Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Overcoming bias in medical practice

Originally published December 2012
P1205-3-E

Like other healthcare providers, physicians may have conscious or unconscious biases that can affect the provision of care. Understanding and being aware of potential biases can help doctors to improve the care provided to patients, as well as reduce the medico-legal risks in their practices.

What are biases and prejudices?

A bias is a tendency or inclination that precludes consideration of an issue, or an inclination to favour a particular perspective at the expense of others. In clinical care, these biases (dispositions to respond) include reactions to stimuli or specific cues in the patient encounter. The term prejudice is often used to refer to preconceived, unfavourable attitudes towards a group sharing common characteristics.

Many different biases may influence decision making and diagnosis in medical practice. This article describes 2 important types:

  1. Affective biases (intrusion of the physician's feelings and emotions), including human rights-related prejudices
  2. Cognitive biases (distortions of thinking)

 

Both affective and cognitive biases can have potentially profound impacts on patient care. More often than not, physician biases are unconscious, 1 and individual doctors may not be aware of their own tendencies. Nevertheless, providing quality care to patients means doctors must attempt to recognize and eliminate their biases and prejudices.

Affective biases

It is increasingly recognized that a physician's unconscious emotional reactions to a patient or circumstance may interfere with achieving proper diagnosis and decision making. Examples in which patients are sometimes prejudged or their symptoms dismissed without sufficient evaluation include those patients with existing health conditions such as mental illness, alcohol and other substance abuse, obesity, certain communicable diseases, a history of noncompliance to treatments, or frequent previous visits perceived to be for trivial reasons. Individuals from different cultures or of certain sexual orientations or with poor socio-economic status may also trigger an affective bias.

Physicians can gain new insights and set aside personal biases and prejudices by learning more about specific issues or about patient groups. For example, physicians may decide to learn more about the health issues or risk factors among gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender patients, new immigrants of a particular ethnicity, or patients who hold religious beliefs that may affect their healthcare choices and decisions. Continuing medical education on specific health issues common to a particular patient population may also be valuable.

Certain prejudices are clearly recognized as discriminatory in Canadian society and discrimination is prohibited by law. For example, discrimination against gender, race, age, disability, and sexual orientation is not permitted.

Beneficence and social justice — fundamental principles of medical practice — require doctors to work toward eliminating discrimination in healthcare and respecting patients' human rights. The CMPA advises physicians to take steps to minimize the risk of allegations of human rights violations. (See also the article "Ending the doctor-patient relationship".)

Cognitive biases in decision making and diagnosis

In recent years, research in cognitive psychology and medicine has identified the profound impact of cognitive biases on reasoning, decision making, and diagnosis. Cognitive biases are distortions of thinking. Common ones include anchoring (focusing on 1 symptom or diagnosis and failing to consider other possibilities), premature closure (uncritical acceptance of an initial diagnosis), and search satisfaction (calling off the search when just 1 abnormality has been found).

Another type of cognitive bias is availability bias. In this case, recent or vivid patient diagnoses are more easily brought to mind (i.e. are more available) and overemphasized in assessing the probability of a current diagnosis. In influenza season, for example, it is tempting to consider all patients with fever and myalgias as having influenza. This sometimes results in delays in diagnosis of patients with meningitis.

All of these biases can interfere with reaching a correct diagnosis or recommending appropriate treatment for patients. These biases can also be inter-related, and more than 1 bias can affect the diagnosis or management of a patient.

Research is ongoing to identify strategies for physicians to prevent cognitive biases.

Biases when providing opinions

Affective and cognitive biases may also come to the fore when providing retrospective opinions. Physicians may be asked to provide opinions on clinical events for quality improvement and peer accountability reviews, or as expert witnesses in court or for medical regulatory authorities (Colleges). Physicians may also provide opinions when preparing third-party medical reports, often on matters of unique sensitivity, for insurers, lawyers, or others on behalf of patients.

Hindsight bias or outcome bias exaggerates the predictability of an event after it has happened. Knowing an undesirable and unexpected clinical outcome has occurred increases the belief that it was predictable, therefore preventable and related to carelessness or poor clinical care. For doctors, outcome knowledge can bias thinking on the quality of the processes that led to the outcome.2 Hindsight bias is almost inevitable in retrospective reviews. Bias is increased when reviewers know there has been an adverse outcome, and the degree of bias is proportional to the severity of the outcome.3

Other biases may also affect retrospective opinions. For example, learned intuition bias refers to the phenomenon when a person has learned a complex process and it later seems intuitive. The person does not easily recall the difficulty he or she had when first trying to learn the process. When someone new to a process of care has difficulty with it, the problem often stems from poor system design, orientation, or training. Making improvements in these will benefit everyone.

When physicians agree to provide opinions or prepare expert reports, the CMPA recommends they provide opinion evidence that is fair, objective, non-partisan, and related only to matters within their area of expertise. Physicians can try to avoid hindsight and other biases by considering how factors such as the natural evolution of a disease, additional clinical information, and improvements in the technology used for clinical testing can affect retrospective assessments. Those with advanced knowledge in a specialty should be cautious on commenting on the care of those in other types of practice. Trying to understand the context of care and the rationale for decisions at the time of the care in question is important.

The CMPA is here to assist

Ultimately, physicians want to have trusting and respectful relationships with their patients and provide excellent patient care. Identifying and addressing biases aids in developing successful doctor-patient relationships, supports effective care delivery, and may help decrease medico-legal risks.

Members should contact the CMPA if they have questions or need assistance with this challenging aspect of practice. CMPA medical officers, physicians with extensive co-legal experience, will listen to members' concerns and provide advice.


References

  1. Moyer, C.S., "Doctors' unconscious racial biases leave patients dissatisfied," American Medical News (March 26, 2012). Retrieved on April 3 2012 from: http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2012/03/26/prsc0330.htm
  2. Henriksen, K., Kaplan, H., "Hindsight bias, outcome knowledge and adaptive learning," Quality and Safety in Health Care (2003) Vol. 12, supplemental issue 2 p.46–50
  3. Hugh, T.G., Tracy, G.D., "Hindsight bias in medicolegal expert reports," Medical Journal of Australia (2002) Vol. 176, no.6. p.277-278.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Surmonter les biais dans l'exercice de la médecine

Publié initialement en décembre 2012
P1205-3-F

Comme d'autres professionnels de la santé, les médecins peuvent avoir des biais conscients ou inconscients qui influent sur la prestation des soins. Le fait de comprendre et de tenir compte des biais éventuels peut aider les médecins à améliorer les soins prodigués aux patients, et à réduire les risques médico-légaux dans leur pratique.

Que sont les biais et les préjugés?

Un biais est une tendance ou une disposition qui empêche la personne de tenir compte d'un enjeu, ou une disposition selon laquelle elle favorise une perspective en particulier aux dépens de toute autre. Dans le cas des soins cliniques, de tels biais (dispositions à réagir) englobent les réactions à des stimuli ou à des indices précis durant la rencontre avec le patient. Le terme préjugé renvoie à des attitudes préconçues et défavorables envers un groupe qui partage des caractéristiques communes.

De nombreux biais peuvent influer sur la prise de décision et le diagnostic dans le cadre de l'exercice de la médecine. Cet article décrit deux genres de biais importants :

  1. Biais affectifs (intrusion des sentiments et des émotions du médecin), y compris les préjugés liés aux droits de la personne
  2. Biais cognitifs (déformations de la pensée)

Les biais affectifs et cognitifs peuvent avoir des répercussions potentiellement graves sur les soins du patient. Plus souvent qu'autrement, les biais des médecins sont inconscients1, et il se peut qu'un médecin ne se rende pas compte de ses propres tendances. Néanmoins, pour assurer la prestation de soins de qualité aux patients, les médecins doivent tenter de reconnaître et d'éliminer leurs biais et leurs préjugés.

Les biais affectifs

Il est de plus en plus reconnu que les réactions émotionnelles inconscientes du médecin envers un patient ou une circonstance peuvent entraver l'établissement d'un diagnostic juste, ainsi que la prise de décision. À titre d'exemple de situations où les patients sont parfois jugés d'avance ou que leurs symptômes passent sous silence sans être évalués suffisamment, notons les patients qui souffrent de problèmes de santé telle la maladie mentale, l'abus d'alcool ou d'autres drogues, l'obésité et certaines maladies transmissibles, qui présentent des antécédents d'inobservance thérapeutique ou qui ont pris des rendez-vous fréquents pour des motifs estimés frivoles. Les personnes provenant de différentes cultures ou ayant certaines orientations sexuelles ou encore un faible statut socio-économique peuvent également déclencher un biais affectif.

Les médecins peuvent gagner de nouvelles perspectives et abandonner leurs biais et leurs préjugés personnels en se renseignant davantage sur des enjeux précis ou des groupes de patients. À titre d'exemple, un médecin pourrait décider de se renseigner sur les problèmes de santé ou les facteurs de risque propres aux patientes lesbiennes, aux patients gais, bisexuels et transgenres, aux nouveaux immigrants d'une origine ethnique précise, ou aux patients dont les croyances religieuses peuvent influer sur les choix et les décisions en matière de soins de santé. Une activité de développement professionnel continu portant sur des enjeux de santé précis propres à une population de patients peut également s'avérer utile.

Au Canada, certains préjugés sont nettement reconnus comme étant discriminatoires et la discrimination est interdite par la loi. Par exemple, la discrimination fondée sur le sexe, la race, l'âge, l'incapacité et l'orientation sexuelle n'est pas permise.

La bienfaisance et la justice sociale – principes fondamentaux de l'exercice de la médecine – exigent que les médecins s'emploient à éliminer la discrimination dans les soins de santé et qu'ils respectent les droits de la personne de leurs patients. L'ACPM recommande aux médecins de prendre des mesures pour réduire le risque d'allégations de violation des droits de la personne. (Vous référer aussi l'article Mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient.)

Les biais cognitifs en matière de prise de décision et de diagnostic

Au cours des dernières années, la recherche dans les domaines de la psychologie cognitive et de la médecine a mis en lumière les importantes répercussions des biais cognitifs sur le raisonnement, la prise de décision et le diagnostic. Les biais cognitifs sont des déformations de la pensée. Parmi les plus courants, notons l'ancrage (centrer l'attention sur un symptôme ou un diagnostic sans tenir compte d'autres possibilités), la conclusion prématurée (accepter sans réserve un diagnostic initial), et la satisfaction par rapport à la recherche (interrompre la recherche dès qu'une seule anomalie est décelée).

Le biais de disponibilité est un autre genre de biais cognitif. Lorsqu'il se manifeste, des diagnostics récents ou frappants chez les patients reviennent à l'esprit plus facilement (c.-à-d. qu'ils sont davantage disponibles) et sont surestimés lors de l'évaluation de la probabilité du diagnostic actuel. Pendant la saison de la grippe, par exemple, il se peut que vous soyez porté à croire que tout patient présentant une fièvre et des myalgies a la grippe. Cela peut contribuer à des délais de diagnostic chez les patients atteints de méningite.

Tous ces biais peuvent entraver l'établissement d'un diagnostic juste ou la recommandation d'un traitement approprié pour un patient. Ces biais peuvent aussi être interdépendants, et il se peut que plus d'un biais influe sur le diagnostic ou sur la prise en charge d'un patient.

La recherche se poursuit en vue de cerner des stratégies permettant aux médecins d'éviter les biais cognitifs.

Les biais au moment d'offrir une opinion

Les biais affectifs et cognitifs peuvent également surgir au moment d'offrir des opinions rétrospectives. Les médecins peuvent être appelés à fournir une opinion sur des événements cliniques dans le cadre d'évaluations en matière d'amélioration de la qualité et d'évaluations de l'acte médical, ou encore à titre de témoin expert en cour ou pour le compte d'un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Les médecins peuvent aussi fournir une opinion lorsqu'ils rédigent, au nom de leurs patients, des rapports médicaux destinés à des assureurs, des avocats ou à d'autres parties. Ces rapports portent souvent sur des enjeux très délicats.

Le biais rétrospectif ou la partialité fondée sur les résultats exagère la prévisibilité d'un événement après sa survenue. Le fait de savoir qu'un résultat clinique défavorable et inattendu s'est produit augmente l'impression qu'il était prévisible et, par conséquent, évitable et lié au manque de diligence ou à de mauvais soins cliniques. Pour les médecins, une connaissance du résultat peut influencer la perception de la qualité des processus qui y ont contribué.2 Le biais rétrospectif est pratiquement inévitable dans le cas d'évaluations rétrospectives. Le biais s'accroît lorsque les examinateurs savent qu'un résultat défavorable s'est produit, et le degré de biais est proportionnel à la gravité du résultat.3

D'autres biais peuvent également influer sur les opinions rétrospectives. Par exemple, le biais de l'intuition apprise renvoie au phénomène selon lequel une personne a appris un processus complexe qui semble intuitif par la suite. La personne ne se souvient pas nettement de la difficulté qu'elle a éprouvée alors qu'elle tentait d'apprendre le processus en question. Lorsqu'une personne non initiée éprouve de la difficulté avec un processus de soins, le problème découle souvent de la piètre conception du système ou d'une orientation ou d'une formation inadéquate. Les améliorations apportées à l'un ou l'autre de ces éléments profiteront à tous.

Lorsqu'un médecin accepte de fournir une opinion ou de rédiger un rapport d'expert, l'ACPM recommande qu'il fournisse un témoignage d'opinion qui est juste, objectif et impartial et qui relève uniquement de son champ d'expertise. Les médecins peuvent tenter d'éviter le biais rétrospectif et les autres biais en évaluant à quel point des facteurs tels l'évolution naturelle d'une maladie, les renseignements cliniques supplémentaires et les améliorations à la technologie utilisée dans les investigations cliniques peuvent influer sur les évaluations rétrospectives. Ceux qui ont des connaissances approfondies liées à une spécialité doivent faire preuve de prudence lorsqu'ils commentent les soins prodigués par des médecins dans d'autres types de pratique. Il importe de tenter de comprendre le contexte des soins et le raisonnement derrière les décisions prises au moment où les soins en question ont été prodigués.

L'ACPM est là pour prêter assistance

En fin de compte, les médecins veulent entretenir des relations de confiance et respectueuses avec leurs patients et leur prodiguer d'excellents soins. Le fait de déterminer et d'aborder les biais favorise les relations médecin-patient fructueuses, appuie la prestation efficace des soins, et peut contribuer à réduire les risques médico-légaux.

Les membres qui ont des questions ou qui souhaitent de l'aide pour aborder cet aspect complexe de l'exercice de la médecine devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM. Ses médecins-conseils, des médecins qui possèdent une longue expérience médico-légale, savent écouter les préoccupations des membres et offrir des conseils utiles.


Références

  1. 1 Moyer, C.S., « Doctors' unconscious racial biases leave patients dissatisfied », American Medical News (le 26 mars 2012). Obtenu le 3 avril 2012 sur le site : http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2012/03/26/prsc0330.htm
  2. Henriksen, K., Kaplan, H., « Hindsight bias, outcome knowledge and adaptive learning », Quality and Safety in Health Care (2003), vol. 12, numéro supplémentaire 2, p. 46–50
  3. Hugh, T.G., Tracy, G.D., « Hindsight bias in medicolegal expert reports », Medical Journal of Australia (2002), vol. 176, no 6, p. 277–278.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.