Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

How effective management of test results improves patient safety

An article for physicians by physicians Originally published June 2011
P1102-3-E

There is growing evidence that effectively managing the results of test and diagnostic imaging reports improves patient safety.

The bottom line

  • Physicians should have an effective system in place for managing follow-up on the results of investigative tests.
  • Physicians ordering diagnostic tests have a duty to communicate the results to the patient and to make reasonable efforts to ensure appropriate follow-up is arranged.
  • Physicians who receive an abnormal report, even incidentally, may have an obligation to appropriately respond to it or to redirect it, even if the patient is no longer, or never was, in their care.
  • Physicians should document their review of tests results and what follow-up action they initiated.
  • When away on vacation or absent for a long period of time, physicians should establish a process for follow-up.


With the advent of technology, diagnostic capabilities have been bolstered. Now there is an opportunity for healthcare providers to achieve corresponding improvements in the management of the results of tests and diagnostic imaging reports.

In today's complex healthcare environment, managing the follow-up to results is difficult. Exchanges of information take place between multiple providers, using a mix of electronic and paper-based processes. As results take different forms and are communicated in different ways, the risk associated with miscommunication or follow-through is always present. The introduction of interdisciplinary care and expanding scopes of practice further compounds this issue. Recognizing that failure to follow-up on investigative results may contribute to poor clinical outcomes for patients and potential medico-legal difficulties for physicians, this article highlights effective strategies to enhance the management of results.

The CMPA reviewed its closed legal and medical regulatory authority (College) complaint case files (2006–2010) where the management of results of tests and diagnostic imaging reports in a doctor's office was alleged to have contributed to a delayed diagnosis. Seventy-six cases were identified of which 43 were College cases and 33 were legal cases. These legal cases have a high rate of settlement on behalf of physicians, hospitals, and laboratories. Family physicians were the group most frequently named in both the legal and College cases. They were distantly followed by physicians practising in general surgery and emergency medicine.

More than 50% of the cases reviewed involved patients with neoplasms. The types of cancer included lung, breast, digestive, cervical, prostate, as well as others. Patients with injuries and fractures were involved in 15% of the cases, and those with diseases of the circulatory system were involved in 7%.

These cases emphasize the importance of having clearly defined procedures and effective systems to follow-up on results.

Issues identified

Failure to follow-up on test results or diagnostic imaging reports was one of the most frequent issues identified in this review. There was either a delay in follow-up, no follow-up, or inadequate processes for follow-up.

The following areas were highlighted in the data and demonstrate where there is a need to improve systems and prevent failures in follow-up:

  • booking tests and investigations that have been recommended by a physician
  • following up on patients who cancel or fail to show up for an appointment
  • following up on investigations that have been completed, but no report has been received
  • date stamping and initialing reports as they are received in the office
  • flagging reports to be reviewed by physicians before they are filed
  • requiring that reports be read completely so all key information is captured
  • flagging abnormal results (i.e. blood tests, X-rays, CT scans) and identifying those patients who require urgent or routine follow-up
  • communicating test results to patients and others such as consultants
  • scanning or placing test results into patient files
  • arranging for continued care when a physician leaves for an extended period (i.e. maternity leave or vacation) or moves

While this review of CMPA cases focuses on managing the results from tests and diagnostic imaging reports in a doctor's office, physicians and their office staff were not the only healthcare providers involved. In many instances, other healthcare professionals, institutions, and facilities played a role. For example, in one case a system tracking issue with both the hospital and the physician's office resulted in a lack of follow-up on the X-ray of a patient with cancer. Hospitals, laboratories, other health professionals and their staff are also responsible for communicating results and facilitating follow-up. Every member of the team is accountable for the care he or she provides.

However, it is confirmed by an established legal precedent and by the policies of a number of Colleges that the ordering physician is responsible for the timely and appropriate follow-up on the results of investigative tests. The courts have determined that when ordering an investigative test, the physician must be satisfied systems are in place, in the office and the laboratory or facility, to reasonably ensure the results are received in a timely manner. The protocol or system must also provide for appropriate steps to be taken to report the results to the patient and to arrange necessary follow-up. The system must flag or allow the review of clinically significant results for a test or other diagnostic study physicians have ordered.

In urgent situations, or when caring for a patient who is at a higher risk of receiving a clinically significant result, it is prudent to follow-up more closely.

It is not uncommon for physicians to receive investigative results ordered by other physicians and other healthcare providers for patients they are no longer actively following or, in some cases, who have not actually been under their care. When physicians receive an abnormal report — whether they ordered it or not — they may have an obligation to respond or redirect it, even if the patient is no longer or never was in their care. In these circumstances, physicians can reduce possible problems in follow-up of clinically significant results and findings by notifying:

  • the ordering physician, the laboratory, or the hospital
  • the current healthcare provider
  • the patient, in extreme cases

Written notification to the laboratory or testing centre involved may decrease the likelihood of future results being misdirected.

While the report to patients is usually the duty of the ordering physician, when he or she is not available the laboratory or facility may be expected to take necessary steps to notify patients in urgent cases.

Strategies to improve follow-up on investigations

The first step in addressing follow-up issues in a physician's office is to map out the flow, sources, and formats of results, and to validate the effectiveness of the management system.

Such an examination will assist physicians in determining how to improve the management of investigative results, which ultimately improves patient care.

When seeking to develop and improve systems, some physician leaders have looked to the airline industry where there is also little room for error and where the consequences of not complying with systems can be disastrous. The following suggestions and methods can be considered in healthcare settings: 1, 2

  • Foster a culture of safety. Make it the responsibility of all office staff to identify and report follow-through issues. Look for weak links in procedures and try to anticipate system failures. Create an environment where comments are welcomed and input encouraged.
  • Standardize and simplify processes and procedures as much as possible. Ensure compliance and knowledge of established procedures. Checklists, flow sheets, and tracking or monitoring systems may be helpful.
  • Consider new technologies with built-in systems such as reminders, alerts, and documentation tools. Recognize that systems are only effective when there is a commitment to using them.
  • Consider prioritizing test results with "urgent," "critical," "action needed," or "pending results." A coding system may heighten awareness and trigger necessary follow-up.
  • Engaging patients in their own care may strengthen follow-up systems. Discussing why an investigative test has been ordered allows patients to recognize its importance to their clinical situation.
  • Avoid using the "no news is good news" approach for dealing with test results and diagnostic imaging reports. Unless the systems used to manage these results are significantly exacting, this practice may not provide enough protection for patients. A number of Colleges have specifically cautioned physicians against using this approach.

Contact the CMPA

Although the CMPA cannot guide members on the choice of a system to manage the results of tests and diagnostic imaging reports, members with questions about the follow-up of investigations can contact the Association for advice. CMPA's medical officers are available to speak with you and provide guidance. You can contact the Association by phoning 1-800-267-6522 or by submitting a medico-legal assistance/web mail form.

1. Lippman, H., Davenport, J., "Sued for misdiagnosis? It could happen to you," Journal of Family Practice (2010) Sept. Vol. 59, no. 9 p. 489
2. California Academy of Family Physicians, "Diagnosing and treating medical errors in family practice," (2002)


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Une gestion efficace des résultats d’examens améliore la sécurité des patients

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins Publié initialement en juin 2011
P1102-3-F

De plus en plus de données probantes révèlent qu'une gestion efficace des résultats d'examens, d'analyses de laboratoire et de rapports d'imagerie diagnostique améliore la sécurité des patients.

En bref

  • Les médecins devraient avoir en place un système efficace pour gérer le suivi des résultats d'investigations.
  • Les médecins qui prescrivent des examens diagnostiques ont l'obligation de communiquer les résultats au patient et de faire des efforts raisonnables pour s'assurer qu'un suivi est effectué.
  • Les médecins qui reçoivent, même fortuitement, un rapport faisant état d'un résultat anormal, peuvent avoir l'obligation d'y répondre de façon appropriée ou d'acheminer le rapport, même si le patient n'est plus, ou n'a jamais été sous leurs soins.
  • Les médecins devraient documenter qu'ils ont pris connaissance des résultats d'examens et préciser les mesures de suivi qui ont été prises.
  • Les médecins qui prennent des congés ou qui s'absentent pendant une période prolongée devraient établir un processus pour assurer le suivi des investigations.


L'essor des nouvelles technologies a renforcé les capacités diagnostiques. Les professionnels de la santé ont maintenant la possibilité d'obtenir des améliorations correspondantes dans la gestion des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoire et des rapports d'imagerie diagnostique.

De nos jours, dans le milieu complexe des soins de santé, il peut être difficile de gérer le suivi des résultats. En effet, les échanges d'information se font entre de multiples professionnels, à l'aide d'une panoplie de processus, sur supports électroniques et papier. Comme les résultats peuvent être transmis sous formes diverses et par plusieurs moyens, les risques associés à une mauvaise communication ou à un manque de suivi sont toujours présents. L'introduction des soins interprofessionnels et l'élargissement des champs d'exercice viennent compliquer davantage cet aspect des soins. Reconnaissant que le manque de suivi des résultats d'investigations peut contribuer à de mauvais résultats cliniques pour les patients et à des problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins, cet article présente des stratégies efficaces pour améliorer la gestion des résultats et des rapports.

L'ACPM a effectué une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux liés à des actions en justice et à des plaintes déposées aux organismes de réglementation (Collèges), dossiers conclus entre 2006 et 2010, où il était allégué que la gestion des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoire et de rapports d'imagerie diagnostique dans un cabinet médical avait contribué à un délai de diagnostic. Soixante-seize dossiers ont été dénombrés, dont 43 étaient des plaintes déposées au Collège et 33 des actions en justice. Un pourcentage élevé de ces actions en justice ont été réglées au nom des médecins, des hôpitaux et des laboratoires. Ce sont les omnipraticiens qui étaient le plus souvent nommés dans les actions en justice tout comme dans les plaintes déposées aux Collèges, puis suivent loin derrière les chirurgiens généraux et les urgentologues.

Plus de 50 % des dossiers analysés portaient sur des patients atteints d'une néoplasie. Il s'agissait, entre autres, de cancers du poumon, du sein, du système digestif, du col et de la prostate. Des patients ayant des blessures et des fractures étaient en cause dans 15 % des dossiers, et d'autres atteints de maladies du système circulatoire étaient en cause dans 7 %.

Ces cas soulignent l'importance d'établir des processus clairement définis et des systèmes éprouvés pour assurer le suivi des résultats.

Problèmes déterminés

Le manquement d'effectuer un suivi des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoire ou des rapports d'imagerie diagnostique était l'un des problèmes les plus fréquents déterminés dans le cadre de cette analyse. Ce manquement se traduisait par un délai dans le suivi, aucun suivi, ou un processus inadéquat pour assurer le suivi.

Les données ont révélé la nécessité d'améliorer les systèmes et de prévenir les manquements en matière de suivi dans les activités suivantes :

  • prise des rendez-vous pour les examens et les investigations prescrites par un médecin
  • suivi auprès des patients ayant annulé un rendez-vous ou ne s'étant pas présentés
  • suivi des investigations effectuées pour lesquelles aucun rapport n'a été reçu
  • indication de la date et apposition des initiales lors de la réception des rapports au cabinet
  • signalisation des rapports devant être évalués par le médecin avant d'être classés
  • demande de lecture complète des rapports pour assurer la saisie de tous les renseignements clés
  • signalisation des résultats anormaux (c.-à-d., analyse de sang, radiographie, tomodensitométrie) et identification des patients nécessitant un suivi urgent ou de routine
  • communication des résultats des investigations aux patients et à d'autres professionnels, comme des consultants
  • numérisation ou classement des résultats d'examens au dossier du patient
  • dispositions pour assurer la continuité des soins lors du déménagement ou de l'absence du médecin pour une période prolongée (congé parental ou vacances).

Bien que cette analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM se soit concentrée sur la gestion des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoire et des rapports d'imagerie diagnostique dans les cabinets médicaux, les médecins et leur personnel n'étaient pas les seules personnes mises en cause. Dans de nombreux cas, d'autres professionnels de la santé ainsi que des établissements de santé ont également été impliqués. Par exemple, dans un cas, le suivi de la radiographie d'un patient atteint du cancer n'a pas été effectué en raison d'un problème avec le système de suivi de l'hôpital et celui du cabinet du médecin. Les hôpitaux, les laboratoires, les autres professionnels de la santé et leur personnel sont également tenus de communiquer les résultats et de faciliter le suivi. Chaque membre de l'équipe est responsable des soins qu'il prodigue.

Un précédent jurisprudentiel établi, ainsi que les politiques de nombreux Collèges, ont confirmé que le médecin qui prescrit une investigation est responsable d'en assurer le suivi approprié et en temps opportun. Les tribunaux ont déterminé qu'un médecin qui demande une investigation doit être confiant qu'il existe des systèmes, tant dans son cabinet que dans le laboratoire ou l'établissement, pour veiller de façon raisonnable à ce que les résultats de l'investigation soient reçus en temps opportun. Le protocole ou le système en place doit également prévoir des mesures appropriées pour que les résultats soient transmis au patient et que le suivi nécessaire soit assuré. Le système doit signaler ou permettre de revoir des résultats cliniques douteux pour des examens ou des études diagnostiques prescrites par un médecin.

Dans des situations urgentes, ou lorsqu'un médecin a pris en charge un patient ayant un risque plus élevé de recevoir un résultat clinique douteux, il est prudent d'effectuer un suivi plus étroit.

Il n'est pas inhabituel qu'un médecin reçoive les résultats d'investigations demandées par un autre médecin ou professionnel de la santé pour un patient qu'il ne voit plus régulièrement ou, parfois même, pour un patient qu'il n'a jamais pris en charge. Lorsqu'un médecin reçoit un rapport faisant état d'un résultat anormal – qu'il ait demandé l'investigation ou non – il peut avoir l'obligation d'y donner suite ou de le transmettre à un tiers, même si le patient n'est plus sous ses soins ou ne l'a jamais été. Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin peut minimiser les risques de problèmes dans le suivi de résultats faisant état d'une anomalie sur le plan clinique en informant :

  • le médecin ayant prescrit l'investigation, le laboratoire ou l'hôpital
  • le professionnel de la santé qui s'occupe du patient
  • le patient, dans des cas extrêmes.

Un avis envoyé par écrit au laboratoire ou au centre d'examens diagnostiques peut réduire la probabilité que les résultats soient mal acheminés dans l'avenir.

Bien que le médecin soit normalement responsable de présenter les résultats du rapport au patient, il se peut, dans certains cas urgents, que le laboratoire ou l'établissement de soins de santé doive prendre les mesures nécessaires pour informer les patients.

Stratégies visant à améliorer le suivi des investigations

La première étape pour régler les problèmes de suivi dans un cabinet médical consiste à établir un diagramme de flux de processus, des sources et des formats des rapports, et de valider l'efficacité du système de gestion.

Une telle analyse aidera les médecins à déterminer comment améliorer la gestion des résultats d'investigations ce qui, en bout de ligne, servira à améliorer les soins aux patients.

Dans le cadre de l'élaboration et de l'amélioration des systèmes, des médecins dirigeants se sont tournés vers l'industrie du transport aérien qui doit aussi composer avec une faible tolérance pour l'erreur, où les conséquences de non conformité aux systèmes peuvent être désastreuses. Les suggestions et les méthodes suivantes peuvent aussi s'appliquer aux milieux des soins de santé : 1, 2

  • Favoriser une culture juste en matière de sécurité. Exiger que tous les membres du personnel du cabinet aient la responsabilité de relever et de signaler les problèmes de suivi des rapports. Déterminer les faiblesses dans les processus et tenter de prévoir les défaillances du système. Créer un milieu où les commentaires sont bien accueillis et les suggestions sont encouragées.
  • Normaliser et simplifier les processus autant que possible. Veiller à ce que les directives soient connues et observées. Il peut être utile d'avoir en place des listes de vérification, des schémas de procédé et des systèmes de repérage ou de contrôle.
  • Envisager le recours à de nouvelles technologies comportant des systèmes intégrés tels que rappels, alertes et outils de documentation. Reconnaître que l'efficacité d'un système dépend de l'engagement envers son utilisation.
  • Prioriser les résultats d'examens en fonction de catégories telles que « urgent », « critique », « suivi requis » ou « résultats attendus ». Un système de codification peut servir à conscientiser le personnel aux priorités et à déclencher le suivi nécessaire.
  • Faire participer les patients à leurs propres soins peut aider à consolider les systèmes de suivi. En effet, une discussion des raisons pour lesquelles une investigation a été demandée permet au patient de reconnaître son importance au plan clinique.
  • Éviter l'approche de « pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles » lorsqu'il est question des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoire et des rapports d'imagerie diagnostique. À moins que les systèmes utilisés pour gérer ces résultats ne soient particulièrement exigeants, cette approche risque de ne pas protéger suffisamment les patients. Plusieurs Collèges ont émis des mises en garde aux médecins concernant cette approche.

Communiquez avec l'ACPM

Bien que l'ACPM ne puisse guider les membres sur le choix d'un système permettant de gérer le suivi des résultats d'examens et d'analyses de laboratoires et des rapports d'imagerie diagnostique, les membres ayant des questions concernant le suivi des investigations peuvent communiquer avec l'Association. Les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM sont à la disposition des membres pour discuter avec eux et pour leur offrir des conseils. Vous pouvez joindre l'Association par téléphone au 1-800-267-6522 ou par voie électronique en soumettant un formulaire de demande d'assistance médico-légale/courriel web, qui se trouve sur le site web de l'ACPM à cmpa-acpm.ca.

1. Lippman H., Davenport J. « Sued for misdiagnosis? It could happen to you ». Journal of Family Practice (2010). Sept; 59(9):489-508.
2. California Academy of Family Physicians. « Diagnosing and treating medical errors in family practice ». San Francisco: The Academy; 2002. 5 p.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.