Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Managing the medico-legal risks of placing a central line

Originally published December 2011
P1104-6-E

Central lines are widely and effectively used in clinical medicine. The cannulation of major veins allows physicians to manage and monitor inpatients and outpatients. The ability to place these lines safely crosses many specialties and includes trainees. Complications such as vessel laceration, pneumothorax, neurological injury, atrial perforation, retroperitoneal hematoma, venous thrombosis, and infection are infrequent, but can have serious consequences for patients.

From January 2000 to September 2011, 72 CMPA cases (64 closed, 8 open) involved the placement of a central line. Of the 64 closed cases, 47 (73%) were legal actions or threats of a legal action, and the remaining 17 (27%) were complaints to medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), hospitals, or inquests. In the 47 cases involving a legal action or the threat of a legal action, more than half (27) were dismissed, 18 were settled, and 2 proceeded to court with a judgment in favour of the physician. Of the 17 College or hospital complaints and inquests, 13 were dismissed or not pursued, and 4 resulted in further College action.

The CMPA's analysis reveals the following medico-legal concerns with central line placement: the standard of care, informed consent, delegation, and documentation. The following cases illustrate these themes.

Standard of care concerns

A 77-year-old female developed renal failure secondary to hypertension and was placed on dialysis. An A-V fistula was created in her left arm, but access to the fistula became increasingly difficult. As an interim measure, her nephrologist decided to establish temporary access by placing a hemodialysis catheter in her neck.

After consent was obtained, placement of the line was attempted in a procedure room of a satellite dialysis clinic. After landmarking a middle approach to the right internal jugular vein, a finder needle was used to locate the vein. The introducer needle was then used and a good flashback or return of venous blood was observed. However, resistance was encountered while attempting to thread the guidewire. Two subsequent attempts were unsuccessful, and after the third attempt the guidewire was withdrawn and noted to be kinked. The nephrologist requested a new guidewire and was provided one without a J tip. During the fourth attempt the patient became short of breath and hypotensive. The procedure was terminated and the patient was immediately transferred by ambulance to a nearby emergency department.

During transport the patient suffered cardiac arrest. A right-sided chest tube placed during the arrest drained 2,500 cc of blood. Despite these measures the patient could not be resuscitated. During the autopsy a 3 mm tear of the right brachiocephalic vein was identified. The patient's son filed a complaint with the College and initiated a legal action alleging that the line placement constituted negligence and that no consent discussion had occurred.

The College initiated an investigation and retained a nephrologist as an expert. In her opinion, the vein laceration most likely occurred secondary to forceful attempts to thread the straight guidewire. She concluded that the issue was not that a complication had occurred but that standards outlined in the literature and advised by the Kidney Disease Outcome Quality Initiative were not met. She said the nephrologist's clinical practice, behaviour, and conduct were appropriate, but in future the doctor's approach to line placement needs to include the appropriate use of diagnostic imaging techniques. Consequently, the College issued a verbal caution and mandated that the nephrologist obtain additional training in line placement. For the legal action, expert support was sought for the physician but could not be obtained. The CMPA, on behalf of the nephrologist, paid a settlement to the family.


Informed consent and delegation concerns

A 63-year-old female with a history of multiple myeloma was admitted to hospital for surgical stabilization of a pathological fracture of her left humerus. Post-operatively she developed renal failure requiring hemodialysis.

Before discharge, her nephrologist decided to place a permanent tunnelled dialysis catheter. This task was delegated to an experienced physician, a fellow in nephrology. Prior to the procedure, an explicit consent discussion was documented that included the risk of vessel laceration and pneumothorax.

The right internal jugular was identified under ultrasound guidance. On the first attempt, a free flow of blood was obtained through the introducer needle, and the guidewire was threaded without difficulty. During the introduction of the vein dilator, resistance was encountered at 6 –7 cm. The dilator was withdrawn, but the same difficulty was encountered on the second attempt. Shortly afterwards the patient became hypotensive and bradycardic. Resuscitation was unsuccessful. At autopsy, a large hemothorax was identified secondary to a 1 cm laceration of the superior vena cava, as well as a laceration to the right upper lobe.

A year later the patient's family lodged a complaint with the College against the fellow and the attending nephrologist. The family alleged that the procedure had been performed negligently and without supervision.

Before writing his response, the fellow contacted the CMPA for advice. He responded to the College stating that he sincerely regretted the tragic outcome. He also emphasized that he had carefully performed this procedure and had never previously experienced such a complication. The College reviewed the complaint and obtained an expert opinion with respect to the central line insertion. The College concluded that informed consent had been obtained and that vessel laceration, a rare but recognized complication, does not mean the procedure was performed in a substandard manner. The College also stated that the delegation of this procedure to the fellow was appropriate. The complaint was therefore dismissed.


Standard of care and documentation concerns

A 61-year-old male had surgery for an enterocutaneous fistula. Two weeks later the patient presented with an abscess at the surgical site and a possible recurrence of the fistula.

His surgeon consulted a gastroenterologist with respect to total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The gastroenterologist agreed that TPN was indicated and requested that a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC) be placed by the IV team. The insertion was difficult, but on the third attempt the tip of the catheter was in the distal left subclavian vein as reported by the radiologist. The nurse contacted the gastroenterologist to ensure that this placement was adequate. The gastroenterologist did not personally review the X-ray studies.

TPN was initiated using a full strength 17% dextrose solution. One week later the patient's arm became red and swollen. Over the ensuing four days the swelling progressed and the supraclavicular fossa was noted to be swollen and hard. A duplex scan showed an extensive clot in the superior vena cava and the left brachiocephalic vein. The PICC line was pulled and anticoagulation was initiated. The following day the patient developed progressive numbness and weakness in the left arm. The patient's medical record did not include documentation of these events. A neurologist who was consulted diagnosed a profound brachial plexopathy secondary to soft tissue swelling.

Despite aggressive physiotherapy the weakness of the arm did not improve. Several years later the patient launched a legal action. Experts for both the plaintiff and the defendant thought the brachial plexus injury was caused by edema secondary to thrombosis and possible extravasation of hypertonic TPN fluid. Expert support could not be obtained for the decision to initiate full strength TPN without verifying that the PICC line was in the vena cava. The patient received a settlement, the payment of which was shared by the CMPA on behalf of the gastroenterologist and the hospital.


Lack of documentation concerns

On a Friday evening, a 19-year-old female passenger was involved in a high speed car crash. Her past medical history included transposition of the great vessels surgically corrected with a Mustard procedure.

On arrival in the emergency department, she was alert and had normal vital signs. There was an obvious compound fracture of the right ankle. Attempts at establishing a peripheral intravenous were unsuccessful and an 8.5 French central venous catheter was placed in the right internal jugular vein by the emergency physician. A chest X-ray obtained following the line insertion did not reveal any specific injuries. However, no specific comment was made concerning the line position.

The patient was admitted to the orthopaedic service and underwent surgery the following day. A radiologist reviewed her films 60 hours post-admission and noted that there were no signs of trauma and that a central venous catheter had been placed. The radiologist did not comment on the location of the distal tip of the line. In addition, the radiologist was not provided with any information about the previous cardiac surgery.

Four days after her surgery, the patient became hypotensive and hypoxic. A physical exam revealed the absence of air entry to her left chest. On the suspicion of a pneumothorax, a 14-gauge needle was inserted in the upper left chest, which immediately drained clear fluid. A chest tube was placed which drained 1.5 litres of clear fluid. The attending physician repositioned the central line and consulted thoracic surgery. At thoracotomy, perforations were found in the left atrium and pericardium. These were repaired, however, the patient died later that day.

A subsequent legal action named all the physicians involved. Evidence could not be found to support the actions of the emergency physician and the radiologist. As a result, the patient's family received a settlement. The payment of that settlement was shared by the CMPA (on behalf of the two physicians), the hospital, and the driver's insurer.


Risk management suggestions

The following risk management suggestions are based on the CMPA's analysis of the expert opinions in the cases reviewed:

  • Conduct an informed consent discussion with the patient and document it in the medical record.
  • Determine whether the patient's coagulation status should be assessed.
  • Know the institution's policies on elective central line insertion and the use of imaging.
  • Determine whether there are complicating anatomic features. If difficulties are anticipated in placing the line, consider using diagnostic imaging.
  • Consider whether the procedure should be performed by a colleague who is more experienced with central line insertion.
  • If the procedure is being delegated, be satisfied that the person performing the procedure has the requisite knowledge and skill to safely attempt the insertion.
  • Have adequate resources and assistance available in case of complications.
  • Verify the positioning of the line prior to starting an infusion.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gérer les risques médico-légaux de l'insertion d'un cathéter veineux central

Publié initialement en décembre 2011
P1104-6-F

Les cathéters veineux centraux sont couramment utilisés en médecine clinique et leur efficacité a été prouvée. L'insertion de cathéters dans des veines majeures permet aux médecins de traiter et de surveiller les patients, tant en milieu hospitalier qu'en suivi externe. Des spécialistes ainsi que des résidents dans de nombreux domaines sont appelés à insérer ces cathéters de façon sécuritaire. Certaines complications, quoique peu fréquentes, peuvent avoir de sérieuses conséquences pour les patients. Mentionnons entre autres la lacération d'un vaisseau, le pneumothorax, les lésions neurologiques, la perforation auriculaire, l'hématome rétropéritonéal, la thrombose veineuse et l'infection.

En recensant ses dossiers de janvier 2000 à septembre 2011, l'ACPM a dénombré 72 cas (64 dossiers conclus et 8 encore ouverts) associés à l'installation d'un cathéter central. Des 64 dossiers conclus, 47 (73 %) étaient des poursuites ou des menaces d'actions en justice et les 17 (27 %) restants étaient des plaintes déposées auprès des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), des plaintes intrahospitalières ou des enquêtes. Sur les 47 dossiers où une action en justice ou une menace d'action en justice étaient en cause, plus de la moitié (27) ont été abandonnés, 18 ont été réglés et 2 ont évolué vers un procès dont le jugement a été rendu en faveur du médecin. Parmi les 17 plaintes au Collège, plaintes intrahospitalières ou enquêtes, 13 ont été abandonnées ou non poursuivies et 4 ont donné lieu à d'autres interventions de la part du Collège.

L'analyse de l'ACPM a révélé que l'installation des cathéters veineux centraux soulevait des préoccupations médico-légales par rapport à la norme de pratique, au consentement éclairé, à la délégation et à la documentation. Les cas suivants illustrent ces thèmes.

Norme de pratique

Une femme de 77 ans, atteinte d'une insuffisance rénale secondaire à de l'hypertension, doit recevoir des traitements d'hémodialyse. Une fistule artérioveineuse est créée sur son avant-bras gauche, mais l'accès devient de plus en plus difficile à utiliser. Comme mesure temporaire, le néphrologue décide d'obtenir un accès temporaire en insérant le cathéter d'hémodialyse dans une veine du cou de la patiente.

Après avoir obtenu le consentement de la patiente, on tente de lui installer le cathéter dans une salle de traitement d'une clinique de dialyse satellite. Ayant déterminé une approche médiane sur la veine jugulaire interne droite, on utilise ensuite une aiguille de petit calibre pour repérer la veine. L'aiguille guide est insérée et on observe un bon retour veineux. Cependant, de la résistance est rencontrée lorsque l'on cherche à glisser le guide métallique. Deux autres tentatives sont infructueuses et le troisième essai révèle que le guide métallique est coudé. Le néphrologue demande un nouveau fil guide et on lui en remet un sans extrémité flexible en J. Lors de la quatrième tentative, la patiente devient dyspnéique et hypotensive. L'intervention est interrompue et la patiente est immédiatement transférée en ambulance au service d'urgence le plus près.

Pendant le transfert, la patiente fait un arrêt cardiaque. Un drain thoracique inséré au côté droit pendant l'arrêt cardiaque permet l'écoulement de 2 500 cc de sang. Malgré ces mesures, les manœuvres de réanimation échouent. Lors de l'autopsie, on observe une déchirure de 3 mm de la veine brachiocéphalique droite. Le fils de la patiente dépose une plainte au Collège et intente une poursuite en alléguant qu'une faute professionnelle a été commise lors de l'insertion du cathéter et qu'il n'y a eu aucune discussion relativement au consentement.

Le Collège amorce une investigation et retient l'expertise d'une néphrologue. Selon cette dernière, la lacération veineuse serait probablement survenue à la suite des tentatives forcées d'introduction du guide métallique droit. Elle conclut que le problème n'était pas l'apparition d'une complication, mais plutôt le non-respect des normes de pratique telles que décrites dans la littérature médicale et recommandées par la Kidney Disease Outcome Quality Initiative. Elle a déclaré que la pratique clinique, le comportement et la conduite du néphrologue étaient appropriés, mais qu'il devrait à l'avenir utiliser des techniques d'imagerie diagnostique appropriées lors de l'insertion d'un cathéter veineux central. Par conséquent, le Collège a émis une admonestation verbale au néphrologue et a exigé qu'il suive une formation additionnelle en insertion de cathéters. En ce qui a trait à la poursuite, l'appui des experts envers le médecin n'a pu être obtenu. L'ACPM a donc versé un règlement à la famille au nom du néphrologue.


Consentement éclairé et délégation

Une femme de 63 ans ayant des antécédents de myélomes multiples est hospitalisée pour la stabilisation chirurgicale d'une fracture pathologique de l'humérus gauche. En période postopératoire, elle présente une insuffisance rénale nécessitant un traitement d'hémodialyse.

Avant d'autoriser le congé de la patiente, la néphrologue demande d'installer un cathéter tunnelisé permanent pour la dialyse. Cette tâche a été déléguée à un médecin chevronné, un moniteur clinique en néphrologie. Avant l'intervention, la discussion entourant le consentement explicite, ainsi que l'explication du risque de lacération de vaisseaux et de pneumothorax, ont été documentées.

La veine jugulaire interne droite est repérée sous guidage échographique. À la première tentative, un retour veineux libre est obtenu lors de l'insertion de l'aiguille guide, et le guide métallique est inséré sans difficulté. Lors de l'introduction du dilatateur veineux, une résistance est rencontrée de 6 à 7 cm plus loin. Le dilatateur est retiré, mais la même difficulté persiste lors de la deuxième tentative. Peu de temps après, la patiente présente de l'hypotension et de la bradycardie. Les manœuvres de réanimation échouent. Lors de l'autopsie, on observe un hémothorax important secondaire à une lacération de 1 cm de la veine cave supérieure ainsi qu'une lacération du lobe supérieur droit.

Un an plus tard, la famille de la patiente dépose une plainte au Collège contre le moniteur clinique et la néphrologue traitante. La famille allègue que l'intervention a été exécutée de façon négligente et sans supervision.

Avant de répondre par écrit au Collège, le moniteur clinique a communiqué avec l'ACPM pour obtenir une assistance. Il a ensuite répondu au Collège en disant qu'il regrettait sincèrement le résultat tragique. Il a aussi pris soin de souligner qu'il avait effectué l'intervention soigneusement et qu'il n'avait jamais rencontré une telle complication. Le Collège a examiné la plainte et a obtenu l'avis d'un expert sur l'insertion du cathéter central. Le Collège en est arrivé à la conclusion qu'un consentement éclairé avait été obtenu et que la lacération d'un vaisseau, une complication rare mais connue, ne veut pas dire que le moniteur clinique n'avait pas respecté la norme en exécutant l'intervention. Le Collège a aussi stipulé que la délégation de l'intervention au moniteur clinique était appropriée. La plainte a donc été rejetée.


Norme de pratique et documentation

Un homme de 61 ans subit une intervention chirurgicale en raison d'une fistule entérocutanée. Deux semaines plus tard, le patient présente un abcès au site de la chirurgie et une récidive possible de la fistule.

Le chirurgien consulte alors un gastroentérologue relativement à la nutrition parentérale totale (NPT); ce dernier est d'accord avec le choix de ce traitement et demande qu'un cathéter veineux central soit inséré par voie périphérique par l'équipe chargée des traitements intraveineux. L'insertion du cathéter se fait difficilement, mais à la troisième tentative, l'embout du cathéter est positionné dans la veine sous-clavière gauche distale tel que rapporté par le radiologiste. L'infirmière communique avec le gastroentérologue pour confirmer le bon positionnement du cathéter. Le gastroentérologue ne revoit pas lui-même les clichés radiologiques.

 

La NPT est donc amorcée avec une solution de dextrose 17 % en concentration intégrale. Une semaine plus tard, le bras du patient devient rouge et œdématié. Au cours des quatre jours suivants, on observe que l'œdème se propage jusqu'à la fosse supraclaviculaire, qui est rigide. Une exploration ultrasonographique Doppler révèle un caillot important dans la veine cave supérieure et dans la veine brachiocéphalique gauche. Le cathéter veineux central est enlevé et l'anticoagulothérapie est commencée. Le lendemain, le patient présente un engourdissement progressif et de la faiblesse au bras gauche. Ces complications ne sont pas consignées au dossier médical du patient. Un neurologue consultant diagnostique une plexopathie brachiale profonde secondaire à l'œdème des tissus mous.

Malgré des traitements intenses de physiothérapie, la faiblesse du bras ne s'améliore pas. De nombreuses années plus tard, le patient intente une action en justice. Autant les experts du demandeur que ceux du défendeur ont interprété la lésion au plexus brachial comme ayant été causée par l'œdème secondaire à la thrombose et à une extravasion possible de la solution hypertonique de la NPT. Les experts n'ont pu appuyer la décision d'amorcer une NPT en concentration intégrale sans vérification du positionnement dans la veine cave du cathéter veineux central. L'ACPM a versé un règlement au patient au nom du gastroentérologue et de l'hôpital.


Manque de documentation

Un vendredi en soirée, une jeune femme de 19 ans est victime d'un accident alors que l'automobile dans laquelle elle était passagère roulait à une vitesse élevée. Les antécédents médicaux incluent la transposition complète des gros vaisseaux selon l'intervention de Mustard.

À son arrivée au service d'urgence, elle est alerte et ses signes vitaux sont normaux. On observe une fracture ouverte à la cheville droite. Les tentatives d'installation d'un cathéter veineux périphérique échouent et un cathéter veineux central 8,5 Fr est mis en place dans la veine jugulaire interne droite par l'urgentologue. À la suite de l'insertion du cathéter, une radiographie des poumons ne révèle aucune lésion spécifique. Cependant, aucun commentaire précis n'est fait au sujet du positionnement du cathéter.

La patiente est ensuite admise à l'unité d'orthopédie et elle subit une intervention chirurgicale le lendemain. Entre-temps, un radiologiste passe en revue les clichés radiologiques pris 60 heures après l'admission de la patiente et il note l'absence de signes de traumatisme et l'insertion d'un cathéter veineux central. Le radiologiste n'émet aucun commentaire concernant l'emplacement de l'embout distal du cathéter. De plus, aucune information au sujet d'une chirurgie cardiaque antérieure ne lui est transmise.

Quatre jours après l'intervention chirurgicale, la patiente devient hypotensive et hypoxique. Un examen physique révèle l'absence d'entrée d'air du côté gauche du thorax. Soupçonnant la présence d'un pneumothorax, une aiguille no 14 est insérée dans le quadrant supérieur gauche du thorax et celle-ci draine un liquide clair. Un drain thoracique est ensuite installé, qui permet l'écoulement de 1,5 litre de liquide clair. Le médecin traitant replace le cathéter central et consulte un chirurgien thoracique. Une thoracotomie révèle la présence de perforations à l'oreillette gauche et au péricarde. Malgré les réparations pratiquées, la patiente décède plus tard dans la journée.

Une action en justice s'ensuit nommant tous les médecins impliqués. Aucune preuve n'a pu appuyer les actes de l'urgentologue et du radiologiste. Un règlement a donc été versé à la famille de la patiente. Le paiement de ce règlement a été partagé entre l'ACPM (au nom des deux médecins), l'hôpital et l'assurance du conducteur.


Suggestions en matière de gestion des risques

Les suggestions suivantes en matière de gestion des risques sont fondées sur l'analyse que l'ACPM a effectuée des opinions formulées par les experts dans les dossiers recensés :

  • Tenir une discussion avec le patient afin d'obtenir un consentement éclairé et documenter cette discussion au dossier médical.
  • Déterminer si l'état de coagulation du patient devrait être évalué.
  • Connaître les politiques de l'établissement relativement à l'insertion d'un cathéter central et au recours à l'imagerie.
  • Déterminer s'il y a des structures anatomiques compliquées. Si l'on prévoit des problèmes lors de l'installation du cathéter, envisager d'avoir recours à l'imagerie diagnostique.
  • Déterminer si l'intervention devrait être effectuée par un collègue qui possède plus d'expérience avec l'insertion d'un cathéter central.
  • Si l'intervention est déléguée, veiller à ce que la personne effectuant l'intervention possède les connaissances et les habiletés pour installer le cathéter de façon sécuritaire.
  • Avoir des ressources et une assistance appropriées en cas de complications.
  • Vérifier le positionnement du cathéter avant de commencer la perfusion.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.