Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

When a patient asks for another physician on cultural or religious grounds

Originally published December 2011
P1104-1-E

From time to time, a patient may refuse to be treated by a particular physician for cultural or religious reasons. A patient in labour, for example, may refuse to be seen by a male obstetrician.

In these circumstances, physicians may find themselves in a difficult ethical and legal position, including facing an allegation of discrimination, particularly if the patient requires urgent care and no other qualified physician is available.

Allegations of discrimination

Human rights legislation in all Canadian jurisdictions recognizes that individuals have the right to receive equal treatment with respect to goods, services, and facilities without discrimination.

As it is generally accepted that medical treatment is a service, physicians have a duty to provide these services free from discrimination. Similarly, Section 17 of the Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics and Section 23 of Québec's Code of Ethics of Physicians prohibit physicians from discriminating against their patients.

It would therefore amount to discrimination if a physician refused to treat a patient solely on the basis of that patient's age, gender, marital status, medical condition, ethnic origin, physical or mental disability, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, or socio-economic status.

However, discrimination may also be alleged in circumstances where the physician, clinic, or institution refuses or fails to give due respect to the reasonable request of a patient to receive treatment from a specified class of physician. These situations are most likely to arise when the request by the patient is based upon recognized fundamental beliefs of a cultural or religious nature. Allegations of discrimination would be less likely to succeed, however, if the request is simply based upon the personal preference of the patient as, for example, a younger physician.

 

Accommodating requests

To minimize the risk of a complaint, physicians and hospitals should make reasonable efforts to accommodate a patient's request to be treated by another physician.

Procedures should be developed for addressing requests, taking into consideration the resources that are available. Asking the patient the reason for the request and attending to it, at the outset, may allow sufficient time to make appropriate alternative arrangements for care, if necessary. As soon as reasonably possible, physicians should fully document in the patient's medical record all discussions or decisions about care, including decisions made by the patient.

If a patient requires emergency treatment and another physician is not available, the patient should be advised of the need to proceed with the care. If the patient continues to refuse consent to be treated, the physician may consider transferring the patient to another facility. However, the physician must still offer to continue treating the patient until alternative care becomes available.

Some patients may refuse all proposed accommodations or alternative arrangements and simply choose to discharge themselves against medical advice. It would be prudent to adopt or advocate for protocols or procedures to manage these situations. For example, patients may be asked to sign a document acknowledging that they have been advised of the risks of discharge against medical advice and are refusing further medical care. Again, proper documentation of the discussion is most helpful in these circumstances.

Accommodating special requests to the extent possible will minimize the risk of a complaint, but in circumstances where this is not possible, physicians and hospitals can take steps to reduce their medico-legal risk by:

  • making reasonable efforts to accommodate a patient's request, based on cultural or religious grounds, to be treated by another physician
  • fully documenting in the patient's medical record all discussions or decisions about care, including decisions made by the patient
  • developing protocols for managing these situations


 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Lorsqu'un patient demande à changer de médecin pour des motifs culturels ou religieux

Publié initialement en décembre 2011
P1104-1-F

Il peut arriver à l'occasion qu'un patient refuse de se faire examiner par un médecin particulier pour des raisons culturelles ou religieuses. Par exemple, une patiente en travail peut refuser d'être examinée par un obstétricien et demander plutôt à voir une obstétricienne.

Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin peut se trouver dans une position délicate sur le plan déontologique et juridique, et même être confronté à une allégation de discrimination, surtout si la patiente requiert des soins urgents et qu'il n'y a pas d'autre médecin pour le remplacer.

Allégations de discrimination

Chaque province et territoire canadien a promulgué une loi sur les droits de la personne reconnaissant que toute personne a droit, sans discrimination, à un traitement égal en matière de services, de biens ou d'installations.

Comme il est généralement accepté que le traitement médical représente un service, les médecins ont le devoir d'offrir ces services sans discrimination. L'article 17 du Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne et, de façon analogue, l'article 23 du Code de déontologie des médecins au Québec interdisent expressément aux médecins d'exercer toute forme de discrimination à l'encontre de leurs patients.

Par conséquent, toute situation où un médecin refuserait de traiter un patient pour des raisons fondées uniquement sur l'âge, le sexe, l'état matrimonial, l'état médical, l'origine ethnique, l'invalidité physique ou mentale, l'affiliation politique, la race, la croyance, l'orientation sexuelle ou la situation socioéconomique, constituerait de la discrimination envers le patient.

Toutefois, une allégation de discrimination est aussi possible lorsqu'un médecin, une clinique ou un établissement refuse ou omet de tenir compte de la demande raisonnable d'un patient de se faire traiter par un médecin particulier. Ce genre de situation peut le plus probablement survenir lorsque la demande du patient est fondée sur des croyances fondamentales reconnues, de nature culturelle ou religieuse. Par contre, il est moins probable que des allégations de discrimination aient une suite si la demande se fonde simplement sur une préférence personnelle, par exemple, un patient qui voudrait se faire traiter par un médecin plus jeune.

 

Tenir compte des demandes

Afin de minimiser les risques d'une plainte dans de telles circonstances, les médecins et les hôpitaux devraient faire des efforts raisonnables pour répondre aux demandes de patients voulant se faire traiter par un autre médecin.

Des protocoles devraient être élaborés en vue de répondre aux demandes formulées, tout en tenant compte des ressources disponibles. Demander au patient d'expliquer la raison de sa demande, et y donner suite dès le début, peut laisser suffisamment de temps pour prendre au besoin d'autres dispositions appropriées de traitement. Dès qu'il est raisonnablement possible, le médecin devrait consigner de façon complète au dossier du patient toutes les discussions ou décisions concernant les soins, y compris les décisions du patient.

Lorsque le patient requiert des soins urgents et qu'il n'y a pas d'autre médecin, il devrait être informé de la nécessité de procéder avec les soins qui lui sont offerts. Si le patient persiste à refuser de se faire traiter, le médecin peut envisager de le faire transférer dans un autre établissement. Il doit toutefois offrir au patient de le traiter jusqu'à ce que d'autres soins puissent être obtenus.

Certains patients peuvent refuser tous les autres arrangements proposés et choisir de partir contre l'avis du médecin. Il peut donc être prudent d'adopter ou de préconiser l'adoption de protocoles ou de processus sur la façon de gérer de telles situations. Il est possible, par exemple, de demander au patient de reconnaître par écrit qu'il a été informé des risques de prendre congé contre l'avis du médecin et de refuser d'autres soins médicaux. Encore une fois, la consignation appropriée de la discussion se révèle extrêmement utile dans de telles circonstances.

Le fait de tenir compte dans la mesure possible de demandes spéciales peut minimiser le risque d'une plainte. Toutefois, dans les circonstances où cela n'est pas possible, les médecins et les hôpitaux devraient prendre des mesures en vue de réduire leurs risques médico-légaux :

  • en faisant des efforts raisonnables pour respecter la demande d'un patient de se faire traiter par un autre médecin pour des motifs culturels ou religieux
  • en consignant de façon complète au dossier du patient toutes les discussions ou les décisions concernant les soins, y compris les décisions prises par le patient
  • en élaborant des protocoles visant à gérer ce type de situation.


 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.