Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Effectively managing hospital test results — Key to timely diagnosis and patient safety

Originally published December 2012
W12-008-E

Irrespective of the clinical setting, diagnosis can be improved when test results are communicated in a timely and reliable manner to the clinician who can provide follow-up care.

In a hospital setting, managing test results is not the sole responsibility of the physician who orders the test. The hospital, laboratories, and other healthcare professionals also play a role in communicating or following up on test results. All members of the team are accountable for their respective role, whether it is ordering a test, conducting it, communicating results, or ensuring clinical follow-up.

In the management of test results, hospitals have a responsibility to provide patients and health professionals with a system that is reasonable, safe, and reliable. The system should support the effective coordination of care between providers, patients, and the hospital, and should clearly define the accountabilities of each. As most patients will receive care from multiple providers in a number of departments, this coordination becomes paramount.

Physicians rely on a hospital's reporting system to fulfill their duties to patients. In an effective system, reports are readily available, and incomplete tests are easily identified so clinicians can decide if they must contact the patient. Abnormal results are flagged and brought to the attention of the physician ordering the test, and, failing this, to the patients involved. A tracking mechanism which confirms patients have been informed of abnormal test results and appropriate follow-up care has been initiated is an important feature of an effective system.

Physicians ordering investigative tests are responsible for the timely and appropriate follow-up of results. In a hospital setting, physicians must be reasonably satisfied that the system will provide them with test results in a timely manner, allowing them to communicate the results to their patients and arrange the necessary follow-up care. Physicians who are aware of any deficiencies in the system should report these in writing to the appropriate authorities within the hospital. Colleges have stated and legal judgements have emphasized that physicians are expected to follow up on test results in a timely manner. It is important that clinicians follow up closely when ordering tests for patients with unstable, urgent, and potentially life-threatening illnesses, and those with serious symptoms or signs.

Physician's accountabilities for test results are likely outlined in hospital procedures. Similarly, the responsibilities of other health professionals in the management of test results should also be outlined in these procedures. Knowing these and the role of each provider will promote the effectiveness of the system and contribute to safer care.

Findings from CMPA case files

The CMPA reviewed its medico-legal case files that closed between 2006 and 2011 where the management of test results and diagnostic imaging reports in a hospital setting was considered to have contributed to a delay in diagnosis. Of the 231cases reviewed, 62% were legal cases, 30% were complaints to medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), and 8% were complaints to hospitals.

The majority of missed or delayed diagnoses were related to lung cancer; cardiovascular disease, often a myocardial infarction; or spinal injury, often at the cervical level. In these cases the patients' clinical outcomes were frequently serious, including death.

In 76% of all the cases reviewed, there was an unfavourable medico-legal outcome for physicians. The legal cases had an unusually high rate of settlements or judgments for the plaintiff compared to the general CMPA experience. The College complaint cases had a high rate of physicians being counselled or cautioned.

Of the physicians involved in ordering diagnostic tests, family and emergency physicians followed by obstetricians and surgeons were the groups most frequently identified in the cases reviewed.

Main issues identified

The review of these case files identified 5 main issues:

  1. procedures for managing test results were inadequate or absent
  2. communication between healthcare professionals regarding test results was lacking
  3. investigative test records, reports, or results were not read or there was a delay in reading them
  4. follow-up on test results was deficient 
  5. specific diagnostic tests or procedures were delayed or not performed 

In the cases reviewed, some issues were identified as occurring less frequently, including the loss or misplacing of reports or test results.

The following sample cases illustrate some of these problem areas.

Case 1

A patient was being followed in a hospital's outpatient clinic for an abnormal thoracic-computed tomography (CT) scan.

She had a follow-up appointment and the respirologist had provided a note to the office staff that it was urgent. The clinic cancelled the appointment, but failed to provide an alternate date. As the respirologist's note had been discarded, the staff members were now unaware that the follow-up appointment was urgent. The patient was not seen again. A year later she experienced persistent cough and right shoulder pain and was diagnosed by her family physician with adenocarcinoma of the lung with metastases. A legal action was launched, and experts in the case were critical of the respirologist's and hospital clinic's lack of procedures to ensure that patients receive appropriate follow-up. The patient received a settlement. The payment of that settlement was shared by the CMPA (on behalf of the member) and the hospital.


Case 2

A trauma resident ordered a knee X-ray for a patient involved in a motor vehicle collision who was complaining of knee pain.

The resident wrote on the chart that he would review the X-ray. The patient's care was then transferred to the orthopaedic service and ultimately no one followed up on the X-ray, which showed a fracture. The patient was discharged. Four months later the patient demonstrated a serious knee injury requiring an open surgical procedure. Post-operatively the patient developed a wound infection. Left with chronic knee pain, the patient was later treated for anxiety and depression. A legal action ensued alleging the diagnosis of the knee fracture was delayed. Experts in the case identified the contributing factors as the lack of communication between staff and the lack of a procedure to ensure X-rays were followed up. On behalf of the member-resident, the CMPA contributed to a settlement to the patient.


Case 3

A patient had his gallbladder removed and during the surgery the surgeon noted significant inflammation in an area surrounding the organ.

Following the surgery, the patient failed to follow up with the surgeon as instructed. The patient, however, visited his family physician three weeks after the surgery for an annual assessment. At that time the doctor did not have any consult reports. Nine months later, the patient, complaining of abdominal pain, again visited his family physician. An ultrasound revealed a large mass on the patient's liver. The family physician requested the gallbladder pathology report from the surgeon. Realizing that the report had never been received, the surgeon's office obtained it from the hospital. The report showed the patient had an aggressive form of cancer. The pathologist had signed off on the report two weeks after the patient's gallbladder surgery, which meant it was available electronically via a hospital information system, and a hard copy should have been mailed to the surgeon as well. It was never determined why the report was not received by the surgeon's office. About 2 years post-surgery the patient died. A legal action was launched naming the two physicians and the hospital. The action against the physicians was withdrawn, and the matter was resolved between the plaintiff and the hospital.


Contributing to a stronger system

Within the hospital setting, it is the institution's responsibility to design and maintain a reliable system to manage test results and diagnostic reports. An effective system generally clarifies who should receive the results; who should receive the results when the ordering provider is not available; how those results are communicated; what results require timely notification; how quickly the results should be communicated; how to document the results in the patient record; how and who informs the patient of the results. While dependant on the hospital system, physicians have a duty to their patients which includes appropriate follow up of test results.

Effective communication between providers
A system that supports effective and clear communication between providers advances the timely follow up of tests and diagnostic reports. In a hospital setting, where multiple providers in various locations are caring for patients, effective communication of test results takes on added importance.

The CMPA case files demonstrate that the communication process often breaks down when a patient is transferred between providers or departments in the hospital. An effective system promotes the transfer of information between providers, across hospital departments, and from the hospital to other settings such as clinics. For example, physicians receiving abnormal test results should consider which healthcare professionals need to be advised of the results and how best to communicate these. Communication with these other professionals should be clear, comprehensive, and timely. More detailed information on communicating with other healthcare professionals and using communication tools can be found in the CMPA article, "Strengthening inter-professional communication."

Post-hospital care
An effective system for managing test results will also ensure that when patients leave the hospital, the necessary information will be transferred from the hospital to the community-based healthcare setting. Patients may be discharged from hospital with test results still pending. Discharge instructions to the patient and the discharge summary to the family physician are standard means of sharing information. A timely, accurate, and complete summary from hospital-based physicians gives the subsequent treating physician the patient's full medical condition, including any pending test results and the necessary follow-up care. Information on communicating with the patient on discharge instructions can be found in the article, "Discharging patients following day surgery."

Documentation in the medical record
Good documentation in the medical record can strengthen the hospital's system for managing test results as it is a primary communication tool between physicians and other healthcare providers. By documenting in the record the reasons for ordering a test, any differential diagnoses, and the test results, physicians give a clear picture of the patient's treatment and any follow-up care that is required. More information on good documentation in the medical record can be found in the article "Why good documentation matters."

Strategies to improve follow-up of investigative test results in a hospital setting

The following may assist physicians in fulfilling their role in managing investigative and diagnostic test results in a hospital setting.

Be familiar with your hospital's system for managing test results. Physicians should be familiar with the hospital procedures and the system they are relying on to manage test results, particularly the procedures notifying them or the patient of abnormal results. They should be clear on their role and responsibilities within that system.

Advise appropriate personnel of system deficiencies. Physicians who are aware of inefficiencies or deficiencies in the system for managing test results should communicate these to the appropriate hospital authorities, preferably in writing. Keeping a copy of the correspondence is prudent. Irrespective of any system deficiencies, it is incumbent on physicians to ensure the timely and appropriate follow-up of results.

Identify high-risk patients and clinically significant test results. Physicians should take added precautions when caring for a patient in urgent situations or who appears at higher risk of receiving a clinically significant result.

Communicate effectively. Physicians should be aware that good communication between hospital departments and between providers is essential to an effective system for managing diagnostic test results. When patients are discharged from hospital, good communication must also extend to the community care setting.

Engage patients in their own care. Physicians should discuss with their patients why an investigative test has been ordered for them. Patients can take more responsibility for their own care if they understand why the recommended testing is important to their clinical situation.1 Physicians should refrain from telling patients that abnormal test results will be communicated to them, while normal results will not. Abnormal and normal test results can go astray. Physicians should also consider encouraging patients to enquire about their test results.

The CMPA article, "How effective management of test results improves patient safety," looks at similar cases in a doctor's office and highlights risk management considerations for effectively managing investigative test results in that setting.

Contact the CMPA

Members with questions on the follow-up of investigations in hospitals and other institutions can contact the CMPA for advice and speak with one of the Association's medical officers. The medical officers can be reached by phone at 1-800-267-6522 or by submitting a medico-legal assistance/web form.


References

  1. Wahls, Terry, "Diagnostic errors and abnormal diagnostic tests lost to follow-up, A source of needless waste and delay to treatment," Journal of Ambulatory Care Management, (2007) Vol. 30, no. 4, p341.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La gestion efficace des résultats d'examens à l'hôpital : facteur clé pour établir un diagnostic en temps opportun et assurer la sécurité des patients

Publié initialement en décembre 2012
W12-008-F

Quel que soit le contexte clinique, le diagnostic peut être amélioré lorsque les résultats d'examens sont communiqués au moment opportun et de manière fiable au clinicien qui peut fournir les soins de suivi.

À l'hôpital, le médecin qui a prescrit des examens n'est pas le seul responsable de la gestion des résultats. L'hôpital, les laboratoires d'analyse et d'autres professionnels de la santé jouent également un rôle dans la communication et le suivi des résultats d'examens. Chaque membre de l'équipe est responsable en fonction de son rôle, que ce soit celui de prescrire un examen, de le réaliser, de communiquer les résultats ou d'assurer le suivi clinique.

Dans le cadre de la gestion des résultats d'examens, les hôpitaux ont la responsabilité de fournir aux patients et aux professionnels de la santé un système raisonnable, sûr et fiable. Le système devrait soutenir la coordination efficace des soins entre les professionnels de la santé, les patients et l'hôpital et devrait clairement définir les responsabilités de chacun. Cette coordination revêt une importance capitale étant donné que la plupart des patients reçoivent des soins de la part de nombreux professionnels au sein de divers services.

Les médecins s'appuient sur le système de production de rapports de l'hôpital pour accomplir leurs devoirs vis-à-vis de leurs patients. Dans un système efficace, les rapports sont rapidement disponibles et les examens non terminés sont facilement identifiés de sorte que les cliniciens peuvent décider s'ils doivent ou non communiquer avec le patient. Les résultats anormaux sont signalés et portés à l'attention du médecin ayant prescrit l'examen et à défaut, aux patients concernés. Une des caractéristiques importantes d'un système efficace est un outil de suivi permettant de confirmer que les patients sont informés de résultats d'examens anormaux et que des soins de suivi appropriés sont mis en œuvre.

Les médecins qui prescrivent des examens d'investigation ont la responsabilité d'effectuer au moment opportun et de manière appropriée le suivi des résultats. À l'hôpital, les médecins doivent être raisonnablement convaincus que le système leur fournit des résultats d'examens en temps opportun pour leur permettre de communiquer les résultats à leurs patients et de prendre des dispositions pour les soins de suivi nécessaires. Les médecins qui ont connaissance d'une quelconque lacune du système devraient le signaler par écrit aux autorités compétentes de l'hôpital. Selon les Collèges, et tel que souligné par les jugements des tribunaux, les médecins doivent effectuer le suivi des résultats d'examens en temps opportun. Il est important que les cliniciens assurent un suivi étroit lorsqu'ils prescrivent des examens pour des patients dont l'état est instable, présentant une maladie potentiellement fatale, nécessitant une intervention urgente, ou ayant des signes ou symptômes graves.

Les responsabilités du médecin vis-à-vis des résultats d'examens sont probablement soulignées dans les procédures de l'établissement hospitalier. De même, les responsabilités d'autres professionnels de la santé dans la gestion des résultats d'examens doivent également être soulignées dans ces procédures. Connaître ces procédures et le rôle de chaque professionnel participe à l'efficacité du système et contribue à des soins plus sécuritaires.

Résultats de l'analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM

L'ACPM a effectué une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux conclus entre 2006 et 2011, dans lesquels il était allégué que la gestion des résultats d'examens et de rapports d'imagerie diagnostique dans un hôpital avait contribué à un retard dans l'établissement du diagnostic. Sur les 231 dossiers analysés, 62 % étaient des actions en justice, 30 % étaient des plaintes déposées aux organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et 8 % étaient des plaintes déposées aux hôpitaux.

La majorité des diagnostics erronés ou retardés était liée à un cancer des poumons, une maladie cardiovasculaire (souvent un infarctus du myocarde) ou un traumatisme rachidien (souvent au niveau des cervicales). L'issue clinique de ces patients a souvent été grave, voire fatale.

L'issue médico-légale était défavorable aux médecins dans 76 % des dossiers analysés. Par rapport à l'expérience générale de l'ACPM, les actions en justice comportaient un taux inhabituellement élevé de transactions ou de jugements en faveur du patient-demandeur. Les dossiers de plaintes déposées aux Collèges révèlent un taux élevé de médecins conseillés ou mis en garde.

Parmi les médecins les plus souvent identifiés dans les dossiers analysés, ayant prescrit des examens diagnostiques, on retrouve les omnipraticiens et les urgentologues, suivis des obstétriciens.

Principaux problèmes déterminés

L'analyse de ces dossiers a permis de déterminer 5 problèmes principaux :

  1. procédures de gestion des résultats d'examens inadéquates ou absentes
  2. absence de communication entre les professionnels de la santé au sujet des résultats d'examens
  3. absence ou retard de consultation des dossiers, rapports ou résultats d'examens d'investigation
  4. lacunes dans le suivi des résultats d'examens
  5. examens ou interventions diagnostiques particuliers retardés ou non effectués

Certains problèmes ont été moins fréquemment retrouvés dans les dossiers analysés, notamment la perte ou le classement inadéquat de rapports ou de résultats d'examens.

Les quelques cas suivants illustrent certains de ces problèmes.

Cas 1

Une patiente est suivie par la clinique de consultations externes d'un hôpital après avoir subi une tomodensitométrie thoracique dont les résultats sont anormaux.

Elle a un rendez-vous de suivi et le pneumologue a indiqué dans une note au personnel du cabinet qu'il s'agit d'une urgence. La clinique annule le rendez-vous sans proposer une autre date. La note du pneumologue ayant disparu, les membres du personnel ne sont alors plus prévenus de l'urgence associée à ce rendez-vous de suivi. La patiente n'est pas revue. Un an plus tard, elle présente une toux persistante associée à une douleur à l'épaule droite. Son omnipraticien diagnostique un adénocarcinome pulmonaire métastatique. Au cours de l'action en justice qui a suivi, les experts désignés dans ce dossier ont critiqué le pneumologue et la clinique de l'hôpital pour l'absence de procédures permettant de s'assurer que les patients reçoivent un suivi approprié. Une transaction a été conclue avec la patiente. Le paiement de cette transaction a été partagé entre l'ACPM (pour le compte du médecin-membre) et l'hôpital.


Cas 2

Une radiographie du genou est demandée par un résident en traumatologie pour un patient qui se plaint d'une douleur au genou après un accident de voiture.

Le résident inscrit au dossier qu'il souhaite examiner la radiographie. Les soins du patient sont ensuite transférés au service d'orthopédie et finalement personne n'assure le suivi de la radiographie, qui met en évidence une fracture. Le patient reçoit son congé de l'hôpital. Quatre mois plus tard, le patient présente une grave blessure au genou nécessitant une intervention chirurgicale par voie ouverte. Une infection survient dans la période postopératoire. Demeurant atteint d'une douleur chronique au genou, le patient est alors traité pour anxiété et dépression. Une action en justice est déclenchée, alléguant un retard de diagnostic de fracture du genou. Les experts désignés dans ce dossier ont identifié les facteurs contributifs, à savoir une absence de communication entre les membres du personnel et l'absence de procédures visant à s'assurer que les radiographies font l'objet d'un suivi. L'ACPM a conclu une transaction en faveur du patient pour le compte du résident-membre.


Cas 3

Un patient subit une ablation de la vésicule biliaire au cours de laquelle le chirurgien remarque une importante zone inflammatoire autour de l'organe retiré.

À la suite de l'intervention, le patient ne se rend pas à la visite de suivi demandée par son chirurgien. Toutefois, le patient consulte son omnipraticien trois semaines après l'intervention pour un bilan annuel. À cette date, le médecin ne détient aucun rapport de consultation. Neuf mois plus tard, le patient consulte de nouveau son omnipraticien en raison de douleurs abdominales. Une échographie révèle une masse importante sur le foie. L'omnipraticien demande au chirurgien de lui communiquer le rapport d'anatomopathologie. S'apercevant que ce rapport n'a jamais été reçu, le cabinet du chirurgien l'obtient finalement de l'hôpital. Le rapport indique que le patient souffre d'une forme agressive de cancer. L'anatomopathologiste ayant signé le rapport deux semaines après l'intervention chirurgicale, les résultats étaient disponibles sous format électronique par le système d'informations de l'hôpital et une copie papier aurait également dû être envoyée au chirurgien. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la raison pour laquelle le rapport n'a jamais été reçu par le chirurgien. Le patient décède environ 2 ans après l'intervention chirurgicale. Une action en justice est enclenchée à l'encontre des deux médecins et de l'hôpital. L'action en justice contre les médecins a été retirée et l'affaire a été réglée entre le demandeur et l'hôpital.


Participer à un système plus solide

Dans un contexte hospitalier, il est de la responsabilité de l'établissement de concevoir et maintenir un système fiable pour gérer les résultats d'examens et les rapports diagnostiques. En règle générale, un système efficace établit clairement qui reçoit les résultats, qui devrait les recevoir en l'absence du professionnel de la santé ayant prescrit l'examen, comment les résultats sont communiqués; quels résultats nécessitent un signalement rapide; dans quels délais les résultats doivent être communiqués; comment documenter les résultats dans le dossier du patient et enfin, qui informe le patient des résultats et de quelle manière. Même s'ils dépendent du système de l'hôpital, les médecins ont des devoirs vis-à-vis de leurs patients, y compris celui d'un suivi approprié des résultats d'examens.

Communication interprofessionnelle efficace
Un système qui soutient une communication interprofessionnelle claire et efficace met en avant le suivi en temps opportun des examens et des rapports diagnostiques. À l'hôpital, où de nombreux professionnels au sein de plusieurs services prennent soin des patients, la communication efficace des résultats d'examens revêt une importance supplémentaire.

L'analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM a démontré que les processus de communication se détériorent fréquemment lorsqu'un patient est transféré à d'autres professionnels ou dans d'autres départements de l'hôpital. Un système efficace favorise le transfert d'informations entre les professionnels de la santé, les différents départements d'un hôpital, mais aussi de l'hôpital à d'autres contextes de soins, tels qu'une clinique. Ainsi, les médecins qui reçoivent des résultats d'examens anormaux devraient se demander quels professionnels de la santé doivent être avisés des résultats et quelle est la meilleure manière de communiquer ces résultats. La communication avec ces autres professionnels doit être claire, détaillée et se faire en temps opportun. L'article intitulé Le renforcement de la communication interprofessionnelle fournit des informations plus détaillées sur la communication avec d'autres professionnels de la santé et l'utilisation des outils de communication.

Soins post-hospitaliers
Un système efficace de gestion des résultats d'examens garantira également que lorsque les patients quittent l'hôpital, les informations nécessaires seront transférées de l'hôpital à l'établissement de soins dans la communauté. Les patients peuvent quitter l'hôpital, même si les résultats sont encore en attente. Les consignes de congé fournies au patient, ainsi que le résumé du congé fourni à son omnipraticien constituent des moyens conventionnels de partager des informations. Un résumé précis et complet rédigé en temps opportun par un médecin exerçant à l'hôpital fournit au médecin traitant qui assure la suite des soins, les renseignements complets sur l'état médical du patient, y compris les résultats d'examens et les soins de suivi nécessaires. L'article intitulé Le départ des patients après une chirurgie d’un jour fournit des informations sur la communication des consignes données au patient lors du congé.

Documentation au dossier médical
Une bonne documentation au dossier médical peut renforcer le système de gestion des résultats d'examens de l'hôpital, car il s'agit d'un outil de communication primaire entre les médecins et d'autres professionnels de la santé. En inscrivant dans le dossier les raisons justifiant la prescription d'examens, tout diagnostic différentiel, ainsi que les résultats d'examens, les médecins fournissent une description claire du traitement d'un patient et de la nécessité d'un soin de suivi. L'article intitulé L'importance d'une bonne documentation fournit des informations plus détaillées sur une bonne documentation au dossier médical.

Stratégies pour améliorer le suivi des résultats d'examens d'investigation à l'hôpital

Les éléments suivants peuvent aider les médecins à remplir leur rôle en gérant les résultats des examens diagnostiques et d'investigation dans un contexte hospitalier.

Connaître le système de gestion des résultats d'examens de l'hôpital. Les médecins doivent connaître les procédures de l'hôpital et le système sur lequel elles s'appuient pour gérer les résultats d'examens et plus particulièrement les procédures de signalement de résultats anormaux aux médecins ou au patient. Leur rôle et leurs responsabilités au sein de ce système doivent être compris des médecins sans ambiguïté.

Informer le personnel compétent des lacunes du système. Les médecins ayant connaissance d'une inefficacité ou d'une lacune du système de gestion des résultats d'examens, devraient en avertir les autorités hospitalières compétentes, de préférence par écrit. Il est prudent de conserver une copie de toute correspondance. Quelles que soient les lacunes du système, il est de la responsabilité des médecins de s'assurer du suivi approprié et en temps opportun des résultats d'examens.

Identifier les patients présentant un risque élevé et des résultats d'examens cliniquement significatifs. Les médecins devraient prendre des précautions supplémentaires au moment de fournir des soins en situation d'urgence ou à des patients qui semblent comporter un risque supplémentaire de recevoir des résultats cliniquement significatifs.

Communiquer efficacement. Les médecins devraient être conscients qu'une bonne communication entre les départements de l'hôpital et entre les professionnels de la santé constitue un élément essentiel d'un système de gestion efficace des résultats d'examens diagnostiques. Lorsque les patients reçoivent leur congé de l'hôpital, une bonne communication doit également être étendue aux établissements de soins communautaires.

Impliquer les patients dans leurs propres soins. Les médecins devraient discuter avec leurs patients de la raison pour laquelle des examens d'investigation ont été prescrits. Les patients peuvent prendre davantage de responsabilités dans leurs propres soins s'ils comprennent pourquoi les examens recommandés sont importants dans leur situation clinique.1 Les médecins devraient éviter d'informer les patients que les résultats d'examens ne leur sont communiqués que s'ils sont anormaux. Qu'ils soient normaux ou anormaux, des résultats d'examens peuvent être égarés. Les médecins devraient encourager les patients à demander leurs résultats d'examens.

L'article de l'ACPM intitulé Une gestion efficace des résultats d'examens améliore la sécurité des patients aborde des cas semblables dans le cabinet d'un médecin et souligne les considérations relatives à la gestion des risques pour une gestion efficace des résultats des examens d'investigation dans ce contexte.

Joindre l'ACPM

Les membres ayant des questions sur le suivi des investigations dans les hôpitaux et les autres établissements peuvent communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils auprès d'un des médecins-conseils de l'Association, en appelant le 1-800-267-6522 ou en remplissant le formulaire de Demande d'assistance médico-légale/courriel web.


Références

  1. 1. Wahls, Terry, « Diagnostic errors and abnormal diagnostic tests lost to follow-up, A source of needless waste and delay to treatment, » Journal of Ambulatory Care Management, (2007) Vol. 30, no 4, p. 341.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.