Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Breast cancer detection and diagnosis: Part 2 Improving breast cancer diagnosis and management

Published October 2009
IS0996-E

Of interest to all physicians

In the April 2009 issue of the Information Letter, the CMPA published on risk management considerations for breast cancer screening. This article, Part 2 of the series, explores another key risk area, the diagnosis and management of patients presenting with clinical findings suggesting a possible lesion of the breast.

Case summary

A 45-year-old woman presented to her family physician with a one centimetre palpable mass at the eight o'clock position in the right breast. Ultrasound confirmed the presence of a suspicious 1 cm solid lesion and she underwent an ultrasound-guided breast biopsy, revealing a high-grade invasive ductal carcinoma. She was referred to a surgeon who confirmed the mass on examination. He noted the biopsy had left a small ecchymosis in approximately the same location in her breast. He discussed the biopsy results and the surgical approach with the patient. During this discussion, he mentioned he could obtain a preoperative needle localization to increase accuracy but, since both he and the patient could easily palpate the lesion because of the small size of her breast, he felt this was not required.

The surgery took place six days later. The surgeon could not feel the lesion at the site of the incision, and so he extended the incision to remove the area he thought to be the tumour. The specimen was sent for histologic examination, and when the pathologist called the operating room to report the absence of neoplasia, the surgeon decided to cancel the planned axillary node dissection. He gave the patient this good news immediately post-operatively.

On the fourth post-operative day the surgeon received the final pathology report. It revealed a galactocele. He asked his secretary to call the patient and arrange for a post-operative ultrasound. He did not personally contact the patient.

A repeat ultrasound, done five days later, showed the lesion still present in the same location. It became clear that the original incision had been made in the inferior inner quadrant of the right breast, not the inferior outer (eight o'clock) position. The surgeon met with the patient the next day to disclose the adverse event, and at her request he transferred her to another surgeon. Two weeks later she underwent a partial mastectomy and axillary dissection. The pathology was confirmed as a high grade invasive ductal carcinoma without nodal metastasis.

The allegations in the ensuing legal action were: wrong site surgery, requirement for a second surgery, excessive scarring with poor cosmetic result and emotional distress caused by the delay in diagnosis.

Expert opinion

The experts were critical of the surgical approach because the surgeon did not use a preoperative wire localization to confirm the location of the cancer for accurate excision. They commented that the reason the mass could not be found intra-operatively was that the incision was made in the incorrect quadrant of the breast. In the absence of expert support, this case was settled by the CMPA on behalf of the surgeon member.

In reviewing expert opinions on legal actions and regulatory authority (College) complaints related to breast cancer diagnosis, the CMPA identified which steps during the diagnosis and assessment of a potentially cancerous lesion might pose health risk for patients and medico-legal risk for practitioners. The main ones were:

  • investigation and follow up of the results
  • referral of a patient with a clinical mass or with a suspicious lesion identified on imaging to an appropriate specialist, if indicated, to confirm the diagnosis
  • sampling a suspicious lesion by needle or surgical biopsy, or fine needle aspirate for cytology
  • technical preparation and interpretation of a pathological specimen

This case reveals just one of several potential ways the diagnosis and management of breast cancer can be problematic.

CMPA data

The CMPA reviewed 164 files related to the diagnosis of breast cancer that were concluded (closed) during the period of 2003 to 2007. A previously published article examined the medico-legal issues associated with the eight cases related to breast cancer screening. In this second article, the remaining 156 cases are reviewed and focus on the diagnostic management once a lesion is suspected.

Of the 156 closed legal files and College complaints related to the diagnostic management of breast cancer during the period of 2003 to 2007, 86 were legal actions and 70 were College complaints.

Figure 1

 

In the 86 legal civil cases identified, 45 per cent were settled in favour of the patient. By comparison, only one third of the cases in the overall CMPA experience conclude with a settlement for the plaintiff (patient). (Figure 1)

Of the 70 College complaint cases identified, 41 cases (58.5%) resulted in either a caution or disciplinary action against the physician, or the physician's voluntary resignation. (Figure 2)

 

 

Figure 2

Figure 3

In this study, family practitioners were assigned at least some responsibility for the care in 39 per cent of both the legal and College cases, while general surgeons were assigned in 23 per cent and diagnostic imaging specialists in 11 per cent. (Figure 3)

Thirty-six per cent of the patients had some degree of permanent physical disability and experts believed 17 per cent likely died prematurely as a result of the delay in the diagnosis.

The diagnostic management process

The most significant clinical issue noted in this review was the omission of or delay in performing a specific diagnostic test or procedure, most frequently a mammogram, breast ultrasound, biopsy or manual breast examination. In one such case, experts were critical when a surgeon aspirated a suspicious solid lesion and, even though the sampling was bloody, then suggested excision was only required if the lesion grew in size. Neither further investigations nor a follow up appointment were arranged. This resulted in a 12 month delay in the diagnosis of the cancerous lesion.

The second most common clinical issue identified from the studied cases was related to misinterpretation of the diagnostic tests or specimens, namely: mammograms, ultrasounds or pathology specimens. Recognizing that these lesions can be difficult to identify, experts were critical in cases where, upon careful review, it was clear that the lesion should have been recognized on previous studies.

The third most frequent contributing factor to the delay in the diagnosis of breast cancer was failure to follow up the recommendations within the pathology, mammogram or ultrasound reports. Experts were especially critical of physicians who received an abnormal investigation result and presumed that the other treating physician would contact the patient to inform her of the result or the need for additional follow up. Experts suggested team members should clearly establish who is responsible for arranging follow up, including ordering further or repeat investigations.

Experts also commented on other high risk areas of the diagnostic work-up, such as the issue of sampling of the lesion, as was illustrated by the case presented at the beginning of this article.

All steps in the management of a suspicious breast lesion are important to reduce a potential delay of diagnosis with possible physical or emotional implications for the patient. Timely and clear communications with the patient and other involved physicians, and proper documentation and follow up of results can reduce the risk to patients and associated medico-legal issues.

Manage your risks

Following a review of the expert opinions on the legal files and comments from Colleges, the following risk management considerations were identified:

  • Have you informed the patient of the possible diagnosis or differential diagnosis when the clinical examination has identified a suspicious breast lesion?
  • Have you requested the appropriate investigation? Is the test available in a timely manner? If not, have you considered alternatives and discussed this with the patient?
  • Have you provided the available relevant information to any consultant from whom you sought advice (i.e., the radiologist, surgeon or pathologist)?
  • Have you read the investigation report carefully and considered if further investigation or referral is needed?
  • Have you informed the patient of the possible diagnosis or differential diagnosis when an imaging report has identified a suspicious breast lesion?
  • Do you have a system to follow up on investigations and to contact your patient with the results?
  • If a biopsy of the lesion is required, have you considered techniques that might improve the accuracy of the sampling?
  • When multiple physicians are involved, are the roles and responsibilities of each physician clear to the patient and to the other physicians?
  • Did you inform the patient and document all steps involved in the diagnostic management of the suspected lesion?

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Détection et diagnostic du cancer du sein : 2e partie Améliorer le diagnostic et la prise en charge du cancer du sein

Publié en octobre 2009
IS0996-F

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Dans le Bulletin d'information d'avril 2009, l'ACPM a publié un article portant sur des considérations en matière de gestion des risques liés au dépistage du cancer du sein. Ce deuxième article explore un autre domaine de risque substantiel, soit le diagnostic et la prise en charge des patientes dont le tableau clinique suggère une lésion possible au sein.

Résumé du cas

Une femme de 45 ans consulte son médecin omnipraticien pour une masse palpable d'un centimètre à la position « huit heures » du sein droit. Une échographie confirme la présence d'une lésion solide suspecte d'un centimètre et la patiente subit une biopsie du sein sous échoguidage, qui révèle un carcinome canalaire infiltrant de grade élevé. Elle est dirigée vers un chirurgien qui confirme la présence de la masse à l'examen. Il note que la biopsie a laissé une petite ecchymose pratiquement au même endroit sur le sein. Il discute des résultats de la biopsie et de l'approche chirurgicale avec la patiente. Au cours de la discussion, il mentionne qu'il pourrait obtenir une localisation préopératoire au harpon pour accroître la précision de l'emplacement mais, comme ils peuvent tous deux facilement palper la lésion en raison de la petite taille de son sein, il estime que cette intervention n'est pas nécessaire.

L'intervention chirurgicale a lieu six jours plus tard. Ne pouvant sentir la lésion au site de l'incision, le chirurgien excise davantage la région où il pense que la tumeur se situe. Une analyse histologique du prélèvement est effectuée et lorsque le pathologiste téléphone à la salle d'opération pour rapporter l'absence de néoplasie, le chirurgien décide d'annuler la dissection prévue des ganglions axillaires.

Il annonce cette bonne nouvelle à la patiente immédiatement après l'intervention.

Le chirurgien reçoit le rapport final du pathologiste le quatrième jour postopératoire. Le rapport révèle une galactocèle. Il demande alors à sa secrétaire de téléphoner à la patiente et de fixer un rendez-vous pour une échographie postopératoire. Il ne communique pas avec la patiente personnellement.

Une nouvelle échographie, effectuée cinq jours plus tard, révèle que la lésion est toujours présente au même endroit. Il devient clair que l'incision originale a été pratiquée dans le quadrant inférieur interne du sein droit, et non à la position inférieure externe (« huit heures »). Le chirurgien rencontre la patiente le lendemain pour lui divulguer l'événement indésirable et, à la demande de la patiente, il la dirige vers un autre chirurgien. Deux semaines plus tard, elle subit une mastectomie partielle et une dissection axillaire. Le rapport de pathologie confirme un carcinome canalaire infiltrant de grade élevé sans métastase ganglionnaire.

Les allégations suivantes sont formulées dans le cadre de l'action en justice qui s'ensuit : site chirurgical erroné, nécessité d'une deuxième intervention chirurgicale, cicatrisation excessive avec piètre résultat esthétique et détresse émotive découlant du délai dans le diagnostic.

Opinion des experts

Les experts ont critiqué l'approche chirurgicale puisque le chirurgien n'a pas eu recours à une localisation préopératoire à l'aide d'un harpon pour confirmer l'emplacement du cancer en vue d'une excision précise. Ils ont soutenu que la raison de l'impossibilité de repérer la masse lors de l'intervention est que l'incision avait été pratiquée dans le mauvais quadrant du sein. En raison du manque d'appui de la part des experts, l'ACPM a dû verser un règlement au nom du chirurgien membre.

À la suite d'une analyse des opinions des experts formulées dans le cadre d'actions en justice et de plaintes aux organismes de réglementation (Collèges) liées au diagnostic de cancer du sein, l'ACPM a déterminé les principales étapes du diagnostic et de l'évaluation d'une lésion potentiellement cancéreuse qui peuvent poser un risque à la santé des patientes et un risque médico-légal pour les médecins :

  • L'investigation et le suivi des résultats;
  • La demande de consultation pour une patiente ayant une masse clinique ou une lésion suspecte identifiée par imagerie auprès d'un spécialiste approprié, au besoin, pour confirmer le diagnostic;
  • Le prélèvement d'une lésion suspecte à l'aide d'une biopsie à l'aiguille ou chirurgicale ou d'une biopsie à l'aiguille aux fins de cytologie;
  • La préparation technique et l'interprétation d'un échantillon en pathologie.

Données de l'ACPM

Ce cas démontre une seule des nombreuses façons par lesquelles le diagnostic et la prise en charge du cancer du sein peuvent s'avérer problématiques. L'ACPM a affectué une analyse de 164 dossiers liés au diagnostic de cancer du sein qui ont été conclus entre 2003 et 2007. Un article publié antérieurement a mis en évidence huit cas liés au dépistage du cancer du sein. Dans ce second article, l'analyse porte sur les 156 dossiers restants et l'accent est mis sur la gestion du diagnostic lorsque le tableau clinique suggère une lésion possible au sein.

Parmi les 156 dossiers conclus portant sur la gestion du diagnostic de cancer du sein pendant la période de 2003 à 2007, 86 dossiers étaient des actions en justice et 70 constituaient des plaintes au Collège.

Figure 1

 

Parmi les 86 poursuites civiles identifiées, 45 pour cent ont été réglées en faveur de la patiente. À titre de comparaison, seul le tiers des causes qui composent l'ensemble de l'expérience de l'ACPM se soldent par un règlement en faveur du demandeur (patient). (Figure 1)

Parmi les 70 cas de plaintes au Collège identifiés, 41 cas (58,5 %) ont entraîné une mise en garde ou une sanction disciplinaire contre le médecin, ou encore la démission volontaire du médecin. (Figure 2)

 

 

Figure 2

Figure 3

Dans le cadre de cette étude, les médecins omnipraticiens se sont vus assigner une part de la responsabilité des soins dans 39 pour cent des dossiers juridiques et des cas devant les Collèges. Chez les chirurgiens généralistes, ce chiffre s'élevait à 23 pour cent et chez les spécialistes de l'imagerie diagnostique, à 11 pour cent. (Figure 3)

Trente-six pour cent des patientes avaient un certain degré d'invalidité physique permanente et les experts ont estimé que 17 pour cent d'entre elles étaient probablement décédées prématurément à la suite du délai de diagnostic.

Le processus de gestion du diagnostic

Le principal enjeu clinique relevé dans la présente étude était l'omission d'effectuer un test ou une épreuve diagnostique ou un délai dans l'exécution d'un test ou d'une épreuve, le plus souvent une mammographie, une échographie mammaire, une biopsie ou un examen manuel du sein. Dans un cas, entre autres, les experts ont critiqué le chirurgien qui a aspiré une lésion solide et qui, en dépit de la présence de sang dans le prélèvement, a suggéré que l'excision ne serait nécessaire que si le volume de la lésion augmentait. Il n'avait pas prévu d'analyses additionnelles ni de rendez-vous de suivi, ce qui a entraîné un retard de 12 mois dans le diagnostic de la lésion cancéreuse.

Le deuxième enjeu clinique le plus fréquemment identifié à partir des cas étudiés portait sur la mauvaise interprétation des épreuves diagnostiques ou des prélèvements, notamment : mammographies, échographies ou prélèvements de pathologie. Tout en reconnaissant que de telles lésions peuvent être difficiles à identifier, les experts ont critiqué les soins dans les cas où il était clair, à la suite d'une analyse minutieuse, que la lésion aurait dû avoir été reconnue lors d'une épreuve antérieure.

Le troisième facteur le plus fréquent contribuant au délai dans le diagnostic de cancer du sein était le défaut d'assurer le suivi des recommandations dans les rapports de pathologie, de mammographie ou d'échographie. Les experts ont fortement critiqué les médecins qui, ayant reçu un résultat d'analyse anormal, présumaient que l'autre médecin traitant communiquerait avec la patiente pour l'informer du résultat ou de la nécessité d'un suivi additionnel. Les experts suggèrent que les membres d'une équipe doivent établir clairement qui est responsable de prévoir le suivi, y compris pour prescrire des analyses supplémentaires ou de nouvelles investigations.

Les experts ont également formulé des commentaires à l'égard d'autres éléments des investigations de diagnostic qui posent des risques, telle la question du prélèvement de la lésion illustrée dans le cas présenté au début de cet article.

Toutes les étapes de la prise en charge d'une lésion suspecte du sein sont importantes en vue de réduire un éventuel délai dans le diagnostic et les implications physiques et/ou émotionnelles possibles pour la patiente. Les communications claires, en temps opportun, avec la patiente et les autres médecins impliqués, une documentation pertinente et le suivi des résultats peuvent réduire les risques chez les patientes ainsi que les enjeux médico-légaux associés.

La gestion des risques

Une analyse des opinions des experts tirées des dossiers juridiques et des commentaires des Collèges a permis d'établir les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques :

  • Le médecin a-t-il informé la patiente du diagnostic possible ou du diagnostic différentiel dans les cas où l'examen clinique a identifié une lésion suspecte du sein?
  • Le médecin a-t-il demandé le test approprié? L'épreuve est-elle disponible en temps opportun? Sinon, a-t-il envisagé d'autres options et en a-t-il parlé avec la patiente?
  • Le médecin a-t-il fourni les renseignements pertinents disponibles aux consultants dont il a sollicité des conseils (p. ex., radiologiste, chirurgien ou pathologiste)?
  • Le médecin a-t-il lu attentivement le rapport de l'analyse et songé à la nécessité de tests additionnels ou d'une demande de consultation?
  • Le médecin a-t-il informé la patiente du diagnostic possible ou du diagnostic différentiel dans les cas où le rapport d'imagerie a identifié une lésion suspecte du sein?
  • Le médecin a-t-il un système en place pour assurer le suivi des analyses et communiquer les résultats aux patientes?
  • Si une biopsie de la lésion est indiquée, le médecin a-t-il envisagé des techniques susceptibles d'améliorer la précision du prélèvement?
  • Lorsque plusieurs médecins sont impliqués, les rôles et responsabilités de chaque médecin sont-ils clairs pour la patiente et les autres médecins impliqués?
  • Le médecin a-t-il informé la patiente de toutes les étapes de la gestion du diagnostic de la lésion suspecte et sont-elles documentées?

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.