Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Physician professionalism — Is it still relevant?

Originally published October 2012
P1204-1-E

The practice of medicine is undergoing unprecedented change. Whether in technology, healthcare delivery, legislation and regulations, or scopes of practice, the healthcare landscape is changing. As a result, many physicians are finding it increasingly challenging to meet their responsibilities to their patients and to society. Some doctors may even begin to question the continued relevance of professional values and behaviours.

The CMPA believes the fundamental principles and values of medical professionalism represent a constant that can guide physicians in difficult decision-making.

Professionalism: the core of medical practice

Professionalism is at the core of medicine's contract with society. It assumes physicians will place the interests of patients above their own, even when this is difficult.

This includes considering first the well-being of patients, disclosing and resolving conflicts of interest, and informing patients when one's personal values would influence a recommendation or the practice of any medical procedure the patient needs or wants.

Physician professionalism requires setting and maintaining standards of competence even when resources are stretched. It also means acting with integrity. Professionalism is manifested through the values of honesty and trust; through actions such as clear communication and advocacy; and through outcomes such as patient well-being and social justice. It is these characteristics that have defined the profession of medicine for decades, and which remain vitally important today.

Professionalism is fundamental to the relationship between physicians and patients. In its keystone policy on professionalism, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) identified 3 major features of medical professionalism1:

  • the ethics of care
  • clinical independence
  • self- or professionally-led regulation

The CMPA strongly supports this view of medical professionalism and recognizes that each of these features bestows both obligations and privileges on the profession. This concept of obligation and privilege is common to most professions, but it is witnessed most clearly in medicine.

Maintaining the fundamental principles of professionalism is a paramount requirement for self- or professionally-led regulation. In this regard, medicine is no exception. Medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), medical associations, and many specialty societies have each defined their expectations of professionalism in their unique contexts. Medical schools also incorporate professionalism in their curricula, covering topics such as healthcare advocacy, ethics, collaboration, and physician health and wellness.

Now more than ever, patients and society expect that self-regulation goes hand in hand with a rigorous, effective, and transparent licensure process that places safety and quality at its core. While the privilege of self-regulation has been a core feature of medical professionalism, it must be earned on an ongoing basis. Foremost is the obligation of physicians to act first in the interests of their patients and the public, and to maintain appropriate relationships with patients. These obligations exist despite increased demands and shrinking clinical resources.

Principles of professionalism

The widely-adopted international Charter on Medical Professionalism2 is based on the principles of patient welfare, patient autonomy, and social justice. It also describes a set of professional responsibilities that are expected of physicians, including professional competence, honesty with patients, patient confidentiality, quality of care, and scientific knowledge.

While the traditional physician-patient relationship may have changed over the years, the importance of trust, honesty, and compassion remain significant values upon which the medical profession can guide its individual and collective actions. Patients expect their doctors to be trustworthy and to possess the necessary skills and experience to address their healthcare needs. Earning the trust and confidence of patients also means physicians must establish the appropriate confidentiality safeguards for patient information.

The work of academics, regulators, and practitioners to define and reinforce the principles of professionalism in medicine — and how to put these into everyday practice — reflect the ongoing importance of professionalism in a very demanding environment. Financial and other constraints threaten the professional values and ethics of medicine, compelling physicians to compete for diminishing healthcare resources. Today's practitioners are likely to practise in an environment defined by funding formulas, throughputs, and other performance indicators that may or may not include patient outcomes. Increased patient expectations and demands place added pressure on doctors and the institutions in which they practise. Additionally, technological advances both support and challenge many longstanding elements of the healthcare delivery system.

Changing expectations

For physicians practising in this complex environment, the challenge is to maintain their professional commitments while meeting the changing expectations of their patients — expectations that are inevitably influenced by the service standards in other sectors and by health information available from a variety of sources. As consumers of healthcare, patients seek timely access to high quality and safe medical care. Their expectations also extend to prompt communication and follow-up.

An important element of professionalism is appropriate behaviour with patients, colleagues, providers, and administrators. The absence of positive and constructive behaviour can have a detrimental impact on patient safety and team-based care. It is recognized that healthcare teams perform sub-optimally and staff morale suffers when health professionals exhibit disruptive behaviours. In addition, physicians may be confronted with medico-legal difficulties (e.g. College complaints, hospital investigations, Human Rights complaints) if their behaviour causes undue disruption to patients, colleagues, or the institution in which they practise.

Attempts to modernize the concept of professionalism in medicine are compounded by a shift from the traditional model of independent practice to one in which the delivery of care is increasingly integrated. This has resulted in significant changes to the roles, responsibilities, and operating paradigms that have underpinned the practice of medicine for decades. This new healthcare delivery environment will continue to undergo significant evolution in the coming years, and many of today's operating models are likely to be replaced by new paradigms. Physicians are already, both individually and collectively, adapting to this changing environment.

The medico-legal perspective

The CMPA identifies 4 elements that support medical professionalism, enhance safer care, and reduce medico-legal risk for physicians. These elements are intended to supplement the professionalism charters and codes of ethics that provide guidance for physicians and other healthcare providers.

  • Clinical competence. At the core of any profession is the maintenance of competence and this is especially true for the profession of medicine. Adherence to standards of care not only leads to safer care and better patient outcomes, but it reduces a physician's medico-legal exposure.
  • Responsiveness. Physicians must remain alert to patients' clinical and emotional needs. Should an adverse event (accident in Québec) occur, physicians should strive to learn from the event and take steps to prevent a similar occurrence. Responsiveness implies expressing regret to patients and their families for an adverse outcome and sharing with them the lessons learned. Physicians must also be responsive to their profession. For example, when faced with legal actions or College complaints, they remain open to redress or appropriate follow-up actions in order to make healthcare safer.
  • Engagement. Engagement with patients, families, colleagues, other healthcare providers, and administrators is anchored in respect. Physicians are committed to working in partnership with patients and their families in all aspects of care. This includes promoting a patient-centred culture, and behaving professionally with patients, other physicians, and administrators.
  • Integrity. With patient well-being as the central tenet of care, physicians act with integrity. This includes being respectful and supportive of colleagues and working collaboratively to maximize patient care. As a part of this process, physicians are expected to participate in the process of self- or professionally-led regulation, including holding each other accountable for their actions.

The challenges facing physicians in today's practice environment are considerable: heightened patient expectations, information overload, constrained healthcare resources, changing technologies, and complex regulations. Patients, too, face a changing and often confusing healthcare system where they may be confronted with conflicting health information and difficult care decisions. In this new reality, patients will continue to look to their doctor as their trusted healthcare source. Despite the evolving healthcare environment, physician professionalism should continue to be a guidepost in the new era of medicine.

Concluding thoughts

Recognizing the obligations inherent in their profession, doctors must continue to act first in the interests of their patients and the public. Beyond their fiduciary obligations to patients, physicians are also called upon to embody the values and behaviours that resonate with the profession: trust, compassion, and integrity. These values have been synonymous with the medical profession for decades, and they remain so today.

The CMPA maintains that the principles of professionalism, including the 4 elements of clinical competence, responsiveness, engagement, and integrity, have never been more important. The principles and behaviours that have characterized the profession for decades remain pillars of strength in an uncertain future. These principles not only serve to guide physicians, they enable patients, policy-makers, and citizens to know that the profession understands its obligations. It is up to the medical community, both individually and collectively, to continue to put these principles into action.


References

  1. Canadian Medical Association. "Medical Professionalism." Revised 2005. Retrieved on June 14, 2012 from: http://www.cma.ca/medical%20professionalism
  2. Medical Professionalism in the New Millennium: A Physician Charter was issued jointly by the American Board of Internal Medicine, the American College of Physicians, and the European Federation of Internal Medicine in 2002. More than 100 medical and professional associations have endorsed the Charter, including the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the Medical Council of Canada. Retrieved on December 9, 2011 from: http://www.annals.org/content/136/3/243.full

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Pertinence soutenue du professionnalisme chez les médecins : qu’en est-il vraiment?

Publié initialement en octobre 2012
P1204-1-F

La pratique de la médecine se trouve devant des changements sans précédent. Le paysage des soins de santé est en évolution, qu'il s'agisse de progrès technologiques, de différents modes de prestation des soins, de modifications législatives ou réglementaires ou de changements aux champs d'exercice. Par conséquent, de nombreux médecins pourraient avoir de plus en plus de mal à s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités envers les patients comme envers la société. Certains médecins pourraient même venir à remettre en question la pertinence soutenue des valeurs et des comportements soucieux des principes de professionnalisme.

L'ACPM est d'avis que les valeurs et principes fondamentaux du professionnalisme des médecins sont en fait une constante qui peut aiguiller les médecins tenus de prendre des décisions difficiles.

Le professionnalisme : au cœur de la pratique

Le concept du professionnalisme est au cœur du contrat établi entre la profession et la société. En effet, ce contrat suppose que les médecins placeront les intérêts du patient au-delà de leurs besoins personnels, même lorsque c'est difficile.

Pour ce faire, les médecins doivent se soucier avant tout du bien-être des patients, divulguer et régler tout conflit d'intérêts et avertir leurs patients si leurs valeurs personnelles sont susceptibles d'influencer une recommandation ou une intervention médicale dont le patient a besoin ou dont il fait la demande.

Le médecin qui agit avec professionnalisme doit établir et respecter des normes de compétence, même lorsque les ressources sont limitées. Il doit également rester intègre, peu importe la situation. Le professionnalisme transpire dans les valeurs de la franchise et de la confiance, dans des comportements, comme des communications claires et la défense des intérêts des patients, et dans les résultats, comme le bien-être des patients et la justice sociale. Ce sont ces caractéristiques, toujours aussi importantes aujourd'hui, qui définissent la profession depuis des décennies.

Le professionnalisme est inhérent à la relation créée entre les médecins et leurs patients. Dans sa politique stratégique sur le professionnalisme médical, l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a circonscrit trois grandes caractéristiques du professionnalisme médical1:

  • l'éthique du service;
  • l'autonomie clinique;
  • l'autoréglementation personnelle ou professionnelle.

L'ACPM appuie fortement cette vision du professionnalisme médical et reconnaît que chacune de ces caractéristiques confère à la fois des obligations et des privilèges à la profession. Ce concept de dualité entre les obligations et les privilèges est commun à la plupart des professions; cependant, en médecine, il est beaucoup plus visible.

Le maintien des principes fondamentaux du professionnalisme est un préalable essentiel à l'autoréglementation personnelle ou professionnelle. La médecine n'y fait pas exception. Les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), des associations médicales et de nombreuses sociétés spécialisées ont tous établi leurs attentes en matière de professionnalisme, selon le cadre qui leur est propre. Les facultés de médecine incorporent également le concept du professionnalisme à leur programme d'enseignement, dont des volets comme la défense des droits des patients, la déontologie, la collaboration, ainsi que la santé et le bien-être des médecins.

Maintenant, plus que jamais, les patients comme la société s'attendent à ce que l'autoréglementation aille de pair avec un processus d'homologation rigoureux, efficace et transparent, qui gravite autour de la sécurité et de la qualité. Si le privilège de l'autoréglementation est un volet central du professionnalisme médical, il doit être mérité au fil du temps. Il revient d'abord et avant tout aux médecins d'agir en gardant à l'esprit les intérêts de leurs patients et du public et d'avoir des relations adéquates avec leurs patients. Ces obligations demeurent malgré les demandes accrues et les ressources cliniques qui se raréfient.

Les principes du professionnalisme

La Charte sur le professionnalisme médical2 adoptée universellement repose sur les principes du bien-être du patient, de l'autonomie du patient et de la justice sociale. Elle décrit également un ensemble de responsabilités professionnelles attendues des médecins, dont la compétence professionnelle, l'honnêteté envers les patients, la protection des renseignements personnels des patients, la qualité des soins et les connaissances scientifiques.

Même si la relation traditionnelle entre le médecin et ses patients a changé au fil des ans, la confiance, la franchise et la compassion, valeurs auxquelles on attache beaucoup d'importance, sous-tendent toujours les comportements individuels et collectifs des membres de la profession. Les patients s'attendent en effet de leurs médecins qu'ils soient dignes de confiance et qu'ils possèdent les compétences et l'expérience nécessaires pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière de soins de santé. Pour gagner la confiance de leurs patients, les médecins doivent également établir les mesures de protection appropriées pour protéger la confidentialité des renseignements à leur sujet.

Les efforts déployés par les théoriciens, organismes de réglementation et praticiens pour définir et renforcer les principes du professionnalisme en médecine, ainsi que leur intégration à la pratique de tous les jours, témoignent de l'importance continue du professionnalisme dans un milieu très exigeant. Des contraintes financières et autres limites constituent une menace pour les valeurs professionnelles et la déontologie de la médecine, puisqu'elles forcent les médecins à se livrer mutuellement concurrence pour accéder à des ressources de plus en plus rares. De plus, les médecins d'aujourd'hui sont d'autant plus susceptibles d'avoir à exercer leur profession dans un climat ponctué par des formules de financement, des balises quant au nombre de patients traités dans une période donnée et d'autres indicateurs de rendement qui tiennent compte ou non des résultats pour les patients. Les attentes et demandes accrues des patients s'ajoutent aux contraintes que doivent gérer les médecins et les établissements où ils travaillent. À tout cela s'ajoutent les percées technologiques, qui peuvent à la fois faciliter et compliquer de nombreuses composantes de longue date du système de santé.

Des attentes en évolution

Pour les médecins qui exercent leur profession dans cette réalité complexe, le défi consiste donc à respecter leurs engagements professionnels tout en satisfaisant les attentes nouvelles de leurs patients, attentes qui sont inévitablement influencées par les normes de service en place dans d'autres secteurs et par les sources variées de renseignements sur la santé. En tant que clients qui reçoivent un service, soit les soins de santé, les patients exigent un accès sur demande à des soins médicaux de grande qualité et sécuritaires. Leurs attentes englobent également des communications et un suivi rapides.

Le professionnalisme renferme aussi l'importante composante du comportement approprié avec les patients, les collègues, les autres professionnels et les administrateurs. Tout comportement autre que positif et constructif peut nuire à la sécurité des patients et aux soins prodigués par une équipe. C'est un fait reconnu que les équipes soignantes sont moins efficaces et que le moral du personnel est réduit lorsque les professionnels de la santé affichent des comportements perturbateurs. De plus, les médecins pourraient se trouver devant des difficultés médico-légales (par exemple, une plainte au Collège, une enquête de l'hôpital ou une plainte à la Commission des droits de la personne) si leur comportement perturbe indûment les patients, leurs collègues ou l'établissement où ils travaillent.

Même si la relation traditionnelle entre le médecin et ses patients a changé au fil des ans, la confiance, la franchise et la compassion, valeurs auxquelles on attache beaucoup d'importance, sous-tendent toujours les comportements individuels et collectifs des membres de la profession.

Toute tentative de moderniser le concept du professionnalisme en médecine est compliquée par le virage à partir d'un modèle traditionnel, qui privilégie l'exercice indépendant de la médecine, vers un modèle où les soins sont de plus en plus intégrés. Ce tournant a changé considérablement les rôles, responsabilités et paradigmes de travail qui ont dicté l'exercice de la médecine pendant des décennies. Au cours des années à venir, ce nouveau contexte de prestation des soins de santé subira d'autres importants bouleversements, et nombre des modèles de soins actuels seront probablement eux aussi remplacés par de nouveaux paradigmes. Tant individuellement que collectivement, les médecins s'adaptent déjà à ces changements.

La perspective médico-légale

L'ACPM a dégagé quatre composantes qui appuient le professionnalisme médical, améliorent les soins et les rendent plus sécuritaires et réduisent le risque médico-légal des médecins. Ces composantes se veulent un complément aux chartes de professionnalisme et codes de déontologie qui aiguillent déjà la pratique des médecins et des autres professionnels de la santé.

  • Compétence clinique – Au cœur de toute profession se trouve la conservation des compétences, et c'est particulièrement vrai pour la médecine. Le respect de la norme de pratique mène non seulement à des soins plus sécuritaires et à de meilleurs résultats pour les patients, mais il réduit aussi l'exposition du médecin au risque médico-légal.
  • Empathie – Les médecins doivent se tenir au fait des besoins cliniques et émotionnels de leurs patients. Si un événement indésirable (accident au Québec) devait survenir, les médecins doivent faire l'effort d'apprendre de l'événement et de prendre des mesures pour éviter qu'il ne se présente à nouveau. L'empathie comprend l'expression de regrets aux patients qui ont subi un événement indésirable, ainsi qu'à leur famille, et à leur faire part des leçons retenues. Les médecins doivent également faire preuve d'ouverture devant les demandes de leur profession. Par exemple, lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à une action en justice ou à une plainte au Collège, ils acceptent volontiers les mesures de redressement ou les autres mesures de suivi appropriées pour rendre les soins plus sécuritaires.
  • Engagement – L'engagement avec les patients, leur famille, ses collègues, d'autres professionnels de la santé et les administrateurs est ancré dans le respect. Les médecins s'engagent à travailler en partenariat avec les patients et leur famille, et ce, dans tous les volets des soins. Par exemple, les médecins s'engagent à instaurer une culture axée sur le patient et à agir avec professionnalisme avec les patients, les autres médecins et les administrateurs.
  • Intégrité – Tout en s'assurant de respecter le principe central qui place le bien-être du patient au cœur des soins, les médecins doivent agir avec intégrité, en faisant preuve de respect et de collégialité avec ses collègues et en travaillant en collaboration avec eux pour optimiser les soins. Dans ce contexte, on s'attend des médecins qu'ils participent au processus d'autoréglementation personnelle ou professionnelle, dont se tenir les uns les autres redevables de leurs gestes.

De nos jours, les défis qui se présentent dans le contexte de la pratique des médecins sont considérables : attentes de plus en plus élevées des patients, surabondance d'information, pénurie de ressources en santé, défis technologiques et cadre réglementaire complexe ne sont que quelques exemples. À leur tour, les patients doivent composer avec un système de santé en évolution et souvent difficile à comprendre où les renseignements médicaux qu'ils reçoivent peuvent se contredire et où ils doivent prendre des décisions difficiles quant à leurs soins. Dans cette nouvelle réalité, les patients continueront de se tourner vers leur médecin en tant que source de confiance pour obtenir des soins. En dépit des bouleversements dans le système de santé, le professionnalisme des médecins devrait continuer d'être une ligne de conduite dans la nouvelle ère de la médecine.

Conclusion

Tout en restant conscients des obligations inhérentes à leur profession, les médecins doivent continuer d'agir d'abord et avant tout dans les intérêts de leurs patients et ceux du public. En plus de leurs obligations fiduciaires envers leurs patients, les médecins doivent également personnifier les valeurs et comportements caractéristiques de la profession, soit la confiance, l'empathie et l'intégrité. Ces valeurs sont synonymes de la profession médicale depuis des décennies, et elles le sont toujours.

L'ACPM continue d'affirmer que les principes du professionnalisme, dont ses quatre composantes; la compétence clinique, l'empathie, l'engagement et l'intégrité, sont plus importants que jamais. Les principes et comportements qui définissent la profession depuis des décennies demeurent de solides piliers dans un avenir incertain. En effet, non seulement ces principes servent-ils à guider les médecins, mais ils indiquent également aux patients, décideurs et citoyens que la profession et ses représentants connaissent leurs obligations. Il revient ultimement aux membres de la profession médicale, tant à titre individuel que collectif, de se faire l'exemple vivant de ces principes.


Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne. Politique de l'AMC sur le professionnalisme médical, 2005. Consulté le 14 juin 2012 à l'adresse : http://www.cma.ca/medical%20professionalism
  2. Le document intitulé Medical Professionalism in the New Millennium: A Physician Charter a été publié en collaboration par l'American Board of Internal Medicine, l'American College of Physicians et la Fédération européenne de médecine interne en 2002. Plus de 100 associations médicales et professionnelles ont entériné la Charte, dont le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et le Conseil médical du Canada. Consulté le 9 décembre 2011 à l'adresse : http://www.annals.org/content/136/3/243.full

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.