Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Improving communication between physicians

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published June 2011
P1102-2-E

Communication forms the basis of every relationship, and the basic components of communication — effective speaking and listening, feedback, non-verbal signals, and emotional effect — all pose their own unique challenges. Effective verbal, non-verbal, and written communication can optimize patient outcomes.1

Case example

This case illustrates various communication challenges that can occur between physicians.

At the end of the day, a mother arrived home to find her 14-year-old daughter had a pain in her right eye, nausea, and vomiting. The girl wore contact lenses and glasses, and her family physician had warned that she might encounter problems. Their family physician's office being closed, the mother took the girl to a walk-in clinic. The clinic's family physician took a history and thoroughly examined the eye although she was not able to use a slit lamp as the clinic was not equipped with one. Using fluorescein/cobalt blue she detected a small lesion, at 11 o'clock away from the visual axis. She called the nearest hospital and spoke to the on-call ophthalmologist who told her to send the patient to the emergency department. After faxing the patient's history and physical assessment to the emergency department, the physician checked to ensure the transmission was successful. She told the girl's mother that the ophthalmologist had been contacted and "everything would be taken care of." She documented the visit and the discussion.

At 7:30 p.m., the girl and her mother arrived in the emergency department. The patient's symptoms were unchanged. At 8:30 p.m., the triage nurse examined the patient and wrote the following in her notes: acuity 20/40 in both eyes, Ø glasses. She then put her in a regular exam room as the eye room was occupied. The fax from the clinic physician was not attached to the patient record.

At 10:30 p.m., the emergency physician saw the patient. The mother informed him her daughter had been examined by a family physician at a walk-in clinic. She said the family physician had faxed the girl's history and physical assessment to the emergency department, and they were there to see the eye specialist. The emergency physician, who was tired after working a full shift, commented, "Who do they hire at these walk-in clinics? Can't anyone make a diagnosis?" Before he could complete his examination, he was called away to a trauma case. He returned at 11:00 p.m. Ophthalmoscopic examination with fluorescein showed a small punctuate lesion at 11 o'clock. The abdomen was soft. The emergency physician diagnosed a corneal abrasion and gastroenteritis, and prescribed ophthalmic drops and clear fluids. His discharge instructions, which were not documented, were to see the family physician if there was no improvement.

Four days later, the girl returned to the emergency department with a bad eye infection. She was examined by the ophthalmologist who disparagingly asked why he hadn't seen the patient earlier. The ophthalmologist noted the patient now had 20/400 acuity. He took a culture and arranged for antibiotics. Nine months later the patient required a corneal transplant.

A legal action was started naming the walk-in clinic family physician, the emergency physician, and the hospital. The walk-in clinic family physician was dropped from the suit when it was shown she had undertaken a thorough examination, had verbally contacted the on-call ophthalmologist, had faxed the documentation, and had carefully documented her care in the patient's medical record. The CMPA settled on behalf of the emergency physician with a contribution from the hospital for the failure to produce the fax from the clinic family physician. The fax was later found buried in paper at the back of the emergency department.

 

CMPA's research findings

A review of the CMPA's files found that communication problems led to delays in assessment and diagnosis, failures to identify the most responsible physician, inadequate monitoring of a patient's condition, failures to follow up on investigations, inappropriate treatments, and inappropriate conduct and behaviour. Inadequate communication between physicians occurred most often during patient handovers, diagnostic investigations, and treatment plans.

Communication basics

Regardless of the experience or type of practice, communication between physicians should be clear, comprehensive, and timely.

All physicians should encourage open, respectful, collegial, and professional communication. Active listening, including acknowledging the ideas and emotions of others, is an important communication skill. It is also a good idea to summarize or read back key messages, particularly when there are language barriers or significant differences in communication style.

Handover of care

The transfer of responsibility for some or all aspects of care includes handovers for discharge from care, transitions in care, shift changes, and holidays.

Potential barriers to effective handovers include communication impediments (e.g. hierarchy, language, communication style). When possible, care handovers should be face-to-face and focus on the transfer of key information such as the patient's diagnosis, test results, and treatment plan. Particular care should be paid during end-of-shift, end-of-day, and end-of-week periods when time pressures and fatigue may be greater. Strategies to overcome these barriers include spending time on the patients with the greatest needs, limiting noise and interruptions, using face-to-face verbal updates that allow for questions and read-back, and the use of standardized templates or communication approaches.

High-risk situations

In high-risk situations such as clinical crises, emotional or distressing situations, and conflict, physicians should place particular emphasis on clear, comprehensive, and timely communication.

Structured communication tools can encourage the transfer of information. Physicians should also consider communication techniques to escalate concerns across authority levels or gradients to match the seriousness of the clinical situation2.

Communication between referring physicians and consultants

Poor communication between referring physicians and consultants can lead to disruptions in continuity of care, delayed diagnoses, unnecessary testing, iatrogenic complications, and frustrated physicians and patients.

Challenges to effective referrals and consultations include lack of time; unclear reasons for referral; failure to include key information or investigative reports; patient self-referral; and disrespectful, inadequate, or missing consultation letters. Appropriate communication between referring and consulting physicians can make care safer. Referring physicians should be aware of the core elements of a good referral, including information about the problem; the clinical question to be answered; patient details; and relevant investigations, treatments, and medications. Consulting physicians should provide answers to the specific questions. A management plan, including designation of the most responsible physician for follow-up management of the patient, should also be provided. Using templates for referral letters and consultation reports may enhance communication3.

Given the link between referrals and wait times, members may wish to consult the CMPA publication, Wait times: A medical liability perspective. This resource includes recommendations for referring and consulting physicians regarding medical liability considerations related to treatment wait times4.

Commenting on the care provided by colleagues and other healthcare professionals

A single, thoughtless comment often forms the basis for dissatisfaction and complaints by patients and their families. Physicians should never insult other physicians (or any other healthcare professionals) by using disparaging comments or behaving dismissively.

Intimidation

Feelings of intimidation may stem from fear and a lack of understanding of one's rights and responsibilities. Physicians are not immune to intimidation and it can affect their ability to practise. While patients and family members may be sources of intimidation, most of the calls the CMPA receives about intimidation involve physician-to-physician conflict.

Physicians need to understand the environment in which they are practising, and ensure their own behaviour does not contribute to conflict or intimidation. When feeling intimidated, physicians should remain calm and professional, evaluate the situation to identify what the issues are, and deal with others respectfully.

Talk to the CMPA

If you, as a CMPA member, have specific concerns about intra-professional communication, you should contact the Association for advice. The medical officers will be able to discuss the case with you and provide appropriate guidance. We encourage you to call us at 1-800-267-6522 or submit a medico-legal assistance/web mail form available on our website at cmpa-acpm.ca. You are also encouraged to review previous CMPA publications about effective intra-professional communication (click on the Education link on our website).

1. Frank, J.R., Brien, S., (editors) on behalf of the Safety Competencies Steering Committee of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, The Safety Competencies: Enhancing Patient Safety Across the Health Professions, 2008
2. Ibid.
3. The College of Family Physicians of Canada, The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Guide to Enhancing Referrals and Consultations between Physicians, October 2009
4. The Canadian Medical Protective Association, Wait times: A medical liability perspective, 2007 14pp


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Améliorer la communication entre les médecins

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins Publié initialement en juin 2011
P1102-2-F

La communication est à la base de toute relation et ses composantes fondamentales – des échanges verbaux efficaces et une écoute active, la rétroaction, le langage non verbal et l'expression des émotions – présentent toutes leurs défis respectifs. Une communication efficace, verbale, non-verbale et écrite, peut optimiser les résultats pour les patients1.

Exemple de cas

Ce cas illustre certains défis liés à la communication pouvant survenir entre les médecins.

Une mère arrive chez elle en fin de journée et trouve sa fille de 14 ans souffrante : douleur à l'œil droit, nausées et vomissements. La jeune fille porte des lentilles cornéennes et des lunettes et son omnipraticien l'a prévenue qu'elle pourrait avoir certains problèmes. Le cabinet du médecin étant fermé, la mère amène sa fille à une clinique sans rendez-vous. L'omnipraticienne de la clinique fait l'anamnèse et examine minutieusement l'œil, sans toutefois utiliser une lampe à fente, cet appareil n'étant pas disponible à la clinique. À l'aide de fluorescéine/bleu de cobalt, elle décèle une petite lésion à 11 h de l'axe visuel. Elle téléphone à l'hôpital le plus près et parle à l'ophtalmologiste de garde qui lui dit de faire venir la patiente à l'urgence. Après avoir télécopié l'anamnèse et l'évaluation physique au service des urgences, le médecin vérifie que la transmission des documents est réussie. Elle mentionne à la mère que l'ophtalmologiste a été avisé et «  que l'on prendra soin de sa fille  ». Elle documente la visite et la discussion.

À 19 h 30, la mère et la fille arrivent au service des urgences. Les symptômes de la patiente n'ont pas changé. À 20 h 30, l'infirmière du triage évalue la patiente et rédige les notes suivantes : acuité, 20/40 aux deux yeux, Ø lunettes. Elle l'installe ensuite dans une salle d'examen conventionnelle, la salle d'ophtalmologie étant occupée. La télécopie envoyée par l'omnipraticienne de la clinique n'a pas été jointe au dossier de la patiente.

À 22 h 30, l'urgentologue examine la patiente. La mère l'informe que sa fille a été vue par une omnipraticienne à une clinique sans rendez-vous. Elle précise que cette dernière a télécopié l'anamnèse et l'évaluation physique au service des urgences et que sa fille et elle sont à l'urgence pour consulter un ophtalmologiste. L'urgentologue, fatigué après un long quart de travail, commente en ces termes : «  Qui embauche-t-on dans ces cliniques sans rendez-vous? Quelqu'un est-il capable de poser un diagnostic?  » Avant qu'il ait pu terminer son examen, il est appelé auprès d'un polytraumatisé. Il revient à 23 heures. Après coloration à la fluoroscéine, l'examen ophtalmoscopique révèle une petite lésion ponctuée à 11 h. L'abdomen est souple. L'urgentologue diagnostique une abrasion cornéenne et une gastroentérite; il prescrit des gouttes ophtalmiques et recommande la prise de liquides clairs. Ses instructions à la patiente au moment du congé, non documentées, sont de revoir son médecin de famille si son état ne s'améliore pas.

Quatre jours plus tard, la jeune fille retourne au service des urgences avec une infection oculaire grave. L'ophtalmologiste l'examine et demande de façon désobligeante pourquoi il n'a pas vu la patiente plus tôt. Il note que son acuité visuelle est maintenant de 20/400. Il fait un prélèvement pour culture et prescrit des antibiotiques. Neuf mois plus tard, la patiente doit subir une kératoplastie.

Une action en justice est intentée contre l'omnipraticienne de la clinique sans rendez-vous et contre l'urgentologue et l'hôpital. L'omnipraticienne de la clinique a été libérée de l'action lorsqu'il a été démontré qu'elle avait procédé à un examen minutieux, qu'elle avait communiqué verbalement avec l'ophtalmologiste de garde, qu'elle avait télécopié la documentation et consigné minutieusement les soins administrés dans le dossier médical de la patiente. L'ACPM a versé une compensation au nom de l'urgentologue, et au nom de l'hôpital pour n'avoir pas joint au dossier la télécopie envoyée par l'omnipraticienne de la clinique. On a trouvé le document plus tard enfoui sous une pile de papiers au fond de la salle d'urgence.

 

Résultats des recherches de l'ACPM

Une analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM démontre que les problèmes de communication entraînent des délais dans l'évaluation et le diagnostic, l'omission d'identifier le médecin le plus responsable, la surveillance inadéquate de l'état du patient, les défaillances dans le suivi des investigations, des traitements inadéquats et une conduite ou un comportement inappropriés. Le manque de communication entre les médecins se produit le plus souvent lors du transfert des soins, du suivi des investigations diagnostiques et de l'élaboration des plans de traitement.

Principes de la communication

Sans égard à l'expérience ou au genre de pratique, la communication entre les médecins doit être claire, détaillée et avoir lieu en temps opportun.

Tous les médecins doivent favoriser une communication ouverte, coopérative et professionnelle. L'écoute active, y compris la reconnaissance des idées et des émotions exprimées par les autres, sont des outils de communication importants. En outre, une bonne pratique consiste à résumer ou à relire les messages clés, surtout s'il y a des barrières linguistiques ou des différences importantes dans les styles de communication.

Transfert des soins

Le transfert de responsabilité pour certains aspects des soins ou pour tous les soins comprend les transferts lorsqu'un médecin donne congé à un patient, les transferts lorsqu'un médecin assure la transition dans les soins, ainsi que les transferts de soins lors des changements de quarts de travail et des congés.

Parmi les obstacles susceptibles d'entraver l'efficacité des transferts, notons les entraves à la communication (la hiérarchie, la langue, le style de communication). Dans la mesure du possible, le transfert des soins devrait se faire devant la personne qui prend la relève et l'accent est mis sur l'échange de renseignements clés, entre autres le diagnostic de l'état du patient, les résultats d'analyses et d'examens et le plan de traitement. Il importe d'accorder une attention particulière aux fins de quarts de travail, aux fins de journée, aux fins de semaine lorsque les contraintes de temps et la fatigue sont plus grandes. Voici quelques stratégies visant à contrer ces obstacles : consacrer du temps aux patients dont les besoins sont plus exigeants, limiter le bruit et les interruptions, faire des mises à jour verbales, en personne, permettant les questions et la répétition des énoncés et enfin, l'utilisation de modèles normalisés ou d'approches de communication.

Situations à risque élevé

Dans les situations à risque élevé, par exemple, lors de crises ou de situations émotionnelles ou de détresse, ou de situations conflictuelles, les médecins doivent porter une attention particulière à la clarté et à la précision des communications en temps opportun.

Des outils de communication structurés peuvent faciliter le transfert d'information. Enfin, les médecins peuvent utiliser des techniques de communication pour transmettre leurs préoccupations aux échelons hiérarchiques appropriés à la gravité de la situation clinique2.

Communication entre les médecins traitants et les médecins consultants

Une piètre communication entre les médecins traitants et les médecins consultants peut être la cause d'interruptions dans la continuité des soins, de délais dans l'établissement du diagnostic, de tests inutiles, de complications iatrogènes, et de frustration chez les médecins et les patients.

Les défis liés aux demandes de consultation et aux consultations efficaces sont le manque de temps, l'imprécision des raisons de la demande de consultation, le défaut d'inclure les renseignements clés ou les rapports d'investigation, un patient qui se présente de lui-même, des lettres de consultation irrespectueuses, inadéquates ou manquantes. La communication adéquate entre le médecin traitant et le médecin consultant peut contribuer à des soins plus sécuritaires. Le médecin traitant doit connaître les principaux éléments lui permettant de diriger adéquatement son patient vers un médecin consultant, y compris l'information sur le problème, les questions d'ordre clinique à régler, les détails concernant le patient ainsi que les investigations, les traitements et les médicaments appropriés. Le médecin consultant doit fournir des réponses aux questions spécifiques. Il importe également de fournir un plan de gestion du cas incluant la désignation du médecin le plus responsable pour assurer le suivi et la prise en charge du patient. Des modèles de demandes de consultation et de rapports de consultations peuvent améliorer la communication3.

De toute évidence il y a un lien étroit entre le moment où le patient est dirigé vers le médecin consultant et le temps d'attente. Les membres ont tout intérêt à lire la publication de l'ACPM, Les temps d'attente : perspective de la responsabilité médicale4. Cette ressource renferme des recommandations sur la responsabilité médicale liée aux temps d'attente à l'intention des médecins traitants et des médecins consultants.

Commentaires sur les soins administrés par des collègues et d'autres professionnels de la santé

Un seul commentaire désobligeant peut provoquer de l'insatisfaction et des plaintes de la part des patients et de leurs familles. Les médecins ne doivent jamais insulter des collègues (ou tout autre professionnel de la santé) en faisant des commentaires disgracieux ou en ayant une attitude hautaine.

Intimidation

L'intimidation est un sentiment qui peut découler de la peur et d'une mauvaise compréhension des droits et des responsabilités. Les médecins n'y sont pas immunisés et peuvent, sous son effet, sentir que leur capacité à exercer la médecine est entravée. Les médecins se sentent quelquefois intimidés par leurs patients ou des membres de la famille de leurs patients, mais la majorité des appels liés à l'intimidation reçus à l'ACPM font état de conflits entre médecins.

Les médecins doivent comprendre le milieu au sein duquel ils exercent et veiller à ce que leur propre comportement ne contribue pas au conflit ou à l'intimidation. S'ils se sentent intimidés, les médecins doivent demeurer calmes, conserver une attitude professionnelle, évaluer la situation afin de bien cerner les questions en jeu et agir avec respect à l'égard des autres.

Consultez l'ACPM

À titre de membres de l'ACPM, si vous avez des préoccupations précises concernant la communication interprofessionnelle, demandez un avis à l'Association. Les médecins-conseils sont en mesure de discuter avec vous et de vous fournir l'assistance nécessaire. Nous vous encourageons à téléphoner au numéro 1-800-267-6522 ou à soumettre un formulaire de demande d'assistance médico-légale par courriel disponible sur notre site web à www.cmpa-acpm.ca. Vous êtes priés également de consulter les documents déjà publiés par l'ACPM sur l'efficacité de la communication interprofessionnelle. (Cliquez sur la rubrique Éducation de notre site web).

1. Frank JR et S. Brien, (Corédacteurs) au nom du Comité directeur sur les compétences liées à la sécurité des patients. «  Les compétences liées à la sécurité des patients - L'amélioration de la sécurité des patients dans les professions de la santé  ». Ottawa, (Ontario); Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients; 2008.
2. Ibid.
3. Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. «  Guide pour l'amélioration de l'aiguillage et de la consultation entre les médecins  ». Octobre 2009.
4. L'Association canadienne de protection médicale. «  Les temps d'attente : Perspective de la responsabilité médicale  ». L'Association; 2007. 14 p.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.