Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Alternative medicine — What are the medico-legal concerns?

Originally published March 2012
P1201-1-E

As Canadians' access to health information expands, so does their interest in complementary or alternative medicine, including natural health products. The boundary between conventional medicine and complementary and alternative medicine is neither fixed nor absolute. Therapies once considered to be "alternative" may have since evolved and been adopted by conventional medical practice, while others do not have the necessary scientific support and are consequently considered unproven.

A recent survey1 of healthcare consumers confirms that, while Canadians prefer conventional medicine, 1 in 4 use alternative methods at times. Meanwhile, more than two-thirds2 of physicians are regularly asked by patients about natural health products (NHPs).

The response of physicians to complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) is also changing, with gender, age, and culture influencing attitudes to alternative forms of health treatments. A recent survey estimates that 38% of physicians recommend at least some NHPs to their patients.3

Still, there is much debate in the medical community about how best to handle CAM practices, and how to ensure risks and patient safety are properly managed.

What is complementary and alternative medicine?

There is no single definition of what is included within CAM. For most Canadians, CAM is used in conjunction with conventional medicine, rather than an alternative.

CAM most often refers to a group of diverse medical practices and products that fall outside the norms of conventional medical practice. The range of treatments currently considered by most to be CAM can include homeopathy, naturopathy, traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), osteopathy, acupuncture, massage therapy, and reiki.

Given public interest in CAM, many medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) have created guidelines and are providing information about non-conventional practices to help support physicians in their daily practice. The aim is to enhance patient safety by discouraging physicians from prescribing ineffective and unproven therapies (e.g. therapies that are not supported by scientific evidence) or engaging in unprofessional conduct (e.g. conflicts of interest, such as charging inappropriate fees for uninsured services or NHPs).

Some Colleges, for instance in Ontario, define three types of practices that encompass CAM, including physicians who practise conventional medicine, but have patients that pursue CAM; physicians who practise CAM, either as a primary focus or as a complement to conventional medicine; and physicians who form professional affiliations with CAM clinics and therapies.

 

When patients seek alternative medicine

Physicians should respect the autonomy, health goals, and treatment decisions of their patients. Patients have the right to make decisions about their health in accordance with their values and preferences, including the right to pursue complementary or alternative forms of health treatments.

When patients ask about CAM therapies or natural products, physicians should respond in a professional manner and within the limits of their knowledge, skill, and judgment. Often patients may be reluctant to reveal their use of alternative therapies to physicians, but this information could be important to the effectiveness of conventional treatments and in preventing negative interactions and adverse events. A physician may consider asking a patient if they are using CAM therapies, including NHPs. This may be especially important as some symptoms may be related to CAM therapies, and drug interactions can occur with homeopathic (?NHPs) and conventional medications. If the physician does not have the knowledge required to comment on the therapy, including determining the potential for adverse reactions, the physician should let the patient know and make a note of the conversation in the medical record.

While physicians are under no obligation to prescribe complementary and alternative therapy which they feel is not medically indicated or supported by scientific evidence, physicians prescribing, recommending, or providing CAM must do so in accordance with a recognized and accepted standard of practice. Physicians should consult their respective College policies to ensure they are meeting these obligations. Governments may also regulate the use of particular CAM therapies.

Whether providing conventional or alternative medicine, physicians have a general duty to do no harm to their patients. To this end, physicians' professional, ethical, and legal obligations require them to act within the limits of their knowledge and provide care which is within the scope of their clinical practice and supported by current scientific evidence.

 

Providing advice to patients about CAM

Physicians may be asked by their patients for information about complementary practices, including recommending or suggesting NHPs or remedies or a referral to a CAM practitioner.

In these instances, physicians should consider providing information to allow patients to make informed choices. In some cases, it may be appropriate to consider consulting with or referring the patient to others when doing so is in the best interests of the patient and where there is no reason to believe that the patient would be exposed to harm.

If a physician believes that an alternative therapy may in fact be harmful to the patient, it is important that this information be shared with the patient. While providing information to a patient does not mean that a particular therapy is being endorsed or ordered, these conversations should be noted in the patient's medical record.

 

The role of consent

While physicians are increasingly concerned about their liability in the event that patients are harmed by treatment received from CAM, in general the risks associated with such claims are less likely if the physician is not actively involved in the provision of CAM therapies.

When a physician refers a patient to a complementary or alternative therapist, orders the therapy, approves the requested therapy, recommends a certain complementary therapy, or provides information to the patient about the benefits, effects, and risks of the therapy, the physician may be held accountable. However, each independent practitioner will be held responsible for the care he or she provides. For example, it is unlikely that the referring physician will be held responsible for the negligence of the CAM practitioner.

Consent is an important aspect of integrating complementary and conventional medicine. Physicians who authorize or recommend CAM therapies should obtain informed consent from the patient. The consent discussion and rationale for making the recommendation should be noted in the medical record. Whether a physician recommends or offers a complementary or conventional therapy, the same standards apply regarding taking a history, conducting an appropriate examination, rendering a reasonable diagnosis where possible, outlining the risks and benefits of available and scientifically supported treatments for the specific condition, documenting thoroughly, referring if needed, and obtaining appropriate consent.

 

Affiliations with CAM practitioners

Some CAM therapies are in the process of being integrated into the mainstream. Many medical clinics, for example, now offer massage therapy or chiropractic services. Some hospitals have created clinics or divisions for integrative medicine to study, monitor, and recommend practices that are not typically considered conventional, but might complement rather than replace conventional medicine.

Some physicians may consider forming an affiliation with a CAM clinic or therapy. Patients might view such an affiliation as an endorsement or recommendation of the safety or effectiveness of the CAM practice. Before forming a professional affiliation, the physician should consider if the practice is based on scientific evidence and whether or not the practice entails more risk than a conventional intervention or therapy. There should be a reasonable expectation that the CAM therapy will be clinically effective.

Physicians working in hospitals or health centres where CAM therapies and practitioners are available may consider referrals if policies which clearly define roles, responsibilities, and accountabilities within the healthcare team are in place. For example, a policy may specify that the ultimate decision to proceed with a CAM therapy will be made solely by the patient, taking into account the informed consent discussion with the complementary therapy provider and any comments made by the healthcare team. The policy should be clear that accountability rests with the individual providing a CAM therapy.

The clinic or hospital may require the patient or substitute decision maker to sign a waiver absolving the hospital or clinic of any liability. These waivers should include physicians and members of the medical staff.

CMPA assistance

While CMPA assistance is always discretionary and decided on a case-by-case basis, generally a member would be eligible for assistance when the member is engaged in medical professional work.

The bottom line

Considerations with respect to CAM and natural health products include the following:

  • Physicians considering using or recommending CAM to their patients should know how alternative medicine is governed in the jurisdiction in which they practise, including reviewing any applicable guidelines or policies issued by their College.
  • When discussing alternative treatments with patients, physicians should document this discussion in the patient medical record.
  • Physician-patient communication is important when considering alternative medicine. Physicians should encourage their patients to inform them if they are using complementary or alternative medicine or natural health products.
  • Physicians are under no obligation to offer complementary or alternative therapies, although it may be helpful to have reliable information on CAM products and therapies most likely to be the source of inquiries from their patients.

When in doubt, members should call the CMPA for advice or guidance. The CMPA's experienced medical officers are an excellent resource for members.



  1. Deloitte Center for Health Solutions, "2011 Survey of Health Care Consumers in Canada – Key Findings, Strategic Implications."
  2. Medical Post, May 18, 2011. "38% of doctors now suggest natural health products: survey."
  3. Ibid.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les médecines complémentaires et parallèles — Quels sont les enjeux médico-légaux?

Publié initialement en mars 2012
P1201-1-F

Alors que l'accès à l'information sur la santé augmente chez les Canadiens, l'intérêt de ces derniers pour les médecines complémentaires et parallèles (MCP), y compris pour les produits de santé naturels, s'accroît aussi. La délimitation entre la médecine conventionnelle et les thérapies complémentaires et parallèles n'est ni fixe ni absolue. En effet, certaines thérapies jadis estimées parallèles ont évolué et ont été adoptées au sein de l'exercice de la médecine conventionnelle, alors que d'autres, qui ne jouissent pas du soutien scientifique nécessaire, sont considérées non prouvées.

Un récent sondage1 mené auprès de consommateurs de soins de santé confirme que, bien que les Canadiens préfèrent la médecine conventionnelle, 1 personne sur 4 a recours à des méthodes complémentaires et parallèles à l'occasion. Par ailleurs, plus des deux-tiers2 des médecins se font régulièrement poser des questions par leurs patients au sujet des produits de santé naturels. La réaction des médecins aux thérapies complémentaires et parallèles évolue elle aussi en fonction du sexe, de l'âge et des attitudes culturelles. Un récent sondage estime à 38 % le nombre de médecins qui recommandent certains produits de santé naturels à leurs patients3.

Néanmoins, les débats au sein de la communauté médicale se multiplient quant à la meilleure façon d'aborder les pratiques de MCP et aux moyens de veiller à ce que les risques et la sécurité des patients soient gérés de façon appropriée.

Qu'est-ce que les médecines complémentaires et parallèles?

Il n'existe pas de définition unique de ce qu'englobe les MCP. La plupart des Canadiens ont recours à des approches complémentaires et parallèles conjointement avec la médecine conventionnelle et non à titre de solution de rechange.

Les MCP désignent le plus souvent un ensemble de pratiques médicales et de produits médicaux variés en marge des normes de l'exercice de la médecine conventionnelle. La gamme des traitements actuellement considérés complémentaires et parallèles par la plupart des gens peut inclure l'homéopathie, la naturopathie, la médecine chinoise traditionnelle, l'ostéopathie, l'acupuncture, la massothérapie et le Reiki.

Compte tenu de l'intérêt public pour les MCP, de nombreux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont élaboré des directives et offrent de l'information au sujet de ces approches en vue d'appuyer les médecins dans leur pratique. L'objectif consiste à rehausser la sécurité des patients en décourageant l'ordonnance, par des médecins, de thérapies inefficaces et non prouvées (p. ex., les thérapies non appuyées par des données scientifiques), ainsi que l'inconduite professionnelle (p. ex., les conflits d'intérêts, telle la facturation d'honoraires inappropriés pour des services non assurés ou des produits de santé naturels).

Certains Collèges, en Ontario par exemple, définissent trois genres de pratiques englobant les MCP : les médecins exerçant la médecine conventionnelle dont certains patients ont aussi recours aux MCP; les médecins exerçant la MCP à titre d'activité principale ou complémentaire à la médecine conventionnelle; et les médecins ayant des affiliations professionnelles avec des cliniques et des thérapies complémentaires et parallèles.

 

Lorsqu'un patient s'intéresse aux médecines complémentaires et parallèles

Les médecins doivent respecter l'autonomie, les objectifs de santé et les décisions de leurs patients en matière de traitement. Les patients ont le droit de prendre des décisions liées à leur santé en fonction de leurs valeurs et de leurs préférences, y compris le droit de choisir des approches complémentaires ou parallèles.

Lorsqu'un patient pose des questions au sujet de MCP ou de produits naturels, le médecin devrait répondre de manière professionnelle et dans les limites de ses connaissances, de ses compétences et de son jugement. Souvent, les patients hésitent à révéler à leur médecin qu'ils ont également recours aux MCP. Or, cette information peut être importante pour assurer l'efficacité de traitements conventionnels et pour prévenir les interactions médicamenteuses négatives et les événements indésirables. Le médecin peut demander au patient s'il utilise des MCP, notamment des produits de santé naturels. Cela peut s'avérer particulièrement important puisque certains symptômes peuvent être liés aux MCP et que des interactions médicamenteuses entre les remèdes homéopathiques (ou autres produits de santé naturels) et les médicaments conventionnels peuvent se produire. Si le médecin n'a pas les connaissances voulues pour formuler des commentaires au sujet d'une thérapie, notamment pour évaluer la possibilité d'effets indésirables, il devrait en informer le patient et documenter la conversation au dossier médical.

Bien que les médecins n'aient aucune obligation de prescrire une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle qui, de leur avis, n'est pas indiquée sur le plan médical ou appuyée par des données scientifiques, ceux qui prescrivent, recommandent ou prodiguent des services de MCP doivent le faire conformément à une norme de pratique reconnue et acceptée. Les médecins devraient consulter les politiques de leur Collège respectif pour s'assurer qu'ils respectent ces obligations. Les pouvoirs publics peuvent aussi réglementer l'emploi de thérapies particulières de MCP.

Qu'ils exercent la médecine conventionnelle, complémentaire ou parallèle, les médecins ont une obligation générale de ne pas nuire à leurs patients. À cette fin, les obligations professionnelles, déontologiques et juridiques des médecins exigent d'eux qu'ils agissent dans les limites de leurs connaissances et qu'ils prodiguent des soins relevant de leur champ d'exercice qui sont appuyés par des données scientifiques contemporaines. Donner aux patients des conseils liés à la médecine complémentaire et parallèle Un patient peut demander à son médecin de l'information au sujet des MCP, y compris une recommandation ou une suggestion de produits de santé naturels ou de remèdes, ou encore une recommandation en vue de la consultation d'un praticien de MCP.

Dans de telles situations, le médecin devrait fournir des renseignements permettant au patient de faire des choix éclairés. Dans certains cas, il peut être approprié de consulter des tiers ou de diriger le patient vers un autre praticien lorsque cela est dans l'intérêt du patient et qu'il n'y a aucune raison de croire que ce dernier sera exposé à un préjudice. Si le médecin est d'avis qu'une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle pourrait être préjudiciable pour le patient, il est important d'en faire part à ce dernier. Bien que le fait de donner de l'information à un patient ne signifie pas qu'une thérapie en particulier a été recommandée ou prescrite, de telles conversations devraient être consignées au dossier médical du patient.

 

Le rôle du consentement

Les médecins sont de plus en plus préoccupés par leur responsabilité civile dans l'éventualité qu'un patient subisse un préjudice causé par un traitement relevant de MCP. Or, de façon générale, les risques associés à de telles réclamations sont moins probables si le médecin ne participe pas activement à la prestation de thérapies de MCP.

Lorsqu'un médecin dirige un patient vers un praticien de MCP, prescrit une thérapie, approuve la thérapie demandée, recommande une thérapie ou donne au patient de l'information au sujet des avantages, des effets et des risques d'une telle thérapie, il peut être tenu responsable. Toutefois, chaque praticien sera considéré responsable des soins qu'il prodigue. À titre d'exemple, il est peu probable que le médecin traitant soit tenu responsable de la faute professionnelle ou de la négligence d'un praticien de MCP.

Le consentement est une composante importante de l'intégration des médecines conventionnelle, complémentaires et parallèles. Les médecins qui autorisent ou qui recommandent des thérapies complémentaires et parallèles doivent obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient. La discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement et la justification de la recommandation devraient être documentées au dossier médical. Que le médecin recommande ou qu'il offre une thérapie conventionnelle ou une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle, les mêmes normes s'appliquent en ce qui concerne les tâches suivantes : obtenir une anamnèse, effectuer un examen approprié, poser un diagnostic raisonnable dans la mesure du possible, préciser les risques et les avantages des traitements scientifiquement validés et offerts pour la maladie en question, assurer une documentation complète, diriger le patient en consultation au besoin et obtenir un consentement approprié.

 

Affiliations avec des praticiens de MCP

Certaines thérapies de MCP sont en voie d'être intégrées à la médecine conventionnelle. À titre d'exemple, de nombreuses cliniques médicales offrent désormais la massothérapie ou des services de chiropratique. Certains hôpitaux ont créé des cliniques ou des services de médecine intégrative en vue d'étudier, de surveiller et de recommander des pratiques qui ne sont généralement pas considérées conventionnelles, mais qui pourraient compléter, plutôt que remplacer, la médecine conventionnelle.

Certains médecins peuvent envisager de créer une affiliation avec une clinique ou une thérapie de MCP. Les patients peuvent percevoir une telle affiliation à titre d'acceptation ou de recommandation relative à la sécurité ou à l'efficacité de la thérapie de MCP. Avant de créer une affiliation professionnelle, le médecin devrait se demander si la pratique se fonde sur des données scientifiques et si elle comporte davantage de risques qu'une intervention ou une thérapie conventionnelle. Il devrait exister une attente raisonnable que la thérapie de MCP sera efficace sur le plan clinique.

Les médecins travaillant en milieu hospitalier ou dans des centres de santé où exercent aussi des praticiens de MCP peuvent envisager de diriger des patients vers ces autres professionnels si des politiques définissant clairement les rôles, les responsabilités et la responsabilisation au sein de l'équipe de soins sont en place. À titre d'exemple, une politique peut stipuler que la décision finale de procéder à une thérapie de MCP revient uniquement au patient, en tenant compte de la discussion liée au consentement éclairé avec le praticien de MCP et de tout commentaire formulé par l'équipe de soins. Toutefois, la politique devrait stipuler clairement que la responsabilité revient à la personne qui fournit la thérapie de MCP.

La clinique ou l'hôpital peut exiger que le patient ou la personne chargée d'accorder un consentement subrogatoire signe un formulaire de renonciation libérant l'hôpital ou la clinique de toute responsabilité. Ces renonciations devraient inclure les médecins et les membres du personnel médical.

Assistance de l'ACPM

Bien que l'assistance de l'ACPM soit toujours discrétionnaire et décidée au cas par cas, un membre serait généralement admissible à l'assistance lorsqu'il pose un acte médical.

En bref

Quelques considérations relatives aux MCP et aux produits de santé naturels :

  • Les médecins qui envisagent d'utiliser ou de recommander une thérapie de MCP à leurs patients devraient savoir comment la MCP est régie dans la province ou le territoire où ils exercent, notamment en passant en revue toute directive ou politique applicable émise par leur Collège.
  • Lorsqu'ils discutent de traitements de MCP avec leurs patients, les médecins devraient documenter la discussion au dossier médical du patient.
  • La communication médecin-patient est importante lorsqu'un traitement de MCP est envisagé. Les médecins devraient encourager leurs patients à les informer s'ils ont recours à des MCP ou à des produits de santé naturels.
  • Les médecins n'ont aucune obligation d'offrir des thérapies complémentaires ou parallèles, quoiqu'il puisse être utile de disposer de renseignements fiables sur les produits et les thérapies les plus susceptibles de faire l'objet de questions de leurs patients.

En cas de doute, les membres devraient téléphoner à l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils. Les médecins-conseils chevronnés de l'ACPM constituent une excellente ressource pour les membres.

 


  1. Centre Deloitte pour solutions en matière de santé, « Sondage de 2011 des consommateurs de soins de santé au Canada – Principales conclusions et incidences stratégiques ».
  2. Medical Post, le 18 mai 2011. « 38% of doctors now suggest natural health products: survey ».
  3. Ibid.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.