Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medico-legal risks in busy and overcrowded emergency departments

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published September 2010
W10-004-E

Abstract

A review of some of the medico-legal risks related to the use of medical directives in emergency departments, and patients who LWBS by a physician or sign out AMA.

Emergency department (ED) busyness and overcrowding is an established reality in Canadian hospitals. The demand for care now exceeds many EDs' resources and ability to provide care in a timely fashion.

Many EDs now attempt to expedite care using a number of beneficial approaches, including more rapid triage and/or medical directives that allow nursing staff to begin initial investigations and treatments before a physician sees a patient.

Despite many such improvements and approaches, wait times often remain long. Predictably this leads some patients to leave without being seen (LWBS) by a physician or before being given their test results. Even if placed in a bed and assessed by a physician, frustrated patients may discharge themselves against medical advice (AMA).

The following scenarios illustrate some of the realities of Canadian emergency departments. Each of these situations poses unique medico-legal risks to physicians and hospitals.

Case 1

An emergency physician arrives 30 minutes before his shift and apprehensively accesses the electronic patient tracking system. There are 35 patients waiting to be seen, and the average wait exceeds five hours.

The physician later telephones the CMPA asking whether he owes a duty of care to any of the patients by having viewed the electronic list of waiting patients. The CMPA medical officer answers that it would be unlikely that simply viewing the list would create a duty of care to a particular patient.

However, when might a duty of care be created? A court will determine whether a duty of care is created (and the scope of that duty) based on the specific circumstances. Typically, a duty arises when a physician assesses a patient, or expressly or implicitly agrees to assume responsibility for a patient's care. For example, in previous cases, courts have found a duty of care was created when physicians took a referral telephone call from a clinic, interpreted an ECG from a patient in the waiting room, or were notified by nursing or other paramedical staff of an ill-appearing, but unplaced patient. For triage physicians in EDs, a duty of care is likely created at the time of the initial assessment.

Duty of care: The doctor-patient relationship creates a series of obligations including the requirement, as appropriate, to attend, diagnose, advise, treat, and seek consultation.

A court may view that a duty of care has been created when a physician has knowledge of a patient and provides an opinion that he or she ought to know will be relied on. In these situations, physicians should attempt to obtain sufficient information at the time to provide professional advice.


Case 2

Follow up of a LWBS patient
A 61-year-old woman with hypertension presents with a sudden onset of a severe headache. At triage she has a blood pressure of 230/150 mmHg and a Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) of 15. No medical directives are started. Although the patient appears well, the experienced triage nurse is concerned. The nurse briefly discusses the patient with the emergency physician and documents that conversation. There is no assessment room or bed immediately available in the department, but the patient is prioritized in the queue. A CT scan is ordered. Several hours later, the ED staff cannot locate the patient.

Another patient in the waiting room volunteers that the patient in question left 30 minutes previously. None of the patient's contact telephone numbers are in service. The nurse documents that the patient LWBS, discharges her from the electronic bed board system, and closes the medical record.

Discussions between physicians and other health professionals are an important and necessary part of an efficiently-functioning emergency department. However, if in the conversation with the triage nurse the physician gives advice that will be relied on, it is probable a duty of care is owed to the patient, even though the physician did not directly assess the patient. Further, depending on what care was provided while in the hospital, the duty may require that the physician take certain follow-up steps despite the patient having voluntarily left the hospital.

Depending on the clinical circumstances, follow up with a patient who has LWBS may be important, even urgent. Ideally, the patient's contact information is accurate and getting in touch with him or her is possible. Follow up is facilitated if the department has a records system capable of identifying and flagging LWBS patients and their investigations. Accurate patient contact information is necessary for follow up.

It is prudent to document the efforts made to contact the patient.

  • A duty of care may require that the physician take follow-up steps despite the patient having voluntarily left the hospital.
  • Consideration should be given to implementing a system capable of identifying and flagging LWBS patients.
  • Accurate contact information facilitates follow up.

Case 3

Medical directives and challenging follow up
A 47-year-old man who is homeless and has a history of substance abuse presents at 1500 hours with pleuritic localized left chest pain of three hours duration that has now resolved. A medical directive is initiated and the ECG is shown to the emergency physician. He initials it and interprets it as being normal with the exception of benign early repolarization. The patient, who has not been seen by the physician, is assigned back to the waiting room. Two hours later, his initial troponin T is entered into the computer system and is elevated. The laboratory does not have a policy to report elevated troponins as a critical value. After nursing and physician shift change at 1900 hours, a new triage nurse cannot find the patient in the waiting room. The patient has no fixed address and there are no contact phone numbers in the medical record, although he has accessed social services and a primary care clinic downtown. The patient is discharged from the electronic system and the medical record is sent to medical records for filing.

Medical directives are issued in advance by physicians. Through these, physicians delegate to other health care professionals the authority to perform certain controlled acts. Although staff can initiate some investigations or treatments, the on duty physician is still responsible for further assessing the patient, ordering investigations or treatments, and arranging follow up, as appropriate or necessary.

Courts have found that a duty of care is created when a physician accepts responsibility for a patient's care. This could include initial care through a medical directive, regardless of whether or not the physician has directly assessed the patient. For example, it may be necessary for the physician to reasonably attempt to follow up not only the patient but also any tests or investigations ordered as part of a medical directive.

If contacting a patient directly is challenging, physicians may try contacting the patient through other avenues such as the primary care physician, a clinic the patient has attended in the past, social workers in the hospital or community, or even the police. The hospital administrative staff may also be able to help. In some situations, contacting the patient is impossible.

A court may also find, depending on the circumstances, that it was reasonably foreseeable that attempts to follow up a patient should have taken place urgently.

  • An immediate duty of care for the physician may be created with the use of a medical directive.
  • There may be an urgent need to follow-up some patients who have LWBS.
  • Consider the use of alternative resources to help in follow up.

Case 4

Another example of the use of medical directives and the need for follow up
A 23-year-old man presents at 0200 hours on the first day of a long weekend with a left ankle injury. A medical directive is implemented and the X-ray shows a trimalleolar fracture. The patient returns to the waiting room. The triage nurse notes that the patient left the department at 0600 with the aid of his friends before being assessed by a physician. His X-rays are in the PACS system. He is discharged from the electronic system and the medical record is sent to medical records for filing. The films are not reviewed by the radiologist until 72 hours after discharge. Although there is no ED interpretation attached to the images, the radiologist assumes it would be difficult to miss the fracture and hence notification to the ED did not occur.

An immediate duty of care may be created with the medical directive. As the interpretation of X-rays falls outside most nurses' scope of practice, then it would be expected that the physician would perform that task. In some centres, the absence of an emergency department interpretation may prompt the radiologist to call the ED, at which time it would likely be discovered that the patient had left without being seen by a physician.

  • An immediate duty of care for the physician may be created with the use of a medical directive.
  • Is there an appropriate feedback mechanism between the diagnostic imaging department and the emergency department so that abnormal imaging results are acted on in a timely way?

Case 5

Leaving AMA
An 85-year-old woman with no significant medical history presents to the ED with a two-day history of fever, cough, and shortness of breath. She is high functioning and lives independently. On admission her oxygen saturation on room air is a little low. A chest X-ray shows a dense right lower lobe pneumonia. Based on her overall clinical assessment, the physician recommends she be admitted to hospital. She is upset by the "long wait" and adamantly refuses admission because of a much anticipated upcoming visit with her only granddaughter. She appears fully cognizant of her disease and the risk of discharge, but she remains unyielding and asks to sign an AMA form.

Many physicians believe they are absolved of any legal duty of care when mentally capable (competent) patients discharge themselves against medical advice. It is true a patient may be judged to have negligently caused or contributed to the clinical outcome if he or she failed to act as might generally be expected of a reasonable patient in the circumstances. However, it is uncommon that a court will find the patient wholly responsible for an adverse outcome due to his or her own contributory negligence.

To improve care and lessen medico-legal risk, the physician should pay attention to several issues when patients sign themselves out AMA.

Understanding
The physician should make reasonable attempts to confirm that the patient understands the potential consequences of refusing the recommended investigations or treatments. Consider the patient's mental capacity (competency). If the patient appears to understand the nature of his or her disease and the consequences of accepting or refusing treatment, then he or she is likely capable. This assessment is based on the overall clinical picture. In some situations, obtaining a consultation from another physician may be helpful in determining the patient's mental capacity.

Recommendations
Even if a mentally capable patient refuses treatment, the physician should explain why more observation, investigation, treatment, and/or follow up are recommended. This discussion may help alleviate the patient's concerns or fears. It may also be helpful to ask if the patient has any other social concerns, for example, responsibility for the care of a spouse at home or a pet left unattended. There may be a way to resolve such issues. It is generally useful, when possible, to include family members (with the patient's permission) in the discussion. Depending on the apparent seriousness of the clinical condition and available resources, it may be helpful to ask another physician to see the patient to reinforce the need for the recommended investigations or treatments.

Follow up and discharge instructions
The physician should also advise the patient leaving AMA on any necessary follow up. Discharge instructions can still be provided. There is an increasing expectation that physicians should educate patients on what symptoms and signs should prompt them to seek further medical attention. The patient should be made to feel welcome to return to the emergency department and seek
re-evaluation.

Documentation
The recommendations for care, the mental capacity assessment, the patient's reasons for refusing investigation or treatment, and the follow up and discharge instructions should be documented in the medical record. The signed AMA form is potentially useful if issues about the assessment and informed discharge arise later. Some physicians ask that nursing staff witness that an assessment and discussion have occurred.

  • When a patient leaves against medical advice there is still an expectation that discharge instructions be provided if possible. Document these.
  • A signed AMA form is an acknowledgement that a discussion with the patient of the risks of discharge has occurred.

Conclusion

Demand for emergency care is likely to continue to build in the foreseeable future and situations such as those described here may become ever more common. These can represent substantial clinical risks for patients and medico-legal risks for physicians and hospitals.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les risques médico-légaux de l'engorgement des urgences

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en septembre 2010
W10-004-F

Résumé

Une revue de certains des risques médico-légaux associés à l'utilisation de directives médicales dans les services d'urgence et aux patients qui refusent un traitement ou qui quittent l'hôpital sans être vus, contre l'avis du médecin.

Le niveau d'activité élevé et l'engorgement des urgences sont une réalité bien ancrée dans les hôpitaux canadiens. En effet, la demande de soins excède les ressources de nombreux services d'urgence, ainsi que leur capacité à prodiguer ces soins en temps opportun.

De nombreux services d'urgence tentent désormais d'expédier les soins à l'aide d'une gamme d'approches utiles, notamment un triage plus rapide et/ou des directives médicales qui permettent au personnel infirmier d'entamer les investigations et les traitements initiaux avant que le patient ne soit examiné par un médecin.

En dépit de ces nombreuses améliorations et d'approches semblables, les temps d'attente demeurent souvent longs. Comme on peut s'y attendre, cette réalité fait en sorte que certains patients quittent sans avoir été vus par un médecin ou avant de recevoir les résultats de leurs examens. Même lorsqu'ils sont assignés à un lit et évalués par un médecin, les patients frustrés peuvent quitter l'hôpital sans permission et contre l'avis du médecin.

Les scénarios suivants illustrent certaines des réalités des services d'urgence canadiens. Chacune de ces situations pose des risques médico-légaux uniques pour les médecins et les hôpitaux.

Cas 1

Un urgentologue arrive 30 minutes avant son quart de travail et vérifie avec une certaine appréhension le système électronique de suivi des patients. Il constate que 35 patients attendent d'être évalués et que l'attente moyenne dépasse cinq heures.

Le médecin téléphone à l'ACPM plus tard et demande s'il a un devoir de diligence envers l'un ou l'autre des patients étant donné qu'il a consulté la liste électronique des patients en attente. Le médecin-conseil de l'ACPM lui répond qu'il est peu probable que le simple fait d'avoir consulté la liste aurait créé un devoir de diligence envers un patient en particulier.

Or, il y a lieu de se demander dans quelles circonstances un devoir de diligence peut être créé. Un tribunal déterminera s'il existe un devoir de diligence (et la portée de ce devoir) en fonction des circonstances précises. En règle générale, un devoir survient lorsqu'un médecin évalue un patient, ou qu'il accepte de façon explicite ou implicite d'assumer la responsabilité des soins d'un patient. À titre d'exemple, dans des causes antérieures, les tribunaux ont établi qu'un devoir de diligence avait été créé lorsqu'un médecin avait accepté une demande de consultation par le biais d'un appel téléphonique d'une clinique, qu'il avait interprété un ECG d'un patient dans la salle d'attente, ou qu'il avait été informé par un membre du personnel infirmier ou paramédical d'un patient qui semblait mal en point et qui n'avait pas encore été évalué. Pour les médecins affectés au triage à l'urgence, il est probable qu'un devoir de diligence soit créé au moment de l'évaluation initiale.

Devoir de diligence :
La relation médecin-patient crée une série d'obligations, notamment l'obligation, s'il y a lieu, d'être au service du patient, de poser un diagnostic, de donner des conseils, de prodiguer un traitement et de demander une consultation.

Un tribunal peut déterminer qu'un devoir de diligence a été créé lorsqu'un médecin est au courant d'un patient et qu'il fournit une opinion sur laquelle il devrait s'attendre à ce qu'on se fiera. Dans de telles situations, les médecins devraient tenter d'obtenir sur le champ suffisamment de renseignements pour fournir une opinion professionnelle.


Cas 2

Suivi d'une patiente qui quitte sans être vue par le médecin
Une femme de 61 ans, souffrant d'hypertension, se présente à l'urgence avec une céphalée intense d'apparence soudaine. Au triage, sa pression artérielle est de 230/150 mmHg et son score sur l'échelle de Glasgow (GCS) est de 15. Aucune directive médicale n'est initiée. Même si la patiente semble bien, l'infirmière d'expérience affectée au triage est inquiète. L'infirmière discute brièvement de la patiente avec l'urgentologue et elle documente la conversation. Aucune salle d'examen et aucun lit ne sont immédiatement disponibles dans le service mais la priorité est accordée à la patiente dans la file d'attente. Un CT scan est prescrit. Quelques heures plus tard, le personnel de l'urgence ne trouve plus la patiente.

Un autre patient dans la salle d'attente mentionne que la patiente en question a quitté 30 minutes auparavant. Aucun des numéros de téléphone de la patiente ne sont en service. L'infirmière documente le fait que la patiente a quitté sans être vue, supprime son nom du système électronique d'assignation de lits et ferme le dossier médical.

Les discussions entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé sont une composante importante et nécessaire pour assurer le fonctionnement efficace d'un service d'urgence. Toutefois, dans le cadre de la conversation avec l'infirmière de triage, si le médecin prodigue des conseils sur lesquels on se fiera, il est probable qu'un devoir de diligence soit créé envers le patient même si le médecin n'a pas évalué le patient directement. Qui plus est, dépendant des soins qui ont été prodigués à l'hôpital, le devoir peut entraîner chez le médecin l'obligation d'effectuer certaines mesures de suivi en dépit du fait que le patient ait quitté l'hôpital volontairement.

Selon les circonstances cliniques, le suivi du patient qui quitte avant d'être vu par un médecin peut s'avérer important, voire même urgent. Idéalement, les coordonnées du patient devraient être exactes et il devrait être possible de le joindre. Si le service dispose d'un système de dossiers doté de la capacité d'identifier et de signaler les patients qui quittent sans être vus ainsi que les investigations qu'ils ont eues ou qu'ils devraient avoir, le suivi en est facilité. L'exactitude des coordonnées du patient est essentielle pour assurer le suivi.

Il s'avère prudent de documenter les efforts déployés pour communiquer avec le patient.

  • Un devoir de diligence peut entraîner chez le médecin l'obligation d'effectuer des mesures de suivi en dépit du fait que le patient ait quitté l'hôpital volontairement.
  • Il y a lieu de songer à mettre en oeuvre un système doté de la capacité d'identifier et de signaler les patients qui quittent sans être vus par un médecin.
  • L'exactitude des coordonnées facilite le suivi.

Cas 3

Directives médicales et suivi compliqué
Un homme sans-abri âgé de 47 ans qui a des antécédents d'abus d'alcool ou d'autres drogues se présente à 15 h 00 pour une douleur thoracique pleurétique localisée du côté gauche qui a duré pendant trois heures et qui s'est résolue. Une directive médicale est initiée et l'ECG est remis à l'urgentologue. Il y appose ses initiales et l'interprète comme étant normal à l'exception d'une repolarisation précoce bénigne. Le patient, qui n'a pas été examiné par le médecin, est réassigné à la salle d'attente. Deux heures plus tard, son taux initial de troponine T est entré dans le système informatique et il est élevé. Le laboratoire n'a pas de politique relative au signalement de taux élevés de troponine à titre de valeur critique. Suite au changement de quart de travail des infirmières et des médecins à 19 h 00, une nouvelle infirmière de triage ne peut retrouver le patient dans la salle d'attente. Le patient n'a pas d'adresse fixe et il n'y a aucun numéro de téléphone de contact dans le dossier médical, bien qu'il ait accédé à des services sociaux et qu'il se soit présenté à une clinique de soins primaires au centre-ville. Le patient est radié du système électronique et le dossier médical est acheminé au service des archives aux fins de classement.

Les directives médicales sont rédigées à l'avance par des médecins. C'est grâce à elles que les médecins délèguent à d'autres professionnels de la santé l'autorité d'exécuter certains actes autorisés. Bien que le personnel puisse initier certaines investigations ou certains traitements, le médecin de service demeure responsable d'évaluer le patient de façon plus exhaustive, de prescrire les investigations ou les traitements et de prendre des dispositions pour le suivi, au besoin.

Les tribunaux ont statué qu'un devoir de diligence est créé lorsqu'un médecin accepte la responsabilité des soins d'un patient. Cela pourrait inclure les soins initiaux prodigués par le biais d'une directive médicale, peu importe si le médecin a évalué le patient directement ou non. À titre d'exemple, il peut s'avérer nécessaire pour le médecin de faire des tentatives raisonnables d'effectuer un suivi, à la fois du patient et des examens ou des investigations prescrites dans le cadre d'une directive médicale.

S'il s'avère difficile de communiquer directement avec le patient, les médecins peuvent tenter de le faire par le biais d'autres intervenants tels le médecin de soins primaires, une clinique à laquelle le patient s'est présenté par le passé, les travailleurs sociaux à l'hôpital ou dans la communauté, ou même la police. Il se peut aussi que le personnel administratif de l'hôpital puisse prêter assistance. Dans certaines situations, il est impossible de communiquer avec le patient.

Un tribunal peut également déterminer, selon les circonstances, qu'il était raisonnablement prévisible que des tentatives d'assurer un suivi auprès du patient auraient dû être effectuées instamment.

  • L'utilisation d'une directive médicale peut créer un devoir de diligence immédiat de la part du médecin.
  • Il peut y avoir un besoin urgent d'assurer un suivi auprès de certains patients qui ont quitté sans être vus par un médecin.
  • Le recours à d'autres ressources pourrait aider à assurer un suivi.

Cas 4

Un autre exemple de l'utilisation des directives médicales et de la nécessité d'un suivi
Un homme de 23 ans se présente à 2 h 00 le premier jour d'une longue fin de semaine avec une blessure à la cheville gauche. Une directive médicale est initiée et la radiographie révèle une fracture trimalléolaire. Le patient retourne à la salle d'attente. L'infirmière de triage note que le patient a quitté le service à 6 h 00 avec l'aide de ses amis avant d'avoir été évalué par un médecin. Ses radiographies sont dans le système PACS. Son nom est supprimé du système électronique et le dossier médical est acheminé au service des archives aux fins de classement. Les clichés ne sont étudiés par le radiologiste que 72 heures après le congé. Bien qu'aucune interprétation du service d'urgence ne soit jointe aux images, le radiologiste présume qu'il aurait été difficile de ne pas apercevoir la fracture. Aucun avis n'a donc été acheminé à l'urgence.

L'utilisation d'une directive médicale peut créer un devoir de diligence immédiat. Puisque l'interprétation des radiographies ne relève pas du champ d'exercice de la majorité des infirmières, il serait attendu que le médecin s'acquitte de cette tâche. Dans certains centres, l'absence d'une interprétation du service d'urgence pourrait inciter le radiologiste à téléphoner à l'urgence. Il est probable qu'il découvrirait alors que le patient a quitté sans être vu par un médecin.

  • L'utilisation d'une directive médicale peut créer un devoir de diligence immédiat de la part du médecin.
  • Existe-t-il un mécanisme de rétroaction approprié entre le service d'imagerie diagnostique et le service d'urgence faisant en sorte que l'on donne suite aux résultats d'imagerie anormaux en temps opportun?

Cas 5

Départ contre l'avis du médecin
Une femme de 85 ans, sans antécédents médicaux importants, se présente à l'urgence avec une fièvre, de la toux et de la dyspnée qui durent depuis deux jours. Elle a un niveau de fonctionnement élevé et vit de façon autonome. Au moment de l'admission, sa saturation en oxygène à l'air ambiant est légèrement faible. Une radiographie pulmonaire révèle une pneumonie dense au lobe inférieur droit. En fonction de son évaluation clinique globale, le médecin recommande qu'elle soit admise à l'hôpital. Elle est frustrée par la « longue attente » et elle refuse l'admission avec insistance en raison d'une visite avec son unique petite fille qu'elle anticipe depuis longtemps. Elle semble pleinement consciente de sa maladie et du risque de rentrer chez elle, mais elle demeure inflexible et demande de signer un formulaire de départ contre avis médical.

De nombreux médecins croient qu'ils sont exonérés de tout devoir juridique de prodiguer des soins lorsqu'un patient mentalement apte quitte l'urgence contre avis médical. Il est vrai qu'un patient peut être perçu comme ayant causé ou contribué négligemment au résultat clinique s'il a manqué d'agir comme il serait attendu d'un patient raisonnable dans les circonstances. Toutefois, il est rare qu'un tribunal assigne la pleine responsabilité d'un résultat défavorable au patient en raison de sa faute concourante.

Dans l'optique d'améliorer les soins et de réduire les risques médico-légaux, le médecin doit porter son attention sur de nombreux enjeux lorsqu'un patient quitte contre avis médical.

Compréhension
Le médecin devrait essayer de façon raisonnable de confirmer que le patient comprend les conséquences possibles du refus des investigations ou des traitements recommandés. Il y a lieu de tenir compte de l'aptitude mentale du patient. Si le patient semble comprendre la nature de sa maladie et les conséquences de l'acceptation ou du refus du traitement, il est probablement apte. Cette évaluation se fonde sur le tableau clinique global. Dans certaines situations, une consultation auprès d'un autre médecin peut s'avérer utile pour déterminer l'aptitude mentale du patient.

Recommendations
Même si un patient mentalement apte refuse un traitement, le médecin devrait expliquer pourquoi une observation, une investigation, un traitement et/ou un suivi additionnel est recommandé. Cette discussion peut contribuer à atténuer les préoccupations ou les craintes du patient. Il peut également s'avérer utile de demander si le patient a d'autres préoccupations sociales, par exemple, la responsabilité des soins d'un conjoint à la maison ou d'un animal de compagnie laissé sans surveillance. Il se peut qu'il y ait moyen de résoudre de telles questions. En règle générale et lorsque la chose est possible, il est utile d'inclure les membres de la famille dans la discussion (avec la permission du patient). Selon la gravité apparente de l'état clinique et des ressources disponibles, il peut être utile de demander à un autre médecin d'examiner le patient afin de renforcer la nécessité des investigations ou des traitements recommandés.

Suivi et instructions au moment du congé
Le médecin doit également informer le patient qui quitte contre avis médical de tout suivi nécessaire. Les instructions au moment du congé peuvent tout de même être transmises. Il existe une attente grandissante voulant que les médecins éduquent les patients au sujet des symptômes et des signes qui devraient les inciter à obtenir des soins médicaux supplémentaires. Le patient doit se sentir bien à l'aise de retourner au service d'urgence et de demander une nouvelle évaluation.


Documentation
Les recommandations liées aux soins, l'évaluation de l'aptitude mentale, les raisons du patient de refuser l'investigation ou le traitement, les instructions au moment du congé et celles qui se rapportent au suivi devraient être documentées dans le dossier médical. Le formulaire signé de refus de traitement peut s'avérer utile si des questions portant sur l'évaluation et sur le congé éclairé surviennent plus tard. Certains médecins demandent au personnel infirmier d'attester qu'une évaluation et une discussion ont eu lieu.

  • Lorsqu'un patient quitte contre l'avis du médecin, il existe tout de même une attente que les instructions au moment du congé soient transmises si possible. Documentez-les.
  • Un formulaire signé de refus de traitement sert de confirmation qu'une discussion au sujet des risques du congé a eu lieu avec le patient.

Conclusion

La demande pour des soins d'urgence continuera vraisemblablement à croître dans un avenir prévisible et des situations telles que celles décrites ci-dessus peuvent se produire encore plus fréquemment. De telles situations peuvent comporter des risques cliniques importants pour les patients et des risques médico-légaux pour les médecins et les hôpitaux.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.