Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Know the issues and risks of bariatric surgery

Originally published June 2012
P1202-2-E

About one-quarter of Canadian adults are obese1, putting them at risk for many serious health problems such as Type 2 diabetes, hypertension, and cardiovascular disease. Some morbidly obese Canadians, when unable to lose weight with dietary therapy and physical activity, turn to bariatric surgery — an operation that can provide significant benefits2.

Understanding the medico-legal risks of caring for patients having bariatric surgery in Canada allows surgeons, and other physicians involved in caring for these patients, to better manage those risks.

Between 2006 and 2011, the CMPA had 27 medico-legal cases relating to bariatric surgery, 21 of which were closed. A review of the closed cases showed the main allegations from patients were that consent discussions were lacking and histories were inadequate. Experts did not express concerns with the appropriateness of the surgery. The only CMPA members involved were general surgeons. The procedure performed most often was gastric banding, (i.e. vertical banding or adjustable gastric banding), followed by open or laparoscopic Roux-en-Y gastric bypass, and open biliopancreatic bypass (i.e. biliopancreatic diversion or duodenal switch). The patients' body mass indexes (BMI) ranged from 35 to 74, and many had co-morbid conditions such as Type 2 diabetes mellitus, hypertension, and sleep apnea.

It is not the role of the CMPA to recommend one type of bariatric surgery over another, nor to comment on the criteria used to select patients for the operation. All surgical approaches carry risk. In the CMPA cases that were reviewed, all three surgical approaches commonly used in Canada had significant complications. For the gastric banding procedures, complications included surgical site infection, gastric band leakage, and slippage or erosion with secondary peritonitis. Complications of Roux-en-Y gastric bypass included ventral incisional hernia, anastomotic leak, and death from septic shock. Complications following biliopancreatic bypass included gastrojejunal anastomotic stricture, and persistent diarrhea and nutritional deficiencies.

What are the issues with bariatric care?

In these CMPA cases, the practising surgeons who acted as peer experts for the defence identified issues with the clinical care during the pre-operative, intra-operative, and post-operative periods. In some cases, there was more than one issue.

Pre-operative issues

  • failure to evaluate the patient, discuss the risks including the alternatives to surgery, and document the consent discussion
  • failure to rule out pregnancy
  • failure to order prophylactic antibiotics
  • not requesting the assistance of a second surgeon to help with a laparotomy for a complex patient with peritonitis

Intra-operative issues

  • internal injuries (e.g. to stomach and small bowel) sustained during a laparoscopic approach from manipulations of the organs; often these were diagnosed post-operatively when patients became symptomatic with nausea, vomiting, fever, or abdominal pain
  • inadequate attempts to locate and repair the source of a gastric leak
  • retention of a large malleable retractor, discovered 2 years after the operation; instrument counts were not done as per hospital policy
  • failure to convert from a laparoscopic to an open procedure when experiencing significant difficulty identifying anatomical structures
  • misconstruction of the small bowel limbs during Roux-en-Y gastric bypass

Post-operative issues

  • delayed recognition of respiratory distress and the need for treatment
  • premature hospital discharge of a patient with fever and erythema at the surgical incision site with delayed recognition of the underlying wound infection and dehiscence; the nursing care was also criticized for inadequate post-operative monitoring of vital signs and wound assessment
  • lack of documentation of a patient's condition on discharge and inadequate discharge instructions given to the patient and family
  • failure to investigate a patient's complaint of abdominal pain, nausea, and vomiting when readmitted a few days after surgery
  • delay in diagnosing suture line dehiscence of a duodenal closure
  • inadequate follow-up care, including inadequate assessment of the patient's nutritional status and need for nutritional supplements

 

Case example: Lack of attention to communication, documentation

This case illustrates why it is important to have an appropriate informed consent discussion, comprehensively document all care, and be attentive to communication issues with patients and families.

A 60-year-old man was referred to a general surgeon for morbid obesity (BMI 40) and co-morbidities of Type 2 diabetes, hypercholesterolemia, hypertension, and asthma. During the consent discussion, the surgeon gave a detailed description of two procedures, the laparoscopic Roux-en-Y gastric bypass and the laparoscopic gastric banding, as well as the risks and benefits of each. Based on the patient's choice, a laparoscopic adjustable gastric banding was performed and the patient was discharged from hospital the same day.

The following evening the patient arrived in an emergency department with abdominal pain and nausea. He was afebrile and tachycardic, and had a distended abdomen and a slightly elevated white blood cell count. A plain abdominal X-ray revealed mild gastric dilatation and the gastric band appeared to be in an appropriate location.

The patient's pain persisted overnight. Even though an abdominal CT scan was unremarkable, the consulting surgeon was concerned about peritonitis and took the patient back into the operating room. Peritonitis was confirmed and a small perforation of the small bowel was identified. The surgeon performed a bowel resection and removed the gastric band. The patient was admitted to the ICU and his post-operative recovery was complicated by a surgical site wound infection. The family perceived the surgeon's communications to be dismissive and unsympathetic to the patient's condition. The patient was discharged home several weeks later.

At the follow-up appointment, the patient asked the surgeon for monetary reimbursement of the cost of the gastric band. The surgeon told the patient he could not give a refund, but offered to arrange for another gastric bypass. The offer was declined. The patient and family complained to the regulatory authority (College) alleging the surgeon failed to obtain informed consent for the bariatric surgery, and was negligent in performing the procedure which led to the perforation of the small bowel. They also complained the surgeon was unprofessional in manner.

Based on the medical record, the College was satisfied pre-operative consent discussions took place. The College concluded the surgery was done in a standard and acceptable manner and that bowel perforation is a recognized complication of this type of surgery. Finally, the College stated that some of the surgeon's comments could be perceived as insensitive. In response, the surgeon said his comments were not meant to be unsympathetic or sarcastic, and he apologized. The College counselled the surgeon to be more sensitive in his communication with patients and families at all times.

 

Managing the risks of bariatric surgery

The following suggestions for managing the risks of bariatric surgery are based on the opinions of the surgical experts who examined the clinical care in the CMPA cases.

Pre-operative issues

  • The informed consent discussion should inform patients about the proposed surgical procedure, the anticipated outcome, significant risks and complications, and available alternatives. A note in the medical record made at the time of the consent discussion can later serve as important confirmation that a full discussion took place.
  • Appropriate measures include identifying possible pregnancy in female patients, and considering the provision of prophylactic antibiotics and DVT prophylaxis.

Intra-operative issues

  • The necessary steps should be taken to correctly identify anatomical structures and lessen the possibility of injury. Physicians should consider converting from a laparoscopic to an open approach when uncertain of the anatomy or when experiencing difficulty.

Post-operative issues

  • The patients should be provided with discharge instructions including signs and symptoms of potential complications and the importance of seeking additional care, with whom and when.
  • Physicians should inform patients of arrangements for follow-up, including who will be providing the care. The discharge advice, general and customized, should be documented in the medical record with a reference to or copy of any associated handout material provided to the patient.
  • Patients experiencing complications after surgery may seek help from their family physician or an emergency department, and investigations and referrals may be indicated. All physicians should be aware that it is often challenging to assess patients with complications from bariatric surgery as the symptoms can be non-specific and develop anywhere from a few hours to years after the surgery.

References

  1. Shields, M., Tremblay, M., Laviolette, M., Craig, C., Jansse, I., Connor, Gorber, S., "Fitness of Canadian adults: Results from the 2007-2009 Canadian Health Measures Survey," Health Reports [Internet] (March 2010) Vol. 21, no.1 p.1-15. Retrieved on March 2, 2012 from: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-003-x/2010001/article/11064-eng.htm.
  2. Christou, N., Sampalis, J., Liberman, M., Look, D., Auger, S., McLean, A., MacLean, L., "Surgery decreases long-term mortality, morbidity, and health care use in morbid obese patients," Annals of Surgery [Internet] (September 2003) Vol. 240, no.3 p.416-424. Retrieved on March 2, 2012 from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1356432/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Connaître les enjeux et les risques liés à la chirurgie bariatrique

Publié initialement en juin 2012
P1202-2-F

Environ le quart des adultes canadiens sont obèses,1 ce qui les met à risque de nombreux graves problèmes de santé tels le diabète de type 2, l'hypertension et la maladie cardiovasculaire. Certains obèses morbides, incapables de perdre du poids au moyen d'un régime alimentaire et de l'activité physique, optent pour une chirurgie bariatrique — une intervention qui peut procurer d'importants avantages.2

Une bonne compréhension des risques médico-légaux associés aux soins des patients qui subissent une chirurgie bariatrique au Canada permet aux chirurgiens, et aux autres médecins qui prodiguent des soins à ces patients, de mieux gérer ces risques.

Entre 2006 et 2011, l'ACPM a recensé 27 dossiers médico-légaux liés à la chirurgie bariatrique, dont 21 étaient conclus. Une analyse des dossiers conclus a permis de déterminer les principales allégations formulées par les patients, soient l'absence d'une discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement et le caractère inadéquat des anamnèses. Les experts n'ont exprimé aucune préoccupation par rapport au caractère adéquat de la chirurgie. Les seuls membres de l'ACPM en cause étaient des chirurgiens généraux. L'intervention la plus couramment effectuée était le cerclage gastrique, (c.-à-d. le cerclage gastrique ajustable), suivie de la dérivation gastrique Roux-en-Y ouverte ou par laparoscopie, et de la dérivation biliopancréatique ouverte (c.-à-d. la diversion biliopancréatique ou la commutation duodénale). Les indices de masse corporelle (IMC) des patients variaient de 35 à 74 et un grand nombre d'entre eux présentaient des comorbidités telles le diabète de type 2, l'hypertension et l'apnée du sommeil.

L'ACPM n'a pas pour rôle de recommander une technique de chirurgie bariatrique plutôt qu'une autre, ni de formuler des commentaires sur les critères de sélection des patients en vue d'une telle chirurgie. Toute approche chirurgicale comporte des risques. Dans les dossiers de l'ACPM qui ont été analysés, les trois approches chirurgicales couramment utilisées au Canada étaient assorties d'importantes complications. Dans le cas des interventions de cerclage gastrique, les complications incluaient l'infection du site opératoire, une fuite de la bande et le glissement ou l'érosion de l'anneau avec péritonite secondaire. Les complications de la dérivation gastrique Roux-en-Y incluaient la hernie ventrale incisionnelle, la fuite anastomotique et le décès attribuable à un choc septique. Les complications suite à une dérivation biliopancréatique incluaient la sténose de l'anastomose gastro-jéjunale, la diarrhée persistante et les carences nutritionnelles.

Quels sont les problèmes liés aux soins bariatriques?

Dans ces dossiers de l'ACPM, les chirurgiens qui ont agi à titre d'experts de la défense ont souligné des problèmes dans les soins cliniques pendant les périodes préopératoire, peropératoire et postopératoire. Dans certains cas, plus d'un problème a été cerné.

Problèmes préopératoires

  • défaut d'évaluer le patient, de discuter des risques y compris les solutions de rechange à la chirurgie, et de documenter la discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement
  • défaut d'exclure une grossesse
  • défaut de prescrire des antibiotiques prophylactiques
  • défaut de faire appel à un deuxième chirurgien pour prêter assistance avec une laparotomie chez un patient présentant un cas complexe avec péritonite

Problèmes peropératoires

  • blessures internes (p. ex., à l'estomac et à l'intestin grêle) subies par suite de la manipulation des organes dans le cadre d'une approche laparoscopique; celles-ci étaient souvent diagnostiquées en période postopératoire lorsque les patients présentaient des symptômes tels une nausée, des vomissements, une fièvre ou une douleur abdominale
  • tentatives inadéquates pour localiser et réparer la source d'une fuite gastrique
  • oubli d'un gros écarteur malléable, découvert 2 ans après la chirurgie; le compte chirurgical n'avait pas été effectué conformément à la politique hospitalière
  • défaut de passer d'une intervention laparoscopique à une intervention ouverte en dépit de sérieuses difficultés à identifier les structures anatomiques
  • anastomose incorrecte des parties de l'intestin grêle pendant une dérivation gastrique Roux-en-Y

Problèmes postopératoires

  • reconnaissance tardive d'une détresse respiratoire et de la nécessité d'un traitement
  • congé hospitalier prématuré d'un patient qui présentait une fièvre et un érythème au niveau du site de l'incision chirurgicale, avec reconnaissance tardive de l'infection et de la déhiscence sous-jacentes de la plaie; les soins infirmiers ont aussi été critiqués en raison de la surveillance postopératoire inadéquate des signes vitaux et de l'évaluation inadéquate de la plaie
  • absence de documentation de l'état du patient au moment du congé et instructions inadéquates remises au patient et à sa famille au moment du congé
  • défaut d'investiguer une plainte de douleur abdominale, de nausée et de vomissement formulée par un patient sur réadmission quelques jours après une chirurgie
  • délai de diagnostic d'une désunion des sutures d'une fermeture du moignon duodénal
  • soins de suivi inadéquats, notamment l'évaluation inadéquate de l'état nutritionnel du patient et du besoin de suppléments nutritifs

Exemple de cas : Manque d'attention à la communication et à la documentation

Ce cas illustre l'importance d'avoir une discussion appropriée en vue d'obtenir un consentement éclairé, d'assurer une documentation complète de tous les soins prodigués et d'être attentif aux problèmes de communication avec les patients et leur famille.

Un homme de 60 ans est dirigé vers un chirurgien général pour obésité morbide (IMC de 40) et les comorbidités suivantes : diabète de type 2, hypercholestérolémie, hypertension et asthme. Dans le cadre de la discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement, le chirurgien fournit une description détaillée de deux interventions, la dérivation gastrique Roux-en-Y par laparoscopie et le cerclage gastrique par laparoscopie, ainsi que de leurs risques et avantages respectifs. En fonction du choix du patient, un cerclage gastrique par laparoscopie est effectué et le patient reçoit son congé de l'hôpital le même jour.

Le lendemain en soirée, le patient se rend au service d'urgence souffrant de douleurs abdominales et de nausées. Il est afébrile, mais présente une tachycardie et une numération des globules blancs légèrement élevée et son abdomen est distendu. Une radiographie abdominale simple révèle une dilatation gastrique peu importante; l'anneau gastrique semble être à un endroit approprié.

La douleur du patient persiste toute la nuit. En dépit d'une tomodensitométrie abdominale normale, le chirurgien consultant est préoccupé par la péritonite et il ramène le patient à la salle d'opération. Une péritonite est confirmée et une légère perforation de l'intestin grêle est identifiée. Le chirurgien effectue une résection intestinale et il retire l'anneau gastrique. Le patient est admis à l'unité de soins intensifs et sa convalescence postopératoire est compliquée par une infection au site de la plaie chirurgicale. De l'avis de la famille du patient, le chirurgien donne l'impression d'être dédaigneux et indifférent envers l'état du patient dans ses communications. Le patient reçoit son congé plusieurs semaines plus tard.

Lors du rendez-vous de suivi, le patient demande au chirurgien un remboursement du coût de l'intervention. Le chirurgien explique au patient qu'il ne peut le rembourser, mais il offre de prendre des dispositions en vue d'un deuxième cerclage gastrique. L'offre est rejetée. Le patient et sa famille déposent une plainte à l'organisme de réglementation (Collège) alléguant que le chirurgien a manqué d'obtenir un consentement éclairé pour la chirurgie bariatrique et qu'il a commis une faute professionnelle lorsqu'il a effectué l'intervention qui a entraîné la perforation intestinale. Ils ajoutent que le chirurgien a manqué de professionnalisme dans sa conduite.

En fonction du dossier médical, le Collège est satisfait qu'une discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement a eu lieu avant la chirurgie. Le Collège conclut que la chirurgie a été effectuée de façon conventionnelle et acceptable et que la perforation intestinale est une complication reconnue de ce genre de chirurgie. Enfin, le Collège affirme que certains des commentaires du chirurgien peuvent être perçus comme témoignant d'un manque de sensibilité. Le chirurgien répond en disant qu'il n'a pas voulu faire preuve d'indifférence ni de sarcasme dans ses commentaires et il s'excuse. Le Collège lui conseille de faire preuve de sensibilité en tout temps dans ses communications avec les patients et leur famille.

Gérer les risques de la chirurgie bariatrique

Les suggestions suivantes visant la gestion des risques de la chirurgie bariatrique se fondent sur les opinions des chirurgiens experts qui ont analysé les soins cliniques dans les dossiers de l'ACPM.

Période préopératoire

  • La discussion en vue d'obtenir un consentement éclairé doit informer les patients de l'intervention chirurgicale proposée, du résultat escompté, des risques et des complications importantes, ainsi que des solutions de rechange disponibles. Une note versée au dossier médical au moment de la discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement peut ultérieurement constituer une confirmation importante à l'effet qu'une discussion complète a eu lieu.
  • Parmi les mesures appropriées à prévoir, il y a lieu d'identifier une grossesse éventuelle chez les patientes et d'envisager la provision d'antibiotiques prophylactiques ainsi que la prophylaxie de la thrombose veineuse profonde.

Période peropératoire

  • Il est important de suivre les étapes nécessaires pour identifier correctement les structures anatomiques et ainsi réduire la possibilité de blessure. Les médecins devraient envisager de passer d'une approche laparoscopique à une approche ouverte lorsqu'ils ont des incertitudes par rapport à l'anatomie ou lorsqu'ils rencontrent des problèmes.

Période postopératoire

  • Au moment du congé, les patients doivent recevoir des instructions qui précisent les signes et les symptômes de complications éventuelles, ainsi que l'importance d'obtenir des soins médicaux, quand et auprès de qui les obtenir.
  • Les médecins devraient informer leurs patients des dispositions prises en vue du suivi, notamment du nom de la personne qui prodiguera les soins. Les conseils donnés au moment du congé, généraux et personnalisés, devraient être documentés dans le dossier médical en faisant référence aux imprimés remis au patient ou en incluant une copie de ceux-ci.
  • Les patients qui ont des complications à la suite d'une chirurgie peuvent tenter d'obtenir de l'aide auprès de leur médecin de famille ou d'un service d'urgence; des investigations et des demandes de consultation peuvent être indiquées. Tous les médecins doivent être conscients qu'il s'avère souvent difficile d'évaluer les patients aux prises avec des complications d'une chirurgie bariatrique puisque les symptômes peuvent être non spécifiques et qu'ils peuvent apparaître entre quelques heures et plusieurs années après la chirurgie.

Références

  1. Shields, M., Tremblay, M., Laviolette, M., Craig, C., Jansse, I., Connor, Gorber, S., « Condition physique des adultes au Canada : résultats de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé, 2007-2009 » Rapports sur la santé [Internet] (Mars 2010) Vol. 21, no 1, p. 1-15. Consulté le 19 avril 2012 au : http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-003-x/2010001/article/11064-fra.htm.
  2. Christou, N., Sampalis, J., Liberman, M., Look, D., Auger, S., McLean, A., MacLean, L., « Surgery decreases long-term mortality, morbidity, and health care use in morbid obese patients » Annals of Surgery [Internet] (Septembre 2003) Vol. 240, no 3, p. 416-424. Consulté le 19 avril 2012 au : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1356432/.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.