Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Strengthening inter-professional communication

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published March 2011
P1101-4-E

Physicians and other health care professionals all agree on the importance of effective communication among the members of a health care team. However, there are many challenges associated with effective inter-professional (between physicians and other health care providers) communication, and these difficulties sometimes lead to unfavourable patient outcomes.

The CMPA's case files reveal inter-professional communication issues are associated with a wide variety of medico-legal problems, including delays in diagnosis, mishaps in surgery, medication adverse events, and failures in monitoring or follow up of patients.

Several key communication themes emerge from the data and highlight the importance of:

  • communicating clearly
  • providing sufficient (adequate) information
  • offering timely information
  • notifying the appropriate health care provider about the patient's condition, including any changes in that condition
  • being polite and respectful
  • responding to other health care professionals
  • reviewing notes from nurses and other health care professionals
  • using specific communication tools, e.g., the surgical safety checklist

Unfortunately, these elements of good communication are sometimes overlooked and this can lead to medico-legal consequences. Physicians can, however, evaluate and improve their inter-professional communication skills and this can benefit patients, reduce risks for physicians and meet the needs of other health care providers.
 

Read more

  • Communication basics: Communication with other health care professionals should be clear, comprehensive and timely. Read more...
  • Collaborative care: More and more physicians are working with other health care professionals to provide care to patients, and this trend highlights the importance of collaborative decision-making. Read more...
  • Structured communication tools: There are a number of communication approaches and tools developed to provide structure and better clarity of communications between providers1. Read more...
  • Communication in the operating room:  Effective communication in the operating room is essential for patient safety. Read more...
  • Working with pharmacists: Physicians communicate with pharmacists on a regular basis, be it with hospital pharmacists, in a community setting or as part of an inter-professional care team. Read more...
  • Nurses' and other health care professionals' notes: While face-to-face, verbal communication is preferable, it is not always possible. Read more...
  • Documentation: In documenting their clinical care, physicians should include the important information communicated to them and its source, along with any actions proposed or taken for the care of the patient. Read more...
  • Written communications: The importance of effective written communications between physicians and other health care professionals cannot be underestimated. Read more...


Talk to the CMPA

If you, as a CMPA member, have specific concerns about inter-professional communication, you should contact the Association for advice. Our medical officers will discuss the facts of the case with you and provide guidance. In these cases, we encourage you to call us at 1 800 267-6522 or submit a medico-legal assistance/web mail form.

You are also encouraged to review previous CMPA publications about effective inter-professional communication (click on the Education link) and to complete the eLearning activity on team communication.

Communication basics

Interactions should be polite and show respect for fellow care providers. Active listening on the part of physicians is a helpful technique, as it focuses attention on the speaker. Clarifying an understanding of each health care team member's role and responsibilities for care and follow-up will benefit everyone.

There may be times when other health care providers find it difficult to speak up and share their opinions about an evolving clinical situation or impending adverse event. They may be afraid to do so because they are not encouraged to share their thoughts and opinions. Physicians should be attentive to this possibility, and welcome and facilitate the provision of input from all health care professionals. 

Communication and collaborative care

To support effective and timely collaboration within and across teams, physicians and other health care providers should use good communication skills and be aware of scopes of practice, roles and responsibilities, and applicable policies and procedures. Common goals, shared mental models and appropriate accountability also help care teams to communicate effectively and build trust.

Structured communication tools

  • SBAR is a technique used to clarify communication, and is often used to support telephone communications. SBAR is an acronym that stands for Situation, Background, Assessment and Recommendation. The health care provider uses these terms to communicate about the patient case or condition, including the recommendation about what action is required and how urgently.
  • A model used in handovers is ANTICipate, an acronym that stands for Administrative Data, New Information (clinical update), Tasks (what needs to be done), Illness and Contingency plan.
  • Another model is SIGNOUT, which stands for Sick or DNR; Identifying data; General hospital course; New events; Overall health status/clinical condition; Upcoming possibilities with plan; and Tasks to complete the plan.
  • DRAW stands for Diagnosis, Recent changes, Anticipated changes and What to watch for.

The use of any of these or other structured communication tools can help to organize and simplify intra- and inter-professional patient care discussions, and all have the potential to improve the clarity of communications and patient safety.

Communication in the operating room

Operating rooms have long histories of provider hierarchies and limited communication, but this is changing. Surgical safety checklists and other initiatives are now used to expand OR teamwork and communication, and to improve culture. Physicians are reminded to use checklists and structured tools to give a voice to all members of the surgical team and to ultimately contribute to the culture of patient safety.

Working with pharmacists

The CMPA has previously recommended the establishment of a procedural framework that clearly defines and describes the collaborative relationship between physicians and pharmacists.

Establishing and maintaining effective communication between physicians and pharmacists is essential since both parties have responsibility to work together with the patient to optimize drug therapy. Physicians may consider establishing a system where pharmacists with whom they have established a collaborative relationship prioritize communication when prescriptions are changed, renewed or initiated without first consulting the physician. This may include specifying that any communication in this regard be in writing and sent within a defined period of time. It is also prudent to clarify in advance the expectations regarding follow up care, and who will typically be responsible for conveying care and information to the patient. Physicians should also consider documenting discussion with the pharmacist and/or the patient regarding treatment decisions in the medical record.

There is also value in establishing effective office or clinic processes that support the timely review of communications received from pharmacists. The use of a system, such as designating a time during which the physician reviews correspondence and other consultations from pharmacists with respect to any changes in patients' medications, should be considered.

Nurses' and other health care professionals' notes

Nurses and other health care professionals are trained to document their observations and their efforts to communicate with physicians, including noting when they have called a physician. Physicians should take care to review the notes of nurses and other health care professionals.

Documentation of communications

For example, this might include notes about a clinical discussion with a supervising or attending nurse; the retention of notes made in a physician's pocket booklet or handheld device; or other forms of communication such as email.

Effective written communications

For example, physicians should provide sufficient documentation to facilitate team members' comprehension of the patient's history, physical findings, diagnosis and rationale for the diagnosis, treatment and care plan. Physicians should also write patient care orders and prescriptions to convey the appropriate degree of urgency. Standardized abbreviations should be used and legibility is important. Physicians should also document the rationale for significant deviations from established processes or guidelines2.

1 The CMPA does not endorse any specific structured communication tool or approach. These are offered as examples of techniques that many patient safety experts consider hold promise to improve communication. Several are being studied to establish their effectiveness.

2 Frank JR, Brien S, (Editors) on behalf of the Safety Competencies Steering Committee. The Safety Competencies: Enhancing Patient Safety Across the Health Professions. Ottawa, ON: Canadian Patient Safety Institute; 2008.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le renforcement de la communication interprofessionnelle

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en mars 2011
P1101-4-F

Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé font consensus sur l'importance d'une communication efficace au sein de l'équipe de santé. Toutefois, de nombreux défis font obstacle à une bonne communication interprofessionnelle (entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé) et ces difficultés peuvent parfois entraîner des résultats défavorables pour les patients.

Les dossiers de l'ACPM révèlent des problèmes médico-légaux de tous ordres liés à des questions de communication interprofessionnelle, notamment, des délais de diagnostic, des accidents lors d'interventions chirurgicales, des événements indésirables liés aux médicaments et des défaillances dans la surveillance ou le suivi des patients.

Plusieurs thèmes clés en communication ressortent des données et soulignent l'importance :

  • de communiquer clairement
  • de fournir des renseignements suffisants (adéquats)
  • d'offrir de l'information au moment opportun
  • d'aviser le professionnel de la santé approprié de l'état du patient et de tout changement chez celui-ci
  • d'être poli et respectueux
  • de tenir compte des autres professionnels de la santé
  • de lire les notes des infirmières et des autres professionnels de la santé
  • d'avoir recours à des outils de communication spécifiques, p. ex. les listes de vérification d'une chirurgie sécuritaire.

Malheureusement, ces éléments d'une bonne communication sont parfois négligés et des conséquences d'ordre médico-légal s'ensuivent. Toutefois, les médecins peuvent évaluer et améliorer leurs compétences en communication interprofessionnelle; les patients en bénéficieront et cela réduira les risques pour les médecins tout en répondant aux besoins des autres professionnels de la santé.

Pour en savoir davantage

  • Les principes de la communication : La communication avec les autres professionnels de la santé doit être claire, complète et elle doit avoir lieu au moment opportun. Lire la suite
  • Les soins interprofessionnels : De plus en plus de médecins travaillent avec d'autres professionnels de la santé pour fournir des soins aux patients et cette tendance souligne l'importance d'une prise de décision commune. Lire la suite
  • Des outils de communication structurée : Des approches et des outils de communication ont été conçus pour établir des structures et favoriser la clarté des communications entre les intervenants.1 Lire la suite
  • La communication dans la salle d'opération : Dans la salle d'opération, une communication efficace est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité des patients. Lire la suite
  • La collaboration avec les pharmaciens : Les médecins communiquent régulièrement avec les pharmaciens, que ce soit en milieu hospitalier, dans la collectivité ou au sein de l'équipe de soins interprofessionnels. Lire la suite
  • Les notes des infirmières et des autres professionnels de la santé : Bien que la communication verbale en face-à-face soit préférable, ce n'est pas toujours possible. Lire la suite
  • La documentation : En consignant au dossier les soins prodigués, les médecins doivent inclure les renseignements importants qui leur sont communiqués, leur source ainsi que toute action proposée ou prise pour soigner les patients. Lire la suite
  • Les communications écrites : On ne peut sous-estimer l'importance de bonnes communications écrites entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé. Lire la suite


Communiquez avec l'ACPM

Si, à titre de membre de l'ACPM, vous avez des questions précises sur la communication interprofessionnelle, communiquez avec l'ACPM. Nos médecins-conseils discuteront avec vous et vous fourniront l'assistance nécessaire. Nous vous encourageons à nous téléphoner au numéro 1 800 267-6522 ou à utiliser le formulaire d'assistance médico-légale/courriel Web que vous trouverez dans notre site Web à cmpa-acpm.ca.

Nous vous suggérons également de consulter les publications de l'ACPM sur la communication interprofessionnelle efficace (cliquez sur le lien Éducation dans notre site Web) et de compléter le module d'apprentissage en ligne : Communication au sein de l'équipe.

Les principes de la communication

Les interactions doivent se dérouler sur un ton poli et respectueux à l'égard des autres professionnels de la santé. D'ailleurs, une écoute active de la part des médecins s'avère une technique efficace, car elle concentre l'attention sur l'interlocuteur. Bien comprendre le rôle et les responsabilités de chacun des membres de l'équipe lors de la prestation des soins et du suivi sera productif pour tous.

Il se peut que certains professionnels de la santé aient de la difficulté à se faire entendre et à faire connaître leur opinion sur une situation clinique qui évolue ou un événement indésirable imminent. Ils ne sont pas à l'aise de le faire parce qu'on ne leur demande pas leur avis. Les médecins doivent donc tenir compte de cette possibilité, et accepter et rechercher les commentaires de tous les professionnels de la santé.

Les soins interprofessionnels

Pour encourager la collaboration efficace et en temps opportun, au sein des équipes et entre elles, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé doivent posséder de bonnes compétences en communication, connaître les champs d'exercice,  les rôles et responsabilités de chacun ainsi que les politiques et procédures en vigueur. Des objectifs communs, des modèles mentaux partagés et une responsabilisation appropriée permettent également de faciliter la communication et de créer un climat de confiance.

Des outils de communication structurée

  • La technique SAER est employée pour clarifier les communications; elle est utilisée souvent pour les conversations téléphoniques. SAER est l'acronyme de Situation, Antécédents, Évaluation et Recommandation. Le professionnel de la santé utilise ces termes pour discuter du cas ou de l'état d'un patient, y compris la recommandation sur l'action à entreprendre et l'urgence de la situation.
  • Modèle utilisé lors des transferts, ANTICipate est l'acronyme de : Administrative Data (données administratives), New information (information nouvelle) (mise à jour clinique), Tasks (tâches) (ce qui doit être fait), Illness (maladie) et Contingency plan (plan d'urgence).
  • Un autre modèle, SIGNOUT, acronyme de Sick ou DNR (malade ou NPR),  Identifying data (données d'identification), General hospital course (évolution clinique du patient pendant son hospitalisation); New events (nouveaux événements de la journée), Overall health status/clinical condition (état de santé actuel/état clinique), Upcoming possibilities with plan (éventualités et plan d'action), et Tasks to complete the plan (tâches en vue de compléter le plan d'action).
  • DRAW est l'acronyme de Diagnosis (diagnostic), Recent changes (changements récents), Anticipated changes (changements prévus) et What to watch for (quoi surveiller).

Le recours à l'une de ces méthodes ou à tout autre outil de communication structurée peut faciliter l'organisation et la simplification des discussions sur les soins intra et interprofessionnels, et toutes ces techniques ont la possibilité d'améliorer la clarté des communications et la sécurité des patients.

La communication dans la salle d'opération

On a longtemps favorisé les hiérarchies entre professionnels de la santé dans les salles d'opération et la communication était réduite au minimum, mais la situation change. On a maintenant recours aux listes de vérification d'une chirurgie sécuritaire et à d'autres initiatives pour encourager le travail d'équipe et la communication en salle d'opération et pour améliorer la culture à cet égard. On rappelle aux médecins d'utiliser des listes de vérification et des outils d'analyse structurée afin de permettre à chacun des membres de l'équipe chirurgicale de s'exprimer et finalement, de contribuer à la culture de la sécurité des patients.

La collaboration avec les pharmaciens

D'ailleurs, l'ACPM a déjà recommandé la mise en œuvre d'une procédure qui définit et décrit clairement les rapports de collaboration entre les médecins et les pharmaciens.

L'établissement et le maintien d'une communication efficace entre les médecins et les pharmaciens sont essentiels, car les deux parties ont la responsabilité de travailler ensemble avec les patients pour maximiser le plan de traitement médicamenteux. Les médecins peuvent envisager l'établissement d'un système dans lequel les pharmaciens qui ont établi un rapport de collaboration favorisent la communication lorsque les ordonnances sont modifiées, renouvelées ou exécutées sans d'abord consulter le médecin. Ce système peut préciser que toute communication dans ce contexte se fasse par écrit et soit envoyée dans un laps de temps précis. Il est souhaitable également de préciser à l'avance les attentes relatives au suivi et de mentionner qui, de façon générale, sera responsable d'expliquer au patient les soins et de fournir les renseignements. De plus, les médecins doivent envisager de consigner dans le dossier médical la discussion avec le pharmacien et (ou) le patient concernant les décisions de traitement.

Enfin, il est valable d'élaborer, en clinique ou en cabinet, des processus efficaces qui incitent à revoir au moment opportun les communications reçues des pharmaciens. À considérer également le recours à un système permettant de réserver un moment où le médecin prend connaissance de la correspondance et autres consultations avec les pharmaciens, en ce qui a trait à tout changement de médication pour le patient.

Les notes des infirmières et des autres professionnels de la santé

Les infirmières et les autres professionnels de la santé ont l'habitude de documenter leurs observations et leurs communications avec les médecins, y compris de noter le moment où ils ont téléphoné. À leur tour, les médecins doivent prendre soin de lire les notes des infirmières et des autres professionnels de la santé.

La documentation

Il peut s'agir entre autres de notes sur une discussion clinique avec une infirmière gestionnaire ou une infirmière soignante; la conservation des notes dans le calepin ou le terminal de poche du médecin; ou toute autre forme de communication comme le courriel.

Les communications écrites

Par exemple, les médecins doivent fournir suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre aux membres de l'équipe de comprendre les antécédents du patient, les résultats de l'examen physique, le diagnostic et sa justification, le traitement et le plan de soins. De plus, les médecins doivent rédiger les ordonnances de traitements et de médicaments des patients de façon à transmettre le niveau d'urgence approprié. Les abréviations normalisées doivent être utilisées et la lisibilité est importante. Enfin, les médecins doivent documenter les dérogations importantes aux processus ou aux lignes directrices établis.2

1 L'ACPM ne recommande pas d'outil ou de méthode de communication structurée en particulier. Ils sont présentés par de nombreux experts en sécurité des patients à titre d'exemples de méthodes qui incitent à améliorer la communication. Plusieurs sont à l'étude afin d'établir leur efficacité.

2 Frank JR, Brien S, (Éditeurs) au nom du Comité directeur sur les compétences liées à la sécurité des patients. Les compétences liées à la sécurité des patients : l'amélioration de la sécurité des patients dans les professions de la santé. Ottawa, ON: Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients; 2008.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.