Physician wellness

Coping with the stress of medical practice

Coping with an adverse event, complaint or litigation

Originally published in the CanMEDS Physician Health Guide, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, 2009.

Introduction

Every physician in Canada is likely to be affected by a medico-legal issue at some point over the course of his or her career. Approximately two percent of physicians are named in a legal action each year. Far more are involved in a variety of other medico-legal difficulties. Patients or other parties may complain about a physician to a regulatory authority (college), hospital or privacy commissioner or to the Human Rights Commission. Physicians may be referred for college disciplinary hearings or have their practice reviewed. Hospital disputes and conflicts can involve doctors. On occasion, criminal accusations are lodged against a physician.

Case

During a busy day, John, a family physician, is served with a statement of claim. The legal claim is made by the family of a 59-year-old woman, a patient John had seen and discharged, who dies of a myocardial infarct later the same day. John scans the document quickly but has to get back to work. He has difficulty completing the shift and experiences feelings of insecurity bordering on panic. Although he believes his family will be supportive, he is ashamed to tell them about the legal action and the mistakes he presumes to have made in the case.

 

Medico-legal difficulties are stressful for physicians for several reasons. In some cases, the problem arises from a clinical outcome that is unexpected and even disastrous to the patient. It is normal for a doctor to feel distressed when a patient dies unexpectedly or suffers a serious complication. Physicians experience empathy and sorrow for the patient and family when a tragic clinical outcome occurs. Sometimes sorrow becomes mixed with guilt. Doctors may beat up on themselves and wonder, in hindsight, whether they should have done something differently to avert the poor outcome. They may be tormented by doubts and second thoughts, even if their management of the case, viewed prospectively, had appeared reasonable at the time.

Physicians invest inordinate amounts of time and energy in their work, and their self-image is often centered on their status as a physician. Legal allegations and patient complaints frequently depict doctors as callous, negligent, or incompetent; physicians may feel this is direct assault on their essence as a person. In the face of an adverse event, complaint or legal action, physicians often harbour visions of disastrous personal consequences, such as the loss of reputation, desertion by patients, suspension of hospital privileges or revocation of their medical licence. They may also dread the possibility of media coverage of the clinical event, their trial, or college hearing.

Physicians' reactions to medico-legal difficulties

Internal emotions

  • sorrow
  • guilt
  • loss of self-esteem
  • shame
  • fear

External pressures

  • social isolation from friends and family
  • lack of knowledge of legal/regulatory process
  • perceived or real lack of hospital/collegial support
  • potential for media exposure 

 

Physicians are also susceptible to feelings of isolation during difficult moments in their career. Heavy workloads can make it hard to maintain a social network of friends and colleagues with whom they can commiserate and share experiences. They may also feel shame and embarrassment about presumed medical errors. Many strive for perfection; viewing an adverse event as a failure, they may be inclined to keep the matter from their colleagues.

Maintaining perspective

Although it is impossible to erase a physician's sadness and regret associated with a poor patient outcome, feelings of guilt, inadequacy or fear can be greatly attenuated by keeping the matter in perspective. Physicians may be consoled by the following facts and observations.

A poor patient outcome, even if unexpected, does not signify that a medical error has occurred. A delayed or missed diagnosis or a surgical complication does not equate with negligence. In law, a doctor is not expected to be perfect. Canadian courts have determined that the clinical standard of care by which a claim is judged is not one of perfection, but rather one that might reasonably be expected from a normal, prudent health care provider of similar training and experience in similar circumstances.

Sometimes, however, physicians involved in a medico-legal issue have made a mistake, such as diagnostic, management or technical error, or failure to notice or act on a laboratory or imaging result.

Although physicians strive for excellence, it is helpful to accept the fact of every clinician's fallibility. Doctors are human, and no one is perfect. In spite of a deep commitment to patient care and the best intentions, poor outcomes may, unfortunately, be related to health care delivery itself.

Doctors often work in suboptimal conditions; they may be overloaded with work and may suffer from fatigue or sleep deprivation. A physician may loath to use fatigue as an excuse for a poor outcome, but the reality is that fatigue and other system and organizational issues often contribute to the occurrence of adverse events.

All colleagues and most patients are aware that any physician event the most competent and knowledgeable among them, may encounter a medico-legal difficulty at one time or another. It is unusual for a patient to leave a physician's practice because of another patient's complaint or legal action. Colleagues, patients, other health professionals, family and friends are appreciative of a physician who is caring, conscientious and committed to his or her work. Their appreciation and support of the physician are rarely affected by a medico-legal difficulty.

Physicians' worries about the effect of a lawsuit or patient complaint on their career are often exaggerated. However, even when a medico-legal problem is reported in the media, in most cases it is quickly forgotten by all but the parties involved.

There is, of course, no magic remedy for the regret and sadness experienced by physicians about poor patient outcomes; these are burdens that all physicians carry, and are never forgotten.

Managing the stress

Physicians should not be ashamed to seek help when facing a medico-legal difficulty. CMPA members who receive a statement of claim or college complaint should call the Association right away. Medical officers at the CMPA are sensitive to the stresses engendered by an adverse event and medico-legal difficulties, and are pleased to listen to and support members suffering from uncertainty and worry. Medical officers and/or CMPA legal counsel will explain the legal process to the member. Knowing what to expect allows the doctor to prepare and feel more in control, which usually diminishes anxiety. The stages of a legal action in Canada and strategies for coping with the stress involved are also described here, under "Legal proceedings".

Nor should physicians feel inhibited from consulting their own family physician, who will usually understand and empathize with the feelings of a physician/patient grappling with a medico-legal problem. Friends, colleagues and family are also usually understanding and supportive. However, the specifics of the case should be discussed only with the CMPA medical officer or with the CMPA lawyer if the matter has been referred to counsel, so as to maintain legal privilege.

Provincial and university- or community-based physician health programs are available to provide support and assistance to physicians going through difficult moments.

Practical considerations

Most physicians do cope reasonably well with adverse events and medico-legal issues. Many come to realize that a medico-legal difficulty is not the cataclysmic event they may have imagined. A medico-legal difficulty may induce a physician to appraise his/her practice and lifestyle and to implement constructive changes. Doctors should endeavour to achieve a satisfying work-life balance, and if a phase of practice becomes particularly stressful they may wish to modify their practice to allow for more time to invest in and take care of themselves. They should not self-medicate or use substances or alcohol to alleviate stress. It can also be helpful to engage the services of a coach, counselor or therapist to help them approach and process the complexity of issues being faced.

Positive practice changes can enhance patient safety, but physicians should also avoid the urge to practice overly defensive medicine with excessive and clinically unwarranted investigations. Above all, physicians should strive to do their best, to be thorough and conscientious, and to realize that perfection is unattainable.

Case resolution

John's spouse is also a family physician and is unwavering in her support during the legal process. Kind words from colleagues and patients help to restore John's confidence in himself and the system. He institutes some changes in his approach to certain patient complaints and regains a sense of work satisfaction.

 

Key reference

Delbanco T and SK Bell. 2007. Guilty, afraid, and alone – Struggling with medical error. New England Journal of Medicine. 357 (17): 1682-3.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Bien-être des médecins

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

Faire face à un événement indésirable, une plainte ou une poursuite

Publié à l'origine dans le Guide CanMEDS pour la santé des médecins, Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, 2009.

Introduction

Chaque médecin au Canada est susceptible de faire l'objet d'une poursuite médico-légale à un moment ou l'autre de sa carrière. Chaque année, environ 2 % des médecins sont cités dans une action en justice, et une proportion beaucoup plus importante est mise en cause dans une grande variété d'autres problèmes d'ordre médico-légal. Des patients ou d'autres parties peuvent se plaindre d'un médecin auprès d'un organisme de réglementation (ordre professionnel), de l'hôpital, d'un commissaire à la protection de la vie privé ou de la commission des droits de la personne. Les médecins peuvent être convoqués à une audience disciplinaire devant leur ordre professionnel, ou un examen de leur pratique peut être demandé. Les différends et conflits en milieu hospitalier peuvent impliquer des médecins et il arrive parfois que des accusations criminelles soient portées contre un médecin.

Cas

Durant une journée fort occupée, une déclaration est délivrée à un jeune médecin. La réclamation en justice est présentée par la famille d'une femme de 59 ans, une patiente que le médecin a examinée et qui est décédée d'un infarctus du myocarde la journée même de sa sortie de l'hôpital.

Le médecin examine rapidement la déclaration mais doit retourner à son travail. Il a toutefois de la difficulté à terminer son quart de travail et ressent un sentiment d'insécurité qui frise la panique. Bien que le médecin croie qu'il pourra compter sur le soutien de sa famille, il a honte de leur parler de la poursuite et de l'erreur qu'il présume avoir commise dans ce cas.

 

Les problèmes médico-légaux sont une source de stress pour les médecins pour plusieurs raisons. Dans certains cas, le problème vient d'un résultat clinique imprévu et même désastreux pour le patient. Il est normal qu'un médecin soit affligé lorsqu'un patient meurt subitement ou présente de graves complications. Lorsque survient un résultat tragique, les médecins éprouvent de l'empathie et du chagrin envers le patient et sa famille, et un sentiment de culpabilité se mêle parfois à ce chagrin. Les médecins peuvent s'en vouloir et se demander, rétrospectivement, s'ils auraient pu agir autrement pour éviter ce résultat tragique. Ils peuvent être rongés par le doute, même si leur prise en charge du cas, vue prospectivement, semblait raisonnable dans les circonstances.

Les médecins investissent énormément de temps et d'énergie dans leur travail et l'image qu'ils ont d'eux-mêmes est souvent tributaire de leur situation comme médecin. Les allégations faites devant une instance judiciaire et les plaintes formulées par les patients donnent souvent du médecin l'image d'une personne insensible, négligente ou incompétente, et les médecins peuvent y voir une atteinte directe à l'essence même de leur personne. Face à un événement indésirable, à une plainte ou à une action en justice, les médecins entrevoient souvent des conséquences personnelles désastreuses, par exemple une atteinte à leur réputation, leur abandon par leurs patients, la suspension de leurs droits hospitaliers ou la révocation de leur permis d'exercice. Ils peuvent aussi appréhender une couverture médiatique de l'incident clinique, de leur procès ou de leur audience devant leur ordre professionnel.

Réactions des médecins aux problèmes  médicolégaux

Émotions internes

  • chagrin
  • culpabilité
  • perte de l'estime de soi
  • honte
  • crainte

Pressions externes

  • isolement social des amis et de la famille
  • manque de connaissance du processus judiciaire ou réglementaire
  • absence réelle ou perçue de soutien de la part de l'hôpital et des collègues
  • risque d'exposition dans les médias

 

De plus, les médecins risquent de se sentir isolés durant les moments difficiles de leur carrière. La lourde charge de travail du médecin peut faire en sorte qu'il lui soit difficile de maintenir un réseau social d'amis et de collègues avec lesquels partager ses expériences et qui lui témoigneront de la sympathie. Les médecins peuvent aussi ressentir de la honte ou de l'embarras face à la présumée erreur médicale. Un grand nombre visent la perfection et, considérant l'événement indésirable comme un échec, ils pourraient vouloir cacher l'incident à leurs collègues.

Ne pas perdre de vue le tableau global

Bien qu'il soit impossible d'effacer le sentiment de tristesse et les regrets qu'éprouve le médecin face à des résultats défavorables, les sentiments de culpabilité, d'incompétence ou de crainte peuvent être grandement atténués en gardant à l'esprit le tableau global. Les faits et observations qui suivent pourraient apporter un certain réconfort.

Un résultat défavorable chez un patient, même imprévu, ne signifie pas qu'une erreur médicale a été commise. Un diagnostic retardé ou erroné ou une complication chirurgicale n'équivaut pas à de la négligence. Le droit n'attend pas du médecin qu'il soit parfait. Les tribunaux canadiens ont établi que la norme de diligence clinique en vertu de laquelle une allégation est jugée n'est pas celle de la perfection, mais plutôt la norme de diligence que l'on peut raisonnablement attendre dans une situation similaire de la part d'un fournisseur de soins normal et prudent ayant une formation et une expérience comparables.

Cependant, il arrive parfois qu'un médecin cité dans une action médico-légale ait véritablement commis une erreur, par exemple une erreur de diagnostic, une erreur de traitement ou une erreur technique, ou ait omis de donner suite aux résultats d'une analyse de laboratoire ou d'un examen d'imagerie.

Même si les médecins visent l'excellence, il est utile d'accepter le fait que personne n'est infaillible. Les médecins sont des êtres humains et personne n'est parfait. Malgré un engagement profond envers les soins aux patients et malgré les meilleures intentions qui soient, des résultats défavorables peuvent malheureusement être associés à la prestation des soins.

De plus, les médecins travaillent souvent dans des conditions sous-optimales; ils peuvent être surchargés de travail et souffrir de fatigue ou d'un manque de sommeil. Bien que le médecin n'aime pas invoquer la fatigue comme excuse pour expliquer un résultat défavorable, de fait, la fatigue et d'autres problèmes liés au système et à l'organisation contribuent souvent à la manifestation des événements indésirables.

Tous les collègues et la plupart des patients savent que tout médecin, aussi compétent et expérimenté soit-il, peut éprouver une difficulté médico-légale à un moment ou l'autre de sa carrière. Il est cependant inhabituel qu'un patient abandonne un médecin parce qu'une plainte ou une action en justice a été déposée par un autre patient. Les collègues, les patients, les autres professionnels de la santé, la famille et les amis apprécient les médecins qui ont de la compassion, qui sont consciencieux et qui sont dévoués à leur travail, et les problèmes médico-légaux ont rarement une incidence sur l'appréciation et le soutien qu'ils témoignent à ces médecins.

Les inquiétudes des médecins au sujet des effets qu'une action en justice ou une plainte d'un patient auront sur leur carrière sont souvent exagérées. Même lorsque le problème médico-légal est traité dans les médias, il est dans la plupart des cas oublié, sauf par les parties en litige.

Il n'y a bien sûr aucun remède magique qui puisse éliminer les regrets et la tristesse qu'éprouvent les médecins à la suite d'un résultat défavorable; ce sont des fardeaux que tous les médecins supportent et qu'ils n'oublient jamais.

Gérer le stress

Les médecins ne devraient pas avoir honte de demander de l'aide lorsqu'ils sont aux prises avec un problème médico-légal. Les membres de l'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) qui reçoivent une déclaration ou qui font l'objet d'une plainte de leur ordre professionnel devraient communiquer immédiatement avec l'Association. Les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM sont sensibles au stress engendré par l'événement indésirable et les problèmes médicolégaux, et ils écoutent et appuient les membres qui ont des doutes et des inquiétudes. Les médecins-conseils ou les avocats-conseils de l'ACPM expliqueront au membre la procédure judiciaire. En sachant ce qui l'attend, le médecin pourra se préparer et sentir qu'il maîtrise mieux la situation, ce qui réduira habituellement son anxiété. Les différentes étapes d'une action en justice au Canada, ainsi que les stratégies pouvant être utilisées pour faire face au stress qui en découle, sont décrites sous « Actions en justice ».

Le médecin ne devrait pas non plus se sentir empêché de consulter son propre médecin de famille, lequel sera habituellement en mesure de comprendre ce que ressent le médecin patient aux prises avec un problème médico-légal. En général, les amis, les collègues et les membres de la famille se montrent compréhensifs et d'un grand soutien. Le médecin ne devrait toutefois discuter des détails particuliers du cas qu'avec le médecin-conseil de l'ACPM, ou avec l'avocat de l'ACPM si l'affaire est portée devant les tribunaux, afin de conserver ses privilèges juridiques.

Les programmes de santé du médecin offerts par les provinces ou les territoires, les universités ou les communautés proposent des services de soutien et d'aide pour les médecins qui traversent des moments difficiles.

Considérations pratiques

La plupart des médecins réussissent raisonnablement bien à faire face aux événements indésirables et aux problèmes médico-légaux, et bon nombre réalisent finalement que ces problèmes ne sont pas le cataclysme qu'ils avaient anticipé. Un problème médico-légal peut amener le médecin à réévaluer sa pratique et son mode de vie et à instaurer des changements constructifs. Les médecins devraient chercher à maintenir un équilibre satisfaisant entre leur vie professionnelle et leur vie personnelle et, si une partie de leur pratique devient particulièrement stressante, ils pourraient décider de la modifier afin d'avoir plus de temps pour eux-mêmes. Les médecins ne doivent pas se prescrire eux-mêmes des médicaments, ni chercher refuge dans l'alcool ou d'autres drogues pour atténuer le stress. Il peut être utile de retenir les services d'un moniteur, d'un conseiller ou d'un thérapeute pour les aider à aborder et à traiter la complexité des problèmes qui se posent.

Des changements positifs dans le mode de pratique peuvent améliorer la sécurité des patients; le médecin doit cependant résister à l'envie de pratiquer une médecine trop défensive et de prescrire un nombre excessif d'examens non justifiés sur le plan clinique. Le médecin doit d'abord et avant tout chercher à faire de son mieux, être méthodique et consciencieux et admettre que la perfection n'est pas de ce monde.

 

Résolution du cas

 

L'épouse du médecin est également médecin de famille et apporte à son conjoint un soutien indéfectible durant les procédures. Des paroles aimables de la part des collègues et des patients aident aussi à rétablir la confiance du médecin envers lui-même et le système. Le médecin modifie quelque peu sa manière d'aborder certaines plaintes des patients et il retrouve un sentiment de satisfaction professionnelle.

Principale référence

Delbanco T and SK Bell. 2007. Guilty, afraid, and alone – Struggling with medical error. New England Journal of Medicine. 357 (17): 1682-3.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.