Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Physician leadership in safer medical care

Originally published December 2012
P1205-4-E

Managing programs, leading departments, championing quality and safety initiatives, and advocating for organization-specific and system-level changes — these are just a few of the areas where physicians play a leadership role in healthcare. When leading quality improvement and safety initiatives, physicians should consider a number of risk management strategies.

Physician leadership skills

Worldwide, many important advancements in healthcare quality and safety have been led by physicians. In today's complex and rapidly evolving healthcare system, physicians' leadership skills and administrative knowledge are sought at all levels. Physician leadership competencies in strategic planning, stakeholder relations, advocacy, change management, and innovative and critical thinking are highly desirable. These skills are sought after in positions such as chief medical officer, vice-president of medical affairs, clinical department head, medical director, and quality and patient safety leader.

The article, "The voice of professionalism within the system of care," provides more discussion of the physician's role as advocate.

Whether in group practice or hospital settings, the growing demands being placed on physicians will only increase the need for physician leaders. This is because doctors have a unique understanding of healthcare quality and safety issues, which makes them invaluable to system change and reform efforts. Where physicians are employed by hospitals or other healthcare institutions, physician leadership can be advantageous for the organization.1

Owing to such factors as increasing complexity of patient care, expanding workload, changing patient expectations, and changing scopes of practice, physicians sometimes share a leadership role with other members of a healthcare team. From the CMPA's perspective, clarity of roles and effective communication are key elements in reducing the number of adverse events and avoiding medico-legal difficulties that might result from shared leadership within a healthcare team.

Physicians as advocates for healthcare safety and quality

Physicians play a leadership role when they advocate for patients or for healthcare system improvements. They have deep knowledge of healthcare needs, are connected to their communities, are well regarded by the public, and are well positioned to work with government and other stakeholders to identify quality and safety improvements. To advocate effectively, physicians must recognize the importance of offering strategies to address quality of care issues, and be aware that misdirected advocacy may be disruptive to the provision of care.

Doctors are well-positioned to participate in decision-making that affects patient care. The CMPA encourages physicians to remain engaged in decision-making at the health authority and hospital level. Doctors can do this, in part, by seeking both formal and informal leadership roles that advance quality care.

Physician leaders and quality improvement

Quality improvement (QI) for healthcare organizations means proactively making improvements in patient care, clinical practices, and systems of care; analyzing (usually by a quality improvement committee) any harm from healthcare delivery; and implementing recommended improvements. Quality improvement efforts are patient-centred, and typically focus on safety, effectiveness, efficiency, accessibility, and continuity of service. Physician involvement in QI allows the full spectrum of issues and challenges to become known, options and potential solutions to be debated, and the required changes to be implemented and sustained.

Physician leadership is needed to engage other doctors in quality improvement activities. Physicians need to know that their involvement in QI will help to address their legitimate patient care needs.

When working in hospitals or other healthcare institutions, physicians must be familiar with the organization's policies and procedures for quality improvement. They should also know and leverage the QI infrastructure and systems to facilitate positive change. Leaders are responsible for articulating the vision for change, providing the necessary resources for quality improvement, and sharing responsibility for QI-related decision-making.

Physician leadership during reviews of adverse events and near misses

In a just culture of patient safety, hospital leaders and staff are committed to providing the safest possible care to patients and to protecting the interests of both patients and providers. This includes a shared commitment to learn from adverse events and near misses, and to make subsequent improvements.

A properly structured review of an adverse event and near miss is an effective approach to improving patient safety in a healthcare organization. Both quality improvement reviews (focusing on system issues to identify the causes of adverse events and near misses) and accountability reviews (focusing on the conduct or performance of individual healthcare providers) require the active involvement of relevant physicians. The CMPA encourages members to participate in properly structured quality improvement reviews in the interest of improving patient safety.

Reviewers should be chosen for their skills and knowledge in analyzing unexpected outcomes, adverse events, and near misses, and for their clinical expertise and ability to effect change. The CMPA believes it is generally inappropriate for those who play a role in annual performance reviews, and accountability and disciplinary matters, such as a department chief, to be involved in quality improvement reviews of providers who report to them.

Empowering clinicians to improve patient safety

Quality and safety improvement initiatives may stem from senior managers, or they may emerge from the front lines. Physician leaders may set the expectations for quality improvements, and then allow clinicians to seek the solutions and initiate the changes. In other cases, physician leaders may take a more active role in the actual quality improvement work. Regardless, physician leaders must be visible to encourage healthcare providers to engage in and support change.

The following actions may help physician leaders to engage other physicians in improving the quality of care, and may encourage potential physician leaders to participate:

  • provide QI teaching and learning early (in undergraduate medical school and early in medical training)
  • identify and leverage QI champions
  • offer practical training on QI concepts and techniques
  • establish the necessary infrastructure for QI
  • use information technology such as electronic medical records as a QI enabler
  • promote the collection and dissemination of information, including where physicians can make improvements (e.g. management of patient blood pressure, stroke rates, hand washing, immunizations, annual screenings, patient satisfaction)
  • include QI responsibilities in physician job descriptions, where relevant
  • include QI indicators instructively and supportively in physician performance evaluations
  • provide remuneration or other rewards to physicians for their QI activities
  • engage patients to obtain their perspective on QI opportunities
  • promote and emphasize the benefits of QI and its uptake
  • celebrate and promote physician leadership in achieving safer medical care

Information on the requirements and processes for reporting adverse events and near misses, and the best approach for reviewing these events is available in the CMPA publication, Learning from adverse events: Fostering a just culture of safety in Canadian hospitals and health care institutions.

Physician leaders essential to quality improvement

Physicians are on the front line of improving healthcare systems. Physician leaders are crucial for nurturing a quality culture in healthcare organizations and to achieving quality improvement goals. Continued success in achieving safer medical care depends on identifying, engaging, and developing such leaders.


References

  1. Stagg Elliott, V., "Hospitals ramp up physician training for leadership roles," American Medical News (February 23, 2012) Retrieved on February 28, 2012 from: http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2012/02/20/bisf0223.htm

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Place au leadership dans les soins médicaux plus sécuritaires

Publié initialement en décembre 2012
P1205-4-F

La gestion de programmes, la direction de services, la défense d'initiatives de sécurité et de qualité, et la revendication en faveur de changements au sein d'organisations et à l'échelle du système; voilà quelques-uns des domaines où les médecins exercent un rôle de leadership dans les soins de santé. Lorsqu'ils dirigent des initiatives de sécurité et d'amélioration de la qualité, les médecins doivent prendre en compte de nombreuses stratégies de gestion des risques.

Compétences en leadership des médecins

À l'échelle mondiale, de nombreux progrès importants liés à la qualité et à la sécurité des soins de santé ont été dirigés par des médecins. Au sein de l'actuel système de soins de santé complexe et évolutif, les compétences en leadership et les connaissances administratives des médecins sont recherchées à tous les niveaux. Les compétences en leadership des médecins dans les domaines de la planification stratégique, des relations avec les partenaires, de la défense des intérêts, la gestion du changement, et la pensée critique et novatrice sont des plus utiles. Ces compétences sont recherchées dans de nombreux postes, tels celui de médecin chef, de vice-président des affaires médicales, de chef de service clinique, de directeur médical, et de gestionnaire de la qualité et de la sécurité des patients.

L'article, La voix du professionnalisme dans le système de santé, traite du rôle du médecin à titre de défenseur des intérêts.

Que ce soit en milieu hospitalier ou au sein de groupes de médecins, les exigences grandissantes auxquelles les médecins sont confrontés ne feront qu'accentuer le besoin pour des médecins chefs de file. Cela s'explique par le fait que les médecins ont une vision unique des enjeux liés à la qualité et à la sécurité des soins de santé, faisant d'eux de précieux intervenants en matière de changements systémiques et d'efforts de réforme. Là où les médecins sont à l'emploi d'un hôpital ou d'un autre établissement de soins de santé, le leadership des médecins peut s'avérer bénéfique pour l'organisation.1

En raison de facteurs tels la complexité grandissante des soins des patients, les charges de travail plus lourdes, l'évolution des attentes des patients, et l'évolution des champs d'exercice, il arrive que les médecins partagent le rôle de chef de file avec d'autres membres de l'équipe de soins. De la perspective de l'ACPM, la clarté des rôles et la communication efficace s'avèrent des éléments clés pour réduire le nombre d'événements indésirables (accidents au Québec) et éviter les problèmes médico-légaux qui peuvent découler d'un leadership partagé au sein d'une équipe de soins.

Les médecins à titre de défenseurs de la qualité et de la sécurité des soins de santé

Les médecins exercent un rôle de leadership lorsqu'ils défendent les intérêts des patients ou qu'ils préconisent des améliorations au système de soins de santé. Ils ont des connaissances approfondies en matière des besoins de santé, jouissent de liens solides avec leur communauté, sont tenus en haute estime par le public, et sont bien situés pour travailler avec les pouvoirs publics et autres intervenants en vue de déterminer les améliorations nécessaires en matière de qualité et de sécurité. Pour être des défenseurs efficaces, les médecins doivent reconnaître l'importance d'offrir des stratégies qui abordent les enjeux liés à la qualité des soins, tout en étant conscients qu'une représentation mal orientée peut perturber la prestation des soins.

Les médecins sont bien situés pour prendre part aux décisions qui influent sur les soins des patients. L'ACPM encourage les médecins à continuer de participer à la prise de décisions au niveau de l'autorité en matière de soins de santé et de l'hôpital, notamment en cherchant à jouer des rôles officiels et officieux de chefs de file qui font progresser la qualité des soins.

Les médecins chefs de file et l'amélioration de la qualité

Pour les organismes de soins de santé, l'amélioration de la qualité (AQ) signifie apporter de façon proactive des améliorations aux soins des patients, aux pratiques cliniques et aux systèmes de soins; analyser tout préjudice causé par la prestation des soins de santé (ce qui est normalement assuré par un comité d'amélioration de la qualité); et mettre en œuvre les améliorations recommandées. Les efforts d'amélioration de la qualité sont axés sur les patients et, de façon générale, ils misent sur la sécurité, l'efficacité, l'efficience, l'accessibilité et la continuité des soins. La participation des médecins à l'amélioration de la qualité fait ressortir la gamme complète des enjeux et des défis, stimule la discussion d'options et de solutions éventuelles, et favorise la mise en œuvre et la durabilité des changements requis.

Le leadership exercé par les médecins est un catalyseur de la participation d'autres médecins aux activités d'amélioration de la qualité. Il importe que les médecins sachent que leur participation à l'amélioration de la qualité permettra d'aborder les besoins légitimes des patients en termes de soins.

Les médecins qui travaillent en milieu hospitalier ou dans d'autres établissements de soins de santé doivent connaître les politiques et procédures de l'organisation en matière d'amélioration de la qualité. Ils devraient aussi connaître et miser sur l'infrastructure et les systèmes d'amélioration de la qualité afin de faciliter le changement positif. Les chefs de file sont responsables d'établir la vision du changement, de fournir les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer la qualité, et de partager la responsabilité des décisions liées à l'amélioration de la qualité.

Le leadership des médecins dans le cadre des évaluations d'événements indésirables et d'échappées belles

Dans une culture juste en matière de sécurité des patients, les dirigeants et les membres du personnel hospitalier s'engagent à prodiguer aux patients les soins les plus sécuritaires possibles, et à protéger les intérêts des patients et des professionnels de la santé. Il y a un engagement commun à tirer des leçons des événements indésirables et des échappées belles, et à apporter les améliorations voulues.

Une évaluation bien structurée d'un événement indésirable ou d'une échappée belle constitue une méthode efficace pour améliorer la sécurité des patients au sein de tout organisme de soins de santé. Les évaluations en matière d'amélioration de la qualité (où l'accent est mis sur les problèmes liés au système afin de déterminer les causes des événements indésirables et des accidents évités de justesse) et les évaluations de l'acte médical (où l'accent est mis sur la conduite d'un professionnel de la santé en particulier) exigent la participation active des médecins en cause. L'ACPM encourage ses membres à participer à des évaluations en matière d'amélioration de la qualité bien structurées dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des patients.

Les évaluateurs doivent être choisis en fonction de leurs compétences et de leurs connaissances sur la manière d'analyser les résultats imprévus, les événements indésirables et les accidents évités de justesse, leur expertise clinique et leur capacité à provoquer des changements. L'ACPM estime qu'en général, il ne convient pas que les personnes qui jouent un rôle dans les évaluations de rendement annuels et dans les questions de responsabilité ou de discipline (p. ex., un chef de service) participent à une évaluation en matière d'amélioration de la qualité mettant en cause des professionnels de la santé qui relèvent d'elles.

Responsabilisation des cliniciens en vue d'améliorer la sécurité des patients

Les initiatives d'amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité peuvent émaner de la haute direction ou encore du personnel de première ligne. Les médecins chefs de file peuvent établir les attentes en matière d'amélioration de la qualité, puis permettre aux cliniciens de trouver les solutions et d'initier les changements. Dans d'autres situations, les médecins chefs de file peuvent jouer un rôle plus actif vis-à-vis du travail d'amélioration de la qualité comme tel. Quel que soit le scénario, les médecins chefs de file doivent être visibles afin d'encourager les professionnels de la santé à appuyer le changement et à y participer.

Les actions suivantes peuvent aider les médecins chefs de file à susciter la participation d'autres médecins à l'amélioration de la qualité des soins, et peuvent encourager d'éventuels médecins chefs de file à y participer :

  • assurer une éducation et un apprentissage précoces en matière d'amélioration de la qualité (pendant les études de médecine de premier cycle et au début de la formation médicale)
  • recenser les champions de l'amélioration de la qualité et tirer profit de leur expérience
  • offrir une formation pratique sur les notions et les techniques d'amélioration de la qualité
  • établir l'infrastructure nécessaire à l'amélioration de la qualité
  • utiliser la technologie de l'information, tels les dossiers médicaux électroniques, à titre d'outil d'amélioration de la qualité
  • préconiser la collecte et la diffusion d'information, notamment dans les domaines où les médecins peuvent participer à l'amélioration (p. ex. gestion des contrôles liés à la tension artérielle des patients, taux d'ACV, lavage des mains, immunisations, dépistages annuels, satisfaction des patients)
  • inclure les responsabilités en matière d'amélioration de la qualité dans les descriptions de poste des médecins, le cas échéant
  • inclure les indicateurs d'amélioration de la qualité d'une façon instructive et positive dans les évaluations de rendement des médecins
  • offrir une rémunération ou d'autres avantages aux médecins pour leur participation aux activités d'amélioration de la qualité
  • susciter la participation des patients en vue d'obtenir leur perspective des occasions d'amélioration de la qualité
  • préconiser et mettre l'accent sur les avantages de l'amélioration de la qualité et de sa mise en œuvre
  • célébrer et promouvoir le leadership des médecins dans la concrétisation des soins médicaux plus sécuritaires

La publication de l'ACPM, Leçons à tirer des événements indésirables : Favoriser une culture juste en matière de sécurité dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de santé au Canada, présente des renseignements sur les exigences et les processus de déclaration des événements indésirables et des accidents évités de justesse, et sur la meilleure méthode d'évaluation de ces événements.

Les médecins chefs de file sont essentiels à l'amélioration de la qualité

Les médecins sont au premier plan de l'amélioration des systèmes de soins de santé. Les médecins chefs de file sont essentiels au soutien d'une culture axée sur la qualité au sein des organisations de soins de santé, et à l'atteinte des objectifs en matière d'amélioration de la qualité. Le succès continu de la concrétisation des soins médicaux plus sécuritaires repose sur l'identification, le perfectionnement et la participation de tels chefs de file.


Références

  1. Stagg Elliott, V., « Hospitals ramp up physician training for leadership roles, » American Medical News (February 23, 2012) Consulté le 28 février 2012 sur le site http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2012/02/20/bisf0223.htm

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.