Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Managing intoxicated patients in the emergency department

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published December 2009
P0904-1-E

Abstract

Intoxicated patients pose special risks in the emergency department because of their behaviour, and the difficulty of adequate assessment and treatment.

What are the physician's legal obligations towards intoxicated patients? Can informed consent ever be obtained from intoxicated patients? What should the physician do when the intoxicated patient refuses examination or treatment? Can a physically aggressive patient be restrained or sedated? Does the doctor have a legal duty to arrange for supervision when an intoxicated patient is discharged?

There are few patients more disruptive in an emergency department (ED) than those intoxicated with alcohol or drugs. They are often belligerent and noisy, they are always difficult to assess, and on occasion they may threaten the safety of hospital staff. Their mere presence in the ED often raises the stress level of physicians, staff and other patients alike. There may be a desire to deal with them as quickly as possible, so they can be discharged and the department can return to its normal level of function. However, it is important that this sense of urgency not lead to errors in diagnosis that could result in possible harm to the patient and medico-legal difficulties for the doctor and other ED staff.

The courts in Canada have made it clear that the staff working in the ED of any public hospital that offers itself as a 24-hour care facility has a duty of care to all who present for medical services—including those who are intoxicated. This duty applies equally to physicians working in or on call for the department. It is important, therefore, to consider how to fulfill that duty of care, and to recognize that it comprises several other duties: to attend, diagnose, treat, and provide discharge instructions and follow up advice as appropriate.

Duty to attend

Sometimes ED staff members ask, "Do we have to see this person?" —especially if the patient has been attended in similar condition on previous occasions. But, even though it is not always pleasant to attend an intoxicated patient, it is the obligation of the most responsible physician to be satisfied that the assessment of the patient is adequate, whether done by the physician or delegated to another health professional.

Duty to diagnose

An intoxicated, uncooperative patient may present unique challenges in the context of clinical assessment and diagnosis.
 
If, despite reassurance, the patient remains disruptive, emergency physical restraint may be necessary to enable the appropriate assessment to proceed. The importance of immediate assessment to determine if a medical emergency exists must be weighed against the patient's right to consent to or refuse examination, investigation and treatment. A patient who is able to understand the nature and anticipated effect of the proposed intervention and the alternatives, and appreciate the consequences of accepting or refusing, can be considered to have the mental capacity (competence) to either accept or refuse investigation and treatment, even if they are also under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Where a patient does not have capacity, and there is an imminent threat to life, limb or health, a physician has the duty to do what is immediately necessary even without consent. However, consent should be obtained from the patient or substitute decision maker as quickly as is practical. It is important to document, as soon as reasonably possible, the considerations and efforts leading to the decision to act without consent.

Occasionally, intoxicated patients may pose a danger to the physician and/or hospital staff. Only when the immediate risk to staff outweighs the risk of delay to the patient might it be considered reasonable to postpone assessment and treatment. Where there is a genuine threat, and all reasonable measures have failed to reduce that threat, it may be appropriate to restrain the patient physically and/or with medication, or to contact hospital security and/or the police.

Duty to treat

When the assessment is complete and a diagnosis made, the patient has the right to be told not only the diagnosis and recommended treatment, but also the risks and benefits of treatment, as well as the risks of refusing such treatment. As with assessments, it is important to remember that a competent patient has the right to refuse treatment, even if the decision seems unwise or even irrational. Some physicians have asked whether all patients intoxicated by alcohol or drugs should be considered incapable of giving consent. The answer is "no." Assessment of capacity is a clinical one, involving the factors mentioned earlier. It is not based on a laboratory value such as a blood alcohol level.

Physicians have sometimes asked whether it is appropriate to fill out a form for involuntary confinement of intoxicated patients who refuse treatment the doctor considers appropriate. Such forms are generally mandated by the mental health act of a province, and it is important to comply with all of the criteria set out in the legislation. It is unlikely that patients with simple intoxication will meet the criteria. Only where a clear mental illness coexists with intoxication, and all the criteria are met, would involuntary admission be appropriate. Similarly, where it has been necessary to restrain a patient, hospital staff may ask the physician to complete a form for involuntary confinement. If the patient does not meet the criteria in the applicable mental health legislation, physicians should resist such requests. At the same time, it is wise for the physician to document the basis for concluding that a patient is either capable or incapable, and the reasons restraint measures were deemed necessary.

Duty to advise or instruct

Whether the patient has accepted or refused treatment, a physician is expected to provide appropriate discharge instructions. These might include issues such as the need for follow up and symptoms that would mandate a more urgent reassessment. Even if a patient insists on being discharged against medical advice, he/she should still be given appropriate advice. It is important to document the advice given. Some physicians go so far as to ask other ED staff to witness the advice given to a patient leaving against medical advice, although this is not always necessary or practical.

One important consideration is whether the patient is fit to drive. The patient may have arrived at the ED in his/her own vehicle, and might be planning to drive home. If the physician has concerns about the patient's ability to drive safely, those concerns should be expressed directly to the patient. It may be appropriate to ask hospital staff to attempt to contact relatives or friends of the patient to provide a ride. The physician's concerns should be made clear to the staff so they will understand the importance of obtaining help for the patient. If, despite taking these steps, the intoxicated patient insists on driving, it may become necessary to notify the police of this potential danger. It is important in this case for the physician to have carefully assessed the patient to ensure such a step is necessary in the circumstances. No confidential medical information (such as diagnosis or laboratory test results) should be given to the police. This is not the same as the legislated duty to report to the driver licensing authority.

Family and friends of the patient

The intoxicated patient is often accompanied by family, friends or police. The family members and friends can be helpful in calming the patient, and it may be possible to discharge the patient into their care or to have them provide transportation. However, at times they are also intoxicated and may not only be unhelpful but possibly also obstructive and noisy. ED staff has a duty to protect the safety and well-being of patients, and if the behaviour of non-patients is disruptive it may be necessary to ask them to leave or even to have them removed. However, it is important to maintain a professional attitude when dealing with persons accompanying the patient.

The prevalence of drug and alcohol use makes it almost certain that a physician working in an emergency department will be faced with assessing intoxicated patients. When doing so, an awareness of the particular risks for both the patient and the physician may help to prevent adverse outcomes.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Traitement de patients intoxiqués au service d’urgence

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en décembre 2009
P0904-1-F

Résumé

Les patients intoxiqués posent des risques particuliers à l'urgence de par leur comportement et la difficulté d'obtenir une évaluation et un traitement adéquats.

 

 

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins travaillant dans un service des urgences

Quelles sont les obligations juridiques du médecin envers les patients intoxiqués? Est-il parfois possible d'obtenir un consentement éclairé de patients intoxiqués? Que devrait faire le médecin lorsqu'un patient intoxiqué refuse de se laisser examiner ou traiter? Peut-on mettre un patient physiquement agressif sous contention ou sous sédation? Le médecin a-t-il une obligation juridique de prendre des dispositions pour assurer la supervision d'un patient intoxiqué lorsque celui-ci reçoit son congé?
 
Peu de patients sont plus perturbateurs dans une salle d'urgence que ceux qui sont intoxiqués par l'alcool ou la drogue. Ces patients sont en effet souvent agressifs, bruyants, difficiles à évaluer et peuvent même à l'occasion constituer une menace pour la sécurité du personnel hospitalier. Leur seule présence à l'urgence augmente souvent le stress tant chez les médecins que chez le personnel et les autres patients. Il peut être tentant de s'occuper de ces patients le plus rapidement possible, afin de leur donner congé pour que le service puisse retrouver son niveau normal de fonctionnement. Toutefois, il ne faut pas que ce sentiment d'urgence entraîne des erreurs de diagnostic qui risqueraient de causer un préjudice au patient et des problèmes médico-légaux pour le médecin et les autres membres du personnel de l'urgence.

Au Canada, les tribunaux ont bien précisé que le personnel travaillant à l'urgence de tout hôpital public s'annonçant comme étant un établissement ouvert 24 heures sur 24 a un devoir de diligence envers tous les patients qui s'y présentent en vue d'obtenir des services médicaux – y compris les patients intoxiqués. Ce devoir s'applique également aux médecins travaillant au service ou à ceux qui sont de garde.  Il est donc important de songer à la façon de s'en acquitter, et de reconnaître qu'il comporte plusieurs volets, entre autres : ceux de prodiguer des soins attentifs, prudents et diligents, de diagnostiquer, de traiter, et de fournir des instructions au moment du congé ainsi que des conseils de suivi, le cas échéant.

Devoir de prodiguer des soins attentifs, prudents et diligents

Des membres du personnel de l'urgence peuvent parfois se demander s'ils sont tenus de s'occuper d'une personne – surtout si le patient en question a déjà été vu dans des conditions semblables à d'autres occasions. Bien qu'il ne soit pas toujours plaisant de s'occuper d'un patient intoxiqué, le médecin le plus responsable doit être satisfait que l'évaluation du patient a été effectuée adéquatement, que ce soit par le médecin ou délégué à un autre professionnel de la santé.

Devoir de diagnostiquer

Un patient intoxiqué qui refuse de coopérer peut représenter des défis uniques dans le contexte de l'évaluation clinique et du diagnostic.

Si, même après avoir été rassuré, le patient continue d'avoir un comportement perturbateur, il peut être nécessaire en situation d'urgence d'avoir recours à une contrainte physique pour procéder à une évaluation appropriée. L'importance d'une évaluation immédiate visant à déterminer s'il existe une urgence médicale doit être pesée contre le droit du patient à consentir à un examen, une investigation ou un traitement ou à y refuser. Un patient pouvant comprendre la nature et l'effet prévu de l'intervention qui lui est proposée et les solutions de rechange possibles, et d'apprécier les conséquences de son acceptation ou de son refus, peut être considéré comme étant apte à accepter ou à refuser une investigation ou un traitement, même s'il le fait sous l'influence de l'alcool ou de la drogue. Par contre, lorsqu'un patient n'est pas apte à prendre de décision, et qu'il y a un danger imminent pour sa vie, un de ses membres ou sa santé, le médecin a le devoir d'effectuer ce qui est immédiatement nécessaire, même sans consentement. Toutefois, un consentement devrait être obtenu du patient ou du décideur substitut dès que possible. Il est en effet important de documenter, aussitôt que raisonnablement possible, les considérations et les efforts qui ont mené à la décision d'agir sans consentement.

À l'occasion, des patients intoxiqués peuvent représenter un danger pour le médecin ou le personnel hospitalier. Ce n'est que lorsque le risque immédiat pour le personnel l'emporte sur le risque d'un délai pour le patient qu'il peut être raisonnable de retarder l'évaluation et le traitement. Lorsque la menace est réelle, et que toutes les mesures raisonnables n'ont pas réussi à la mitiger, il peut être approprié d'avoir recours à des moyens de contention physique ou chimique, ou de communiquer avec les services de sécurité de l'hôpital ou de la police.

Devoir de traiter

Lorsque l'évaluation est complétée et qu'un diagnostic est posé, le patient a le droit d'être informé non seulement du diagnostic et du traitement recommandé, mais également des risques et des avantages du traitement, ainsi que des risques du refus de ce traitement. Comme dans le cas des évaluations, il est important de se rappeler qu'un patient jugé apte a le droit de refuser un traitement, même si sa décision semble malavisée ou même irrationnelle.

Certains médecins ont demandé si tous les patients intoxiqués par l'alcool ou la drogue devaient être jugés inaptes à accorder un consentement. La réponse est « non ». L'évaluation de l'aptitude est un acte clinique comportant les facteurs susmentionnés. Cette décision ne peut être fondée sur une valeur de laboratoire telle que le taux d'alcoolémie.
 
Des médecins ont aussi demandé s'il était approprié de remplir un formulaire d'isolement contre leur gré pour des patients intoxiqués qui refusent un traitement considéré approprié par le médecin. En général, de tels formulaires sont exigés par la loi sur la santé mentale de la province ou du territoire, et il est important de respecter tous les critères établis par la loi. Il est peu probable que les patients ayant une simple intoxication répondent à ces critères. Ce n'est que lorsqu'une maladie mentale bien établie coexiste avec l'intoxication, et que tous les critères sont observés, qu'une cure fermée peut s'avérer appropriée. De façon semblable, lorsqu'il a été nécessaire de mettre un patient sous contention, le personnel hospitalier pourrait demander au médecin de remplir un formulaire d'admission en cure fermée. Si le patient ne répond pas aux critères stipulés dans la loi sur la santé mentale en vigueur, le médecin doit s'abstenir de donner suite à de telles demandes. En même temps, il est prudent pour le médecin de documenter les raisons pour lesquelles il a jugé un patient apte ou inapte, et pour lesquelles des mesures de contention ont été jugées nécessaires.

Devoir de conseiller ou d'informer

Un médecin est tenu de fournir des instructions appropriées entourant le congé, et ce, que le patient ait accepté ou refusé un traitement. Ces instructions pourraient inclure des précisions sur la nécessité d'un suivi ainsi que sur les symptômes qui nécessiteraient une réévaluation plus urgente. Même si un patient insiste pour recevoir son congé contre l'avis du médecin, il devrait tout de même recevoir des conseils appropriés. Il est important pour le médecin de consigner les conseils qu'il lui a prodigués. Certains médecins vont jusqu'à demander à d'autres membres du personnel de l'urgence de servir de témoin lorsque des conseils sont donnés à un patient qui quitte contre l'avis du médecin, bien que cela ne soit pas toujours nécessaire ni pratique.
 
Il est également important de considérer si le patient est apte à conduire. En effet, celui-ci a pu arriver à l'urgence dans son propre véhicule et pourrait avoir l'intention de rentrer chez lui en voiture. Si le médecin n'est pas sûr de l'aptitude du patient à conduire sans danger, il devrait exprimer ses inquiétudes directement au patient. Il peut alors être approprié de demander au personnel hospitalier d'appeler des parents ou des amis du patient pour qu'ils viennent le chercher. Les inquiétudes du médecin devraient être clairement communiquées au personnel afin qu'il comprenne l'importance d'obtenir de l'aide pour le patient. Si, en dépit de toutes les mesures prises pour assurer sa sécurité, le patient insiste pour conduire, il peut être nécessaire d'avertir la police du danger potentiel. Il est donc important dans un tel cas que le médecin ait soigneusement évalué le patient pour s'assurer qu'une telle mesure est justifiée dans les circonstances. Aucun renseignement médical confidentiel (tel qu'un diagnostic ou des résultats de tests de laboratoire) ne devraient être transmis aux services policiers. Une telle situation est distincte du devoir imposé par la loi de signaler un conducteur à l'autorité délivrant les permis de conduire.

Famille et amis du patient

Un patient intoxiqué arrive souvent accompagné à l'urgence, que ce soit par sa famille, des amis ou des policiers. Les membres de la famille et les amis peuvent aider à calmer le patient, qui peut alors recevoir son congé et être confié aux soins de ses parents ou amis qui le raccompagneront chez lui. Toutefois, ces parents et amis peuvent aussi être intoxiqués eux-mêmes et risquent alors non seulement de ne pas pouvoir se rendre utiles, mais aussi de déranger le personnel en étant bruyants et en entravant leur travail. Le personnel du service des urgences a le devoir de protéger la sécurité et le bien-être des patients, et si le comportement perturbateur des accompagnateurs les dérange, il peut être nécessaire de leur demander de partir ou même de les faire escorter par les services de sécurité. Il est toutefois important de garder une attitude professionnelle lorsque l'on a affaire à des personnes qui accompagnent un patient.
 
En raison de la prévalence de la consommation de drogue et d'alcool, il est presque certain que tout médecin travaillant dans un service des urgences devra évaluer des patients intoxiqués. En procédant à de telles évaluations, le médecin qui est conscient des risques particuliers pour le patient et pour lui-même est mieux placé pour prévenir les résultats indésirables. 

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.