Physician wellness

Coping with the stress of medical practice

Medico-legal problems and their emotional impact

Originally published August 2012
W12-005-E

While many physicians cope well with medico-legal issues such as a lawsuit or medical regulatory authority (College) complaint, the experience can cause anxiety. Recognizing this, medical officers at the CMPA can help members keep the situation in perspective and identify resources to alleviate the emotional stress associated with medico-legal difficulties.

Understanding the legal or College complaint process

Members are encouraged to discuss the legal or College complaint process with a medical officer. Understanding these processes may counter some of the misconceptions and reduce the level of stress associated with them.

Members should keep in mind the following key points of the legal process:

  • The plaintiff in a legal action must demonstrate that the physician's treatment of the patient fell below the standard of care and that this failure resulted in harm to the patient.
  • The law does not require that a physician attains perfection. A physician's treatment is said to have conformed to the standard of care if the physician has demonstrated the degree of skill expected of a prudent practitioner of similar training and experience when faced with a similar situation.
  • Physicians are expected to comply with the legal requirements regarding consent. To this end, a physician must obtain the informed consent of the patient by discussing the nature and consequences of the procedure including common risks or potentially serious consequences. A physician should also discuss any reasonable alternative treatments that are recognized. The adequacy of a consent explanation is judged according to what a reasonable patient would expect to be informed about in such circumstances before providing consent.

Learn more about legal proceedings and the College complaint process:

Poor outcomes and adverse events

Medicine is a caring profession. Physicians often develop a close rapport with patients, particularly when they have cared for them for many years. When patients suffer a poor outcome and later initiate a complaint or lawsuit, physicians may feel betrayal, guilt, or remorse. In retrospect, a physician may wish to have done things differently.

One poor outcome may exert a far greater effect on the psyche than hundreds of positive ones. Physicians need to keep the legal or College matter in perspective.

Objectivity

When faced with a complaint or lawsuit, physicians can lose objectivity. Hindsight provides a vastly different perspective on a situation. For example, a diagnosis may be missed or delayed because a serious illness may present atypically or with non-specific symptoms. Diagnoses are based on an analysis of probabilities, and a particular diagnosis may elude even the most astute physician.

Critical language

The language used in statements of claim is usually cold, harsh, and critical. The competence of the named physician may be called into question, and even a physician's character may be criticized. It is important to remember that a statement of claim is not an impartial or objective account of events.

Understanding the circumstances

Physicians have many competing priorities and demands on their time. They have to manage their practice, keep up to date with medical knowledge, and may have administrative, teaching, research, or other responsibilities in addition to seeing patients. They may work in sub-optimal conditions and face resource shortages. When a patient suffers an adverse outcome, it is important to understand the circumstances leading to the outcome, participate in properly structured quality improvement reviews when they occur, and seek ways that will assist in moving forward.

The CMPA advises physicians about the significance of disclosing adverse events to patients. Disclosure discussions can be stressful, but when managed properly, will address the patient's information needs and provide physicians an opportunity to disclose the known facts.

Media reports

Some medico-legal cases might be considered newsworthy. Because news reports are often based on the statement of claim, they rarely portray the events from the perspective of the physician. In fact, to maintain patient confidentiality, doctors should not speak to the media about specific patients.

On learning of news reports, the doctor named may wonder if the reports will destroy or irreparably damage the positive reputation established over the years. The reality is the effect of media reports on reputation is usually far less dire than anticipated.

Support

Some physicians keep their medico-legal problems secret; however, the support of friends, family, and colleagues would often prove to be beneficial.

Physicians should feel free to seek support as needed, keeping in mind not to discuss details or make assumptions of fault or blame when speaking with others. CMPA members can feel safe to discuss their situation with a CMPA medical officer and the lawyer assigned to their case.

Physicians who are trying to cope with stress from a medico-legal problem should consider following the advice they would recommend to others. They should consult their family doctor about how they are feeling, and take care of their health by getting enough sleep, eating well, and exercising. Good physical and mental health can help physicians withstand stress.

Physicians may consider using the services of the physician health program in their province.

Points to keep in mind...

  • Members should not hesitate to discuss their feelings or the progress of the case or complaint at any time with a CMPA medical officer.
  • Members who are assisted by a lawyer should not hesitate to discuss with them the emotional effect of the proceedings.
  • Support of colleagues, friends, and family will prove beneficial — but members should be careful not to divulge the clinical details of the case.
  • Members may want to consult the Canadian Physician Health Network.
  • Members may also consider seeking medical assistance, including consulting their own physician

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Bien-être des médecins

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

L'impact émotionnel des problèmes médico-légaux

Publié initiallement en août 2012
W12-005-F

Même si de nombreux médecins gèrent bien les problèmes médico-légaux, telle une poursuite ou une plainte auprès d'un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), ces expériences peuvent causer de l'anxiété. Conscients de cette réalité, les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM peuvent aider les membres à garder le sens des proportions par rapport à leur situation, et identifier des ressources visant à atténuer le stress émotionnel associé aux problèmes médico-légaux.

Comprendre le processus d'une action en justice ou d'une plainte déposée au Collège

Les membres sont encouragés à discuter avec un médecin-conseil du processus d'une action en justice ou d'une plainte déposée au Collège. Une bonne compréhension de ces processus peut réfuter certaines idées fausses et réduire le niveau de stress qui leur est associé.

Les membres devraient garder à l'esprit les éléments clés suivants du processus judiciaire :

  • Le demandeur dans une action en justice doit démontrer que le traitement prodigué par le médecin ne respectait pas la norme de pratique et que ce non-respect a entraîné un préjudice chez le patient.
  • Le droit n'attend pas du médecin qu'il soit parfait. Le traitement prodigué par un médecin est estimé avoir respecté la norme de pratique si le médecin a fait preuve du niveau de compétence attendu d'un médecin prudent ayant une formation et une expérience comparables et qui est confronté à une situation semblable.
  • Il est attendu que les médecins se conforment à leurs obligations légales en matière de consentement. À cette fin, un médecin doit obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient en discutant de la nature et des conséquences de l'intervention, y compris les risques courants et les conséquences importantes possibles. Le médecin devrait également discuter de toute solution de rechange raisonnable au traitement qui est reconnue. Le caractère adéquat des explications en vue d'obtenir le consentement est évalué en fonction de ce qu'un patient raisonnable, dans des circonstances semblables, voudrait savoir avant de donner son consentement.

Renseignez-vous sur le processus lié à une plainte au Collège et sur les actions en justice :

Les résultats défavorables et les événements indésirables

La médecine est une profession à vocation sociale. Souvent, un rapport étroit se tisse entre un médecin et ses patients, notamment lorsqu'il leur prodigue des soins depuis de nombreuses années. Lorsqu'un patient subit un résultat défavorable et qu'il initie par la suite une plainte ou une poursuite, le médecin peut se sentir trahi ou avoir des sentiments de culpabilité ou des remords. En rétrospective, le médecin peut souhaiter avoir fait les choses différemment.

Un seul résultat défavorable peut avoir un effet beaucoup plus considérable sur la psyché que des centaines de résultats positifs. Les médecins doivent garder le sens des proportions du problème juridique ou de la plainte déposée au Collège.

Objectivité

Lorsqu'ils font face à une plainte ou à une poursuite, les médecins peuvent perdre leur objectivité. Un regard rétrospectif présente une perspective très différente d'une situation. À titre d'exemple, un diagnostic peut passer inaperçu ou tarder à être posé en raison de la présentation atypique d'une maladie grave ou de symptômes non spécifiques. Les diagnostics sont fondés sur une analyse des probabilités, et un diagnostic particulier peut échapper même au médecin le mieux avisé.

Langage critique

Le langage utilisé dans les déclarations et les requêtes introductives d'instance est généralement froid, dur et critique. La compétence du médecin en cause peut être remise en question et sa réputation même peut être attaquée. Il importe de se souvenir qu'un tel document ne représente pas un compte rendu impartial ni objectif des événements.

Comprendre les circonstances

De multiples priorités et exigences se font concurrence pour le temps des médecins. Ils doivent gérer leur pratique, actualiser leurs connaissances médicales, et peuvent jongler avec l'enseignement, la recherche, les tâches administratives et d'autres responsabilités en plus de voir des patients. Ils peuvent travailler dans des conditions moins qu'optimales et être confrontés à des pénuries de ressources. Lorsqu'un patient subit un résultat défavorable, il est important de comprendre les circonstances qui ont contribué au résultat, de participer aux évaluations en matière d'amélioration de la qualité dûment structurées lorsqu'elles ont lieu, et de vous outiller avec des techniques qui vous permettront de porter votre regard vers l'avenir.

L'ACPM rappelle aux médecins l'importance de divulguer les événements indésirables aux patients. Bien que les discussions entourant la divulgation puissent s'avérer stressantes, lorsqu'elles sont bien gérées, elles répondront aux besoins informationnels du patient et représentent une occasion pour le médecin de divulguer les faits connus.

Reportages dans les médias

Certaines causes médico-légales sont susceptibles d'intéresser les médias. Puisque les reportages se fondent souvent sur la requête introductive d'instance, il est rare qu'ils présentent les événements de la perspective du médecin. En fait, afin de respecter l'obligation de confidentialité envers le patient, les médecins doivent éviter de discuter de patients individuels avec les médias.

Lorsqu'il prend connaissance d'un reportage, le médecin en cause peut se demander si son contenu détruira ou endommagera à tout jamais la réputation positive qu'il a établie au fil du temps. En réalité, l'incidence des reportages sur la réputation est habituellement beaucoup moins désastreuse qu'il ne l'avait été anticipé.

Soutien

Certains médecins tiennent secrets leurs problèmes médico-légaux. Or, souvent, le soutien de leurs amis, leur famille et leurs collègues leur serait bénéfique.

Les médecins doivent se sentir à l'aise d'obtenir un soutien au besoin, tout en évitant de donner des détails ou de formuler des hypothèses de faute ou de blâme lorsqu'ils discutent du problème avec d'autres. Les membres de l'ACPM peuvent discuter de leur situation en toute sécurité avec un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM et avec l'avocat assigné à leur cause.

Les médecins qui tentent de gérer le stress découlant d'un problème médico-légal devraient songer à suivre les conseils qu'ils offriraient à autrui. Ils devraient consulter leur omnipraticien pour discuter de leurs sentiments, et prendre soin de leur santé en s'assurant de dormir suffisamment, de bien manger et de faire de l'exercice. Une bonne santé physique et mentale aide les médecins à résister au stress.

Les médecins peuvent envisager de se prévaloir des services du programme d'aide aux médecins de leur province.

Points à retenir...

  • Les membres ne doivent pas hésiter de discuter en tout temps de leurs sentiments ou de la progression de la cause ou de la plainte avec un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM.
  • Les membres qui reçoivent l'assistance d'un avocat ne doivent pas hésiter à discuter avec celui-ci de l'impact émotionnel de l'instance.
  • Le soutien de collègues, d'amis et de membres de la famille est bénéfique. Toutefois, les membres doivent s'assurer d'éviter de divulguer les détails cliniques du cas.
  • Les membres peuvent choisir de consulter le Réseau canadien de santé des médecins.
  • Les membres peuvent également songer à obtenir une aide médicale, notamment en consultant leur médecin personnel.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.