Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Perils in the prevention of venous thromboembolism

Originally published June 2012
P1202-4-E

Today the management of patients at risk of developing venous thromboembolism is undergoing greater scrutiny than in the past.

Venous thromboembolism (VTE) refers collectively to the conditions of deep venous thrombosis and pulmonary embolism. Pulmonary embolism secondary to deep venous thrombosis is the leading cause of preventable hospital deaths, accounting for about 10% of in-hospital mortality.1 Non-fatal VTE events are important causes of morbidity and prolonged hospitalization.2

Most venous thromboembolism cases develop during hospitalization and in the weeks and months after discharge. Different approaches to preventing VTE — drug and non-drug strategies — have been studied extensively for hospitalized patients with a wide range of medical and surgical conditions. Overall, appropriate pharmacological prophylaxis reduces the incidence of venous thromboembolism by 50% to 60% in patients at risk.3

Patients who are at risk for venous thromboembolism must be identified and managed appropriately. When evaluating a patient's risk and deciding on a treatment, patient-specific features should also be considered. Often, even during a single admission, the risk of VTE and bleeding events varies due to many factors such as patient immobility and the need for invasive procedures. Anticoagulants may increase the risk of bleeding, and that risk must be considered when making decisions about VTE prophylaxis. Several anticoagulation protocols aimed at preventing venous thromboembolism are available. These protocols rely on different agents, timing, and routes of administration. As it is not the CMPA's mandate to set standards of practice, the Association does not endorse any particular approach.

Despite the publication of regularly-updated evidence-based guidelines, large published multi-national studies indicate VTE prophylaxis is underused in hospitalized patients at risk.45 One of the recommendations of a major guideline review is that every general hospital should develop a strategy to prevent venous thromboembolism.6

Accreditation Canada has developed Required Organizational Practices in which medical and surgical services are required to address prevention of venous thromboembolism. These practices include VTE Prophylaxis and Safe Surgery Checklist which state that adult surgical centres should have a written VTE prophylaxis policy or guideline, and that a safe surgery checklist should be used in operating rooms in Canada7. The checklists now in use by many Canadian hospitals include a reminder to consider the patient's need for VTE prophylaxis.

VTE cases from the CMPA

During the six-year period from 2006 to 2011, the CMPA had 242 medico-legal cases involving venous thromboembolism. Many of the medico-legal problems in these cases were the result of allegations that the physician failed to diagnose and treat venous thromboembolism. The cases also identified medico-legal problems related to VTE prophylaxis such as failing to consider risk factors specific to an individual patient, and underestimating the risk of developing VTE due to illness.

Case examples

Case 1: Failure to recognize a patient at increased risk of VTE

A family physician referred a 50-year-old woman with a history of postpartum deep venous thrombosis (DVT) to an orthopaedic surgeon for bilateral hallux rigidus.

Approximately two months after surgery on her left foot, the patient developed a DVT in the lower left leg. Warfarin therapy, with appropriate monitoring, was prescribed for several months. The family physician did not advise the orthopaedic surgeon of this complication. Although the patient reported the deep venous thrombosis to the surgeon at a follow-up appointment, the surgeon did not document it in the medical record.

Without the family physician's knowledge, the patient returned to the orthopaedic surgeon one year later for surgery on the other foot. As the office record did not contain the history of deep venous thrombosis and the surgeon did not specifically ask about past DVT during history taking, venous thromboembolism prophylaxis was not prescribed. The surgery was uneventful, and there was no clinical evidence of deep venous thrombosis throughout the post-operative period. When the family physician learned a second surgery had been performed, he was concerned about the need for anticoagulation. However, the patient advised him that she was instructed to do exercises to prevent deep venous thrombosis. Believing anticoagulation was being addressed by the orthopaedic surgeon who the patient would be seeing the following day, the family physician did not prescribe prophylactic anticoagulants. Ten days later, the patient died from a pulmonary embolism secondary to deep venous thrombosis. The family initiated a legal action.

What the experts said

Peer experts in the case expressed the view the patient probably would have had a decreased likelihood of venous thromboembolism after the second surgery had post-operative anticoagulant prophylaxis been prescribed. The experts also maintained that a lack of communication between the physicians and deficiencies in history taking and documentation contributed to this omission.

Without expert support, the CMPA, on behalf of the family physician and orthopaedic surgeon, paid a settlement to the patient's family. While the medical literature does not provide evidence for prophylaxis in this type of surgery, given the prior deep venous thrombosis after similar surgery, a reasonable expectation in this case was to provide pharmacologic prophylaxis.

 

Case 2: Decision to not use VTE prophylaxis

An elderly patient, with severe oxygen-dependent chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), had acute cholecystitis related to cholelithiasis.

In hospital, she did not significantly improve with intravenous fluids and antibiotics, and an ultrasound revealed fluid surrounding the gallbladder. A laparoscopic cholecystectomy was performed, and a Jackson-Pratt drain was placed because of minor bleeding from the hepatic bed. Given the bleeding and severe co-morbidities, the patient was not considered a good candidate for VTE prophylaxis. She was admitted to an intensive care unit for observation and within 24 hours was sent to the ward in stable condition. Days later, she became rapidly unwell with shortness of breath and sinus bradycardia, followed by cardiac arrest with unsuccessful resuscitation. An autopsy identified a large pulmonary embolism as the cause of death. A legal action followed.

Experts' opinion

Peer experts for the defence in this case supported the care provided. Ultimately the matter was resolved with a consent dismissal (a document provided by the parties in a legal action stating the dispute is resolved and the parties agree the court should dismiss the claim).

 

The experts' concerns in the VTE cases

In each CMPA case, the defence retained different peer experts to review the care. The following summarizes the concerns identified from all of the cases:

  • failure to obtain or consider relevant patient-specific risk factors (e.g. age over 70; personal or family history of deep venous thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, or thrombophilia; cancer; congestive heart failure; acute stroke or MI; certain drug therapies predisposing the patient to clotting; obesity; lack of mobility; and others)
  • underestimation of venous thromboembolism risk caused by illness
  • inappropriate risk stratification when determining appropriate candidacy for venous thromboembolism prophylaxis (overestimation of the risk of perioperative hemorrhage was not supported by the experts)
  • inadequate informed consent discussions
  • verbal or written communication issues between treating physicians, and also between physicians and other healthcare professionals, that impeded the transmission of important information
  • incomplete discharge instructions to inform patients about the importance of continuing anticoagulant strategies post-discharge, and providing information on the symptoms of possible thromboembolic disease and the need to seek medical attention should these occur
  • inadequate documentation of consent, clinical care, and discharge instructions in the medical record

Managing the medico-legal risks of VTE

The following risk management considerations are based on the experts' opinions in the analyzed CMPA cases:

  • Are you aware of your hospital's formal VTE prophylaxis policy or guidelines?
  • Do you consider current clinical practice guidelines for venous thromboembolism prevention when assessing individual patients?
  • If a patient's clinical risk factors for venous thromboembolism change, do you reassess the need for prophylaxis?
  • Do you appropriately adjust and resume anticoagulation as required?
  • Do you provide patients with a consent discussion related to VTE prophylaxis?
  • When a patient's particular features cause you to modify your usual approach to VTE prophylaxis, is your decision-making process reflected in your discussion with the patient and in your notes in the medical record?
  • If appropriate, do you provide anticoagulation therapy at discharge and provide advice on the symptoms of possible VTE disease?
  • Do you adequately document consent, clinical care, and discharge discussions?
  • If the patient returns with symptoms and findings suspicious of deep venous thrombosis or pulmonary embolism, do you arrange appropriate investigations in a timely way?

Two key points

  1. Physicians should be aware of their institution's guidelines for VTE prophylaxis.
  2. Physicians should consider a careful evaluation of each patient's history for risks of venous thromboembolism and bleeding when making decisions about VTE prophylaxis. Evidence-based guidelines from authoritative sources should also be consulted.

References

  1. Sandler, D.A., Martin, J.F., "Autopsy proven pulmonary embolism in hospital patients: are we detecting enough deep vein thrombosis?," Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine (1989) Vol. 82, p.203-205.
  2. Zhan, C., Miller, M.R., "Excess length of stay, charges, and mortality attributable to medical injuries during hospitalization," Journal of the American Medical Association (2003) Vol. 290, p.1868-1874.
  3. Leizorovicz, A., Mismetti, P., "Preventing venous thromboembolism in medical patients," Circulation (December 14, 2004), Vol. 110 (Suppl IV), p. IV 13-19.
  4. Kahn, S.R., et al., "Prevention of venous thromboembolic disease in surgical patients," Thrombosis Research (2007), Vol. 119(2), p.145.
  5. Cohen, A., et al., "Venous thromboembolism risk and prophylaxis in the acute hospital setting (ENDORSE study): a multi-national cross-section study," The Lancet, (February 2, 2008), Vol. 371, no.9610 p.387-394.
  6. American College of Chest Physicians, "Antithrombotic and Thrombolytic Therapy: American College of Chest Physicians Evidenced-Based Clinical Practice Guidelines (8th Edition)," Chest, (June 2008), Vol. 133, no.6 p.382S.
  7. Accreditation Canada, "Accreditation Canada. Required organizational practices," September 2011. Retrieved on March 20, 2012, p.28, 54-55, from: http://www.accreditation.ca/uploadedFiles/ROP%20Handbook.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Prévention des thromboembolies veineuses : les péripéties médico-légales

Publié initialement en juin 2012
P1202-4-F

De nos jours, la prise en charge des patients à risque de développer une thromboembolie veineuse fait l'objet d'une attention beaucoup plus grande que dans le passé.

La thromboembolie veineuse (TEV) désigne à la fois la thrombose veineuse profonde et l'embolie pulmonaire. Représentant environ 10 % des décès chez les patients hospitalisés, l'embolie pulmonaire secondaire à une thrombose veineuse profonde constitue la cause de décès évitable la plus courante en milieu hospitalier1. Les TEV non fatales représentent d'importantes causes de morbidité et de prolongation du séjour hospitalier2.

La plupart des cas de thromboembolie veineuse apparaissent au décours de l'hospitalisation ou dans les semaines ou les mois qui suivent le congé de l'hôpital. Différentes démarches, médicamenteuses ou non, visant à prévenir l'apparition d'une TEV ont été étudiées avec attention pour des patients hospitalisés dont les situations médicales et chirurgicales sont très variées. Globalement, une prophylaxie pharmacologique appropriée permet une diminution de l'incidence de la thromboembolie veineuse de 50 à 60 % chez les patients à risque3.

Les patients à risque de thromboembolie veineuse doivent être identifiés et pris en charge de manière appropriée. Il convient de prendre en compte les caractéristiques spécifiques d'un patient au moment d'évaluer son niveau de risque et de choisir un traitement. Même lors d'une hospitalisation simple, le risque d'hémorragie ou de TEV varie souvent en fonction de nombreux facteurs, tels que la mobilité du patient ou la nécessité d'une intervention invasive. L'administration d'anticoagulants peut augmenter le risque hémorragique, qui doit être pris en compte au moment de décider d'une prophylaxie de la TEV. On dispose de plusieurs protocoles d'anticoagulothérapie visant à prévenir la thromboembolie veineuse. Ces protocoles s'appuient sur divers agents, schémas thérapeutiques et voies d'administration. Étant donné qu'il n'est pas du mandat de l'ACPM d'établir des normes de pratique, l'Association n'approuve aucune approche en particulier.

En dépit de la publication de directives basées sur des données probantes régulièrement mises à jour, de vastes études internationales publiées indiquent une sous-utilisation des traitements prophylactiques de la TEV chez les patients hospitalisés à risque4,5. Une revue des principales directives recommande, entre autres, que chaque hôpital général élabore une stratégie afin de prévenir les thromboembolies veineuses6.

Agrément Canada a élaboré des Pratiques organisationnelles requises qui imposent des services médicaux et chirurgicaux pour répondre au problème de la prévention de la thromboembolie veineuse. Ces pratiques incluent la Prophylaxie de la TEV et une Liste de contrôle d'une chirurgie sécuritaire qui indiquent que les centres chirurgicaux pour adultes au Canada devraient avoir établi par écrit une politique ou une directive en matière de prophylaxie de la TEV et utiliser une liste de contrôle d'une chirurgie sécuritaire dans les salles d'opération7. Plusieurs hôpitaux au Canada utilisent une liste de contrôle comportant un rappel pour envisager la nécessité d'une prophylaxie de la TEV.

Dossiers de TEV examinés à l'ACPM

Au cours des six années qui se sont écoulées entre 2006 et 2011, l'ACPM a répertorié 242 dossiers médico-légaux impliquant une thromboembolie veineuse. Un grand nombre des problèmes médico-légaux représentés dans ces dossiers résultaient d'allégations selon lesquelles le médecin n'avait pas diagnostiqué et traité une thromboembolie veineuse. Ces dossiers ont également permis d'identifier des problèmes médico-légaux liés à la prophylaxie des TEV, tels que le fait de ne pas prendre en compte les facteurs de risque spécifiques d'un patient ou de sous-estimer le risque d'apparition d'une TEV secondaire à une pathologie.

Exemple de cas

Cas 1 : Ne pas déceler qu'un patient présente un risque accru de TEV

Une femme de 50 ans ayant des antécédents de thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP) du postpartum est adressée à un chirurgien orthopédiste pour un hallux rigidus bilatéral.

Environ deux mois après l'intervention au pied gauche, la patiente présente une TVP au bas de la jambe gauche. Un traitement par warfarine associé à un suivi approprié est prescrit pendant plusieurs mois. L'omnipraticien n'avertit pas le chirurgien orthopédiste de cette complication. Bien que la patiente mentionne la thrombose veineuse profonde au chirurgien lors d'un rendez-vous de suivi, ce dernier ne l'inscrit pas au dossier médical.

Sans que son omnipraticien en soit averti, la patiente retourne voir le chirurgien orthopédiste un an plus tard pour l'intervention au pied droit. Étant donné que le dossier chirurgical ne mentionne pas la thrombose veineuse profonde survenue à la suite de la première intervention et que le chirurgien ne pose pas de question précise sur les antécédents de TVP lors de l'anamnèse, aucun traitement prophylactique n'est prescrit. L'intervention se passe sans incident et aucun signe clinique de thrombose veineuse profonde n'est observé pendant toute la période postopératoire. Lorsque l'omnipraticien apprend qu'une deuxième intervention a été réalisée, il est préoccupé de la nécessité d'une anticoagulothérapie. Cependant, la patiente l'informe qu'on lui a demandé de faire des exercices pour prévenir une thrombose veineuse profonde. L'omnipraticien ne prescrit donc pas d'anticoagulothérapie prophylactique, pensant que le chirurgien orthopédiste, que la patiente doit consulter le lendemain, s'en chargera. Dix jours plus tard, la patiente décède d'une embolie pulmonaire secondaire à une thrombose veineuse profonde. La famille a intenté une action en justice.

Cas 1 : Ce qu'en disent les experts

Les experts médicaux dans cette cause étaient d'avis que la probabilité de thromboembolie veineuse après la deuxième intervention aurait été moindre si une anticoagulothérapie prophylactique postopératoire avait été prescrite à cette patiente. Les experts ont également affirmé que l'absence de communication entre les médecins et les lacunes dans l'anamnèse et la documentation avaient contribué à cette omission.

En l'absence de l'appui des experts, l'ACPM a dû conclure une transaction avec la famille de cette patiente, pour le compte de l'omnipraticien et du chirurgien orthopédiste. Même si la littérature médicale ne fournit pas de données probantes à l'appui d'une prophylaxie dans ce type d'intervention chirurgicale, il aurait été raisonnable de fournir un traitement prophylactique médicamenteux, étant donné les antécédents de thrombose veineuse profonde après une intervention semblable.

 

Cas 2 : Décision de ne pas réaliser de traitement prophylactique de la TEV

Une patiente âgée oxygénodépendante, atteinte de maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) sévère, présente une cholécystite aiguë liée à une cholélithiase.

L'état de la patiente ne s'améliore pas beaucoup lors de son séjour à l'hôpital au cours duquel on lui administre des liquides par voie intraveineuse et des antibiotiques. Une échographie met en évidence la présence de liquide autour de la vésicule biliaire. On effectue une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie et un drain de Jackson-Pratt est mis en place en raison d'un saignement léger en provenance du lit hépatique. Étant donné le saignement et les graves comorbidités, on estime que la patiente n'est pas une candidate adéquate pour une prophylaxie de la TEV. La patiente est admise à l'unité de soins intensifs pour observation, puis, son état étant stable, envoyée dans les 24 heures qui suivent à l'unité de soins. Plusieurs jours plus tard, son état se détériore rapidement : elle présente une dyspnée et une bradycardie sinusale suivies d'un arrêt cardiaque. Elle ne peut être réanimée. Une autopsie permet d'établir qu'une importante embolie pulmonaire était à l'origine du décès. Une action en justice s'en est suivie.

Cas 2 : L'avis des experts

Les experts de la défense de cette cause ont appuyé les soins prodigués. Finalement, l'affaire a été résolue par un ordre d'abandon de la poursuite (un document fourni par les parties indiquant que le litige est résolu et que les parties acceptent que l'action soit rejetée par le tribunal).

 

Préoccupations des experts au sujet des cas de TEV

Dans chacun des dossiers de l'ACPM, la défense a retenu divers experts pour évaluer les soins administrés. Les préoccupations soulevées à partir de l'ensemble des dossiers sont résumées ci-dessous :

  • Ne pas obtenir ou prendre en compte les facteurs de risques spécifiques et pertinents d'un patient (p. ex., patient de plus de 70 ans, antécédents personnels ou familiaux de thrombose veineuse profonde, d'embolie pulmonaire ou de thrombophilie; cancer, insuffisance cardiaque congestive, AVC ou IM aigu; administration de traitements médicamenteux prédisposant à la formation de caillots sanguins; obésité; manque de mobilité; et autres)
  • Sous-estimer le risque de thromboembolie veineuse secondaire à une pathologie
  • Ne pas stratifier adéquatement le risque au moment de déterminer si le patient est un candidat approprié pour une prophylaxie de la TEV (les experts n'ont pas appuyé la surestimation du risque d'hémorragie périopératoire)
  • Conduire des discussions inadéquates lors du consentement éclairé
  • Problèmes de communication verbale ou écrite entre les médecins traitants, et entre les médecins et d'autres professionnels de la santé, empêchant la transmission d'informations importantes
  • Donner des consignes de congé incomplètes sur l'importance de poursuivre l'anticoagulothérapie après le congé et sur la communication d'informations sur les symptômes d'une potentielle maladie thromboembolique et la nécessité de consulter si ces symptômes se présentaient.
  • Fournir une documentation inadéquate sur le consentement, les soins cliniques et les consignes de congé dans le dossier médical.

Prise en charge des risques médico-légaux de TEV

Les considérations suivantes relatives à la prise en charge des risques sont fondées sur les avis des experts sur les cas examinés par l'ACPM :

  • Connaissez-vous les politiques ou directives officielles de votre établissement hospitalier en ce qui concerne la prophylaxie de la TEV?
  • Au moment de l'évaluation d'un patient, prenez-vous en compte les directives des pratiques cliniques en vigueur pour la prévention de la thromboembolie veineuse?
  • Lorsque les facteurs de risque de TEV d'un patient changent, faites-vous une réévaluation de la nécessité d'une prophylaxie?
  • Le cas échéant, ajustez-vous ou réamorcez-vous l'anticoagulothérapie de manière appropriée?
  • Abordez-vous la question de la prophylaxie de la TEV avec vos patients lors de la discussion pour le consentement?
  • Lorsque les caractéristiques d'un patient vous incitent à modifier votre approche habituelle en matière de prophylaxie de la TEV, votre raisonnement est-il reflété dans votre discussion avec ce patient et par les notes au dossier médical?
  • Le cas échéant, fournissez-vous une anticoagulothérapie au moment du congé, ainsi que des conseils sur les symptômes d'une possible TEV?
  • Documentez-vous adéquatement le consentement, les soins cliniques et les discussions lors du congé?
  • Si le patient revient avec des signes et symptômes évoquant une thrombose veineuse profonde ou une embolie pulmonaire, faites-vous les investigations appropriées dans des délais opportuns?

Deux points essentiels

  1. Les médecins doivent connaître les directives relatives à la prophylaxie de la TEV de leur établissement.
  2. Les médecins doivent attentivement évaluer les antécédents de chaque patient afin de déterminer le risque de TEV et d'hémorragie au moment de décider d'une prophylaxie de la TEV. Les directives factuelles provenant de sources faisant autorité devraient également être consultées.

Références

  1. Sandler, D.A., Martin, J.F., « Autopsy proven pulmonary embolism in hospital patients: are we detecting enough deep vein thrombosis? », Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine (1989) Vol. 82, p. 203-205.
  2. Zhan, C., Miller, M.R., « Excess length of stay, charges, and mortality attributable to medical injuries during hospitalization », Journal of the American Medical Association (2003) Vol. 290, p. 1868-1874.
  3. Leizorovicz, A., Mismetti, P., « Preventing venous thromboembolism in medical patients », Circulation (14 décembre 2004), Vol. 110 (Suppl IV) p. IV 13-19.
  4. Kahn, S.R., et al., « Prevention of venous thromboembolic disease in surgical patients », Thrombosis Research (2007), Vol. 119 (2), p. 145.
  5. Cohen, A., et al., « Venous thromboembolism risk and prophylaxis in the acute hospital setting (ENDORSE study): a multi-national cross-section study », The Lancet, (2 février 2008), Vol. 371, no 9610, p. 387-394.
  6. American College of Chest Physicians, « Antithrombotic and Thrombolytic Therapy: American College of Chest Physicians Evidenced-Based Clinical Practice Guidelines (8th Edition) », Chest, (Juin 2008), Vol. 133, no 6, p. 382S.
  7. Agrément Canada, Pratiques organisationnelles requises, septembre 2011. Consulté le 20 mars 2012, p. 28, 54-55, au : http://www.accreditation.ca/uploadedFiles/ROP%20Handbook.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.