Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Anticoagulant, antiplatelet agent and thrombolytic therapy: Amedico-legal perspective

Originally published June 2009
RI0916-E

This paper explores the medico-legal issues arising from the use of anticoagulant, antiplatelet and thrombolytic agents. The CMPA had previously identified these three classes of drugs as having great clinical benefit but also important patient safety concerns.

For this reason, the CMPA analyzed 117 medico-legal cases closed between 2002 and 2007 that involved the use of anticoagulants, antiplatelet agents and thrombolytics. These included both legal actions and complaints made to a regulatory authority (College).

Figure 1: Distribution of all closed cases per medication category, CMPA, 2002-2007

Figure 1: Distribution of all closed cases per medication category, CMPA, 2002-2007

Note: Although there were 117 closed cases, two cases involved medications from two categories and therefore appear twice, bringing the total number of case combinations to 119.

Search criteria

Closed
Cases:
January 1, 2002 to
December 31, 2007
Code: All cases with an
antithrombotic/thrombolytic intervention code
Code: Legal actions & College complaints
Type of work: All

The distribution of cases by medication category is summarized in Figure 1.

Anticoagulants

The following case studies illustrate the two predominant risk concerns associated with the prescribing and management of anticoagulants, namely:

  • Delay or failure to prescribe an anticoagulant when indicated
  • Inadequate monitoring once the medication is prescribed

Case # 1

Failure to prescribe an anticoagulant

A 26-year-old diabetic woman with a history of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) presented to the emergency department (ED) with right lower quadrant pain, nausea and vomiting. An abdominal ultrasound revealed acute appendicitis and urgent surgery was booked. Although the general surgery resident assessed the patient and documented her history of DVT, the staff general surgeon was unaware of this clinical fact. A laparotomy was performed for a ruptured appendix and periappendiceal abscess. The patient was slow to mobilize after surgery. On the second postoperative day, the nurses recorded that the patient's lower extremities were edematous, and anti-embolic stockings were applied. It is unclear whether this information was verbally communicated to the physicians.

The patient was discharged on the fifth postoperative day. Four days later, she presented to the ED via ambulance with acute onset of shortness of breath and loss of consciousness. A cardiac arrest ensued with successful resuscitation. Subsequent investigations confirmed massive pulmonary embolism (PE). Anoxic brain injury complicating the PE left the patient with marked cognitive impairments and spastic quadriparesis. The family commenced a legal action alleging failure to obtain an adequate medical history and failure to prescribe heparin and compression stockings postoperatively.

Legal outcome

Peer experts were of the opinion that the general surgeon should have been aware of the patient's history of DVT, and the fact that he did not review the information contained in the medical records fell below the standard of care. The experts also maintained that a person at risk for venous thromboembolism (VTE), as this patient was, should have received antithrombotic prophylaxis perioperatively. As there was no expert support, the CMPA paid a settlement to the patient on the member's behalf.


Case # 2

Inadequate monitoring of an anticoagulant

A 62-year-old man with a longstanding history of smoking was followed by his family physician (FP) for diabetes mellitus and coronary artery disease. The patient had a history of two myocardial infarctions (MI) and stenting of the right coronary artery. When the patient developed congestive heart failure, the FP referred him to a cardiologist for investigations and treatment. A coronary angiogram showed left ventricular dysfunction and an apical thrombus. The cardiologist prescribed warfarin and forwarded the consultation report to the FP requesting that he monitor the patient's International Normalized Ratio (INR) levels. This report was received three days later, but the FP did not reassess the patient for approximately one more month. He reviewed the cardiologist's report with the patient during that visit and advised him to continue the medications that the cardiologist had prescribed. However, the FP failed to institute measures to monitor the INR levels. Three weeks later, the patient presented to the ED complaining of dizziness, nausea and vision difficulties. Investigations revealed uncontrolled diabetes and a urinary tract infection. The patient was kept overnight for observation and treatment. His condition stabilized by the following morning, and he was discharged.When leaving the hospital, the patient collapsed. He was subsequently diagnosed with a right cerebellar hemorrhage; his INR level at that time was 16. Mild cognitive deficits and limited use of the right arm persisted. A legal action was commenced by the patient alleging the FP failed to monitor his INR levels as instructed by the cardiologist.

Legal outcome

A family physician expert expressed concern about the family physician's failure to monitor the patient's INR levels as directed by the cardiologist. The expert maintained that INR monitoring should have been initiated in a timely manner.Without expert support, a settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the family physician.


Statistical overview

Figure 2: Comparison of case outcomes for all closed legal actions involving anticoagulants
versus case outcomes for all closed CMPA legal actions, 2002-2007

Figure 2: Comparison of case outcomes for all closed  legal actions involving anticoagulantsversus case outcomes for all closed CMPA legal  actions, 2002-2007

Case outcomes

• Legal actions (60 cases)

In comparison with the overall CMPA experience with legal actions, cases involving anticoagulant therapy resulted in fewer favourable outcomes for the physician. In the overall CMPA experience, 60 per cent of the legal cases were dismissed and seven per cent resulted in judgment for the physician; in the anticoagulant cases, only 48 per cent were dismissed and two per cent resulted in judgment for the physician. (Figure 2)

• College cases (25 cases)

The College expressed concerns related to patient care, inadequate record keeping and communication problems with the patient and family in 15 cases; two of these cases resulted in voluntary retirement or imposed practice limitations. Conversely, the College was not critical of the physician's care in eight cases. The outcome was unknown in two cases.

Type of Work distribution

The study revealed that medico-legal difficulties with anticoagulants crossed a broad range of specialties, with family physicians being the most frequent group involved.

Clinical findings

The experts identified issues related to the prescribing and management of anticoagulants in 58 of the 85 cases. The other 27 cases were excluded from analysis for the following reasons:

  • In 15 cases, experts expressed the view that undesirable patient outcomes occurred despite appropriate care by the physician
  • In seven cases, the anticoagulant was not the focus of the case
  • In five cases, there was insufficient information to determine responsibility for the identified issue or the legal action was dismissed or discontinued

Of the 58 cases analyzed, 36 cases involved oral anticoagulants, of which all but two involved the use of warfarin; 15 cases involved unfractionated heparin; and five cases involved low-molecular-weight heparin. The name of the medication was not specified in two cases.

Of these 58 cases, the majority had more than one issue; two to three issues per case was the most common finding. Hence, the percentages exceed 100 per cent:

  • Forty-five per cent of the cases (26 cases) represented a delay or failure to prescribe an anticoagulant when indicated, most often in the following situations:
    • prophylactic anticoagulation in the postoperative period, especially in the presence of identified risk factors, such as a history of DVT
    • clinical conditions for which an anticoagulant would be considered the treatment of choice, such as atrial fibrillation (AF)
  • Inadequate monitoring of the anticoagulant occurred in 38 per cent of the cases (22 cases). This was most often related to inadequate INR monitoring of oral anticoagulant therapy.
  • In 38 per cent of the cases (22 cases), a diagnostic issue at the time of evaluation of the patient's presenting condition or during the course of anticoagulant therapy also affected the prescribing and management of anticoagulants. A delay or failure to perform or follow up on appropriate investigations (e.g., CT scan, ultrasound, electrocardiogram, heparin-induced thrombocytopenia [HIT] test) as well as failure to consider information in the medical record were key contributing factors.
  • Other areas of concern included:
    • communication problems between physicians during the transfer of care
    • delay or failure to consult a specialist
    • other prescribing issues, (e.g., failure to reverse warfarin prior to an invasive procedure and not considering the effect of potential interactions between anticoagulants and other medications, e.g., antibiotics)

Patient clinical outcomes

As expected, thromboembolic and major bleeding events were the most common adverse events.

Thromboembolic events ? 48 per cent of the cases (28 cases)

  • Pulmonary embolism occurred in 11 of these cases. In the majority, the PE developed postoperatively, most frequently after gynecologic or orthopedic surgeries.
    • Almost two-thirds of these patients died
  • Ischemic strokes developed in 10 of these cases, primarily either related to inadequate INR monitoring or due to failure to prescribe an anticoagulant for patients with mechanical heart valves or medical conditions such as AF.
    • In all of the cases with inadequate INR monitoring, the INR values were subtherapeutic
    • Over 50 per cent of these patients were left with major functional disabilities and one patient died
  • Other thromboembolic events included peripheral arterial occlusions, mechanical heart valve occlusions and an embolic event to the spleen.

Major bleeding events ? 43 per cent of the cases (25 cases)

  • There were 10 cases of intracranial hemorrhage, of which five were associated with inadequate INR monitoring.
    • Six of the 10 patients had serious clinical outcomes; three of them died
  • Of the other 15 cases, bleeding occurred most frequently at the site of diagnostic, therapeutic and surgical procedures. Other patients developed spontaneous bleeding such as hemopericardium and rectal bleeding.
    • Approximately half of these patients died

Other complications ? 9 per cent of the cases (5 cases)

  • Other complications included paradoxical hypercoagulable state (warfarin) and heparin-induced thrombocytopenia.
    • Two of these patients died

Risk management considerations for anticoagulants

Based on the expert opinions obtained in the medico-legal cases related to anticoagulants, the following risk management considerations have been identified:

  • Are you aware of conditions in your patient that may warrant the use of an anticoagulant?
  • Have the appropriate diagnostic investigations been performed and reviewed?
  • Have you considered the current clinical practice guidelines for the prescribing and management of anticoagulants for both active treatment and prophylaxis?
  • Have you considered potential interactions with other drugs or natural health and food products?
  • Would consultation with a specialist be helpful?
  • Has there been effective communication between physicians during the transfer of care of patients on anticoagulant therapy?
  • Has there been effective communication with your patient about the anticoagulant therapy and the monitoring requirement?
  • Have you arranged appropriate follow up and INR monitoring when your patient is on oral anticoagulant therapy? Is there a systematic process in place to review the INR results, adjust the dosage as appropriate, and document the dose change?
  • Does the medical record reflect the risk discussion about anticoagulant therapy and other treatment options?

Antiplatelet agents

Analysis of the 16 antiplatelet cases closed between 2002 and 2007 did not reveal sufficient information to draw meaningful conclusions specific to this class of drug. Most often, risk concerns could not be attributed solely to the use of an antiplatelet agent because of coincident risks related to thrombolytic or antithrombotic therapy used in conjunction with the antiplatelet agent.

Thrombolytic agents

Despite the current widespread clinical usage of thrombolytic agents, and despite their recognized potential for serious bleeding, only 18 thrombolytic cases closed between 2002 and 2007. Moreover, the single key finding of this review was that a delay or failure to prescribe a thrombolytic agent when indicated was a far greater medico-legal risk than the risk associated with complications arising from its use. In fact, of the 11 cases in which experts identified issues involving thrombolytic agents, there was a delay or failure to prescribe a thrombolytic agent in 10 cases as the result of a
misdiagnosis or a delay in diagnosis of the patient's presenting condition.

Note: The other seven cases were excluded for the following reasons:

  • In five cases, experts expressed the view that adverse patient outcomes resulted despite appropriate care by the physician
  • In one case, even though a thrombolytic was prescribed, it was not the focus of the case
  • In one case, the court dismissed the legal action before responsibility for the identified issue could be determined

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Traitement aux agents anticoagulants, antiplaquettaires et thrombolytiques : Une perspective médico-légale

Publié initialement en juin 2009
RI0916-F

Ce document examine les problèmes médico-légaux découlant de l'utilisation d'agents anticoagulants, antiplaquettaires et thrombolytiques. L'ACPM avait déjà identifié ces trois classes de médicaments comme ayant de grands avantages cliniques, mais aussi comme soulevant d'importantes préoccupations en matière de sécurité des patients.

Figure 1 : Répartition de tous les dossiers conclus par catégorie de médicament, ACPM, 2002-2007

Figure 1 : R?partition de tous les dossiers
conclus par cat?gorie de m?dicament,
ACPM, 2002-2007

Note : Bien qu'il y ait eu 117 dossiers conclus, deux cas portaient sur des médicaments relevant de deux catégories différentes, et apparaissent donc deux fois, ce qui porte le nombre total des combinaisons de cas à 119.

Critères de recherche

Dossiers
conclus :
Du 1er janvier 2002 au
31 décembre 2007
Code : Tous les dossiers comportant un
code d'intervention avec
antithrombotique ou thrombolytique
Types de
dossiers :
Actions en justice et plaintes
déposées aux Collèges
Catégories
de pratique :
Toutes

Pour cette raison, l'ACPM a analysé 117 dossiers médico-légaux, conclus entre 2002 et 2007, mettant en cause l'utilisation d'agents anticoagulants, antiplaquettaires et thrombolytiques. Ces dossiers comprenaient des actions en justice et des plaintes déposées auprès d'un organisme de réglementation (Collège). La répartition des dossiers selon la catégorie de médicament est résumée à la Figure 1.

Anticoagulants

Les études de cas qui suivent illustrent les deux préoccupations prédominantes en matière de risques associés à la prescription et à l'administration d'anticoagulants, nommément :

  • le délai ou le défaut de prescrire un anticoagulant lorsque celui-ci est indiqué
  • une surveillance inadéquate une fois que le médicament est prescrit

Cas 1

Défaut de prescrire un anticoagulant

Une femme diabétique de 26 ans ayant des antécédents de thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP) se présente à l'urgence en se plaignant d'une douleur abdominale au quadrant inférieur droit, de nausée et de vomissements. Une échographie abdominale révèle une appendicite aiguë et une chirurgie d'urgence est prévue. Bien que le résident en chirurgie générale ait évalué la patiente et documenté ses antécédents de TVP, le patron chirurgien n'était pas informé de ce renseignement clinique. Une laparotomie est pratiquée pour l'ablation de l'appendice rupturée et le drainage d'un abcès périappendiculaire. La patiente est lente à reprendre sa mobilité après l'intervention chirurgicale. Le deuxième jour postopératoire, les infirmières consignent au dossier que ses extrémités sont oedémateuses, et des bas anti-embolie lui sont mis. Il n'est pas clair si ce renseignement est communiqué verbalement aux médecins. La patiente reçoit son congé le cinquième jour postopératoire. Quatre jours plus tard, elle arrive à l'urgence en ambulance, inconsciente et présentant une dyspnée aiguë. Elle fait alors un arrêt cardiaque, et elle est réanimée avec succès. Les investigations subséquentes confirment la présence d'une embolie pulmonaire massive. Une lésion anoxique au cerveau compliquant l'embolie a laissé la patiente avec des déficits cognitifs importants et une quadriparésie spastique. La famille de la patiente a intenté une action en justice, alléguant le défaut d'obtenir une anamnèse adéquate et le défaut de prescrire de l'héparine et des bas anti-embolie en période postopératoire.

Issue judiciaire

Selon les pairs experts, le chirurgien général aurait dû connaître les antécédents de TVP de la patiente, et le fait qu'il n'ait pas revu l'information contenue dans le dossier médical indiquait qu'il n'avait pas respecté la norme de diligence. Toujours selon les experts, toute personne à risque de thromboembolie veineuse (TEV), comme l'était cette patiente, aurait dû recevoir un agent antithrombotique en période périopératoire, à titre préventif. Comme il n'a pas été possible d'obtenir l'appui des experts, l'ACPM a dû régler cette affaire avec la patiente pour le compte du médecin membre.


Cas 2

Surveillance inadéquate d'une anticoagulothérapie

Un homme de 62 ans ayant des antécédents de tabagisme de longue date se fait suivre par son omnipraticien pour un diabète et une coronaropathie. Le patient a des antécédents de deux infarctus du myocarde (IM) et est porteur d'une endoprothèse à l'artère coronaire droite. Lorsqu'il commence à souffrir d'insuffisance cardiaque globale, l'omnipraticien le dirige vers un cardiologue en vue d'investigations et d'un traitement. Une angiographie coronaire révèle un dysfonctionnement du ventricule gauche et un thrombus apical. Le cardiologue lui prescrit de la warfarine et transmet son rapport de consultation à l'omnipraticien, demandant à ce dernier de surveiller les résultats du Rapport international normalisé (INR). Bien que ce rapport de consultation soit reçu trois jours plus tard, l'omnipraticien ne réévalue le patient qu'environ un mois plus tard. Il revoit le rapport du cardiologue avec le patient au moment de cette visite, et conseille au patient de continuer à prendre les médicaments qui lui ont été prescrits par le cardiologue. Toutefois, l'omnipraticien ne prend aucune mesure pour surveiller les résultats de l'INR. Trois semaines plus tard, le patient se présente à l'urgence, se plaignant d'étourdissements, de nausée et de problèmes de vision. Les investigations révèlent un diabète non maîtrisé et une infection des voies urinaires. Le patient est gardé pour la nuit pour observation et traitement. Comme son état se stabilise le lendemain matin, il reçoit son congé. Il s'effondre en quittant l'hôpital. Une hémorragie dans l'hémisphère cérébelleux droit est diagnostiquée. Son INR à ce moment là se situe à 16. Le patient demeure avec de légers déficits cognitifs, ainsi qu'un usage limité du bras droit. Le patient intente une action en justice, alléguant que l'omnipraticien n'a pas surveillé les valeurs de son INR comme le lui avait recommandé le cardiologue.

Issue judiciaire

Un expert omnipraticien s'est dit préoccupé par le fait que l'omnipraticien n'avait pas surveillé les résultats de l'INR du patient comme le lui avait recommandé le cardiologue. L'expert a affirmé que la surveillance de l'INR aurait dû être initiée en temps opportun. En l'absence de l'appui de l'expert, l'ACPM a dû verser un règlement au patient pour le compte de l'omnipraticien.


Aperçu statistique

Figure 2 : Comparaison des résultats des cas pour toutes les actions en justice conclues liées à des anticoagulants par rapport aux résultats de toutes les actions en justice conclues de l'ACPM, entre 2002 et 2007

Figure 2 : Comparaison des r?sultats des cas pour toutes les actions en justice conclues
li?es ? des anticoagulants par rapport aux r?sultats de toutes les actions en justice
conclues de l'ACPM, entre 2002 et 2007

Résultats des cas

• Actions en justice (60 cas)

Par rapport à l'expérience générale de l'ACPM en matière d'actions en justice, les cas mettant en cause une anticoagulothérapie ont donné lieu à moins de résultats favorables pour le médecin impliqué. D'après l'expérience générale de l'ACPM, 60 pour cent des cas juridiques ont été rejetés, et sept pour cent ont donné lieu à un jugement en faveur du médecin; dans les cas liés à des anticoagulants, seulement 48 pour cent ont été rejetés et deux pour cent ont donné lieu à un jugement en faveur du médecin. (Figure 2)

• Cas devant les Collèges (25 cas)

Les Collèges ont exprimé des inquiétudes liées aux soins des patients, à la tenue inadéquate des dossiers et aux problèmes de communication avec le patient et sa famille dans 15 cas; deux de ces cas ont donné lieu à une retraite volontaire ou à des limites imposées à la pratique du médecin. Par contre, les Collèges n'ont pas critiqué les soins prodigués par le médecin dans huit des cas. L'issue finale est inconnue pour deux des cas.

Répartition selon le genre de travail

L'analyse a révélé que les problèmes médico-légaux liés aux anticoagulants relevaient de plusieurs spécialités, les omnipraticiens étant le groupe le plus fréquemment mis en cause.

Résultats cliniques

Les experts ont identifié des problèmes liés à la prescription et au suivi des anticoagulants dans 58 des 85 cas. Les autres 27 cas ont été exclus de l'analyse pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Dans 15 cas, les experts ont exprimé l'opinion que les résultats indésirables pour le patient étaient survenus en dépit des soins appropriés prodigués par le médecin
  • Dans sept cas, l'anticoagulant n'était pas au centre de la cause
  • Dans cinq cas, il n'y avait pas suffisamment d'information pour déterminer à qui imputer la responsabilité dans le cas du problème identifié, ou l'action en justice a été rejetée ou abandonnée

Sur les 58 cas analysés, 36 portaient sur des anticoagulants oraux et tous ceux-ci à l'exception de deux cas mettaient en cause la warfarine; 15 cas portaient sur l'héparine non fractionnée; et cinq cas portaient sur l'héparine de faible poids moléculaire. Le nom du médicament n'était pas précisé dans deux cas.

Sur ces 58 cas, la majorité avait plus d'un problème en cause; il y avait le plus souvent deux ou trois problèmes par cas. Conséquemment, les pourcentages dépassent les 100 pour cent.

  • Dans 45 pour cent des cas (26 cas), il y a eu un délai ou un défaut de prescrire un anticoagulant lorsqu'une telle prescription était indiquée, le plus souvent dans les situations suivantes :
    • une anticoagulothérapie préventive en période postopératoire, surtout en présence de facteurs de risque identifiés, tels que des antécédents de TVP; et
    • des conditions cliniques pour lesquelles un anticoagulant serait considéré comme le traitement de choix, p. ex., la fibrillation auriculaire
  • Une surveillance inadéquate de l'anticoagulothérapie a été mise en cause dans 38 pour cent des cas (22 cas). Il s'agissait le plus souvent d'une surveillance inadéquate de l'INR dans le cas d'une anticoagulothérapie orale
  • Dans 38 pour cent des cas (22 cas), un problème de diagnostic lors de l'évaluation du patient ou au cours de l'anticoagulothérapie a également affecté l'ordonnance et la prise en charge de l'anticoagulothérapie. Un délai dans l'exécution de tests ou le suivi d'investigations appropriées (p. ex., CT scan, échographie, electrocardiogramme, thrombocytopénie induite par héparine) ou le défaut d'effectuer ces investigations, ainsi que le défaut de tenir compte de renseignements consignés au dossier médical, étaient des facteurs contributifs clés
  • D'autres sujets de préoccupation comprenaient :
    • des problèmes de communication entre les médecins lors du transfert des soins;
    • le délai de consultation ou l'absence de consultation d'un spécialiste; et
    • d'autres problèmes d'ordonnance (p. ex., le défaut de contrer l'effet de la warfarine avant une intervention effractive et le fait de ne pas avoir tenu compte de l'effet d'interactions potentielles entre les anticoagulants et d'autres médicaments, comme les antibiotiques)

Résultats cliniques pour les patients

Comme on peut s'y attendre, les complications thromboemboliques et hémorragiques constituaient les événements indésirables les plus courants.

Complications thromboemboliques ? 48 pour cent des cas (28 cas)

  • Une embolie pulmonaire est survenue dans 11 de ces cas. Dans la majorité de ceux-ci, l'embolie est survenue en période postopératoire, le plus souvent à la suite d'interventions en gynécologie ou en orthopédie
    • Près de deux-tiers de ces patients sont décédés
  • Des AVC ischémiques se sont produits dans 10 de ces cas et étaient principalement liés soit à une surveillance inadéquate de l'INR, soit au défaut de prescrire un anticoagulant chez les patients ayant des valvules cardiaques mécaniques ou des problèmes médicaux tels que la fibrillation auriculaire
    • Dans tous les cas où la surveillance de l'INR était inadéquate, les valeurs de l'INR étaient inférieures au seuil thérapeutique
    • Plus de 50 pour cent de ces patients sont demeurés avec des invalidités fonctionnelles majeures et un patient est décédé
  • D'autres complications thromboemboliques incluaient des occlusions artérielles périphériques, l'occlusion des valvules cardiaques mécaniques et une embolie splénique

Complications hémorragiques ? 43 pour cent des cas (25 cas)

  • Il y avait 10 cas d'hémorragie cérébrale, dont cinq étaient associés à une surveillance inadéquate de l'INR
    • Six des patients ont eu des résultats cliniques graves; trois sont décédés
  • Sur les 15 autres cas, un saignement est survenu le plus souvent au site de l'intervention diagnostique, thérapeutique ou chirurgicale. D'autres patients ont eu un saignement spontané, comme un hémopéricarde ou un saignement rectal
    • Environ la moitié de ces patients sont décédés

Autres complications ? 9 pour cent des cas (5 cas)

  • Les autres complications comprenaient un effet paradoxal d'hypercoagulation (warfarine) et une thrombocytopénie induite par l'héparine
    • Deux de ces patients sont décédés

Agents antiplaquettaires

L'analyse de 16 dossiers conclus entre 2002 et 2007, portant sur des agents antiplaquettaires, n'a pas révélé suffisamment d'information pour que l'on puisse en tirer des conclusions valables spécifiques à cette catégorie de médicament. En général, il n'a pas été possible d'attribuer les préoccupations en matière de risques uniquement à l'utilisation d'un agent antiplaquettaire, en raison de risques liés à une utilisation concomitante de thrombolytiques ou antithrombotiques conjointement avec un traitement à un agent antiplaquettaire.

Agents thrombolytiques

En dépit de l'utilisation clinique actuellement généralisée d'agents thrombolytiques, et du risque reconnu de saignement majeur, seuls 18 cas ont été conclus entre 2002 et 2007 sur les agents thrombolytiques. Par ailleurs, la principale conclusion de cette analyse était qu'un délai ou un défaut de prescrire un agent thrombolytique, lorsque celui-ci était indiqué, constituait un risque médico-légal beaucoup plus grand que le risque associé aux complications découlant de l'utilisation de cet agent. En fait, sur les 11 cas dans lesquels les experts ont identifié des problèmes liés aux agents thrombolytiques, il y avait eu un délai ou un défaut de prescrire un agent thrombolytique dans 10 cas, en raison d'une erreur de diagnostic ou d'un délai dans le diagnostic du problème pour lequel le patient était venu consulter.

Note : Les sept autres cas ont été exclus pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Dans cinq cas, les experts étaient d'avis que des résultats indésirables étaient survenus chez les patients en dépit de soins appropriés prodigués par le médecin
  • Dans un cas, même si un agent thrombolytique avait été prescrit, il ne s'agissait pas du point central de la cause
  • Dans un cas, le tribunal a rejeté l'action en justice avant que la responsabilité puisse être déterminée pour le problème qui avait été identifié

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.