Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Diagnostic delays in pediatrics

Originally published December 2012
P1205-6-E

Delays in diagnosis may result from the variable progression of pathophysiology, unusual presentations of diseases, failures in the processes of care, or issues with the performance of physicians or other providers.

Failure to diagnose is one of the most frequent allegations in legal actions against physicians in Canada. An analysis of CMPA medico-legal pediatric cases that closed between 2007 and 2011 identified 179 with issues in clinical diagnosis. The analysis identified a number of common themes that are illustrated in the following case examples.

Case examples

Case 1: Inappropriate delegation and supervision, and failure to appreciate the severity of illness

A 5-year-old child with severe cerebral palsy and developmental delay arrived in an emergency department with fever and vomiting.

He was assessed by a junior resident who noted this spastic child had tachycardia and tachypnea. The abdominal exam was extremely difficult. The resident diagnosed a viral gastroenteritis, reviewed his impression with the attending physician, and discharged the child. Two days later, the child returned in septic shock secondary to peritonitis due to a ruptured appendix. Experts were critical of the supervising physician for not examining the child personally at the initial visit, especially given the fact that this was a complex patient, assessed by an inexperienced learner.

Delegation and supervision of medical acts is a vital part of medical training. Both supervisors and trainees have obligations in these situations. Before assigning tasks to trainees, supervisors should know the trainees' abilities well enough to be confident in their judgment. As well, supervisors should sufficiently understand a patient's situation before providing clinical guidance to trainees, especially if the supervisor has not personally seen a patient. Trainees should communicate their strengths and weaknesses to their supervisors and keep them apprised of patient conditions over time. For more information on delegation and supervision, see the CMPA article, "Delegation and supervision of medical trainees".

Case 2: Inappropriate diagnosis without adequate clinical support

A 13-year-old patient complained of dysuria and lower abdominal pain.

She had no history of urinary tract infections (UTI) and had a family history of autoimmune nephritis. Over the course of 5 months, the patient submitted 17 urinalyses that were repeatedly abnormal with large numbers of red cells, white cells and casts, and moderate bacteria and protein ranging from 1+ to 3+. Each time, the family physician diagnosed a UTI and prescribed various antibiotics despite the lack of pure growth of any organism. A specialist consultation was eventually sought which highlighted the family history and the personal history of weight gain, edema, periorbital swelling, and thirst. The patient was admitted urgently with glomerulonephritis and renal failure secondary to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. In the subsequent legal action, the medical experts who were asked to comment on the care were critical, stating the family physician should have reconsidered the diagnosis of UTI given the many assessments and repeated treatment failures. The CMPA paid a settlement to the patient and family on behalf of the member family physician.

Many medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) are encouraging the use of cumulative patient profiles (CPPs). Ideally, CPPs include personal and family data, past medical history, risk factors, allergies, ongoing health conditions, long-term treatment, and major investigations, as well as health maintenance data, consultant's names, and contact information. CPPs are meant to provide a snapshot picture of a patient's medical problem over time to identify broader health issues. CPPs may help identify potential trends or highlight inconsistent data in need of attention. Physicians should review the information in the CPP regularly and revise it to prevent it from becoming outdated.

Case 3: Dismissing parental concerns without a thorough assessment

A child with varicella was brought to an emergency department due to blackened lesions and pain when walking or if touched anywhere.

The physician felt the lesions were consistent with chicken pox. Although the child screamed in pain when picked up, the physician suggested the complaints likely represented attention-seeking behaviour, given the recent birth of a sibling. Two days later the child was diagnosed with a group A streptococcal necrotizing fasciitis. A complaint was made to the College. The College was critical of the physician's care since she only performed a visual inspection and did not perform a physical examination to objectively evaluate tenderness. The College expressed concern that the physician ignored symptoms reported by the parents which indicated something more serious was taking place. The College cautioned the physician regarding her approach and failure to properly examine the patient.

Patients may have symptoms that do not immediately trigger concern on the part of the physician. Although symptoms frequently evolve over time and repeated visits are often necessary to allow for diagnosis, physicians should listen carefully to parents, objectively evaluate the symptoms, and discuss their importance with parents. In addition, accurate documentation of such evaluations will provide evidence of the care that was provided and may help shed light on conflicting versions of an event, should the care later be questioned.

Case 4: Failure to develop differential diagnosis or to reconsider a diagnosis

A 6-month-old infant was seen in a pediatric emergency department with irritability, decreased feeding, and anuria.

There had been no vomiting or diarrhea, and examination revealed dry mucous membranes and tachycardia. An electrocardiogram (ECG) showed a heart rate of 240 bpm. The physician considered this to be sinus tachycardia, and attributed the high rate to crying and volume depletion. A diagnosis of gastroenteritis was made and the child was rehydrated and discharged. The patient later returned with persistent symptoms and was diagnosed by another physician on ECG as having supraventricular tachycardia. Cardiac arrest followed which required cardiopulmonary resuscitation and other intensive treatment. The child eventually recovered.

A legal action followed. The pediatric experts who were asked to comment on the care stated it was unreasonable in this case for the initial pediatrician to diagnose gastroenteritis with these symptoms. The experts further stated such a high rate of tachycardia should not have been attributed to crying, and the initial physician should have better assessed and monitored the heart rate and repeated the ECG prior to discharge. The CMPA paid a settlement to the patient and family on behalf of the initially treating member pediatrician.

Cognitive biases are unconscious distortions of thinking that influence reasoning, judgment, and decision making. As an example in this case, the physician likely fell victim to the cognitive bias called premature closure. In premature closure, an initial diagnostic impression is chosen before other differential diagnoses are properly excluded, for example, fixating on certain information (the tachycardia and dry mucous membranes) and ignoring other important information (the absence of vomiting and diarrhea), which might disconfirm an initial hunch. Cognitive biases might be avoided by forcing oneself to routinely challenge the soundness of one's thinking by asking questions such as, is there anything that does not fit?, what else could it be?, or, is there more than one thing going on?

Case 5: Failure to follow up on investigations

A 16-year-old male saw a cardiologist for evaluation of syncope.

The ECG was normal and the cardiologist ordered Holter monitoring and a stress test. At a follow-up appointment, the family was advised the stress test was negative and therefore the cardiologist discharged the patient. One year later, the patient died suddenly. A chart review revealed the patient's Holter monitor results, which had shown evidence of Long QT Syndrome (LQTS), had been sent to his family physician and not to the ordering cardiologist, who had not noticed that the results had never been received. Experts who were asked to comment on the care in this case were critical of the cardiologist, stating she should have followed up on the Holter monitor results. The CMPA paid a settlement to the patient's family on behalf of the member cardiologist.

Missed test results are a significant cause of patient morbidity and mortality. While they may result from any combination of factors — patient, physician, consultant, office, laboratory, or hospital factors — and the liability for lost results may be shared, courts and Colleges have stated it is the ordering physician's responsibility to follow up on investigations the physician has ordered. Physicians should have a system in place that identifies missing results and flags those that require follow up. More information on the follow-up of investigations can be found in the CMPA article, "How effective management of test results improves patient safety".

Minimizing diagnostic delays

Diagnostic delays occur for many reasons. Some may be minimized by considering the following questions:

  • Is a trainee receiving the appropriate level of supervision and support?
  • Is a system in place to allow tracking of test or diagnostic imaging results?
  • Have alternate diagnoses been considered for children with persisting symptoms?
  • Were the parents' concerns listened to and adequately addressed?

Contact the CMPA for medico-legal advice

More information on delegating and supervising, following up investigations, and communicating with patients is available on the CMPA website. The following articles may be of particular interest: "How effective management of test results improves patient safety," and "Physician-patient communication: Making it better." Members with specific questions are encouraged to contact the Association to speak with a medical officer, physicians with extensive medico-legal knowledge and experience.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Minimiser les délais de diagnostic en pédiatrie

Publié initialement en décembre 2012
P1205-6-F

Les délais de diagnostic peuvent résulter de la progression variable de la physiopathologie, d'une présentation atypique d'une maladie, de défaillances dans les processus de soins ou de problèmes de rendement chez les médecins ou les autres professionnels de la santé.

L'absence de diagnostic s'avère l'une des allégations les plus fréquentes dans les actions en justice intentées contre les médecins au Canada. Une analyse des dossiers médico-légaux pédiatriques de l'ACPM qui ont été conclus entre 2007 et 2011 a dénombré 179 dossiers assortis d'un problème au niveau du diagnostic clinique. L'analyse a permis de dégager de nombreux thèmes communs qui sont illustrés dans les exemples de cas suivants.

Cas 1 : Délégation et supervision inappropriées, et défaut d'apprécier la gravité d'une maladie
Un jeune enfant de 5 ans atteint de paralysie cérébrale spastique et d'un retard développemental sévères est amené au département des urgences. Il présente des vomissements et de la fièvre.

Il se fait examiner par un résident junior qui note de la tachypnée ainsi qu'une tachycardie chez un enfant très spastique. L'examen abdominal est très difficile. Le résident diagnostique une gastroentérite virale, discute de son impression avec le médecin de garde et donne congé au patient. Deux jours plus tard, l'enfant retourne à l'hôpital en choc septique lié à une péritonite causée par un appendice perforé. Les experts ont critiqué le médecin traitant pour ne pas avoir examiné lui-même l'enfant au moment de la visite initiale, surtout étant donné qu'il s'agissait d'un cas complexe, évalué par un étudiant inexpérimenté.

La délégation et la supervision des actes médicaux constituent une composante essentielle de la formation médicale. Les superviseurs, de même que les stagiaires, ont des obligations dans de telles situations. Avant d'assigner une tâche à un stagiaire, le superviseur doit être suffisamment au fait des capacités de celui-ci pour avoir confiance en son jugement. De plus, le superviseur devrait comprendre suffisamment bien la situation du patient avant d'offrir des conseils cliniques à un stagiaire, surtout si le superviseur n'a pas évalué le patient personnellement. Les stagiaires devraient communiquer leurs forces et leurs faiblesses à leurs superviseurs et les tenir au fait de l'état des patients au fil du temps. Pour un complément d'information en matière de délégation et de supervision, consulter l'article de l'ACPM, « Les questions de délégation et de supervision liées aux étudiants en médecine et aux résidents », au cmpa-acpm.ca.

Cas 2 : Diagnostic inapproprié en l'absence d'un appui clinique adéquat
Une jeune patiente de 13 ans se plaint de dysurie et de douleurs abdominales basses.

Elle n'a aucun antécédent d'infection des voies urinaires (IVU) et présente des antécédents familiaux de néphrite auto-immune. Sur une période de 5 mois, la patiente soumet 17 échantillons d'urine aux fins d'analyse, dont plusieurs sont anormales, affichant des quantités importantes d'érythrocytes, de leucocytes et de cylindres hématiques, ainsi que des concentrations moyennes de bactéries et des protéines variant de 1+ à 3+. Chaque fois, l'omnipraticien pose le diagnostic d'IVU et prescrit divers antibiotiques en dépit de l'absence de croissance absolue de quelque organisme qui soit. Une consultation auprès d'un spécialiste est éventuellement demandée, laquelle met en lumière les antécédents familiaux ainsi que des antécédents personnels de gain pondéral, d'œdème, d'œdème périorbitaire et de soif. La patiente est admise de toute urgence avec glomérulonéphrite et insuffisance rénale consécutives au lupus érythémateux disséminé. Dans l'action en justice subséquente, les experts médicaux qui ont été appelés à commenter les soins ont émis des critiques, précisant que l'omnipraticien aurait dû réévaluer le diagnostic d'IVU compte tenu des nombreuses évaluations et des échecs répétés du traitement. L'Association a conclu une transaction avec la patiente et à sa famille au nom de l'omnipraticien membre.

De nombreux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) encouragent l'utilisation de profils cumulatifs du patient (PCP). Idéalement, le PCP renferme les données personnelles et familiales, les antécédents médicaux, les facteurs de risques, les allergies, les problèmes de santé persistants, le traitement à long terme, les principales investigations, ainsi que les données liées à la préservation de la santé, les noms des spécialistes et les coordonnées du patient. Le PCP est censé fournir un instantané du problème médical d'un patient au fil du temps en vue de déceler les problèmes de santé généraux. Les PCP peuvent contribuer à l'identification d'éventuelles tendances ou mettre en lumière des données aberrantes qui exigent une correction. Les médecins devraient passer en revue les renseignements dans le PCP sur une base régulière, puis le réviser pour éviter qu'il ne devienne périmé.

Cas 3 : Faire fi des préoccupations d'un parent sans effectuer une évaluation complète
Un enfant atteint de la varicelle est transporté au service d'urgence en raison de lésions noirâtres et de douleur lorsqu'il marche et dès qu'il est touché. Le médecin estime que les lésions sont conformes à celles de la varicelle.

Bien que l'enfant hurle de douleur lorsqu'on le prend, le médecin laisse entendre que les pleurs représentent un besoin d'attirer l'attention, étant donné la naissance récente d'un petit frère. Deux jours plus tard, l'enfant reçoit le diagnostic de fasciite nécrosante à streptocoque du groupe A. Une plainte est déposée au Collège. Le Collège a critiqué les soins du médecin, puisqu'elle n'avait effectué qu'une inspection visuelle du patient et qu'elle n'avait pas effectué d'examen physique pour évaluer la douleur de façon objective. Le Collège était préoccupé du fait que le médecin a ignoré les symptômes signalés par les parents qui indiquaient que la situation était plus sérieuse qu'elle ne le semblait. Le Collège a admonesté le médecin pour son approche et pour ne pas avoir examiné le patient convenablement.

Les patients peuvent présenter des symptômes qui ne suscitent pas immédiatement de préoccupations chez le médecin. Bien que, souvent, les symptômes évoluent au fil du temps et que des visites successives s'avèrent nécessaires pour poser un diagnostic, les médecins doivent écouter attentivement les parents, évaluer les symptômes objectivement, et discuter de leur importance avec les parents. Par ailleurs, une documentation exacte de telles évaluations constituera une preuve des soins prodigués et peut éclaircir les versions conflictuelles d'un événement, advenant que les soins soient remis en question plus tard.

Cas 4 : Défaut d'élaborer un diagnostic différentiel ou de réévaluer un diagnostic
Un nourrisson de 6 mois est vu dans un service d'urgence pédiatrique, présentant de l'irritabilité, une diminution de l'alimentation et une anurie, sans toutefois avoir eu d'épisodes de vomissements ni de diarrhée.

L'examen révèle des muqueuses sèches et une tachycardie. Un électrocardiogramme (ECG) révèle une fréquence cardiaque de 240 bpm. Le médecin estime qu'il s'agit de tachycardie sinusale et il attribue la fréquence cardiaque élevée aux pleurs de l'enfant et à l'hypovolémie. Il pose un diagnostic de gastroentérite et l'enfant reçoit son congé après avoir été réhydraté. Le patient revient plus tard avec des symptômes persistants. Un autre médecin effectue un ECG et pose un diagnostic de tachycardie supraventriculaire. Il s'ensuit un arrêt cardiaque qui nécessite une réanimation cardiopulmonaire ainsi que d'autres traitements intensifs. L'enfant se rétablit par la suite.

Une action en justice est intentée. Les experts en pédiatrie qui sont appelés à commenter les soins affirment que dans ce cas, il était déraisonnable pour le premier pédiatre de poser un diagnostic de gastroentérite en présence de ces symptômes. Les experts ajoutent qu'une fréquence cardiaque aussi élevée n'aurait pas dû être attribuée aux pleurs, et que le premier médecin aurait dû mieux évaluer et surveiller la fréquence cardiaque et répéter l'ECG avant de donner au patient son congé. L'Association a versé un règlement au patient et à sa famille au nom du pédiatre membre qui a traité le patient initialement.

Les biais cognitifs sont des déformations inconscientes de la pensée qui influencent le raisonnement, le jugement et la prise de décision. À titre d'exemple dans ce cas, le médecin a vraisemblablement succombé au biais cognitif appelé fermeture prématurée. Lorsqu'elle se manifeste, une impression diagnostique initiale est retenue avant que d'autres diagnostics différentiels ne soient exclus convenablement, c'est-à-dire qu'il y a fixation sur certains renseignements (la tachycardie et les muqueuses sèches), alors que d'autres renseignements importants (l'absence de vomissements et de diarrhée), qui pourraient infirmer une impression initiale, sont ignorés. Un médecin peut éviter les biais cognitifs en s'obligeant à remettre en question systématiquement le bien-fondé de sa pensée à l'aide de questions telles : « Y a-t-il quelque chose qui ne tourne pas rond? », « De quoi d'autre pourrait-il s'agir? », ou « Y a-t-il plus d'une chose qui se passe? »

Cas 5 : Défaut d'assurer le suivi des investigations
Un jeune homme de 16 ans consulte une cardiologue pour faire évaluer une syncope.

L'ECG est normal et le cardiologue prescrit un Holter et une épreuve d'effort. Lors du rendez-vous de suivi, la cardiologue informe la famille que l'épreuve d'effort était négative et, par conséquent, elle met fin à la relation avec le patient. Un an plus tard, le patient décède subitement. Une revue du dossier révèle que les résultats du Holter, qui affichaient des signes de syndrome du QT long (SQTL), avaient été acheminés à son omnipraticien et non à la cardiologue qui l'avait demandé. Cette dernière n'a pas remarqué que les résultats n'avaient pas été reçus. Les experts qui ont été appelés à commenter les soins dans ce cas ont critiqué la cardiologue, précisant qu'elle aurait dû assurer le suivi des résultats du Holter. L'Association a conclu un règlement avec la famille du patient au nom de la cardiologue membre.

Les résultats d'investigation égarés s'avèrent une cause importante de morbidité et de mortalité chez les patients. Bien qu'ils puissent découler d'une combinaison de facteurs – liés au patient, au médecin, au spécialiste, au cabinet, au laboratoire ou à l'hôpital – et que la responsabilité pour les résultats égarés peut être partagée, les tribunaux et les Collèges ont établi que la responsabilité du suivi des investigations incombe au médecin prescripteur. Les médecins doivent disposer d'un système qui signale les résultats en suspens et ceux qui exigent un suivi. Pour un complément d'information sur le suivi des investigations, consulter l'article de l'ACPM, Une gestion efficace des résultats d’examens améliore la sécurité des patients.

Réduire les délais de diagnostic

Les délais de diagnostic se produisent pour plusieurs raisons. Il est possible de réduire certains délais en se posant les questions suivantes :

  • Le stagiaire reçoit-il un niveau approprié de supervision et de soutien?
  • Existe-t-il un système de suivi des résultats d'investigation ou d'imagerie diagnostique?
  • D'autres diagnostics ont-ils été envisagés pour les enfants qui présentent des symptômes persistants?
  • Avez-vous écouté et abordé adéquatement les préoccupations des parents?

Communiquez avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils médico-légaux

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la délégation et la supervision, le suivi des investigations, et la communication avec les patients sont aussi présentés sur le site web de L'ACPM. Les articles suivants peuvent revêtir un intérêt particulier : Une gestion efficace des résultats d'examens améliore la sécurité des patients et Améliorer la communication médecin-patient. Les membres qui ont des questions précises sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'Association pour parler à l'un de ses médecins-conseils, qui possèdent un riche bagage d'expérience et de connaissances médico-légales.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.