Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

The Canadian medical liability system: What makes it work?

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published June 2010 / Revised March 2015
P1002-11-E

In delivering care, patient well-being is at the forefront of physicians' minds and doctors are guided by the age-old dictum of "do no harm." However, medicine is not risk-free and there are occasions when patients experience unexpected and unintended harm. An effective healthcare system responds appropriately to such unfortunate circumstances, firstly by ensuring care is provided to the harmed patient and subsequently by examining what led to the unintended outcome, and making improvements to limit the likelihood of reoccurrences, if possible. An effective medical liability system ensures healthcare institutions and healthcare providers are held accountable for their actions in a fair manner, provides appropriate compensation for patients proven to have been harmed through negligent clinical care, and supports improvements in healthcare safety.

The Canadian medical liability system is viewed as being one of the more effective in the world. Its success is, in part, because it takes into consideration the particularities of our cultural, economic and policy environment. While we should learn from other systems, we should also recognize approaches that work in one country may not be as successful in another. Given the Canadian system has proven to be a world-class model of medical liability protection, what are its features?

Striking the right balance

Canada's medical liability system supports improved care by both fostering learning and ensuring adherence to standards. As many patient safety incidents1 occur as a result of system failure, rather than individual failures, healthcare professions, institutions, and individual health providers must learn from unintended outcomes and put in place measures to reduce their occurrence. At the same time, there is a requirement to ensure accountability among the institutions and individuals involved. Within the concept of a just culture of safety,2 these two imperatives are complementary and contribute to safe care and increased public confidence.

In assessing the Canadian medical liability system, five criteria are helpful: contribution to safe medical care, professional accountability, just and fair process, patient compensation, and system affordability.

Contribution to safe medical care

Physicians are committed to delivering care safely. A key element in this commitment is learning from a patient safety incident so that the likelihood of re-occurrence can be reduced. Learning requires a supportive environment in which the quality improvement discussions are protected from any accountability reviews of individuals. Every province and territory in Canada has, through either legislation or regulation, recognized the importance of this protected learning environment. This enables the systems-related "lessons learned" to be communicated through risk management programs, thereby supporting safe care.

Professional accountability

The cornerstone of any self-regulated profession is adherence to established standards of practice and, within the healthcare context, this requires an effective accountability response to patient safety incidents. Such a response not only contributes to safe care, but it also promotes public confidence in the healthcare system. In appropriate circumstances, an examination of individual performance can identify remedial actions to improve that performance. Canada maintains strong accountability frameworks that reinforce standards of care.

Just and fair process

Physicians and their patients both have an expectation of being treated justly and with due regard for fair process. If patients have concerns they have not been afforded care to the standard expected, they have several avenues through which to express such misgivings, including complaining to a hospital or medical regulatory authority. They may also seek compensation through civil litigation. When faced with such complaints, physicians have a right to defend their professional integrity within a system that has clearly specified procedures that are fair and transparent. In Canada, mechanisms are in place to ensure just and fair treatment for all parties.

Compensation to injured patients

Unfortunately, there will be instances where patients have been harmed as a result of care that did not meet the standard. In these circumstances, the patient should have access to compensation and the Canadian system provides that access through civil litigation. If negligence on the part of the institutions or individual healthcare professionals involved has been established, appropriate compensation is provided. For CMPA members, the Association provides compensation on members' behalf.

Affordability

Several countries have experienced a breakdown of their medical liability system, largely due to financial difficulties. One of the main impacts of this breakdown has been a hindering of access to medical care. In contrast, Canada has benefited from an effective medical liability system that supports the delivery of safe care. In an increasingly complex and resource constrained healthcare environment, affordable medical liability protection has never been more important. The CMPA strives to deliver its services in the most cost-effective manner possible, recognizing the imperative for a value-for-money approach that reflects a commitment to the sustainability of the medical liability system. The CMPA is dedicated to working with others to address sustainability challenges, including championing sensible improvements that reduce overall system costs while respecting the interests of all parties.

The CMPA's contribution

The CMPA plays an important role in ensuring, on behalf of our physician members, an effective medical liability system. By providing advice and assistance to our members, we help to ensure they can practise without fear of unwarranted retribution and, when negligent errors have been made, members can practise with the knowledge their patients will be compensated. By collecting only those funds necessary to meet members' expected liabilities, the Association contributes to a cost effective system. Through its risk management and education efforts, the Association contributes to safe care and, by leveraging its understanding of other liability systems, it advocates for system improvements that could further strengthen the Canadian model.

Emerging opportunities

The Canadian medical liability system can and should evolve to respond to the changing needs of Canadians. While the Canadian system performs well, there are opportunities to enhance its fairness and effectiveness. The CMPA is committed to protecting the professional integrity of its members, within a system that respects their interests and those of their patients. The Association will remain engaged with stakeholders and continue to advocate for changes to strengthen and sustain Canada’s medical liability system.

 
 

References

  1. The World Health Organization provides terminology to facilitate the sharing and learning of patient safety information globally, and this terminology is recommended by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute. For clarity and consistency in patient safety discussions, the CMPA now uses these terms:
    • Patient safety incident: An event or circumstance which could have resulted, or did result, in unnecessary harm to a patient.
    • Harmful incident: A patient safety incident that resulted in harm to the patient. Replaces the term “adverse event” and "sentinel event".
    • No harm incident: A patient safety incident which reached a patient but no discernible harm resulted.
    • Near miss: A patient safety incident that did not reach the patient. Replaces “close call.”
    In Québec, the applicable legislation defines the terms “accident” and “incident”. Neither of these terms corresponds exactly to the WHO terminology. An “accident” in Québec means an action or situation where a risk event occurs which has or could have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the user, a personnel member, a professional involved or a third person. The term “incident”, on the other hand, is defined as an action or situation that does not have consequences for the state of health or welfare of a user, a personnel member, a professional involved or a third person, but the outcome of which is unusual and could have had consequences under different circumstances. The term “accident” in Québec legislation would align with the WHO term “harmful incident” whereas the term “incident” would include the WHO terms “no harm incident” and “near miss.”

  2. The CMPA has published a booklet on ensuring a just culture of safety, Learning from adverse events: Fostering a just culture of safety in Canadian hospitals and health care institutions.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Le système canadien de responsabilité médicale et ses rouages

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en juin 2010 / Révisé en mars 2015
P1002-11-F

Pour les médecins, guidés par la règle séculaire de « ne pas nuire », le bien-être du patient est primordial dans la prestation des soins. Toutefois, la médecine n’est pas une profession sans risque et parfois des patients subissent un préjudice imprévu et involontaire. Un système de santé efficace permet de répondre de façon appropriée à de telles circonstances malheureuses, en veillant avant tout à ce que des soins soient prodigués au patient ayant subi un préjudice, puis en examinant ce qui a entraîné un résultat involontaire, et enfin en apportant des améliorations visant à limiter, si possible, la probabilité de récurrences. Un système de responsabilité médicale efficace veille à ce que les établissements de soins et les professionnels de la santé soient tenus responsables de leurs actions de manière équitable, verse une compensation appropriée aux patients reconnus comme ayant subi un préjudice à la suite d’une faute professionnelle, et appuie les améliorations visant la sécurité des soins.

Le système canadien de responsabilité médicale est considéré comme étant l’un des plus efficaces au monde. Son succès repose, en partie, sur le fait qu’il tient compte des particularités de notre milieu culturel, économique et politique. Bien qu’il soit utile de tirer des enseignements des systèmes adoptés ailleurs, nous devons également reconnaître que les approches fonctionnant dans un pays peuvent ne pas nécessairement réussir dans un autre. Quelles sont donc les caractéristiques du modèle canadien de protection en matière de responsabilité médicale, qui s’est mérité une renommée internationale?

Atteinte d’un juste équilibre

Le système de responsabilité médicale du Canada appuie l’amélioration des soins en encourageant l’apprentissage et en veillant au respect des normes. Comme de nombreux incidents liés à la sécurité des patients1 surviennent en raison de défaillances du système et non par la faute d’une personne, les ordres professionnels, les établissements et les professionnels individuels de la santé doivent retenir des leçons des résultats imprévus et mettre en place des mesures visant à réduire leur occurrence. En même temps, il est nécessaire de veiller à ce que les établissements et les particuliers en cause soient responsabilisés. Dans le cadre du concept d’une culture juste en matière de sécurité2, ces deux impératifs sont complémentaires, contribuant à des soins sécuritaires et à l’augmentation de la confiance que le public accorde au système.

Cinq critères se révèlent utiles à l’évaluation du système canadien de responsabilité médicale : la contribution à des soins de santé sécuritaires, la responsabilisation professionnelle, un processus juste et équitable, la compensation des patients et la viabilité financière du système.

Contribution à des soins médicaux sécuritaires

Les médecins s’engagent à prodiguer des soins de façon sécuritaire. Un élément clé de leur engagement est de tirer des leçons des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients afin de réduire la probabilité de leur survenue. Un tel apprentissage exige un milieu encourageant des discussions sur l’amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité, où l’information issue de ces activités sera protégée et ne servira pas dans des évaluations de l’acte médical. Chaque province et territoire au Canada a, soit par ses lois ou ses règlements, reconnu l’importance d’un tel milieu d’apprentissage protégé. Ceci permet, dans le cadre de programmes de gestion des risques, de transmettre les « leçons retenues » à l’égard du système, encourageant ainsi la prestation de soins sécuritaires.

Responsabilisation professionnelle

La pierre angulaire de toute profession auto-réglementée est l’adhérence à des normes d’exercice établies ce qui, dans le contexte des soins de santé, exige une réponse efficace en matière de responsabilisation lorsque survient un incident lié à la sécurité du patient. Une telle réponse contribue non seulement à la prestation de soins sécuritaires, mais permet également de promouvoir la confiance accordée par le public au système de soins de santé. Dans des circonstances appropriées, une évaluation de la conduite individuelle peut servir à déterminer les mesures correctives à prendre. Le Canada possède de solides cadres de responsabilisation qui permettent de consolider les normes de diligence.

Processus juste et équitable

Les médecins et leurs patients s’attendent à un traitement juste et équitable. Si les patients ont l’impression de ne pas avoir reçu des soins conformes aux normes attendues, plusieurs avenues leur sont offertes pour exprimer leurs réserves, y compris celle de déposer une plainte auprès d’un hôpital ou d’un organisme de réglementation des médecins. Ils peuvent également chercher à obtenir une compensation au moyen d’une action en justice au civil. Pour leur part, les médecins qui se trouvent confrontés à de telles plaintes ont le droit de défendre leur intégrité professionnelle au sein d’un système qui a mis en place des processus précis, justes et transparents. Au Canada, il existe des mécanismes pour veiller au traitement juste et équitable de toutes les parties en cause.

Compensation des patients ayant subi un préjudice

Il y aura malheureusement des cas où les patients subiront un préjudice à la suite de soins non conformes aux normes. Dans de telles circonstances, le patient devrait avoir accès à une compensation et le système canadien lui permet d’intenter une action civile pour y accéder. En cas de faute professionnelle prouvée de la part d’un établissement ou d’un professionnel de la santé, une compensation appropriée est alors versée au patient. Pour les membres de l’ACPM, c’est l’Association qui verse la compensation au nom du membre.

Viabilité financière

De nombreux pays ont assisté à l’érosion de leur système de responsabilité médicale, surtout en raison de problèmes financiers. L’un des principaux effets d’une telle érosion est la restriction de l’accès aux soins médicaux. À l’inverse, le Canada jouit d’un système de responsabilité médicale efficace qui appuie la prestation de soins sécuritaires. Dans un milieu de soins de santé de plus en plus complexe où les ressources sont de plus en plus restreintes, une protection abordable en matière de responsabilité médicale est plus importante que jamais. Reconnaissant la nécessité d’une approche d’optimisation des ressources qui reflète un engagement envers la viabilité du système de responsabilité médicale, l’ACPM s’emploie à prodiguer ses services de la façon la plus rentable possible. L’Association reste engagée à travailler avec d’autres organismes afin de relever les défis en matière de viabilité, notamment en préconisant les améliorations pratiques qui réduisent les coûts d’ensemble du système et qui respectent les intérêts de toutes les parties.

Contribution de l’ACPM

L’ACPM joue un rôle important en contribuant, pour le compte des médecins membres, à un système efficace de responsabilité médicale. En offrant des conseils et une assistance, l’Association aide ses membres à exercer sans crainte de rétributions injustifiées, sachant qu’en cas de faute professionnelle de leur part, les patients recevront une compensation. En recueillant uniquement les fonds nécessaires pour assumer les passifs prévus des membres, l’Association contribue à la rentabilité du système. Grâce aux efforts qu’elle déploie en gestion des risques et en éducation, l’ACPM contribue à des soins sécuritaires et, en misant sur sa compréhension des autres systèmes de responsabilité médicale, elle défend les améliorations à apporter au système qui pourraient consolider davantage le modèle canadien.

Nouvelles possibilités

Le système canadien de responsabilité médicale peut et doit évoluer afin de répondre aux besoins changeants des Canadiens. Même si le système canadien fonctionne bien, il existe des occasions d’en améliorer l’équité et l’efficacité. L’ACPM reste engagée à protéger l’intégrité professionnelle de ses membres au sein d’un système de responsabilité médicale qui respecte leurs intérêts et ceux de leurs patients. L’Association poursuivra le dialogue avec ses partenaires et elle continuera de plaider la cause de changements pouvant consolider le système canadien de responsabilité médicale et en assurer la viabilité.




Références

  1. L’expression « incident lié à la sécurité du patient » apparaît également dans cet article. Cette terminologie a été proposée par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) afin de faciliter la communication et l’apprentissage des renseignements sur la sécurité des patients à l’échelle internationale[i] et cette terminologie est recommandé par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients. Pour favoriser la clarté et l’uniformité dans les discussions en matière de sécurité des patients, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) utilise maintenant cette terminologie :

    • Incident lié à la sécurité du patient : un événement ou une circonstance qui aurait pu entraîner ou qui a entraîné un préjudice superflu à un patient.
    • Incident préjudiciable : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui a causé un préjudice au patient. Remplace l’expression « événement indésirable » et « événement sentinelle ».
    • Incident évité de justesse : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui n’a pas atteint le patient.

    Au Québec, les termes « accident » et « incident » sont définis dans la législation en vigueur. Cependant, aucun de ces termes ne correspond parfaitement à la terminologie de l’OMS. En droit québécois, un « accident » désigne une « action ou situation où le risque se réalise et est, ou pourrait être, à l’origine de conséquences sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être de l’usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers ». (Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux). Le terme « incident » quant à lui désigne « une action ou une situation qui n’entraîne pas de conséquence sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être d’un usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers, mais dont le résultat est inhabituel et qui, en d’autres occasions, pourrait entraîner des conséquences ». (Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux)

    Selon l’interprétation de l’ACPM de la législation en vigueur au Québec, le terme « accident » correspondrait à l’expression « incident préjudiciable » de l’OMS tandis que le terme « incident » correspondrait aux expressions « incident sans préjudice » et « incident évité de justesse ».

    [i] Organisation mondiale de la Santé, Conceptual Framework for the International Classification for Patient Safety, Version 1.1, Final Technical Report, janvier 2009.

  2. L’ACPM a récemment publié un livret sur un juste équilibre des pratiques en matière de soins sécuritaires, Leçons à tirer des événements indésirables : Favoriser une culture juste en matière de sécurité dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de santé au Canada.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.