Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Why good documentation matters

Originally published March 2011 / Revised October 2016
P1101-6-E

While physicians strive to ensure complete and accurate documentation, deficiencies do exist. Inadequate documentation impacts patient care and outcomes, and can compromise a physician’s defence in medical-legal proceedings.

In this article

  • Good documentation and the medical record: As the primary communication tool between physicians and other healthcare providers, the medical record is key to good patient care and is paramount to continuity of care. It is also a legal document that must meet specific legal and regulatory requirements and is vital to a physician’s defence if care is later questioned. Read more...
  • Discharge summaries: Discharge summaries need to be timely, complete and accurate. Read more...
  • Official notes and medical certificates: Official notes, such as for absence from jury duty, should be based on the physician's assessment of the patient. Read more...

Good documentation and the medical record

Good documentation in the medical record is accurate, objective and completed at the time of contact (contemporaneous). This means that complete and correct information is recorded, and the information is factual. Documentation that is contemporaneous is generally viewed as more accurate than recollections made by either physician or patient at a later date.

The physician's thought process is demonstrated through good documentation. The symptoms, physical findings and laboratory results on which a plan of care is based should be identified so that the plan is clear and logical. Good documentation describes what information is given to the patient and the patient's response. This includes notes about informed consent, the patient's questions, the physician's answers, and any information given to the patient about next steps or follow-up. Documentation needs to be legible and only recognized abbreviations should be used.

Inferences and assumptions should be avoided or at least indicated as such. Statements in the medical record should be supported and physicians should indicate when they are unsure. Good notes clearly document the facts of the situation and demonstrate thorough work. Inadequate notes are open to misinterpretation or are simply unhelpful either in providing care to the patient or in demonstrating what took place. Poor charting may be perceived as reflecting less than sufficient attention to detail and risks the conclusion that care was poor.

The importance of good documentation in medical records is a recurring theme in CMPA cases. In addition to supporting patient care, medical records are vital for the defence of physicians in the event that the care they provided is later questioned in a civil action or a complaint to a medical regulatory authority (College). Clinical notes are crucial when the estate of a deceased physician must defend that physician's care in a medical-legal proceeding.

In one CMPA case, the basis of the plaintiff's allegation was that the physician had not provided sufficient information to obtain informed consent prior to undertaking a procedure. The procedure resulted in a complication, which prompted the patient to take legal action against the physician. The CMPA assisted the physician. During his discussions with legal counsel, it was obvious the physician had a clear recollection of the information he had provided to the patient, though he had not documented any of it in the medical record.

The physician died before his evidence could be taken under oath. This meant there was no admissible evidence to refute the plaintiff's claim of lack of informed consent, and it was not possible to obtain support for the physician's care in this case. The physician's family was placed in the unenviable position of having to accept that his actions could not be defended and a settlement had to be made. Compensation was paid by the CMPA on behalf of the physician's estate. This unfortunate outcome might have been prevented had adequate documentation been available.

Documenting telephone and email advice

As in face-to-face visits, physicians providing advice by telephone must ensure consistent and full documentation in the medical record. During or immediately after a telephone conversation with a patient or family member, notes should be made and placed in the patient's medical record.

Physicians who communicate with patients by email should inform patients that the content of their emails in one form or another may be included in their medical record. The physician must consider whether it is desirable to include all patient-centred email verbatim or a summary of relevant clinical information.

Recoverable back-up copies of emails may remain on other computers or in cyberspace. This offers documentation of communication between patient and provider, allowing for more accurate reconstruction of interactions than the recollections of the physician and the patient can provide. Physicians should be aware that poorly constructed or carelessly worded emails may be used as evidence in a future investigation or proceeding when care is being questioned.

Modifying medical records

Modifications to medical records must be made carefully and according to applicable regulations and guidelines, such as those contained in College policies. Corrections or modifications should be made only to the physician's own entries and not to those of other healthcare professionals. Physicians should only make changes to ensure that the medical record is relevant and accurate. Changes should be dated and signed or authenticated electronically. It is important to preserve the original entry, and then to write, sign and date any additions or changes. Questions about making modifications to a medical record can be discussed with a CMPA physician advisor.

Electronic medical records

The need for good documentation extends naturally to electronic medical records. Physicians should use an electronic signature, such as a unique password or identification number, to identify information entered into the electronic record. The electronic signature links the document with the author.

The use of documentation shortcuts can be tempting when using electronic medical records. However, reusing previous documentation (cut and paste) can negatively affect the integrity of the medical record. Physicians do not want to carry forward information that may no longer be accurate or could contradict the patient's current status or situation.

To protect patient confidentiality, physicians should control access to their computer. They should take appropriate measures to close the electronic system when they are not using it. This helps avoid confidentiality breaches and will also prevent others from entering information that will be recorded under the physician's electronic signature.

Retaining medical records

Physicians should check the specific requirements in their province or territory for retaining medical records. While there are clear challenges to retaining records, especially paper-based documents located in physicians' offices, the CMPA recommends retaining records for at least 10 years from the date of the last entry, and for minors, at least 10 years beyond the age of majority. Of course, medical records should be secure and reasonable measures must be taken to protect patients' personal health information.

Legal and regulatory requirements

Medical records are legal documents and carry legal consequences as a result of how they are maintained and used.  Medical records must contain information required by law and by College regulation. Physicians should be familiar with provincial or territorial legislation (including privacy legislation) and College regulations, regardless of whether or not the information is needed for clinical or other purposes, such as teaching or research. Physicians working in hospitals should also consult relevant hospital bylaws.

Nursing notes and other pertinent health care information

Important clinical information is documented by nurses and other healthcare providers who are part of the clinical team. Notes made by other healthcare professionals in the medical record provide information that can contribute to improved patient care. Physicians should review the documentation provided by other healthcare professionals as it may contain valuable information to help manage the patient's condition.

Discharge summaries

A good discharge summary may help prevent patient safety incidents and gives the subsequent treating physician the full medical picture to optimize continuity of patient care. An incomplete discharge summary, or one that arrives too late, leaves everyone at a disadvantage. The subsequent treating physician needs quick access to this useful and potentially life-saving information. When writing a discharge summary, physicians should ask themselves whether it includes all of the information needed to provide uninterrupted care. They should be aware of their hospitals' bylaws on record-keeping and that failure to comply with them could affect privileges and result in medical-legal difficulties.

At a system level, better physician documentation will improve the quality of hospital medical records. This will ensure better quality data is available to clinicians, healthcare planners, researchers, and decision-makers.

Official notes and medical certificates

Physician notes and medical certificates should be factual and objective, containing accurate statements based on current clinical information. They should indicate whether they are based on subjective history provided by the patient. Physicians should obtain the patient's consent prior to providing personal information to a third party and should not disclose more information than is covered by the consent.

For more information

Further information on documentation and medical records can be found on the CMPA website. CMPA members with specific documentation concerns are encouraged to contact the Association for advice from a physician advisor.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

L’importance d’une bonne documentation

Publié initialement en mars 2011/révisé en octobre 2016
P1101-6-F

Bien que les médecins s’efforcent d’assurer une documentation complète et exacte, il existe des lacunes. Une documentation inadéquate influe à la fois sur les soins du patient et sur les résultats, et pourrait compromettre la défense du médecin dans les causes médico-légales.

Vous trouverez dans cet article

  • Une bonne documentation et le dossier médical : Puisqu'il constitue le principal outil de communication entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé, le dossier médical est essentiel à la prestation de bons soins pour les patients et il joue un rôle déterminant dans la continuité des soins. Il est aussi un document juridique qui doit répondre à des exigences légales et réglementaires particulières, et qui jouera un rôle crucial dans la défense du médecin si les soins prodigués sont remis en question. . Lire la suite
  • Sommaires de congé : Les sommaires de congé doivent être complets, exacts et rédigés en temps opportun. Lire la suite
  • Les notes officielles et les certificats médicaux : Les notes officielles, par exemple pour motiver l'absence à la fonction de juré, doivent se fonder sur l'évaluation du patient par le médecin. Lire la suite

Une bonne documentation et le dossier médical

Une bonne documentation au dossier médical est exacte, objective et consignée au moment de la rencontre (contemporaine). Cela signifie que les renseignements consignés sont complets, précis et factuels. De façon générale, une documentation contemporaine est jugée plus fiable qu'un témoignage rétrospectif du médecin ou du patient.

Une bonne documentation témoigne du processus décisionnel du médecin. Les symptômes, les constatations physiques et les résultats des examens de laboratoire sur lesquels repose le plan de soins doivent être identifiés de façon à démontrer que le plan est clair et logique. Une bonne documentation précise les renseignements donnés au patient ainsi que la réaction du patient. Elle comprend des notes sur le consentement éclairé, les questions du patient, les réponses du médecin et tout renseignement transmis au patient en ce qui concerne les prochaines étapes ou le suivi. La documentation doit être lisible et ne contenir que des abréviations reconnues.

Les médecins doivent éviter à tout prix les insinuations ou les suppositions, à moins de les identifier comme telles. Les énoncés dans le dossier médical doivent être corroborés et lorsqu'il y a incertitude, le médecin doit l'indiquer.  

De bonnes notes décrivent clairement les faits de la situation et démontrent un travail consciencieux. Les notes inadéquates, par contre, laissent place à interprétation ou ne sont d'aucune utilité pour traiter le patient ou illustrer les faits. Une mauvaise tenue des dossiers peut être perçue comme le reflet d'un manque de souci du détail et risque de mener à la conclusion que les soins prodigués étaient inadéquats.

L’importance d’une bonne documentation au dossier médical constitue un thème récurrent dans les dossiers de l’ACPM. En plus de soutenir les soins au patient, les dossiers médicaux jouent un rôle crucial dans la défense des médecins si les soins prodigués sont remis en question dans le cadre d’une poursuite civile ou d’une plainte auprès de l’organisation de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Les notes cliniques sont également d’une importance capitale lorsque la succession d’un médecin doit défendre, dans le cadre d’une cause médico-légale, les soins que ce médecin a prodigués.

Dans l’un des dossiers de l’ACPM, le demandeur soutenait que le médecin n'avait pas divulgué suffisamment d'information pour obtenir un consentement éclairé avant de pratiquer un acte médical. L'acte médical a entraîné une complication, ce qui a amené le patient à intenter une poursuite contre le médecin. L'ACPM a prêté assistance au médecin. Les discussions entre le médecin et l'avocat ont révélé que le médecin se rappelait très bien de l'information qu'il avait donnée au patient, et ce, même s'il n'avait rien noté dans le dossier médical.

Le médecin est décédé avant que son témoignage ne puisse être entendu sous serment. En l'absence de toute preuve admissible pour rejeter la réclamation du demandeur relative à l'absence de consentement éclairé, il n'a pas été possible dans ce cas d'obtenir des preuves à l'appui des soins dispensés par le médecin. La famille du médecin s'est retrouvée dans une situation peu enviable, devant se résigner au fait qu'un règlement s'imposait puisqu'elle ne pouvait défendre les actes du médecin. Une compensation a été versée par l'ACPM au nom de la succession. Le maintien d’une documentation adéquate aurait pu prévenir ce résultat malheureux.

La documentation des conseils prodigués par téléphone et par courrier électronique

Comme dans le cas des rencontres en face-à-face, les médecins qui prodiguent des conseils téléphoniques doivent assurer une documentation uniforme et complète dans le dossier médical. Le médecin doit prendre des notes et les insérer dans le dossier médical du patient pendant ou immédiatement après une conversation téléphonique avec un patient ou un membre de la famille.

Les médecins qui communiquent avec les patients par courrier électronique devraient les informer que le contenu de leurs courriels peut être versé à leur dossier médical sous une forme ou une autre. Le médecin doit déterminer s'il est préférable de verser au dossier, in extenso, tous les courriels du patient, ou plutôt un résumé de toute l'information clinique pertinente.

Il peut exister des copies de sauvegarde récupérables des courriels sur d'autres ordinateurs ou dans le cyberespace. La documentation de la communication entre le patient et le médecin permet de reconstituer plus précisément la teneur de leurs échanges que ne le permettrait la mémoire du médecin et du patient. Toutefois, le médecin doit savoir qu'un courriel mal rédigé ou dans lequel il n'a pas bien choisi ses mots peut servir de preuve dans une future investigation ou dans des instances où ses soins sont remis en question.

La modification des dossiers médicaux

Toute modification d'un dossier médical doit être faite avec soin et conformément aux règlements et aux directives applicables, tels que ceux que contiennent les politiques des Collèges. Les corrections ou les modifications ne peuvent être apportées qu'aux notes qu'un médecin a lui-même consignées et non à celles d'autres professionnels de la santé. Les médecins devraient apporter des changements uniquement pour veiller à ce que le dossier médical soit pertinent et exact. Tout changement doit être daté et signé ou authentifié électroniquement. Il est important de préserver la note originale, puis de rédiger, signer et dater tout ajout ou changement. Les médecins peuvent discuter de toute question relative aux modifications à un dossier médical avec un médecin-conseil à l'ACPM.

Dossiers médicaux électroniques

L'importance d'une bonne documentation s'applique naturellement aux dossiers médicaux électroniques. Les médecins devraient utiliser une signature électronique, tel un mot de passe ou un numéro d'identification unique, pour identifier les renseignements consignés dans le dossier électronique. La signature électronique lie le document à l'auteur.

Il peut s'avérer tentant d'avoir recours aux raccourcis en effectuant la documentation dans un dossier médical électronique. Toutefois, le fait de réutiliser une documentation antérieure (couper-coller) peut avoir une incidence négative sur l'intégrité du dossier médical. Les médecins voudront éviter de reporter prospectivement des renseignements qui risquent de ne plus être exacts ou qui peuvent contredire l'état ou la situation actuelle du patient.

Afin de respecter l'obligation de confidentialité envers le patient, les médecins doivent contrôler l'accès à leur ordinateur. Ils doivent prendre les mesures appropriées pour fermer le système électronique lorsqu'ils ne l'utilisent pas. Cela contribue à éviter les bris de confidentialité tout en empêchant d'autres personnes d'ajouter des renseignements qui seraient consignés sous la signature électronique du médecin.

Conservation des dossiers médicaux

Les médecins devraient vérifier les obligations spécifiques dans leur province ou territoire relatives à la conservation des dossiers médicaux. Bien que la conservation des dossiers, notamment les documents papier entreposés dans les cabinets de médecins, présente des défis évidents, l'ACPM recommande de conserver les dossiers pendant au moins 10 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription au dossier ou, dans le cas de mineurs, pendant au moins 10 ans à partir de l'âge de la majorité. Bien sûr, la sécurité des dossiers médicaux doit être assurée et les médecins doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables pour protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients.

Exigences législatives et réglementaires

Les dossiers médicaux constituent des documents juridiques et ils entraînent des conséquences juridiques par suite de la façon dont ils sont maintenus et utilisés. Les dossiers médicaux doivent contenir les renseignements exigés par la loi et la réglementation des Collèges. Les médecins doivent se familiariser avec les lois provinciales ou territoriales et les règlements des Collèges, peu importe si les renseignements sont nécessaires à des fins cliniques ou autres (telles que l’enseignement ou la recherche). Les médecins qui travaillent en milieu hospitalier devraient aussi consulter les règlements administratifs pertinents de l'hôpital.

Les notes des infirmières et autres renseignements pertinents sur les soins de santé

Les infirmières et autres professionnels de la santé faisant partie de l'équipe clinique documentent des renseignements cliniques importants. Les notes formulées par les autres professionnels de la santé dans le dossier médical renferment souvent de l'information qui peut améliorer les soins du patient. Les médecins doivent revoir la documentation fournie par les autres professionnels de la santé puisqu'elle peut contenir de précieux renseignements pouvant contribuer au traitement de l'état du patient.

Sommaires de congé

Un bon sommaire de congé peut contribuer à éviter les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients et il informe le nouveau médecin traitant de la situation médicale dans son ensemble, ce qui optimise la continuité des soins au patient. Un sommaire de congé incomplet, ou qui arrive trop tard, laisse toutes les personnes concernées au dépourvu. Le nouveau médecin traitant doit pouvoir accéder rapidement à ces renseignements utiles qui ont le potentiel de sauver la vie d'un patient. Lorsqu'ils rédigent un sommaire de congé, les médecins doivent se demander s'il contient tous les renseignements voulus pour assurer des soins ininterrompus. Ils doivent connaître les règlements administratifs de leur hôpital en matière de tenue des dossiers et être conscients que la non-conformité peut avoir une incidence sur leurs privilèges et entraîner des difficultés médico-légales.

Au niveau systémique, une meilleure documentation de la part des médecins améliorera la qualité des dossiers médicaux hospitaliers. Cela aura pour effet d'assurer la disponibilité de données de qualité supérieure pour les cliniciens, les planificateurs de soins de santé, les chercheurs et les décideurs.

Les notes officielles et les certificats médicaux

Les notes de médecin et les certificats médicaux doivent être factuels et objectifs, et présenter des énoncés exacts fondés sur les renseignements cliniques actuels. S’ils reposent sur une anamnèse subjective fournie par le patient, cela devrait être indiqué. Le médecin devrait obtenir le consentement du patient avant de divulguer des renseignements personnels à un tiers et éviter de donner plus de renseignements que ne le permet le formulaire de consentement signé par le patient.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

D’autres renseignements sur la documentation et les dossiers médicaux sont accessibles sur le site web de l’ACPM.

Les membres de l'ACPM ayant des préoccupations spécifiques en matière de documentation sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir des conseils auprès d'un médecin-conseil.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.