Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medico-legal problems related to cholecystectomy: Intestinal complications

Originally published March 2010
P1001-5-E

Complications from cholecystectomy can be hard to diagnose and can cause significant difficulties for both patients and physicians.

The CMPA reviewed 131 legal cases with surgical complications from cholecystectomy. In 19% of the cases, the complications experienced by patients were from intestinal injuries. In 100% of the cases, surgeons were sued, and sometimes the legal actions included other physicians. For example, family or emergency physicians involved in the patient's post-operative care may see patients with as yet undiagnosed complications of recent cholecystectomy.

The 131 reviewed cases were closed between 2003 and 2007. They included both laparoscopy and laparotomy procedures. The most frequent complications were biliary tract injuries (53%), followed by intestinal injuries (19%) and vascular/hemorrhagic injuries (11%). The remaining cases (17%) concerned other complications such as incisional wound infections, acute coronary syndromes, pulmonary emboli or retained foreign body material (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Complications from cholecystectomy
Figure 1: Complications from cholecystectomy

Intestinal complications

Case study

A 62-year-old male patient with symptoms of biliary colic was referred for surgery. An earlier ultrasound had confirmed gallstones. The patient underwent a seemingly uneventful laparoscopic cholecystectomy. The patient was kept in hospital over night for control of nausea. As the surgeon was going on a one-week holiday on the evening of the surgery, he transferred the care of the patient to another surgeon.

On the first post-operative day, the patient developed an ileus.

On the following day, he developed increasing abdominal distension and discomfort. Investigations showed no biliary tract abnormalities but confirmed distended loops of small bowel and a sub-hepatic fluid collection extending down the right paracolic gutter that was not accessible for percutaneous drainage.

On the fourth post-operative day, the patient developed a small pleural effusion that was treated conservatively. The ileus, however, persisted. The surgical team attributed it to a hematoma, noting there was significant abdominal ecchymosis.

For the next two days, the clinical picture and daily radiographic plain film findings went unchanged. 

On the seventh post-operative day, the original surgeon returned from holidays. Realizing the patient's condition was not improving, he reviewed the previous investigations. The surgeon was suspicious of peritoneal irritation on physical examination and ordered a CT scan for the next morning. This showed a right paracolic fluid collection that was interpreted as a hematoma. Purulent material was drained percutaneously the same day and antibiotics were started. 

On the seventeenth post-operative day, the patient developed a fever and elevated white blood cell count (WBC). A repeat CT scan showed a new fluid collection in the gallbladder bed and the pararectal area, but complete resolution of the previously-drained abscess. Percutaneous drainage of the new collections was contemplated, but the following day the patient became septic and was taken to the operating room for a laparotomy, which demonstrated a perforated terminal ileum and peritonitis. Fifty-six centimeters of bowel were resected and primary anastomosis was performed 10 cm from the ileo-caecal valve. The patient was discharged nine days later with partially-controlled diarrhea.

A legal action followed. The patient alleged a delay in diagnosis of the bowel perforation resulting in severe peritonitis.

Surgical experts opined that the laparoscopy was done according to standard and intestinal injury is an inherent risk of such surgery. They also agreed that percutaneous drainage of the abscess was appropriate. They did state, however, that the laparotomy should have been done sooner because the etiology of the abscess was not established and the patient continued to have an ileus.

Because the experts could not support the care given, a settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the operating surgeon. 

Review of findings

This CMPA review of 131 legal actions identified 25 cases (19%) in which patients developed intestinal complications following cholecystectomy. Findings from the 25 cases included the following:

Deaths: Seven patients (28%) died.

Laparoscopic vs. open approach: Twenty-two patients (88%) underwent a laparoscopic approach, and only three patients (12%) had a planned open approach. In four of the laparoscopic cases, the prompt recognition of an intestinal injury resulted in conversion to laparotomy. 

Non-traumatic vs. traumatic complications: Five patients (20%) had non-traumatic intestinal complications. One of these patients, with known severe atherosclerotic vascular disease, had a delayed diagnosis of a complete superior mesenteric artery thrombosis and died. The remaining four patients presented with small bowel obstruction requiring exploration, with two requiring intestinal resection.

The remaining 20 patients (80%) had direct intestinal trauma as follows:

  • 10 duodenal injuries, resulting in three deaths
  • 9 jejuno-ileal injuries, resulting in three deaths
  • 1 transverse colon injury

Mechanism of injury: The exact mechanism of injury was often difficult to determine, as there was frequently significant inflammatory response by the time the site of the intestinal damage was visually examined. Manipulation of tissues, or the use of cautery or other instruments such as retractors were often postulated as mechanisms of injury. 

Expert opinions

Peer experts reviewing the care in these cases were often critical of the surgical technique and/or delays in diagnosing a complication. 

Surgical experts identified a technical surgical issue in 17 of the 25 patients with intestinal complications. They commented on the need for careful attention when manipulating the intestine and mesentery, when freeing adhesions, and when using cautery.

In nine of the 17 patients, the complication was compounded by a delay in diagnosis. In the remaining eight, the experts considered the technical approach to have been sound. Recognizing that complications can occur despite appropriate surgical technique, the experts were supportive of the care provided to five of the eight where physicians quickly addressed the patients' symptoms with appropriate investigation and treatment. However, in the other three cases there was a delay in doing so. In these cases, experts were critical of the physicians' failure to recognize the bowel injury earlier in the post-operative period. They were also critical of the failure to pursue investigation of possible other reasons for peritonitis when biliary tract injury was ruled out.

Of the 25 cases with intestinal complications, 52% were settled in favour of the patient. This percentage is higher than the overall CMPA experience with legal actions. 

Risk management considerations

Based on the review of the 131 cholecystectomy closed legal cases, the CMPA has the following suggestions.

For the operating surgeon:

  • Have you provided a sufficient consent discussion?
  • Does the operative note reflect any significant difficulties encountered in the procedure?
  • Would it be helpful to other providers to include a timely entry in the progress notes reflecting any significant difficulties encountered in the procedure?
  • Have you given the patient discharge instructions that include potential symptoms and signs of a complication, the urgency of seeking additional care and where to find that care?
  • Have you documented your discharge instructions?

For any physician attending in the post-operative period:

  • Do you have a high index of suspicion for potential complications of the surgery?
  • Are investigations and/or referrals indicated to rule out, for example, bile duct or intestinal injury?
  • Should the attending/operating or on-call surgeon be notified of the patient's condition?

The bottom line

  • An informed consent discussion for laparoscopic cholecystectomy should not leave the patient with the impression that it is a minor procedure without the possibility of significant complications.
  • The symptoms and signs of post-operative complications of cholecystectomy (by laparoscopy or laparotomy) may be non-specific initially and may develop hours to several days after the surgery. Discharge instructions alerting patients to the possible symptoms of complications may prompt them to seek early attention. 
  • Family or emergency physicians often face the challenge of assessing patients post-operatively with early and non-specific symptoms of a complication.

Related articles

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Problèmes médico-légaux liés à une cholécystectomie : Complications intestinales

Publié initialement en mars 2010
P1001-5-F

Les complications à la suite d'une cholécystectomie peuvent être difficiles à diagnostiquer et peuvent entraîner des problèmes considérables pour les patients et les médecins.

L'ACPM a analysé 131 dossiers juridiques dans lesquels il y a eu des complications chirurgicales découlant d'une cholécystectomie. Dans 19 % des cas, les complications provenaient de traumatismes intestinaux. Dans 100 % des cas, les chirurgiens ont été poursuivis, et les actions en justice mettaient parfois aussi en cause d'autres médecins. Il arrive en effet que des omnipraticiens ou des urgentologues participant aux soins postopératoires voient des patients ayant des complications non encore diagnostiquées, découlant d'une cholécystectomie récente.

Les 131 dossiers analysés ont été conclus entre 2003 et 2007. Ils comprenaient des interventions par laparoscopie et par laparotomie. Les complications les plus fréquentes étaient les traumatismes des voies biliaires (53 %), suivies des traumatismes intestinaux (19 %) et des complications vasculaires ou hémorragiques (11 %). Les autres dossiers (17 %) portaient sur d'autres complications comme les infections des plaies opératoires, les syndromes coronariens aigus, les embolies pulmonaires ou la présence de corps étrangers (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Complications liées à une cholécystectomie
Figure 1: Complications li?es ? une chol?cystectomie

Complications intestinales

Étude de cas

Un patient de 62 ans présentant des symptômes de colique biliaire est dirigé vers un chirurgien en vue d'une intervention chirurgicale. Une échographie a confirmé la présence de lithiases biliaires. Le patient subit une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie sans complication apparente. Il demeure à l'hôpital pour la nuit pour le traitement de nausées. Comme le chirurgien part en congé pour une semaine le soir même de la chirurgie, il transfère les soins du patient à un autre chirurgien.

Le patient présente un iléus le premier jour postopératoire.

Le lendemain, la distension abdominale et l'inconfort sont de plus en plus importants. Les investigations ne révèlent aucune anomalie des voies biliaires, mais confirment une distension des anses du grêle et un épanchement dans l'espace sous-hépatique jusque dans la gouttière paracolique droite non accessible pour un drainage percutané.

Le quatrième jour postopératoire, le patient a un petit épanchement pleural. Toutefois, l'iléus persiste. L'équipe chirurgicale l'attribue à un hématome, et note la présence d'ecchymoses abdominales importantes.

Au cours des deux jours suivants, le tableau clinique et les résultats des radiographies quotidiennes ne changent pas. 

Le septième jour postopératoire, le premier chirurgien revient de son congé. En se rendant compte que l'état du patient ne s'améliore pas, il passe en revue les investigations déjà effectuées. À l'examen physique, le chirurgien soupçonne une irritation péritonéale et demande qu'une tomodensitométrie soit effectuée le lendemain matin. Celle-ci révèle un épanchement dans la gouttière paracolique droite qui est interprété comme étant un hématome. Un exsudat purulent est drainé le même jour et l'antibiothérapie est amorcée.

Le dix-septième jour postopératoire, le patient présente de la fièvre et une leucocytose. Une nouvelle tomodensitométrie révèle une accumulation liquidienne dans le lit vésiculaire et la région pararectale, mais la résorption complète de l'abcès drainé. Le drainage percutané du nouvel épanchement est envisagé, mais le patient évolue en choc septique le lendemain et est transféré à la salle d'opération pour une laparotomie, qui révèle la perforation de l'iléon terminal et une péritonite. On effectue une résection de 56 cm de l'intestin ainsi qu'une anastomose primaire à 10 cm de la valvule iléocæcale. Le patient reçoit son congé neuf jours plus tard, ayant encore une diarrhée partiellement maîtrisée.

Une action en justice est intentée par le patient, alléguant que le délai dans le diagnostic de la perforation intestinale a entraîné une péritonite sévère.

Les experts en chirurgie étaient de l'opinion que la laparoscopie avait été pratiquée conformément à la norme et que le traumatisme intestinal constitue un risque inhérent d'une telle intervention. Ils étaient également d'accord sur le bien-fondé du drainage percutané de l'abcès. Ils ont toutefois affirmé que la laparotomie aurait dû être pratiquée plus tôt en raison du fait que l'étiologie de l'abcès n'avait pas été établie et que le patient continuait d'avoir un iléus.

Comme les experts n'ont pas pu accorder leur appui aux soins prodigués, l'ACPM a versé un règlement au patient au nom du chirurgien ayant pratiqué l'intervention.

Analyses des résultats

L'analyse effectuée par l'ACPM des 131 actions en justice a permis de cerner 25 cas (19 %) dans lesquels les patients avaient eu des complications intestinales à la suite d'une cholécystectomie. Les résultats des 25 cas comprenaient les données suivantes :

Décès : Sept patients (28 %) sont décédés.

Approche par laparoscopie c. approche par laparotomie : Vingt-deux patients (88 %) ont eu une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie, et seulement trois patients (12 %) ont eu une laparotomie prévue. Dans quatre des cas par laparoscopie, la reconnaissance rapide d'un traumatisme intestinal a entraîné la conversion à une laparotomie.

Complications non-traumatiques c. complications traumatiques : Cinq patients (20 %) ont eu des complications intestinales non-traumatiques. Un de ces patients, atteint de maladie vasculaire athérosclérotique sévère connue, a eu un délai dans le diagnostic d'une thrombose complète de l'artère mésentérique supérieure, et est décédé. Les quatre autres patients ont eu une obstruction du grêle nécessitant une exploration, et deux d'entre eux ont dû avoir une résection intestinale.

Les autres 20 patients (80 %) ont eu un traumatisme intestinal direct :

  • 10 cas de traumatisme duodénal, résultant en trois décès
  • 9 cas de traumatisme jéjuno-iléal, résultant en trois décès
  • 1 cas de traumatisme du côlon transverse

Mécanisme du traumatisme : Le mécanisme exact du traumatisme était souvent difficile à déterminer, étant donné qu'il y a fréquemment une réaction inflammatoire considérable avant que l'on procède à l'examen visuel des dommages à l'intestin. La manipulation des tissus, ou le recours à un électrocautère ou à d'autres instruments tels que des écarteurs, était souvent établi comme hypothèse aux mécanismes du traumatisme.

Opinions des experts

Les experts ayant examiné les soins dans ces cas ont souvent critiqué les techniques de chirurgie et/ou les délais dans le diagnostic d'une complication.

Les experts en chirurgie ont cerné un problème technique de chirurgie chez 17 des 25 patients où il y a eu des complications intestinales. Ils ont mentionné la nécessité de prêter une attention particulière lors de la manipulation des intestins et du mésentère, de la lyse d'adhérences, et de l'utilisation d'un électrocautère.

Chez 9 des 17 patients, la complication a été aggravée par un délai dans le diagnostic. Chez les huit autres patients, les experts considéraient que l'approche technique avait été la bonne. Comme ils reconnaissaient que des complications étaient possibles en dépit d'une technique chirurgicale appropriée, les experts ont accordé leur appui aux soins prodigués à cinq de ces huit patients, où les médecins ont rapidement évalué les symptômes des patients et assuré les investigations et le traitement appropriés. Toutefois, dans les trois autres cas, il y a eu un délai et les experts ont critiqué le manquement chez les médecins à reconnaître plus tôt le traumatisme intestinal au cours de la période postopératoire. Ils ont également critiqué le fait que les médecins n'avaient pas poursuivi l'investigation d'autres raisons possibles de la péritonite une fois que le traumatisme aux voies biliaires avait été écarté.

Sur les 25 cas présentant des complications intestinales, 52 % ont été réglés en faveur du patient. Ce pourcentage est plus élevé que l'ensemble de l'expérience de l'ACPM dans les actions en justice.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

D'après l'analyse des 131 dossiers juridiques conclus liés à des cholécystectomies, les médecins peuvent se poser les questions suivantes :

Pour le chirurgien :

  • Ai-je tenu une discussion suffisante pour obtenir le consentement du patient?
  • Le protocole opératoire au dossier médical reflète-t-il tout problème important survenu lors de l'intervention?
  • Devrais-je inclure en temps opportun une mention aux notes d'évolution reflétant tout problème important survenu lors de l'intervention à l'intention des autres professionnels de la santé?
  • Ai-je fourni au patient des instructions détaillées au moment du congé, incluant les signes et symptômes possibles d'une complication, et l'urgence d'obtenir des soins supplémentaires, ainsi que des précisions sur les endroits où les obtenir?
  • Ai-je documenté les instructions données au moment du congé?

Pour tout médecin traitant au cours de la période postopératoire :

  • Existe-t-il un indice de suspicion élevé en ce qui concerne les complications possibles de la chirurgie?
  • Des investigations ou la consultation d'un spécialiste sont-elles indiquées pour écarter, par exemple, la possibilité d'un traumatisme des voies biliaires ou des intestins?
  • Le chirurgien ayant pratiqué l'intervention ou le chirurgien de garde devrait-il être informé de l'état du patient?

En bref

  • Une discussion en vue d'obtenir un consentement éclairé à une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie ne devrait pas laisser au patient l'impression qu'il s'agit d'une intervention mineure sans risque de complications importantes.
  • Les signes et symptômes des complications postopératoires d'une cholécystectomie (par laparoscopie ou par laparotomie) peuvent initialement être non spécifiques et apparaître quelques heures à quelques jours après l'intervention. Des instructions appropriées au moment du congé peuvent alerter le patient aux symptômes possibles de complications et l'encourager à obtenir des soins plus rapidement dans un tel cas.
  • Les omnipraticiens et les urgentologues seront confrontés au défi d'évaluer des patients présentant des signes précoces et non spécifiques d'une complication chirurgicale.

Articles connexes

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.