant une telle invitation, le médecin peut se demander en quoi consiste ce travail et s'il devrait l'accepter. Cet article présente une discussion générale des questions que l'ACPM reçoit typiquement des membres au sujet du travail à titre d'expert.

Rôle des experts

Les experts jouent un rôle important dans la plupart des causes médicales. Ils aident en effet les personnes impliquées dans le processus judiciaire à comprendre des questions qui se fondent souvent sur des preuves médicales complexes et à prendre des décisions en fonction de celles-ci. Les experts doivent généralement interpréter des questions cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques qui dépassent les connaissances et l'expérience moyennes des avocats, des juges, des membres du tribunal ou du jury et/ou fournir leur opinion sur ces questions. Les experts doivent avant tout faire preuve d'impartialité et de pondération dans l'opinion qu'ils donnent.

Dans le cadre d'actions en justice, les experts jouent le plus souvent l'un de deux rôles. Le premier consiste à agir comme consultant auprès d'un avocat, souvent au début d'une cause. Les experts doivent alors transmettre à l'avocat leurs connaissances en médecine pour lui permettre d'évaluer les mérites de la cause. Dans certains cas, cet expert ne sera pas appelé à rédiger de rapport, ni à témoigner. Le deuxième rôle couramment assigné aux experts est celui d'examinateur de la preuve, tout particulièrement dans le but de rédiger un rapport d'expert et/ou de présenter sous serment une preuve sous forme d'opinion. Le témoignage de l'expert est destiné à aider le juge ou le jury à comprendre les questions médicales nécessaires pour décider de la cause.

Les experts peuvent être appelés à fournir un témoignage dans le cadre de diverses affaires juridiques. Par exemple, leurs services sont souvent retenus dans des litiges médico-légaux, des procès au criminel, et des audiences aux Collèges et à la Commission des lésions professionnelles. Le rôle de l'expert dans chacun de ces cas peut être différent selon les raisons pour lesquelles ses services ont été retenus. Dans un litige médico-légal, l'expert peut être appelé à donner son opinion sur un point précis de la cause, à savoir par exemple si le médecin défendeur a respecté la norme de diligence, quelle était la cause du préjudice du demandeur, ou quel serait le pronostic du demandeur dans le but de calculer les dommages. Dans d'autres affaires, comme dans une audience de la commission de la santé, de la sécurité et de l'indemnisation des accidents du travail, le tribunal ou le comité peut demander à un médecin expert d'évaluer la personne dans le but d'émettre des commentaires sur sa blessure ou sur son état mental.

Dans certains cas, les services d'un expert peuvent être retenus conjointement par plus d'une partie dans une affaire. Quelque soit la partie qui retient ses services, le fait demeure que le devoir premier d'un expert est envers la cour ou le tribunal.

Devoir des experts

De nombreux médecins estiment qu'ils ont une obligation déontologique d'agir à titre d'expert. Les médecins sont généralement encouragés à agir comme experts dans une capacité où ils se sentent à l'aise s'ils sont qualifiés et disponibles pour le faire, et lorsqu'il n'existe aucun conflit d'intérêt. L'ACPM appuie l'énoncé du Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne selon lequel les médecins doivent « reconnaître la responsabilité de la profession envers la société à l'égard [de] … l'obligation de témoigner au cours de procédures judiciaires ».

Quelle que soit la nature du mandat de représentation en justice ou la personne qui payera la note, les experts ont le devoir d'émettre une opinion de manière objective, professionnelle et équitable. Un expert ne doit pas se faire le défendeur de la partie qui a retenu ses services. En fait, certaines provinces, dont l'Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique, exigeront bientôt que les experts certifient avoir bien compris que leur devoir est envers la cour et non envers une partie donnée.

Les juges ont critiqué les approches partisanes adoptées par le passé par certains témoins experts dans le cadre de litiges médico-légaux. Invariablement, ceci entraîne le rejet de leur témoignage, la diminution du poids accordé à leur témoignage ou même à la contestation de l'intégrité du témoin.

Quelques points à considérer avant d'accepter d'agir à titre d'expert

Avant d'accepter d'agir à titre d'expert, il est nécessaire de considérer plusieurs points. Bien que les sujets pertinents dépendront des circonstances de la cause, les médecins devraient se poser les questions préliminaires suivantes avant d'accepter un mandat de représentation en justice à titre d'expert :

Suis-je qualifié pour fournir une opinion dans ce domaine de la médecine?

Un médecin doit se demander si l'opinion précise qu'on lui demande de donner relève de son domaine de pratique ou d'expertise. Selon le genre d'opinion demandé, il peut être nécessaire de posséder des connaissances précises de la pratique médicale. Par exemple, si un médecin est appelé à se prononcer sur la norme de diligence qui prévalait à un moment précis, il doit se demander s'il connaît suffisamment les lignes directrices sur la pratique clinique pertinente et la perspective dominante de la profession médicale de l'époque en question.

Il se peut également qu'un médecin soit invité à émettre une opinion sur des questions qui n'ont pas nécessairement rapport avec la norme de diligence. Par exemple, les experts peuvent être appelés à se prononcer sur des questions telles que la cause d'un préjudice allégué ou l'étendue des dommages faisant l'objet d'une réclamation. Dans de telles situations, le médecin doit se demander s'il possède une expertise suffisante sur le sujet pour émettre une opinion d'expert. Le témoignage d'un expert qui ne possède pas l'expérience et/ou les connaissances voulues est souvent jugé irrecevable ou est disqualifié en faveur du témoignage d'un autre expert qualifié.

Puis-je faire preuve d'une impartialité suffisante pour émettre une opinion dans cette cause?

Le médecin doit vérifier qu'il n'existe pas de conflit d'intérêt, réel ou perçu, avant d'accepter d'agir comme expert. Il y a de nombreuses circonstances différentes dans lesquelles un conflit peut survenir, y compris lorsqu'un médecin a déjà traité la partie adverse ou lorsqu'il a déjà discuté du cas avec une autre partie. Les relations personnelles entretenues avec toute partie prenante, au-delà d'une relation normale entre collègues, ou avec l'un des avocats en cause peuvent également donner lieu à la perception d'un conflit d'intérêt. Si le médecin pense qu'il pourrait être en conflit d'intérêt, il doit soulever ce point dès que possible avec l'avocat ou la partie qui demande à retenir ses services.

Est-ce que je dispose du temps nécessaire pour m'acquitter de la tâche requise?

L'expert et son avocat devraient s'assurer de bien comprendre leur relation et leurs attentes respectives. Par exemple, les paramètres de l'opinion demandée devraient être compris, tout comme le temps exigé pour émettre une opinion, toute date limite pertinente et les questions de rémunération.

L'obligation pour un médecin traitant de fournir un rapport pour un patient dans le cadre d'une affaire médico-légale ne s'applique pas aux experts. Contrairement aux médecins traitants, les experts ne sont pas obligés d'accepter de fournir un rapport ou d'agir à titre d'expert dans une action en justice. L'expert potentiel qui décide de refuser doit toutefois le faire poliment et en temps opportun afin de faciliter la poursuite de la recherche d'un autre expert.

Savoir à quoi s'attendre

La communication entre un expert et l'avocat qui retient ses services est décisive. Tout comme l'avocat qui retient les services d'un expert a l'obligation de communiquer à ce dernier l'information nécessaire en temps opportun pour lui permettre d'émettre une opinion éclairée et professionnelle, l'expert a également la responsabilité de communiquer de manière franche et judicieuse avec l'avocat.

La documentation requise pour émettre une opinion éclairée dépendra des circonstances de chaque cas. L'expert doit communiquer ses attentes à l'avocat concernant la documentation nécessaire pour fournir une opinion. Il peut s'agir des dossiers médicaux pertinents, de plaidoyers et de transcriptions d'interrogatoires préalables.

Certains Collèges et organismes médicaux (p. ex., la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada, le Collège des médecins du Québec) ont publié des lignes directrices à l'intention des membres qui agissent à titre d'experts. Celles-ci peuvent aider de façon générale les médecins qui songent à travailler comme experts pour la première fois.

Le travail d'expert a besoin d'une protection

Qu'un médecin travaille comme expert pour le compte de l'ACPM ou pour celui du demandeur, il doit s'assurer de maintenir son adhésion à l'ACPM pour toute la durée de sa participation active à une action en justice.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.