Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Infective endocarditis — Still a challenge

Originally published December 2011
P1104-5-E

"Few diseases present greater difficulties in diagnosis than endocarditis, difficulties which, in many cases, are nearly insurmountable." — Sir William Osler, 1885 


There have been major advances since the time of Osler in the diagnosis and treatment of infective endocarditis. Despite these advances, the disease still carries a substantial risk of morbidity and mortality, especially when there is a delay in making this often still elusive diagnosis.

The CMPA's review of medico-legal files related to infective endocarditis provides insights that may improve patient outcomes and help reduce medico-legal risks.

The medico-legal problems reviewed include legal actions, complaints to a medical regulatory authority (College), hospital enquiries, and inquests. During the time period of January 1, 2003 to December 31, 2010, a total of 73 cases (62 closed, 11 open) were identified, of which 51 (70%) are legal actions. Of the outcomes of the 62 closed cases, 39 (63 %) favoured the physicians involved. A settlement was negotiated in 10 (25%) of the legal actions. Family physicians and emergency physicians were named in 80% of the legal actions.

Peer experts — physicians of similar training and working in similar circumstances — were asked to comment on the care provided in these cases. These experts identified four recurring challenges:

  • delay in diagnosis due to non-specific symptoms and a paucity of definitive clinical signs
  • under-appreciation of risk factors
  • underutilization of diagnostic modalities such as microbiology and imaging
  • uncertainty about the current indications for antibiotic prophylaxis prior to invasive procedures

The following case illustrates some of these challenges.

Case example

Shortly after arriving in a new community, a 30-year-old male with a past history of scoliosis and aortic insufficiency (AI) attended his new family physician for a periodic health examination. The patient was noted to be tall and slender with a diastolic murmur consistent with AI. A transthoracic ECHO was ordered which showed "minimal" AI and "trivial" pulmonary insufficiency. There were no comments concerning any anatomic abnormalities of the aortic valve leaflets.

One year later, three weeks after a routine dental cleaning, the patient presented with a three-week history of fevers and chills, myalgias, cough, fatigue, and anorexia. Physical examination was unremarkable, although auscultation of the heart was difficult due to paroxysms of coughing. No temperature measurement was recorded. At the time, the community was in the midst of an Influenza A epidemic. A presumptive diagnosis of a viral illness was made and routine measures were advised.

Two weeks later the patient presented with erythema and pain over his right mid-foot which was attributed to post-viral arthritis. Routine blood work showed a normal hemoglobin and white count, and an ESR of 72. Treatment with a non-steroidal medication (NSAID) was started.

At a follow-up visit two weeks later, the patient's foot had improved but not his constitutional symptoms. Six weeks after that visit, the patient presented with similar symptoms in his left foot, and was again treated with an NSAID. At the next follow-up visit 10 days later, his foot had improved, but he had continuing fever and chills, nausea and intermittent vomiting, myalgias, worsening fatigue, and weight loss.

Three weeks later (15 weeks after the onset of the illness), he presented to an emergency department with a temperature of 38 degrees Celsius, a II/IV diastolic murmur, lower limb petechiae, and a weight loss of 44 pounds. Three out of three blood cultures were positive for Streptococcus viridans, and intravenous antibiotics were started. A transesophageal ECHO showed a bicuspid aortic valve with vegetations. He eventually required a prosthetic aortic valve and long-term anticoagulation. A legal action ensued, naming the family doctor as the sole defendant.

A family physician and an infectious disease specialist were experts for the plaintiff (patient), while two family physicians were retained as experts for the defendant.

Plaintiff's experts

The patient's experts made the following observations:

  • It is unlikely that a routine viral illness will persist for three weeks.
  • It was incumbent on the family physician to auscultate the heart in a quiet environment during the initial and subsequent visits.
  • Risk factors for infective endocarditis include: any prosthetic valve, anatomic valvular abnormalities, congenital heart disease, antecedent bacteremia, history of infectious endocarditis, recent surgical or dental procedures, intravenous drug use, and immunocompromise.
  • On the basis of turbulent flow, the AI was a risk factor for endocarditis even in the absence of documented anatomic abnormality of the aortic valve.
  • The sensitivity of diagnostic imaging is affected by both the choice of imaging modalities and the duration of the illness.
  • The family physician remained "anchored" to his initial diagnosis of a viral illness despite the prolonged duration and severity of symptoms. Other unifying diagnoses should have been considered. Further investigations were indicated to address other possible etiologies such as infection, malignancy, and collagen vascular disorders.
  • The family physician was dissuaded from a diagnosis of endocarditis because the patient had a normal white count.

Defendant's experts

The defendant's experts observed the following:
  • The initial presentation was entirely consistent with a flu-like illness.
  • The differential diagnosis was extensive.
  • To diagnose endocarditis at the initial visit would have been nearly impossible.
  • Blood cultures were not indicated at the initial visit.
  • Isolated aortic regurgitation, in the presence of a normal aortic valve, is not a risk factor for endocarditis.
  • Auscultation of the heart was not necessary given the knowledge of the pre-existent murmur. If auscultation had been performed at the time of the initial visit, it is likely that murmur would not have been significantly changed given the early stage of the disease.
  • In the presence of aortic insufficiency with a presumably normal aortic valve, prophylaxis with antibiotics for a presumed viral illness was not indicated.

Court judgment

In his initial remarks, the judge stated: "the decision not to investigate the possibility of endocarditis cannot be judged by the result, nor from the promontory of hindsight."

However, after further consideration, the judge found the opinions of the plaintiff's experts more persuasive than those of the defendant's experts and concluded that the defendant family physician had not met the standard of care. In his opinion "there was sufficient indicia on top of the patient's history to have alerted a reasonably prudent general practitioner to the need for further investigation," particularly in light of the patient's continued symptomatology. With respect to the physical examination, he concluded that the defendant physician "elected to rely on an incomplete examination of the plaintiff and analysis of his symptoms." On the subject of the defendant's experts he noted that "an air of advocacy found its way into their reports and testimony." From a causation standpoint (i.e. the failure to meet the standard of care resulted in harm), the judge decided that it was probable that the administration of antibiotic therapy 12 weeks earlier would have led to a better outcome, as surgery may have been avoided.

An award was paid by the CMPA to the patient on behalf of the family physician.

Risk management considerations

The following risk management considerations are based on the expert opinions in the analyzed cases:

  • When evaluating a patient with persisting non-specific symptoms suggestive of a febrile illness, it may be appropriate to include endocarditis in the differential diagnosis.
  • Confirm whether the patient has identifiable risks for infective endocarditis.
  • The physical examination should be sufficiently thorough to detect subtle signs of infective endocarditis or other conditions.
  • Consider whether the documentation in the medical record includes a differential diagnosis.
  • Consider ordering appropriate investigations to either include or rule out high-risk diagnoses.
  • Follow up should be vigilant.
  • Referrals may be indicated
  • Consider current recommendations with respect to prophylaxis of infective endocarditis.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L'endocardite infectieuse – un défi constant

Publié initialement en décembre 2011
P1104-5-F

 « Peu de maladies présentent autant de difficultés de diagnostic que l'endocardite, difficultés presque insurmontables dans de nombreux cas. »    Sir William Osler, 1885


De grands progrès ont été réalisés dans le diagnostic et le traitement de l'endocardite depuis l'époque d'Osler. Malgré ces progrès, cette maladie représente toujours un risque important de morbidité et de mortalité, surtout lorsqu'il y a un délai dans l'établissement d'un diagnostic, qui demeure souvent très évasif.

L'analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM liés à une endocardite infectieuse donne un aperçu de solutions pouvant améliorer les résultats chez les patients et réduire les risques médico-légaux.

Les problèmes médico-légaux analysés comprennent les actions en justice, les plaintes déposées auprès d'un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), les enquêtes intrahospitalières et les enquêtes du coroner. Au cours de la période s'échelonnant du 1er janvier 2003 au 31 décembre 2010, un total de 73 cas (62 conclus, 11 en cours) ont été dénombrés, dont 51 (70 %) sont des actions en justice. Dans l'ensemble des 62 dossiers conclus, l'issue était en faveur des médecins en cause dans 39 dossiers (63 %). Un règlement a été négocié dans 10 (25 %) des actions en justice. Des omnipraticiens et des urgentologues ont été nommés dans 80 % des actions en justice.

Des experts – des médecins ayant une formation semblable et travaillant dans des circonstances comparables – ont été invités à présenter leurs opinions sur les soins prodigués dans ces dossiers. Ils ont soulevé quatre problématiques récurrentes :

  • le délai dans le diagnostic en raison de symptômes non spécifiques et d'un manque de signes cliniques bien définis
  • la sous-appréciation des facteurs de risque
  • la sous-utilisation des modalités de diagnostic, telles que la microbiologie et l'imagerie
  • l'incertitude entourant les indications actuelles d'une prophylaxie antibiotique préalable aux interventions effractives.

Le cas suivant illustre certains de ces défis.

Exemple de cas

Peu de temps après son arrivée dans une nouvelle collectivité, un homme de 30 ans ayant des antécédents de scoliose et d'insuffisance aortique se présente chez son nouvel omnipraticien pour un examen de santé périodique. Le médecin documente que le patient est grand et mince, et qu'un souffle diastolique conforme à une insuffisance aortique est décelé. Une échocardiographie transthoracique est effectuée, révélant une insuffisance aortique minime et une insuffisance pulmonaire triviale. Aucun commentaire n'est ajouté concernant des anomalies de la structure anatomique des feuillets de la valve aortique.

Un an plus tard, trois semaines après un nettoyage dentaire régulier, le patient se présente avec de la fièvre et des frissons, de la myalgie, une toux, de la fatigue et de l'anorexie, apparus il y a trois semaines. L'examen physique ne révèle rien d'anormal, bien que l'auscultation cardiaque soit difficile en raison d'une toux paroxystique. Aucune mesure de la température du patient n'est consignée. Au moment de la consultation, une épidémie d'influenza de type A frappe la collectivité. Un diagnostic présumé de maladie virale est établi et le patient reçoit comme conseil de suivre les mesures habituelles.

Deux semaines plus tard, le patient se présente avec un érythème et une douleur sur le dessus du pied droit, à mi-pied, attribués à une arthrite à la suite d'une infection virale. Les analyses sanguines de routine révèlent un taux normal d'hémoglobine et de leucocytes, ainsi qu'une vitesse de sédimentation de 72. Un anti-inflammatoire non stéroïdien (AINS) est prescrit.

Lors d'une visite de suivi deux semaines plus tard, l'état du pied du patient s'est amélioré, ce qui n'est pas le cas de ses symptômes constitutionnels. Six semaines après cette visite, le patient se présente avec des symptômes semblables au pied gauche. Il est à nouveau traité à l'aide d'AINS. Dix jours plus tard, lors de la visite de suivi suivante, son pied s'est amélioré, mais il continue d'avoir de la fièvre et des frissons, de la nausée accompagnée de vomissements intermittents, de la myalgie, une fatigue accrue et une perte de poids.

Trois semaines plus tard (15 semaines après le début de la maladie), le patient se présente à l'urgence avec une fièvre de 38 oC, un souffle diastolique II/IV, des pétéchies aux membres inférieurs et une perte de poids de 44 livres. Trois hémocultures sur trois ont donné des résultats positifs au streptococcus viridans; une antibiothérapie intraveineuse est commencée. Une échocardiographie transœsophagienne révèle des végétations au niveau d'une valve aortique bicuspide. Le patient nécessite éventuellement un remplacement valvulaire aortique avec anticoagulothérapie à long terme. Une action en justice est intentée dans laquelle l'omnipraticien est nommé à titre d'unique défendeur.

Un omnipraticien et un spécialiste des maladies infectieuses ont témoigné à titre d'experts pour le demandeur (patient), et l'expertise de deux omnipraticiens a été retenue pour le défendeur.

Experts du demandeur

Les experts retenus par le patient ont soulevé les observations suivantes :

  • Il est peu probable qu'une maladie virale courante persiste pendant trois semaines.
  • Il incombait à l'omnipraticien de procéder à l'auscultation cardiaque dans un milieu calme lors de la visite initiale du patient et de ses visites subséquentes.
  • Les facteurs de risque de l'endocardite infectieuse comprennent : les prothèses valvulaires, les anomalies de la structure anatomique des valvules, les cardiopathies congénitales, une bactériémie antérieure, des antécédents d'endocardite infectieuse, une intervention chirurgicale ou dentaire récente, l'utilisation de drogues intraveineuses et un patient immuno-supprimé.
  • En raison de la turbulence du flux sanguin, l'insuffisance aortique constituait un facteur de risque d'endocardite, même en l'absence documentée d'anomalies de la structure anatomique de la valvule aortique.
  • La sensibilité de l'imagerie diagnostique est affectée par le choix des modalités d'imagerie et par la durée de la maladie.
  • L'omnipraticien s'est « accroché » à son diagnostic initial de maladie virale, en dépit de  la durée prolongée de la maladie et de la gravité des symptômes. D'autres diagnostics concomitants auraient dû être envisagés. La poursuite des investigations était indiquée pour déterminer d'autres étiologies possibles, telles une infection, une malignité et une collagénose avec manifestations vasculaires.
  • L'omnipraticien a été dissuadé d'établir un diagnostic d'endocardite compte tenu du fait que la formule leucocytaire était normale.

Experts du défendeur

Les experts pour le défendeur ont observé ce qui suit :

  • La présentation initiale était tout à fait conforme à une maladie pseudogrippale.
  • La liste des diagnostics différentiels était longue.
  • Il aurait été presque impossible d'établir un diagnostic d'endocardite lors de la visite initiale.
  • Les hémocultures n'étaient pas indiquées lors de la visite initiale.
  • Une régurgitation aortique isolée, en présence d'une valvule aortique normale, ne représente pas un facteur de risque de l'endocardite.
  • L'auscultation cardiaque n'était pas nécessaire, étant donné que la présence d'un souffle était déjà connue. Si l'auscultation avait été effectuée au moment de la visite initiale, il est probable que le souffle n'ait pas beaucoup changé compte tenu du fait que la maladie était au stade précoce. 
  • En présence d'une insuffisance aortique, lorsque la valvule aortique est probablement normale, il n'est pas indiqué d'avoir recours à une prophylaxie antibiotique pour une maladie virale présumée.

Jugement du tribunal

Dans ses commentaires au début du procès, le juge a indiqué que : « la décision de ne pas investiguer la possibilité d'une endocardite ne peut être évaluée à partir du résultat, ni du haut du promontoire d'une analyse rétrospective ».

Toutefois, après un plus ample examen, le juge a déterminé que les opinions des experts du demandeur étaient plus persuasives que celles des experts du défendeur, et il a conclu que l'omnipraticien du défendeur n'avait pas respecté la norme de pratique. À son avis,
« il y avait suffisamment d'indices en plus de l'anamnèse pour alerter un omnipraticien raisonnablement prudent à la nécessité d'effectuer d'autres examens », particulièrement à la lumière de la sémiologie continue chez le patient. En ce qui concernait l'examen physique, le juge a conclu que le médecin défendeur « avait choisi de se fier à un examen incomplet du patient et à une analyse de ses symptômes ». Le juge a souligné, à l'endroit des experts du défendeur, que « la défense des intérêts s'était immiscée dans leurs rapports et leurs témoignages ». Du point de vue de la causalité (p. ex., le préjudice causé par le manquement à la norme de pratique), le juge a décidé qu'il était probable qu'une antibiothérapie débutée 12 semaines plus tôt aurait donné un meilleur résultat pour le patient, car il aurait peut-être ainsi été possible d'éviter la chirurgie.

Un règlement a été versé au patient par l'ACPM au nom de l'omnipraticien.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques sont fondées sur les opinions des experts à l'égard des dossiers analysés :

  • Lors de l'évaluation d'un patient présentant des symptômes persistants non spécifiques suggérant une maladie fébrile, il peut être approprié d'inclure l'endocardite dans le diagnostic différentiel.
  • Il est nécessaire de confirmer si le patient a des risques identifiables d'endocardite infectieuse.
  • L'examen physique devrait être suffisamment complet pour détecter les signes subtils d'endocardite infectieuse ou toute autre affection.
  • Il est indiqué de vérifier si les notes au dossier médical font état d'un diagnostic différentiel.
  • Il est recommandé de demander des investigations appropriées permettant d'inclure ou d'écarter les diagnostics à risque élevé.
  • Les soins de suivi doivent être vigilants.
  • Il peut être indiqué de diriger le patient vers un spécialiste.

Il est indiqué de tenir compte des recommandations courantes sur les mesures prophylactiques entourant l'endocardite infectieuse.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.