Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Respect and understanding — How professionalism affects teamwork

Originally published October 2012
P1204-3-E

As healthcare delivery relies increasingly on integrated or collaborative care, a growing number of physicians are working in teams composed of physicians and other healthcare professionals.

It is understood that in the context of collaborative care, the attributes which define professionalism become even more relevant. A respectful and collaborative approach to healthcare delivery requires a shared understanding of what is expected of each other and defining how team members interact. Teams are effective when there is a culture of professional respect and understanding, and clear and open communication among team members.

Recognizing that teamwork is an important component of professional conduct, some provincial and territorial regulatory authorities have outlined the responsibilities expected of physicians as they interact in a team environment. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario states the following: "To promote the safe and efficient delivery of healthcare to all, physicians are expected to work respectfully and collaboratively with other members of the healthcare team. This includes other physicians, hospital staff, volunteers, students, and all other individuals who contribute to healthcare delivery."1

The Canadian Medical Association policy also outlines the accountabilities of physicians when interacting with providers: "While maintaining responsibility for care of the patient as a whole, physicians must be able to interact constructively with other healthcare providers within an interdisciplinary team setting. The relationship of physicians with their colleagues must be strengthened and reinforced. Patient care benefits when all healthcare practitioners work together towards a common goal, in an atmosphere of support and collegiality."2

Roles and accountabilities

When roles and accountabilities of members within a healthcare team are clearly defined, patient safety is enhanced and medico-legal risk for physicians is reduced. Achieving this clarity requires a policy and procedural framework that is specific to teams. Ideally, this framework is developed when a team becomes established and is revised over time or when new team members join.

Since a physician's role in healthcare delivery can vary depending on the care setting, clinical situation, and patient preference, policies and procedures should allow for flexibility. Professionalism requires physicians to acknowledge that their role can vary and to recognize the roles of other healthcare professionals.3

As the lines of communication and accountability are clarified for each care provider, professionalism also implies respecting the unique obligations imposed on physicians. Recognizing the fiduciary duty of physicians to patients, the collaborative care model should reflect the accountabilities expected of physicians. As roles and responsibilities of each member reflect their inherent accountabilities, the likelihood of confusion or ambiguity is further reduced. Such effort will lead to safer medical care.

Effective team communication

Physicians demonstrate professionalism when they listen to team members, consider different points of view, openly share information, and communicate clearly and respectfully. Just as the collaborative team should expect physicians to act professionally, physicians also have reasonable expectations that other team members will act in the same manner.

At times, interactions within and between healthcare teams may be strained owing to status, hierarchy, and professional identity of the team members.4 This can occur whether the physician or another team member is the primary care provider. Regardless, hierarchy and status should not alter a physician's communication style. Medical professionalism demands polite and courteous communication with all team members, at all times.

The CMPA's analysis of recently closed legal and medical regulatory authority (College) cases identified specific issues associated with physician-to-nurse communication that led to poor patient outcomes. These included the failure to alert the care team of key clinical management issues, to order necessary assessments, and to monitor and read nurses' notes. From a physician's perspective, the cases reveal that communication problems in teams may be avoided when physicians:

  • inform other team members of the patient's management plan and identify the main concerns about a patient's care
  • order the necessary assessments and monitoring to enable team members to observe any changes in the patient's condition
  • read the patient's record to be up-to-date about the patient's current status
  • attend to the patient's changing or deteriorating condition in a timely manner
  • instruct office staff to document all telephone communications with patients

Differences of opinion

There may be times when a physician team member is concerned about the care being provided by another team member. There may be questions about an investigation, diagnosis, or treatment. When differences of opinion arise, physicians should avoid jumping to conclusions or making insulting or disparaging remarks about other healthcare professionals. Physicians should also refrain from questioning the treatment plan in front of patients or their families. These issues are best addressed in private where a thoughtful discussion can take place, and may require the input of other staff.

Collaboration and conflict resolution

Conflict in healthcare organizations has been described as a leading cause of unsafe cultures and a serious threat to patient safety.5 To address conflict issues, physicians should seek to develop skills in collaboration, as well as in conflict prevention and management. Workplace collaboration may be improved when, on an individual level, healthcare practitioners display emotional maturity and self-confidence, seek to understand the perspectives of others, communicate clearly, and avoid blaming others when something goes wrong.

When physicians encounter colleagues in conflict or who are displaying unprofessional behaviour, they should attempt to address the issue and recommend resources that can help. Early intervention and remediation have been shown to be very effective in correcting disruptive and other inappropriate behaviours.

Healthcare organizations, for their part, should support conflict resolution by offering appropriate training and implementing processes to resolve disputes. When necessary, the use of healthcare mediators should also be considered.6

For physicians working in smaller organizations, such as clinics and private practices, creating an environment of mutual respect is the best way to encourage a positive workplace that supports the well-being of physicians and portrays the professional image that is expected of them.

Concluding thoughts

Collaborative care is transforming healthcare delivery in Canada. Teamwork is an important component of professional conduct. Clear roles and accountabilities, solid communication skills, and strong collaboration and conflict resolution will help doctors demonstrate their professionalism to their fellow team members and their patients. This commitment to professionalism should set an example for others to emulate.


References

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. "Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment." Policy #4-07. Retrieved on August 30, 2010 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/ policies/policies/default.aspx?ID=1602
  2. Canadian Medical Association. "Medical Professionalism." Revised 2005. Retrieved on June 14, 2012 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/ policies/policies/default.aspx?ID=1602
  3. Royal College of Physicians (U.K.), "Medical professionalism and leadership." Retrieved on February 17, 2012 from: http://www.rcplondon.ac.uk/policy/physician-development/medical-professionalism-and-leadership
  4. Apker, J., Propp, K., Ford, Z., "Negotiating status and identity tensions in healthcare team interactions: An exploration of nurse role dialectics," Journal of Applied Communication Research (2005) Vol. 33, no.2 p.93
  5. Marshall, P., Robson, R., "Preventing and managing conflict: Vital pieces in the patient safety puzzle," Healthcare Quarterly (2005) Vol. 8 (sp) p.39
  6. Ibid, 43

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Respect et compréhension – le professionnalisme dans le travail d’équipe

Publié initialement en octobre 2012
P1204-3-F

La prestation des soins de santé se fait de plus en plus selon un modèle de soins intégrés ou interprofessionnels. En effet, de plus en plus de médecins travaillent en équipes constituées à la fois de médecins et d'autres professionnels de la santé.

Il va donc de soi que, dans le contexte des soins interprofessionnels, les attributs qui définissent le professionnalisme prennent une importance accrue. Une approche de la prestation des soins empreinte de respect et de collaboration exige une connaissance partagée des attentes mutuelles et l'établissement de balises pour les interactions entre les membres. Une équipe est efficace quand elle a mis en place une culture de respect professionnel et de respect envers le travail des autres, ainsi qu'un cadre de communication claire et ouverte entre ses membres.

Conscientes que le travail d'équipe est une composante maîtresse de la conduite professionnelle, les autorités de réglementation de quelques provinces et territoires ont défini les responsabilités attendues des médecins qui travaillent au sein d'une équipe. Par exemple, l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario a émis la directive suivante dans sa politique [traduction libre] : « Pour favoriser une prestation des soins sécuritaire et efficace, on s'attend des médecins qu'ils entretiennent des relations empreintes de respect et de collégialité avec les autres membres de l'équipe soignante, dont les autres médecins, le personnel de l'hôpital, les bénévoles, les étudiants et toute autre personne qui participe à la prestation des soins. »1

La politique de l'Association médicale canadienne décrit également les responsabilités des médecins quand ils interagissent avec d'autres professionnels de la santé : « Tout en gardant la responsabilité globale du soin des patients, les médecins doivent pouvoir échanger de façon constructive avec d'autres professionnels de la santé dans le contexte d'une équipe interdisciplinaire […]. Il faut renforcer et consolider la relation entre les médecins et leurs collègues. Lorsque tous les praticiens des soins de santé conjuguent leurs efforts pour tendre vers un but commun, dans un contexte d'appui et de collégialité, ce sont les soins aux patients qui en bénéficient. »2

Rôles et responsabilités

La sécurité des patients augmente, et le risque médico-légal des médecins diminue quand les rôles et responsabilités des membres d'une équipe soignante sont clairement définis. Pour y parvenir, un cadre stratégique et procédural propre aux équipes doit être mis en place. Idéalement, ce cadre est mis sur pied au même moment que l'équipe, et est révisé au fil du temps ou lorsque l'équipe accueille de nouveaux membres.

Étant donné que le rôle d'un médecin dans la prestation des soins peut varier selon le milieu, la situation clinique et la préférence des patients, les politiques et procédures doivent pouvoir être adaptées, dans une certaine mesure. Les principes du professionnalisme exigent des médecins qu'ils reconnaissent que leur rôle, ainsi que les rôles des autres professionnels de la santé, peut varier.3

Une fois les voies de communication et les responsabilités clarifiées pour chaque professionnel de la santé, les principes du professionnalisme englobent également l'observation des obligations uniques imposées aux médecins. Le modèle de soins, tout en reconnaissant l'obligation fiduciaire des médecins à l'endroit de leurs patients, doit refléter les responsabilités attendues des médecins. Puisque les rôles et responsabilités de chaque membre de l'équipe soignante témoignent des obligations inhérentes à leur travail, la probabilité qu'il y ait confusion ou ambiguïté s'en trouve d'autant plus réduite. Tous ces efforts mèneront à des soins médicaux plus sécuritaires.

Communication efficace au sein d'une équipe

Les médecins font preuve de professionnalisme lorsqu'ils sont à l'écoute des membres de leur équipe, lorsqu'ils tiennent compte de différents points de vue, lorsqu'ils font part de l'information et lorsqu'ils communiquent de façon claire et respectueuse. Tout comme l'équipe dont les membres travaillent en collaboration devrait s'attendre des médecins qu'ils agissent de façon professionnelle, les médecins doivent également pouvoir raisonnablement s'attendre à ce que les autres membres de l'équipe en feront de même.

Parfois, il arrive que les interactions au sein d'une équipe soignante et entre les équipes soient tendues à cause du statut, de la position hiérarchique et de l'identité professionnelle de ses membres.4 Ces tensions peuvent survenir entre autres quand le médecin ou un autre membre de l'équipe est le principal soignant. Peu importe la situation, la hiérarchie et le statut ne devraient pas avoir d'incidence sur le style de communication du médecin. Les principes du professionnalisme médical exigent que les communications entre tous les membres de l'équipe demeurent courtoises, en tout temps.

L'analyse qu'a menée l'ACPM de ses dossiers récemment conclus portant sur des actions en justice et des plaintes déposées auprès d'organismes de réglementation (Collège) a dégagé des problèmes précis associés aux communications entre les médecins et les infirmières qui mènent à des résultats défavorables pour les patients, dont le défaut d'avertir l'équipe de faits essentiels liés au traitement de problèmes cliniques, de demander les évaluations nécessaires, de surveiller les patients et de lire les notes des infirmières. Du point de vue des médecins, les cas révèlent que les problèmes au sein d'une équipe peuvent être évités si les médecins :

  • informent les autres membres de l'équipe du plan de prise en charge du patient et précisent les principales inquiétudes liées aux soins d'un patient en particulier;
  • demandent les évaluations et le suivi nécessaires pour permettre aux membres de l'équipe d'observer tout changement à l'état du patient;
  • lisent le dossier du patient pour se tenir au fait de la situation actuelle;
  • réagissent sans tarder à tout changement ou toute détérioration dans l'état du patient;
  • avisent le personnel du cabinet de noter toutes les communications téléphoniques avec les patients.

Divergences d'opinion

Il arrive qu'un médecin membre d'une équipe ait des doutes sur les soins prodigués par un autre membre de l'équipe. Par exemple, il pourrait s'interroger sur une investigation, un diagnostic ou un traitement. Si des divergences d'opinion surviennent, les médecins devraient se garder de sauter aux conclusions ou de passer des commentaires insultants ou désobligeants au sujet d'un autre professionnel de la santé. Les médecins doivent également s'abstenir de remettre en question le plan de traitement devant le patient ou sa famille. Ces questions doivent être abordées en privé, où une discussion approfondie peut avoir lieu, car l'avis d'autres membres du personnel pourrait être nécessaire.

Collaboration et résolution de conflits

Les conflits dans une organisation de santé ont été classés parmi les causes principales de cultures non sécuritaires, et ils représentent une importante menace pour la sécurité des patients.5 Pour résoudre un conflit, les médecins devraient chercher à développer des habiletés de collaboration ainsi qu'en prévention et en gestion des conflits. La collaboration au travail s'en trouve améliorée si, à titre individuel, les professionnels de la santé font preuve de maturité émotionnelle et de confiance en soi, cherchent à comprendre le point de vue des autres, communiquent clairement et évitent de jeter le blâme sur les autres quand quelque chose tourne mal.

Si un médecin est en situation de conflit avec un collègue ou observe des comportements indignes de la profession chez ce dernier, il doit faire ce qu'il peut pour régler le problème et recommander des resources susceptibles d'être utiles. Une intervention et un règlement hâtifs se sont avérés très efficaces pour corriger des comportements perturbateurs et tout autre comportement inapproprié.

Pour leur part, les organisations de santé interviennent en faveur de la résolution de différends en offrant de la formation sur le sujet et en mettant en place des processus de règlement des différends. Au besoin, le recours à des médiateurs devrait également être envisagé.6

Pour les médecins qui travaillent dans une petite organisation, comme une clinique ou un cabinet privé, instaurer un climat de respect mutuel est le meilleur moyen de favoriser un milieu de travail agréable qui préconise le bien-être des médecins et reflète l'image professionnelle qu'on attend d'eux.

Conclusion

La prestation des soins interprofessionnels transforme peu à peu le modèle des soins au Canada. Le travail d'équipe est une importante composante de la conduite professionnelle. Des rôles et responsabilités bien définis, de solides habiletés de communication et une bonne capacité de collaborer et de résoudre les différends permettront tous aux médecins d'afficher leur professionnalisme à leurs collègues comme à leurs patients. Cet engagement envers le professionnalisme devrait donner un exemple que d'autres pourront imiter.


Références

  1. Ordre des médecins et des chirurgiens de l'Ontario. Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment. Politique no 4-07. Consulté le 30 août 2010 à l'adresse : http://www.cpso.on.ca/policies/policies/default.aspx?ID=1602
  2. Association médicale canadienne. Le professionnalisme médical. Révisée en 2005. Consultée le 14 juin 2012 à l'adresse : http://www.cma.ca/medical_professionalism.htm
  3. Royal College of Physicians (R.-U.), « Medical professionalism and leadership. » Consulté le 17 février 2012 à l'adresse : http://www.rcplondon.ac.uk/policy/physician-development/ medical-professionalism-and-leadership
  4. Apker, J., Propp, K., Ford, Z., « Negotiating status and identity tensions in healthcare team interactions: An exploration of nurse role dialectics, » Journal of Applied Communication Research (2005) vol. 33, no 2 p.93
  5. Marshall, P., Robson, R., « Preventing and managing conflict: Vital pieces in the patient safety puzzle, » Healthcare Quarterly (2005) vol 8 (sp) p.39
  6. Ibid, 43

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.