Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Lung cancer – The challenge of a timely diagnosis

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published September 2010
P1003-14-E

Abstract

Suggestions to reduce risk and optimize the timely diagnosis of lung cancer.

Lung cancer remains the leading cause of cancer death for both men and women in Canada.1 As with other types of cancer, a delay in the diagnosis of lung cancer may have a detrimental effect on the patient's prognosis. However, timely diagnosis may elude even the most skilled physician. System failures and physician performance issues may contribute to a delay in diagnosis.

The CMPA reviewed legal cases and complaints made to a regulatory authority (College) that involved a delay in the diagnosis of lung cancer, including all open cases and those cases closed between 2003 and 2009. A total of 89 cases were identified, of which 78 were closed. Most of the patients in the case series presented with one or more respiratory or systemic symptoms (e.g., persistent cough, hemoptysis, dyspnea, chest pain or weight loss).

Definitions

System failure: The lack, malfunction or failure of policies, operational processes, or the supporting infrastructure for the provision of health care.

Provider performance problems: Issues affecting the performance of an individual provider, e.g., a gap in the provider's knowledge or skills; a violation or departure from a known, relevant, realistic and clearly written policy; or a health condition of the provider that impedes clinical performance.

Identified Themes

Of the 78 closed cases reviewed, half (39) had more than one clinical issue. Peer experts (other physicians working in the same kind of practice) retained to review the cases were of the opinion that the following primary issues contributed to a delay in the diagnosis of lung cancer:

Delay or failure to order initial diagnostic tests,
e.g., chest X-ray

  • This was most often due to inadequate evaluation of patients who presented with respiratory symptoms (e.g., persistent cough, dyspnea) and/or risk factors (e.g., history of smoking).

Failure to detect an abnormality on diagnostic imaging studies

  • This occurred most often when a radiologist did not perceive a lung mass on a chest X-ray, either for patients who presented with respiratory symptoms or for patients who had a chest X-ray for other reasons.

Delay or failure to respond to abnormal test results or to arrange appropriate follow-up

  • This occurred most often in these situations:

    • failure to receive test results
    • actions or oversights by other health care personnel, e.g., misfiling reports
    • failure to repeat initial tests or order further diagnostic tests
    • failure of the patient to attend for follow-up care
  • In many of these cases, system failures contributed to the diagnostic delay. The experts maintained that an effective system or process to manage test results could have prevented the aforementioned issues. These system failures occurred in a variety of care locations including hospitals, clinics, urgent care centres and physicians' offices.

Case summaries — The following case summaries illustrate some of the circumstances that led to a delay in the diagnosis of lung cancer.

Case 1
A 45-year-old woman who was a heavy smoker presented to her family physician (FP) with flu-like symptoms and a six-week history of right upper chest pain radiating to her neck and right arm. The FP ordered chest and sinus X-rays; the location of the patient's pain was clearly indicated on the chest
X-ray requisition. The radiologist reported both X-rays as normal. After considering the X-ray results, the FP concluded the pain was musculoskeletal in origin and arranged for physiotherapy.

When the chest pain increased 10 months later, the FP requested a second chest X-ray and a thoracic spine X-ray. A different radiologist noted the presence of a four centimetre right upper lung mass. The FP promptly referred the patient to a respirologist. Upon review of both chest X-rays, the respirologist noted the presence of the lung mass on the first X-ray and an increase in mass size on the second X-ray. A computed tomography (CT) scan showed invasion to the chest wall, third rib and thoracic vertebrae. The patient was subsequently diagnosed with a Pancoast tumour. She underwent a surgical resection and radiotherapy. She died three years later. The patient's family started a legal action alleging the first radiologist misread the initial chest X-ray, which led to a delay in diagnosing and treating the lung cancer.

Expert opinion

Experts were of the opinion that the first radiologist failed to detect the lesion on the first chest X-ray, even though the clinical information on the X-ray requisition directed him to the correct side. The experts also commented that the second chest X-ray revealed a progression of the lesion by approximately 30% and also revealed signs of posterior mediastinal invasion that were not present on the first chest X-ray. The experts believed the delay in diagnosis may have contributed to the inability to carry out a complete surgical resection of the cancer, and produced a more unfavourable outcome. Without expert support, the CMPA paid a settlement to the estate on behalf of the first member radiologist.

 

Case 2
A 60-year-old man with recurrent reflux esophagitis post-hiatus hernia repair presented to the emergency department (ED) with chest pain radiating down his right arm. Querying cardiac or gastrointestinal (GI) conditions, the ED physician ordered a chest X-ray and cardiac workup. There was no radiologist present during the night. The ED physician reviewed the chest X-ray and commented only on the hiatus hernia. Despite a negative cardiac workup, the patient was admitted overnight pending reassessment by his regular FP in the morning. The patient had an uneventful night and most of his discomfort subsided. The patient's FP believed the patient's symptoms were mostly
GI in origin and discharged him with follow-up investigations.

Eight months later, the patient presented to his FP complaining of increasing chest discomfort, shortness of breath and cough. A chest X-ray revealed a large left lung mass with associated pleural effusion. It was at this point that the FP learned that the radiologist had reported a left upper lobe mass on the chest X-ray that had been performed in the ED eight months earlier, and that he had recommended a CT scan of the thorax. On review of the patient's office records, the FP discovered that this initial X-ray report had been filed without his review. The patient was subsequently diagnosed with stage IV non-small cell lung carcinoma with pleural and bone metastases. He underwent palliative treatment and died shortly thereafter. The patient's family started a legal action against the family physician and the hospital, alleging failure to follow-up the initial X-ray report in a timely manner, thereby impairing the patient's survival.

Expert opinion

The expert concluded that the patient's cancer was most likely at clinical stage I at the time of the initial chest X-ray. Had the cancer been detected at that time, it would have increased his life expectancy. Although supportive of the FP's care, the expert was critical of the FP's office procedure for reviewing and following-up test results. In addition, the hospital administration discovered that the initial chest X-ray report had not been sent to the ordering ED physician, despite an automated report distribution system. As there was no expert support, the CMPA, on behalf of the member FP, and the hospital, for its role in the diagnostic delay, contributed to a shared settlement to the patient's family.

Managing your Medico-legal risks

Based on expert opinions found in this case series, the following risk management considerations are suggested:

  • Have you considered lung cancer as part of the differential diagnosis when a patient with risk factors presents with symptoms that may be indicative of this condition? If so, have you performed the appropriate diagnostic tests?
  • Does the completed diagnostic imaging requisition contain pertinent clinical information?
  • As a radiologist, have you considered the information on the requisition?
  • Is there an effective tracking system in place in your practice or facility for the review of diagnostic tests?
  • Have you followed up with the radiologists' recommendations for further diagnostic tests?
  • Have you confirmed the appropriate resolution of an imaging abnormality, particularly if the patient's condition fails to improve?
  • Is there a continuous quality improvement process in place in your practice, hospital or facility?

1. Canadian Cancer Society's Steering Committee: Canadian Cancer Statistics 2009. Toronto: Canadian Cancer Society, 2009. April 2009, ISSN 0835-2976. [cited 2010 Mar 4]. Available from: http://www.cancer.ca/statistics.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Cancer du poumon – le défi de poser un diagnostic en temps opportun

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en septembre 2010
P1003-14-F

Résumé

Suggestions en vue de réduire les risques et d'optimiser le diagnostic du cancer du poumon en temps opportun.

Le cancer du poumon demeure la principale cause de décès chez les hommes et les femmes au Canada.1 Comme dans le cas des autres types de cancer, un délai dans le diagnostic du cancer du poumon risque d'avoir un effet défavorable sur le pronostic du patient. Toutefois, un diagnostic posé en temps opportun peut échapper même au médecin le plus chevronné. Les défaillances du système et les problèmes de rendement du médecin peuvent par ailleurs contribuer à un délai dans le diagnostic.

L'ACPM a analysé les cas juridiques et les plaintes déposées auprès d'un organisme de réglementation (Collège) qui mettaient en cause un délai dans le diagnostic du cancer du poumon, y compris tous les dossiers ouverts et les dossiers conclus entre 2003 et 2009. Au total, 89 dossiers ont été identifiés, dont 78 avaient été conclus. La plupart des patients dans cette série de cas présentaient au moins un symptôme respiratoire ou systémique (p. ex., toux persistante, hémoptysie, dyspnée, douleur thoracique ou perte de poids).

Définitions

Défaillance du système : Échec ou mauvais fonctionnement des politiques, des méthodes opérationnelles ou de l'infrastructure d'appui à la prestation des soins de santé, ou absence de celles-ci.

Problèmes de conduite du professionnel de la santé : Problèmes touchant la conduite d'un professionnel de la santé particulier, p. ex., une lacune dans les connaissances ou les habiletés de cette personne; la violation ou la dérogation à une politique connue, pertinente, pratique et clairement rédigée; un mauvais profil clinique en raison d'un problème de santé chez le professionnel.

Thèmes identifiés

Sur les 78 dossiers conclus analysés, la moitié (39) faisaient état de plus d'un problème clinique. Les experts (autres médecins travaillant dans le même domaine) retenus pour revoir les dossiers étaient d'avis que les problèmes principaux suivants avaient contribué au délai dans le diagnostic du cancer du poumon :

Délai ou défaut de prescrire les examens diagnostiques initiaux, p. ex., radiographie des poumons

  • Ce problème était le plus souvent dû à une évaluation inadéquate des patients qui présentaient des symptômes respiratoires (p. ex., toux persistante, dyspnée) et/ou des facteurs de risque (p. ex., antécédents de tabagisme).

Défaut de détecter une anomalie dans les examens d'imagerie diagnostique

  • Ce problème est survenu le plus souvent lorsque le radiologiste n'a pas décelé une masse pulmonaire sur une radiographie, soit chez des patients qui présentaient des symptômes respiratoires, soit chez des patients qui avaient eu une radiographie des poumons pour d'autres raisons.

Délai ou défaut de répondre aux résultats de laboratoire ou d'imagerie anormaux ou de prendre des mesures appropriées pour des soins de suivi

  • Ce problème est survenu le plus souvent dans les situations suivantes :

    • défaut de recevoir les résultats de laboratoire ou d'imagerie
    • actions ou omissions de la part d'autres membres du personnel de la santé, p.ex., classement erroné de rapports
    • défaut de répéter des tests initiaux ou de prescrire d'autres examens diagnostiques
    • défaut de la part des patients de se présenter pour les soins de suivi
  • Dans de nombreux cas, des défaillances du système ont contribué à entraîner un délai de diagnostic. Selon les experts, un système ou un processus efficace de suivi des résultats d'examens aurait pu prévenir les problèmes susmentionnés. Ces défaillances du système sont survenues dans divers milieux de soins, dont des hôpitaux, des cliniques, des centres de soins d'urgence et des cabinets de médecins.

Résumés de cas – Les résumés de cas suivants servent à illustrer certaines des circonstances ayant mené à un délai dans le diagnostic d'un cancer du poumon.

Cas 1
Une femme de 45 ans, qui fume beaucoup, se présente chez son omnipraticien avec des symptômes pseudogrippaux. Elle ressent depuis six semaines une douleur dans la partie supérieure droite du thorax qui irradie jusqu'au cou et au bras droit. Le médecin prescrit des radiographies des poumons et des sinus. Le site de la douleur est clairement indiqué sur la demande de radiographie des poumons. Selon le rapport du radiologiste, les deux radiographies sont normales. Après avoir examiné les résultats des radiographies, l'omnipraticien conclut que la douleur est d'origine musculosquelettique et prescrit de la physiothérapie.

Lorsque la douleur thoracique augmente 10 mois plus tard, l'omnipraticien demande une deuxième radiographie des poumons ainsi qu'une radiographie de la colonne dorsale. Un autre radiologiste note la présence d'une masse de quatre centimètres au lobe supérieur du poumon droit. L'omnipraticien dirige rapidement la patiente vers un pneumologue. À l'examen des deux radiographies, le pneumologue note la présence de la masse pulmonaire sur la première radiographie, ainsi qu'une augmentation de la grosseur de la masse sur la deuxième radiographie. Une tomodensitométrie révèle l'atteinte de la paroi thoracique ainsi que de la troisième côte et vertèbre dorsale. La patiente reçoit par la suite un diagnostic de tumeur de Pancoast. Elle subit alors une résection chirurgicale et une radiothérapie mais décède trois ans plus tard. Sa famille intente une action en justice, alléguant que le premier radiologiste avait mal lu la première radiographie des poumons, ce qui a entraîné un délai dans le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer du poumon.

Opinion des experts

Les experts étaient d'avis que le premier radiologiste n'avait pas détecté la lésion sur la première radiographie des poumons, même si l'information clinique sur la demande de radiographie indiquait bien le côté à examiner. Les experts ont également mentionné que la deuxième radiographie des poumons révélait une progression d'environ 30 pour cent de la lésion ainsi que des signes d'envahissement du médiastin postérieur qui n'étaient pas présents sur la première radiographie. Selon les experts, le délai dans le diagnostic a pu contribuer à l'impossibilité d'effectuer une résection chirurgicale complète du cancer, et entraîner un résultat plus défavorable. En l'absence de l'appui des experts, l'ACPM a versé un règlement à la succession de la patiente au nom du premier radiologiste.

 

Cas 2
Un homme de 60 ans, atteint d'une oesophagite par reflux récurrente à la suite d'une cure de hernie hiatale, se présente à l'urgence avec une douleur thoracique irradiant dans son bras droit. S'interrogeant sur la possibilité de problèmes cardiaques ou gastro-intestinaux, l'urgentologue demande une radiographie des poumons ainsi qu'un bilan cardiaque. Il n'y a aucun radiologiste présent au cours de la nuit. L'urgentologue revoit la radiographie des poumons et ne fait de commentaires que sur la hernie hiatale. Même si le bilan cardiaque est négatif, le patient est hospitalisé pour la nuit en attendant que son omnipraticien l'évalue de nouveau le lendemain matin. Le patient passe une nuit sans complications et son inconfort diminue en grande partie. L'omnipraticien pense que les symptômes du patient étaient principalement d'origine gastro-intestinale et accorde le congé au patient en lui prescrivant des investigations de suivi.

Huit mois plus tard, le patient se présente chez son omnipraticien en se plaignant de symptômes croissants de serrement à la poitrine, de dyspnée et de toux. Une radiographie révèle une grosse masse au poumon gauche, associée à un épanchement pleural. C'est à ce moment-là que l'omnipraticien apprend que le radiologiste avait signalé une masse au lobe supérieur gauche du poumon sur la radiographie effectuée à l'urgence huit mois plus tôt et qu'il avait recommandé une tomodensitométrie thoracique. En passant en revue les dossiers du patient dans son cabinet, l'omnipraticien découvre que sa copie du rapport initial de radiographie avait été classée sans qu'il ne la lise. Le patient reçoit par la suite un diagnostic de carcinome non à petites cellules de stade IV avec métastases au niveau de la plèvre et des os. Il suit un traitement palliatif et décède peu de temps après.

La famille du patient intente une action en justice contre l'omnipraticien et l'hôpital, alléguant le manquement à effectuer un suivi du rapport de radiographie initiale en temps opportun, ce qui a compromis la survie du patient.

Opinion de l'expert

L'expert a conclu qu'au moment de la radiographie initiale, le cancer du patient était probablement au stade clinique I. S'il avait été découvert à ce moment-là, l'espérance de vie du patient aurait été plus longue. Bien que l'expert ait accordé son appui aux soins prodigués par l'omnipraticien, il a critiqué le processus en place dans le cabinet de l'omnipraticien pour la lecture et le suivi des résultats d'examens. Par ailleurs, l'administration de l'hôpital a découvert que le rapport de la radiographie initiale des poumons n'avait pas été envoyé à l'urgentologue qui en avait fait la demande, malgré l'utilisation d'un système automatisé de distribution des rapports. En l'absence de l'appui de l'expert, l'ACPM, au nom de l'omnipraticien membre, et l'hôpital, pour son rôle dans le délai du diagnostic, ont versé un règlement partagé à la famille du patient.

Gérer les risques médico-légaux

D'après les opinions des experts présentés dans cette série de cas, les médecins devraient se poser les questions suivantes en matière de gestion des risques :

  • Ai-je considéré le cancer du poumon dans le cadre du diagnostic différentiel lorsqu'un patient ayant des facteurs de risque présente des symptômes pouvant indiquer ce problème? Dans l'affirmative, ai-je demandé les examens diagnostiques appropriés?
  • Est-ce que la demande d'imagerie diagnostique remplie contient des renseignements cliniques pertinents?
  • En tant que radiologiste, ai-je tenu compte des renseignements sur la demande?
  • Existe-t-il un système efficace de repérage en place dans ma pratique ou dans l'établissement pour le suivi des rapports d'examens diagnostiques?
  • Ai-je assuré un suivi des recommandations des radiologistes en vue d'effectuer d'autres examens diagnostiques?
  • Ai-je confirmé la résolution appropriée d'une anomalie notée à l'imagerie, en particulier si l'état du patient ne s'améliore pas?
  • Existe-t-il un processus en place pour l'amélioration continue de la qualité dans ma pratique, l'hôpital ou l'établissement?

1        Comité directeur de la Société canadienne du cancer : Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2009. Toronto : Société canadienne du cancer, 2009. Avril 2009, ISSN 0835-2976. [cité le 4 mars 2010]. Disponible auprès de : http://www.cancer.ca/statistiques.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.