Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medico-legal problems related to cholecystectomy vascular/hemorrhagic complications

Originally published June 2010
P1002-12-E

The laparoscopic approach is used for diagnosis or treatment of many abdominal pathologies. Cholecystectomy is a frequent procedure performed by general surgeons in Canada. In contrast to 20 years ago, most of these procedures are now performed by laparoscopy in an ambulatory setting.

The CMPA reviewed 131 legal cases associated with surgical complications from cholecystectomy procedures (both by laparoscopy and laparotomy) that were closed between 2003 and 2007. The most frequent complications were: biliary tract injuries (53%), intestinal injuries (19%), and vascular/hemorrhagic injuries (11%). The remaining cases (17%) related to various other complications.

Vascular/hemorrhagic complications

Case study
 

A 30-year-old patient with previous abdominal surgery presented with symptomatic cholelithiasis. After a consent discussion, the patient opted to have a laparoscopic cholecystectomy.

Figure 1: Complications from cholecystectomy

The surgeon had been given a demonstration of a new trocar instrument in a previous setting but had not had the opportunity to use it. Without creating a pneumoperitoneum, and in a patient with a very flaccid abdominal wall, towel clips were used to hold up the abdominal wall and the instrument was inserted at an 85 to 90 degree angle. Although the surgeon thought the insertion went without incident, the patient rapidly became unstable. An open laparotomy revealed a probable aortic injury.

The patient was transferred to a larger centre where a surgical exploration confirmed a through and through injury to the aorta and damage to the renal vein. The patient suffered many complications and died four months later.

In the ensuing legal action, experts were not supportive of the surgeon, relating that whatever method of entering the abdominal wall, the abdomen musculature has to be held away from the spine and the abdominal contents as the entry is performed. It was felt that in this case, it was particularly important to do so due to the flaccidity of the abdomen wall, as a tenting effect can occur and internal organs such as the aorta can be in the immediate vicinity.

In the absence of surgical expert support, a settlement was paid to the patient's estate by the CMPA on behalf of the member surgeon.

Review of findings for vascular/ hemorrhagic complications

Although a hemorrhagic complication can occur from the surgical dissection during a laparotomy, all of the vascular/hemorrhagic complications in this review occurred in the setting of a laparoscopic approach. There were 14 cases with this type of complication, resulting in three patient deaths. In six cases, the site of injury was at the level of a major vessel, either the aorta or the iliac vessels. In two cases, there was internal hemorrhage at the level of the abdominal wall, in two cases at the liver bed, and three cases were related to cystic artery hemorrhages. There was one case of hematoma from an injury to the mesenteric vessels.

In 10 of the 14 vascular/hemorrhagic cases, the blood vessel injury was identified during surgery. Nine of the 10 cases required an immediate conversion to laparotomy to control the bleeding; one patient's cystic artery hemorrhage was treated using laparoscopy, but the patient's condition subsequently deteriorated over several hours from a slow unrecognized intra-abdominal hemorrhage. The patient died before she could be taken back to the operating room. The remaining four of 14 cases of operative bleeding required a subsequent laparotomy for control of hemorrhage.

Hemorrhage during the creation of the pneumoperitoneum with the first instrument entry was identified in seven of the 14 cases: two cases using a needle instrument, four cases a trocar, and it was unclear in one case whether the use of the needle or the trocar resulted in the injury at the beginning of the surgery.

Forty-three per cent of these vascular/hemorrhagic cases resulted in a legal outcome in favour of the patient. This percentage is higher than the overall CMPA experience with legal actions.

Expert opinions

In the reviewed cases, the surgical experts stated that significant bleeding as a complication of laparoscopic surgery is rare, and usually presents in one of two different clinical patterns. The patient can become hemodynamically unstable immediately following the peritoneal access technique or during the dissection. A more subtle presentation with signs of ileus and decreasing hemoglobin over time can also occur in the first few hours post-operatively, demonstrating a "silent" hemorrhage of lesser magnitude. 

The surgical expert criticisms in the vascular/ hemorrhagic cases included the following:

  • related to the technique for inserting either the trocar or the needle instrument: too deep, at a wrong angle, too many attempts at insertion, or a flaccid abdominal wall was not held away as the entry to the peritoneum was performed
  • delay in converting to an open approach
  • inadequate follow up of a patient's condition in the immediate post-operative period

Risk management considerations

Based on the review of all cholecystectomy patients, closed legal files involving vascular/hemorrhagic complications, the following are suggested:

  • Is the peritoneal access technique appropriate to your patient?
  • If a bleeding complication is encountered, do you have a back-up plan to address this?
  • Did your last inspection of the peritoneal cavity demonstrate controlled hemostasis?
  • Do the operative note and the post-operative progress note in the medical record reflect any significant difficulties encountered in the procedure?
  • Is an extended period of monitoring required following the procedure?
  • Is an investigation or referral indicated to rule out potential vascular/hemorrhagic complication?

The bottom line

As with all surgical procedures, the indications and surgical approach should be reasonable, with consideration of the patient's characteristics, the surgeon's expertise and the support available. The informed consent discussion with the patient should outline the risks. 1  Documentation of the discussions, including alternatives to the proposed treatment, should be placed in the medical record. It is helpful if the surgeon documents in the operative note any significant difficulties encountered, and the steps taken to manage the difficulties and obtain assistance when indicated.

If signs of hemodynamic instability are present during the surgery or in the post-operative period, surgical experts emphasize the importance of having these addressed promptly by the surgical team. Consideration of additional consultation may be required.

These risk management principles apply to all laparoscopic procedures, not only to cholecystectomies.

For a discussion of the biliary tract and intestinal complications, see the articles "Medico-legal problems related to cholecystectomy—Biliary track injuries" and "Medico-legal problems related to cholecystectomy—Intestinal complications".


1. The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA). Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians, 4th edition. Ottawa (ON): The Association; 2006 May. 23 p.

 

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Problèmes médico-légaux liés à une cholécystectomie - Complications vasculaires/hémorragiques

Publié initialement en juin 2010
P1002-12-F

La laparoscopie est utilisée dans le diagnostic ou le traitement de nombreuses pathologies abdominales. La cholécystectomie représente une intervention fréquemment pratiquée par les chirurgiens généraux au Canada. Par rapport à la technique utilisée il y a 20 ans, la plupart des interventions sont maintenant effectuées par laparoscopie en centre de chirurgie ambulatoire.

L'ACPM a analysé 131 dossiers juridiques, conclus entre 2003 et 2007, associés à des complications chirurgicales découlant de cholécystectomies (par laparoscopie et par laparotomie). Les complications les plus fréquentes étaient les traumatismes des voies biliaires (53 %), les traumatismes intestinaux (19 %) et les traumatismes vasculaires ou les hémorragies (11 %). Les autres dossiers (17 %) portaient sur d'autres complications.

Figure 1 : Complications liées à une cholécystectomie

 

Complications vasculaires/hémorragiques

Étude de cas

Un patient de 30 ans ayant déjà eu une chirurgie abdominale se présente avec une cholélithiase symptomatique. Après la discussion entourant le consentement, le patient choisit d'avoir une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie.

Le chirurgien avait déjà assisté à une démonstration sur l'utilisation d'un nouveau trocart dans un autre milieu, mais il n'avait pas eu l'occasion de s'en servir. Des pinces à champs sont utilisées pour retenir les parois abdominales et le trocart est inséré à un angle de 85 à 90 degrés dans une paroi abdominale très flasque, sans créer de pneumopéritoine. Bien que le chirurgien ait l'impression que l'insertion ait été réalisée sans incident, le patient progresse rapidement vers un état instable. Une laparotomie révèle une atteinte probable de l'aorte.

Le patient est transféré dans un centre tertiaire, où une exploration chirurgicale confirme que l'aorte a été transpercée et que la veine rénale a aussi subi des dommages. Le patient décède quatre mois plus tard en raison de nombreuses complications.

Dans l'action en justice qui a suivi, les experts n'ont pu accorder leur appui au chirurgien, expliquant que, quelle que soit la méthode utilisée, les muscles abdominaux doivent être tenus éloignés de la colonne vertébrale et du contenu abdominal lors de l'insertion des instruments dans la paroi abdominale. Dans ce cas précis, les experts estimaient qu'il était particulièrement important de respecter cette règle, étant donné que la flaccidité de la paroi abdominale risquait d'entraîner un effet d'invagination et que d'autres organes internes, comme l'aorte, se trouvaient à proximité.

En l'absence d'un appui des experts en chirurgie, l'ACPM a versé un règlement à la succession du patient au nom du chirurgien membre.

Analyse des résultats des complications vasculaires/hémorragiques

Bien qu'une complication hémorragique puisse survenir à la suite de la dissection lors d'une laparotomie, toutes les complications vasculaires/hémorragiques dans cette analyse sont survenues dans le cadre d'une intervention laparoscopique. Il y a eu 14 cas avec ce type de complication qui ont résulté en trois décès chez les patients. Dans six cas, le site de la lésion était au niveau d'un vaisseau majeur, soit l'aorte ou les vaisseaux iliaques. Dans deux cas, il y a eu une hémorragie interne au niveau de la paroi abdominale; dans deux autres cas, au niveau du lit vésiculaire; et trois cas étaient liés à des hémorragies de l'artère cystique. Il y a également eu un cas d'hématome provenant d'une lésion aux vaisseaux mésentériques.

Dans 10 des 14 cas vasculaires/hémorragiques, le traumatisme des vaisseaux sanguins a été décelé lors de l'intervention chirurgicale. Neuf des 10 cas ont nécessité la conversion immédiate à une laparotomie pour contrôler l'hémorragie. Chez une patiente, l'hémorragie au niveau de l'artère cystique a été traitée au moyen d'une laparoscopie, mais l'état de la patiente s'est détérioré sur plusieurs heures en raison d'une hémorragie intra-abdominale lente et non décelée. Elle est décédée avant qu'on la ramène en salle d'opération. Les quatre autres cas ont nécessité une laparotomie subséquente pour maîtriser l'hémorragie.

Dans sept des 14 cas, une hémorragie est survenue au moment de la création d'un pneumopéritoine lors de l'insertion du premier instrument : en utilisant une aiguille dans deux cas, et un trocart dans quatre cas. Dans le dernier cas, il n'était pas clair si l'hémorragie survenue en début de la chirurgie avait été causée par une aiguille ou un des trocarts utilisés durant l'intervention.

Dans 43 pour cent de ces cas vasculaires/ hémorragiques, l'issue juridique a été en faveur du patient. Ce pourcentage est plus élevé que celui de l'ensemble des actions en justice défendues par l'ACPM.

Opinions des experts

Dans les dossiers analysés, les experts en chirurgie ont affirmé qu'un saignement important en tant que complication d'une chirurgie laparoscopique est rare et que, lorsqu'il survient, le saignement suit normalement l'une de deux tendances cliniques distinctes. L'état du patient peut devenir instable sur le plan hémodynamique immédiatement après l'accès péritonéal ou lors de la dissection. Une présentation plus insidieuse, avec des signes d'iléus et une baisse progressive de l'hémoglobine peut également survenir dans les premières heures postopératoires, indiquant une hémorragie « silencieuse » de moindre importance.

Les critiques émises par les experts en chirurgie dans les cas vasculaires/ hémorragiques portaient entre autres sur ce qui suit :

  • technique d'insertion du trocart ou de l'aiguille : trop profonde, au mauvais angle, trop d'essais d'insertion, ou défaut d'écarter une paroi abdominale flasque lors de la création du péritoine
  • délai de conversion à une approche par laparotomie
  • suivi inadéquat de l'état d'un patient au cours de la période postopératoire immédiate

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

D'après l'analyse de tous les dossiers conclus liés à des complications vasculaires/hémorragiques à la suite d'une cholécystectomie, les membres de l'ACPM peuvent se poser les questions suivantes :

  • Est-ce que la technique d'accès péritonéal est appropriée pour ce patient?
  • En cas de complication hémorragique, ai-je un plan d'urgence pour traiter ce problème?
  • Est-ce que ma dernière inspection de la cavité péritonéale indiquait une l'hémostase maîtrisée?
  • Est-ce que le protocole opératoire et les notes d'évolution postopératoire du dossier médical faisaient mention de difficultés encourues pendant l'intervention?
  • Est-ce qu'une période de surveillance est requise à la suite de cette intervention?
  • Est-ce qu'une investigation ou une demande de consultation serait indiquée pour écarter la possibilité d'une complication vasculaire/hémorragique?

En bref

Comme dans toutes les interventions chirurgicales, les indications et l'approche chirurgicale doivent être raisonnables, tenir compte des caractéristiques du patient et de l'expertise du chirurgien, ainsi que de l'assistance disponible. La discussion entourant l'obtention d'un consentement éclairé du patient devrait faire état des risques.  Les discussions tenues, y compris des solutions de rechange au traitement proposé, doivent être documentées et figurer au dossier médical. Il est utile pour le chirurgien de consigner dans le protocole opératoire toute difficulté importante rencontrée, et les mesures prises pour y remédier et pour obtenir de l'assistance au besoin.

Si des signes d'instabilité hémodynamique sont présents lors de l'intervention chirurgicale ou au cours de la période postopératoire, les experts en chirurgie soulignent l'importance pour l'équipe chirurgicale d'intervenir promptement. Il peut être nécessaire de demander des consultations supplémentaires. 

Ces principes en matière de gestion des risques s'appliquent à toutes les interventions par laparoscopie, et non seulement aux cholécystectomies.

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les traumatismes des voies biliaires et les complications intestinales, consultez les articles « Problèmes médico-légaux liés à une cholécystectomie – Traumatismes des voies biliaires » et « Problèmes médico-légaux liés à une cholécystectomie – Complications intestinales ».

Référence

1. L'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM). Le consentement : Guide à l'intention des médecins du Canada, 4e édition. Ottawa (ON) : L'Association; mai 2006. 23 p

 

 

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.