Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Expectations for experts’ reports are changing

Originally published March 2011
W11-002-E

Some provinces and territories have changed or are considering changing their Rules of Procedure (also known as the Rules of Court or the "Rules") for expert witness reports in civil actions. The changes generally address two issues: (1) the perception that some experts are biased, and (2) the need to ensure both experts and lawyers understand the role that experts play in the legal process. The changes are the result of increased scrutiny of the role of the expert witness in civil justice reform projects in Ontario and British Columbia, and in forensic pathology inquiries in other provinces.

Those acting as experts should be aware of the day-to-day implications of three areas that have been the subject of discussion—confirming their duty to the court in their report, timing of the report, and information contained in the report.

Confirming expectations

Physicians who are asked to provide a medico-legal report or to provide evidence in a civil matter should speak in advance with the lawyer who is retaining them. They should confirm what is expected of them and if they will be asked to give opinion evidence at trial.

 

Experts' duty

In several jurisdictions, experts must now confirm in writing that they understand the duty they owe to the court—to give opinion evidence that is fair, objective, non-partisan and within their area of expertise; and to supply the court with additional information or help that is reasonable. Experts in Ontario must additionally acknowledge their duty to the court by signing a form.

These requirements have posed challenges for some treating physicians who are asked to give evidence at trial. While generally not considered expert witnesses, treating physicians may be asked to acknowledge their duty as an expert in writing. This may be the case if they are asked to provide opinion evidence on their diagnosis or prognosis, or if the lawyer intends to qualify them as an expert at trial.

Some treating physicians have voiced the concern that by acknowledging their duty to the court in writing, they may be compromising their duty to the patient. The issue is particularly acute in Ontario, where the form requires that the physician confirm that the duty owed to the court prevails over any obligation to the retaining party, even when that party is the expert's patient. In addition, expert reports in British Columbia must expressly acknowledge that the physician is not an advocate for any party.

Practically speaking, whether an expert acknowledges his or her duty in writing or by signing a form, both confirm that the witness is expected to tell the truth when giving evidence and to not unreasonably advocate for one party or another. Recent cases have highlighted the importance of the judge being satisfied that the expert is sufficiently independent and qualified to give objective evidence that will help the court reach a conclusion.

Timing of the report

The time that lawyers are given to serve an expert's report has changed in some jurisdictions. As a result, experts may be required to produce their reports earlier than was previously the case. Physicians who are authoring a medico-legal report should confirm with the retaining lawyer when it is due.

Information in the report

In some jurisdictions, expert reports must include the instructions given to the expert; a description of factual assumptions; any research that was conducted; a list of every document reviewed; a summary of the range of opinions, where applicable; and the reasons for the expert's opinion within that range. Experts should speak to the retaining lawyer about what information to include.

Disclosing information from the expert's file

Experts may receive a request to disclose all or parts of the file they have compiled on the case. They may be asked for letters from the retaining lawyer stating the facts and issues to consider and, perhaps, for draft reports. Before responding, the expert should first contact the retaining lawyer for advice and direction.

 

Practical implications for experts

Nature of the opinion

With the renewed emphasis on impartiality and independence, physicians should be diligent when asked to act as an expert. Before agreeing, they should clarify with the retaining lawyer precisely what they are being asked to give an opinion on and consider if they are qualified.

Potential or perceived conflicts can affect a physician's ability to act as an expert. For example, before accepting the role, the physician should inform the retaining lawyer if he or she has a personal relationship with a party in the action, either current or past; if he or she has ever treated the plaintiff; or if he or she has been asked by another party to give an opinion on the case. This minimizes time and expense, and surprises later.

Expectations

Physicians also need to understand the type of opinion the retaining lawyer is expecting. Expectations can vary depending on the specific request and the arrangements between the expert and the retaining lawyer. These arrangements can be unique and may dictate how much time experts are expected to spend, how they will be compensated for their time (including an acceptable rate), whether they must meet or discuss preliminary thoughts with the retaining lawyer, the documentation required, etc.

Physicians will also want to discuss if they will be expected to provide information and advice verbally or in writing. If they must write a report, they should talk about the issues it must address and when it is due. Being aware of deadlines minimizes stress, conflict and complications. Once the report is submitted, experts should clarify what further work, if any, may be required, including whether a supplemental or rebuttal report will be needed. Experts should ask if they are likely to be required to testify at trial and what they should do with the materials that they have been provided and that they have generated.

More information on the experts' role

Physicians unfamiliar with the general role of experts should consider reviewing CMPA articles and publications, including the following: "Acting as an expert in medico-legal proceedings," "Preparing medico-legal reports," and A Medical-legal handbook for physicians in Canada. Medical specialty organizations such as the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada also have publications on this topic. Physicians acting as experts should also become familiar with their provincial or territorial regulatory authority's (College's) current statements and policies. Members are encouraged to contact the CMPA if they have a question about their role as an expert.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

L’évolution des attentes relatives aux rapports d’experts

Publié initialement en mars 2011
W11-002-F

Certaines provinces et certains territoires ont modifié ou envisagent de modifier leurs Règles de procédure (aussi appelées les Règles de pratique ou les « Règles ») applicables aux rapports de témoins experts dans les actions au civil. De façon générale, les modifications abordent deux enjeux : (1) la perception que certains experts manquent d'objectivité, et (2) la nécessité de veiller à ce que les experts et les avocats comprennent le rôle que jouent les experts dans une procédure judiciaire. Ces modifications découlent de l'examen de plus en plus minutieux du rôle du témoin expert dans les projets de réforme de la justice civile en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que dans les enquêtes sur la pathologie judiciaire dans d'autres provinces.

Les personnes qui agissent à titre d'experts doivent être conscientes des implications quotidiennes de trois domaines qui ont fait l'objet de discussion – la confirmation, dans le rapport, de leur devoir envers la cour, le délai de production du rapport et les renseignements précisés dans le rapport.

Confirmation des attentes

Tout médecin qui doit fournir un rapport médico-légal ou témoigner dans le cadre d'une affaire au civil devrait discuter au préalable avec l'avocat qui retient ses services. Il devrait confirmer ce qui est attendu de lui et s'il sera appelé à fournir un témoignage d'opinion lors du procès.

 

Devoir des experts

Dans bon nombre de provinces et territoires, l'expert doit désormais certifier par écrit qu'il comprend le devoir qu'il a envers la cour – fournir un témoignage d'opinion qui est juste, objectif et impartial et qui relève de son champ d'expertise; et fournir à la cour toute information ou assistance supplémentaire qui est raisonnable. En Ontario, l'expert doit également reconnaître son devoir envers la cour en signant un formulaire à cet effet.

Ces exigences ont posé des défis à certains médecins traitants appelés à témoigner lors d'un procès. Bien que, de façon générale, les médecins traitants ne sont pas estimés être des témoins experts, il se peut qu'on leur demande de reconnaître par écrit leur devoir à titre d'expert. Cela peut se produire s'ils sont appelés à fournir un témoignage d'opinion relatif à leur diagnostic ou à leur pronostic, ou encore si l'avocat a l'intention de les qualifier d'expert lors du procès.

Certains médecins traitants se sont dits préoccupés par le fait qu'en reconnaissant par écrit leur devoir envers la cour, ils risquent de compromettre leur devoir envers le patient. La question est particulièrement épineuse en Ontario, où le formulaire exige que le médecin certifie que son devoir envers la cour l'emporte sur toute obligation envers la partie qui demande à retenir ses services, même lorsque cette partie est le patient de l'expert. De plus, en Colombie-Britannique, les rapports d'expert doivent reconnaître expressément que le médecin n'est pas le défendeur de l'une ou de l'autre partie.

En termes pratiques, que l'expert reconnaisse son devoir par écrit ou en signant un formulaire, il confirme l'attente selon laquelle il ne dira que la vérité en témoignant et qu'il ne plaidera pas de manière déraisonnable en faveur d'une ou de l'autre partie. De récentes causes ont souligné à quel point il importe que le juge soit satisfait que l'expert est suffisamment autonome et qualifié pour fournir un témoignage objectif qui aidera le tribunal à tirer une conclusion.

Délai de production du rapport

Le délai accordé aux avocats pour signifier un rapport d'expert a changé dans certaines provinces et certains territoires. Par conséquent, il se peut que l'expert doive produire son rapport dans un délai plus serré qu'auparavant. Le médecin qui rédige un rapport médico-légal devrait confirmer l'échéancier auprès de l'avocat qui retient ses services.

Renseignements précisés dans le rapport

Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, les rapports d'experts doivent inclure les instructions données à l'expert; une description des hypothèses factuelles; toute recherche effectuée; une liste de chaque document étudié; un résumé de la gamme d'opinions, s'il y a lieu; et les raisons qui justifient l'opinion de l'expert à l'intérieur de cette gamme. L'expert devrait discuter des renseignements à inclure avec l'avocat qui retient ses services.

Divulgation de renseignements dans le dossier de l'expert

L'expert peut être saisi d'une demande de divulguer, en tout ou en partie, le dossier qu'il a compilé relativement à la cause. Il peut recevoir une demande de produire les lettres de l'avocat qui retient ses services énonçant les faits et les enjeux à prendre en compte et, possiblement, les ébauches de rapports. Avant de donner suite à de telles demandes, l'expert devrait d'abord communiquer avec l'avocat qui retient ses services pour obtenir conseils et orientation.

 

Implications pratiques pour les experts

La nature de l'opinion

En raison de l'importance accrue accordée à l'impartialité et à l'autonomie, les médecins doivent faire preuve de diligence lorsqu'ils sont invités à agir à titre d'expert. Avant d'accepter, ils devraient clarifier auprès de l'avocat qui demande à retenir leurs services exactement ce sur quoi porte l'opinion demandée, puis évaluer s'ils sont qualifiés.

Les conflits, éventuels et perçus, peuvent influer sur la capacité d'un médecin à agir comme expert. Par exemple, avant d'accepter ce rôle, le médecin devrait informer l'avocat qui demande à retenir ses services s'il a ou a déjà eu une relation personnelle avec une des parties impliquées dans l'action; s'il a déjà traité le demandeur; ou s'il a été invité par une autre partie à fournir une opinion relative à la cause. Cela minimise le temps et les frais, ainsi que les surprises éventuelles.

Attentes

Le médecin doit aussi comprendre le genre d'opinion à laquelle s'attend l'avocat qui retient ses services. Les attentes peuvent varier selon la demande et l'entente entre l'expert et l'avocat qui retient ses services. L'entente peut être unique et préciser le temps que l'avocat estime que l'expert devra consacrer à sa tâche, le mode de rémunération (notamment un tarif acceptable), s'il doit ou non rencontrer l'avocat qui retient ses services ou discuter de ses idées préliminaires avec lui, la documentation requise, etc.

Le médecin voudra aussi discuter s'il doit fournir des renseignements et des conseils verbalement ou par écrit. S'il doit rédiger un rapport, il doit discuter des enjeux à aborder et de l'échéancier. Le fait d'être conscient des dates limites minimise le stress, les conflits et les complications. Une fois le rapport soumis, l'expert devrait clarifier le travail supplémentaire, le cas échéant, qui pourrait être requis, notamment la nécessité d'un rapport complémentaire ou d'un rapport en contre-preuve. L'expert devrait demander s'il est probable qu'il devra témoigner en cour et ce qu'il doit faire de la documentation qui lui a été fournie et qu'il a générée.

Renseignements complémentaires sur le rôle de l'expert

Les médecins qui connaissent peu le rôle général de l'expert devraient songer à consulter les articles et les publications de l'ACPM, notamment : « Le travail d'expert dans les causes médico-légales », « La préparation de rapports médico-légau » et le Guide médico-légal à l'intention des médecins pratiquant au Canada. Les organisations de médecins spécialistes telle la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada ont aussi des publications qui traitent de ce sujet. Les médecins qui agissent à titre d'experts devraient aussi prendre connaissance des énoncés et des politiques actuelles de leur organisme provincial ou territorial de réglementation (Collège). Les membres sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour toute question liée à leur rôle à titre d'expert.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.